Photography All about Lightroom

TSTheWandererX
post Jun 10 2011, 03:08 PM, updated 15y ago

1,862 posts

There wasn't a thread for this, so I thought I'd kick it off.

Partly curious, since there are so many seasoned photographers here who use Lightroom... workflow tips, anyone? icon_rolleyes.gif

Some tips:

http://lightroomkillertips.com/

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Jun 15 2011, 10:43 PM
opfish
post Jun 10 2011, 04:02 PM

366 posts

Great thread. Currently, LR is the PP software that I use 99% of the time. Hopefully we can fuse the knowledge from all forum members regardless of their preferred camera brands.
Cloud9Nos3
post Jun 10 2011, 06:54 PM

Stay Happy ~
1,189 posts

I use LR too haha , easier and faster to process loads of new images.
kuihbahulu
post Jun 10 2011, 07:40 PM

235 posts

me too. though the price are beautiful unless u got student license =)
its great. workflow? i love pick,unflag and delete~not to mention fast live raw editing.
TSTheWandererX
post Jun 10 2011, 10:40 PM

1,862 posts

Wondering.. what do you guys usually do after editing?

Save in a separate Catalog?
Export a copy of the processed image & delete from Catalog?
Save in main Catalog?

I'm curious.. picking photos and editing photos are fine, just wondering to what happens after.
hidden830726
post Jun 10 2011, 10:42 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(kuihbahulu @ Jun 10 2011, 07:40 PM)
me too. though the price are beautiful unless u got student license =)
its great. workflow? i love pick,unflag and delete~not to mention fast live raw editing.
This is also one of the reason why Malaysia is one of the best country to take up photography as hobby.
Decky
post Jun 10 2011, 10:46 PM

1,190 posts

I wanna ask how much you all bought LR for -.-
TSTheWandererX
post Jun 10 2011, 10:48 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 10 2011, 10:46 PM)
I wanna ask how much you all bought LR for -.-
A little over RM300 (student discount & bought from a friend), but I'm sure we got those *ahem* sites you can download off whistling.gif

Let's not touch on sensitive topics, shall we? Later kena banstick doh.gif
Decky
post Jun 10 2011, 10:51 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jun 10 2011, 10:48 PM)
A little over RM300 (student discount & bought from a friend), but I'm sure we got those *ahem* sites you can download off  whistling.gif

Let's not touch on sensitive topics, shall we? Later kena banstick  doh.gif
Waiting to enter college to be eligible for student discount.

less than a year left. Sigh.

LR rocks la.
kuihbahulu
post Jun 10 2011, 11:15 PM

235 posts

LR to have the most versatile workflow. here my workflow after importing all images :
1. LIBRARY = use 'pick' to choose usable + great photos
2. then go to DEVELOP = filter all the picked photos, edit them,export them
3. LIBRARY again = 'reject' all broken, underexposed,not in good composition, no value ( i shoot RAW, but still some are died)
4. see through again all photos(i shoot so many images,forgot to do shutter count...), rejected photos i delete forever. photos like 50:50 i left unflagged.

5. after few months, burn all the photos into DVD according to session and functions. (its RAW,its eat your HD in raw)

thats all the functions that i use for daily usage.

Added on June 10, 2011, 11:17 pm---yeah,RM 320 if im not mistaken. use your cousin name~akikiki

This post has been edited by kuihbahulu: Jun 10 2011, 11:17 PM
kentLKW
post Jun 10 2011, 11:34 PM

126 posts

Some of the nice preset i get from here Lightroom Killer tips rclxms.gif
chongkiatz
post Jun 10 2011, 11:42 PM

6,792 posts

A question, why every raw far i import to lightroom, the contrast will +25, is that normal?
TSTheWandererX
post Jun 10 2011, 11:43 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 10 2011, 11:42 PM)
A question, why every raw far i import to lightroom, the contrast will +25, is that normal?
You might have accidentally clicked on 'Apply During Import'. Check the fields to the top right of the Import dialog.
C-Fu
post Jun 10 2011, 11:55 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jun 10 2011, 10:40 PM)
Wondering.. what do you guys usually do after editing?

Save in a separate Catalog?
Export a copy of the processed image & delete from Catalog?
Save in main Catalog?

I'm curious.. picking photos and editing photos are fine, just wondering to what happens after.
My workflow, which how most professionals do as how i understand it.

1. Shoot subject, multiple times, different settings/angles/etc. important ones, or underexposed/overexposed/not in ideal environment ones i shoot in raw.
2. Go back, insert memory card to pc. run lightroom
3. import everything. One catalog per camera (my NEX3, Pen EE2S, Fuji X100, all different catalog)
4. go through every image, the ones that i want/need, i press 5 for 5 stars. additionally, ones that i wanna upload to facebook, i flag it as blue. useful because once you upload the images in albums, copy the download link so you can link it everywhere on the net (like use the img tag in lowyat, for instance)
5. filter the non 5 star images, delete them permanently. No point saving gazillion semi-good or almost good images... that's why you gotta practice taking as much as you possibly can. Rule of thumb: take all possible perfect images during the shoot and save editing time.
6. Develop the image
7. do the sharpening at the final stage. since lightroom's editing workflow doesn't destroy the image, it's unnecessary to make a copy - unless you wanna make multiple, different editing styles of the same image lah. Either use the sharpen slider, or your own plugins, like Nik's Software for instance.
7. Select the blue-flagged ones, make a new album if needed, upload to facebook. you can make it private if the images in the album are only for posting in lowyat or internet, for instance.
TSTheWandererX
post Jun 15 2011, 10:43 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(kentLKW @ Jun 10 2011, 11:34 PM)
Some of the nice preset i get from here Lightroom Killer tips rclxms.gif
Added to first post for reference (:

So photogs, I'd love it if you guys dropped by & share your workflow with us smile.gif
senyii
post Jun 16 2011, 11:31 AM

519 posts

i like to use LR aso..but want to know what's is include in the software when u purchased it?any free upgrade?
David900924
post Jun 16 2011, 11:40 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

Lightroom 3 is d best, with nik software plugins, its become easy as ABC with all presets
chongkiatz
post Jun 16 2011, 12:08 PM

6,792 posts

Lightroom can't do colorsplash like photoshop right???
Kent3888
post Jun 16 2011, 02:46 PM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

I like to use lightroom coz it's fast n easy, one downside for me is unable to put nice watermark, anybody can advise? Using CS5, i make the signature into a brush, like a chop, can chop anywhere in the photo tongue.gif
TSTheWandererX
post Jun 16 2011, 04:35 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 16 2011, 12:08 PM)
Lightroom can't do colorsplash like photoshop right???
Possible with the right presets. Possible to do it manually too - you also gain full control over the end result if you do it manually.

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jun 16 2011, 02:46 PM)
I like to use lightroom coz it's fast n easy, one downside for me is unable to put nice watermark, anybody can advise? Using CS5, i make the signature into a brush, like a chop, can chop anywhere in the photo  tongue.gif
You can put a 'nice' watermark. Make a watermark image, and when you're in the Export menu, scroll down to Watermarking, and customize your personal copyright. (:
Kent3888
post Jun 16 2011, 05:36 PM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jun 16 2011, 04:35 PM)
Possible with the right presets. Possible to do it manually too - you also gain full control over the end result if you do it manually.
You can put a 'nice' watermark. Make a watermark image, and when you're in the Export menu, scroll down to Watermarking, and customize your personal copyright. (:
but when add in the image, it will appear with white background, I dunno u get what I mean? as in it will appear as a rectangular shape image instead of words shape. I wonder can make the white background transparent or not hmm.gif
TSTheWandererX
post Jun 16 2011, 05:58 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jun 16 2011, 05:36 PM)
but when add in the image, it will appear with white background, I dunno u get what I mean? as in it will appear as a rectangular shape image instead of words shape. I wonder can make the white background transparent or not  hmm.gif
You have to save the watermark in a transparent .png file.
louis6
post Dec 26 2012, 08:51 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

Hihi, new LR user.. mine is v3.2.. wanna ask, hw i edit watermark in batch ? thx smile.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 26 2012, 08:56 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Dec 26 2012, 08:51 PM)
Hihi, new LR user.. mine is v3.2.. wanna ask, hw i edit watermark in batch ? thx smile.gif
Go into the export options and tick watermark
louis6
post Dec 26 2012, 10:24 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 26 2012, 08:56 PM)
Go into the export options and tick watermark
But some i need them in certain position... hw to align it differently ?
michael9413
post Dec 26 2012, 10:41 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

if like that i think you need to do one by one leh...
louis6
post Dec 27 2012, 02:25 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Dec 26 2012, 10:41 PM)
if like that i think you need to do one by one leh...
cry.gif thought LR would b better for photo editting. Anyway, i heard if put RAW photos to LR, it will automatically adjust.

Btw, hw to do a B&W photos with certain part (eg. the background is B&W, the model in color) in LR ?

This post has been edited by louis6: Dec 27 2012, 02:27 PM
michael9413
post Dec 27 2012, 04:32 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

that is do not think you can do it in LR... that is Color isolation but if cannot means u need to use PS already...
that involves layer if not mistaken, sorry duno much as i do not do it...
chongkiatz
post Dec 27 2012, 05:38 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Dec 27 2012, 02:25 PM)
cry.gif thought LR would b better for photo editting. Anyway, i heard if put RAW photos to LR, it will automatically adjust.

Btw, hw to do a B&W photos with certain part (eg. the background is B&W, the model in color) in LR ?
Easy job , use brush tools, set ur saturation -100 and brush ur background, then ur bg will be b&w and ur model stil remain colour
amduser
post Dec 27 2012, 06:35 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Dec 27 2012, 05:38 PM)
Easy job , use brush tools, set ur saturation -100 and brush ur background, then ur bg will be b&w and ur model stil remain colour
that will be a lot of work, consider those small gaps and hairs
kadajawi
post Dec 28 2012, 01:11 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Dec 27 2012, 06:35 PM)
It will also be a lot of work in Photoshop. However it's faster in PS because, well, better performance, and it is more flexible. Usually I say general editing/adjustments to the whole image and gradients: Lightroom. Editing certain regions of an image, actual manipulation? Photoshop.

LR shines for example when you are working with many RAW files, you can just synchronize the settings. You can also always go back to the photo and change any setting. In PS at least the RAW developing part is done once done, you'd have to start all over if you need to change something. And you will need to do everything for each file individually, rather than edit once and apply to the rest.

Basically if you can do it in LR you can probably also do it in PS, the other way doesn't always work. However PS is much more expensive, difficult and time consuming.
louis6
post Dec 30 2012, 01:37 AM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 28 2012, 01:11 AM)
It will also be a lot of work in Photoshop. However it's faster in PS because, well, better performance, and it is more flexible. Usually I say general editing/adjustments to the whole image and gradients: Lightroom. Editing certain regions of an image, actual manipulation? Photoshop.

LR shines for example when you are working with many RAW files, you can just synchronize the settings. You can also always go back to the photo and change any setting. In PS at least the RAW developing part is done once done, you'd have to start all over if you need to change something. And you will need to do everything for each file individually, rather than edit once and apply to the rest.

Basically if you can do it in LR you can probably also do it in PS, the other way doesn't always work. However PS is much more expensive, difficult and time consuming.
Thanks for all sifus, I'll try after I'm done with my finals and upload here smile.gif
teetaatee
post Dec 30 2012, 12:19 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Dec 27 2012, 04:32 PM)
that is do not think you can do it in LR... that is Color isolation but if cannot means u need to use PS already...
that involves layer if not mistaken, sorry duno much as i do not do it...
can.. why not
go down to the saturation part which has diff color for it
lets say ur object is red color, then set red to 0 or more, the rest of the color drag to -100
teetaatee
post Dec 30 2012, 12:20 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Dec 27 2012, 06:35 PM)
if got hairs and small gap.. i think need to switch to PS ad

Added on December 30, 2012, 12:22 pmlike this one, everything done in LR icon_rolleyes.gif
Merc SL65 by Song laa, on Flickr

This post has been edited by teetaatee: Dec 30 2012, 12:22 PM
-kytz-
post Dec 30 2012, 04:26 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Dec 30 2012, 12:19 PM)
can.. why not
go down to the saturation part which has diff color for it
lets say ur object is red color, then set red to 0 or more, the rest of the color drag to -100
QUOTE(teetaatee @ Dec 30 2012, 12:20 PM)
if got hairs and small gap.. i think need to switch to PS ad

Added on December 30, 2012, 12:22 pmlike this one, everything done in LR icon_rolleyes.gif

Only works when your subject has a totally different colour from the rest of your picture (works best if your subject consists of only 1 colour).

Trying isolating your human subject from other human subjects in a picture? tongue.gif
teetaatee
post Dec 30 2012, 04:40 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 30 2012, 04:26 PM)
Only works when your subject has a totally different colour from the rest of your picture (works best if your subject consists of only 1 colour).

Trying isolating your human subject from other human subjects in a picture? tongue.gif
ya.. if thats the case, then need to use PS liao biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 30 2012, 04:41 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Dec 27 2012, 02:25 PM)
I'm no sifu in Lightroom or Photoshop, but I can tell you that it depends on the complexity of the subject you're trying to isolate.

If there are no tricky situations such as micro details like hair and stuff, you can just:

1) Grab a brush tool and set saturation to -100 and brush off the entire picture.
2) Then use an eraser and erase off the effects on your subject. This is a lot easier than grabbing another brush tool just to saturate your subject back.

This is a simple method to use in Lightroom but the result won't be as good as in Photoshop lar, especially if you're picky with the finer details smile.gif

For Photoshop, I believe it's by using masking and layers. For the methods, can try youtube smile.gif

Added on December 30, 2012, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(teetaatee @ Dec 30 2012, 04:40 PM)
ya.. if thats the case, then need to use PS liao  biggrin.gif
Until now, I'm still so n00b in using Photoshop, except for cloning off some stuff brows.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Dec 30 2012, 04:42 PM
teetaatee
post Dec 30 2012, 04:45 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 30 2012, 04:41 PM)
I'm no sifu in Lightroom or Photoshop, but I can tell you that it depends on the complexity of the subject you're trying to isolate.

If there are no tricky situations such as micro details like hair and stuff, you can just:

1) Grab a brush tool and set saturation to -100 and brush off the entire picture.
2) Then use an eraser and erase off the effects on your subject. This is a lot easier than grabbing another brush tool just to saturate your subject back.

This is a simple method to use in Lightroom but the result won't be as good as in Photoshop lar, especially if you're picky with the finer details smile.gif

For Photoshop, I believe it's by using masking and layers. For the methods, can try youtube smile.gif

Added on December 30, 2012, 4:42 pm
Until now, I'm still so n00b in using Photoshop, except for cloning off some stuff brows.gif
for PS, its quite easy
set the entire pic's saturation to -100
then grab the "History brush" under brush
then just brush the object that u want it to be in color
icon_rolleyes.gif
kadajawi
post Jan 4 2013, 12:22 AM

544 posts

I add a saturation and dunno what adjustment layer, set saturation to 0. Then I use a brush and select the masking thing of the adjustment layer. Depending on what is less work I either fill the masking thing white or black, and then use the other color to paint in the saturation (or remove it). Advantage is I can use the x key to switch from white to black and vice versa, so I can easily add or remove if I have done too much. Also this way I can still adjust the amount of saturation I want, and I can change the brush size and the sharpness all the time depending on what I am painting on. I do have a graphics tablet, so that also helps a lot.

I think the most important skill in PS is to know how to work with layers and this masking thing, and to do it ALL THE TIME. It's very easy, and it makes life so much easier. Do it for everything, because you'll be able to adjust later. You just have to get used to it. I've had a photo with about 100 layers, where I was then told to change something that was done long time ago. Took me a minute to find the layer, and then a few seconds more to do the actual change, rather than having to select etc. from scratch.
nivlanauk
post Jan 21 2013, 03:31 PM

307 posts

Question.
I noticed that the JPEG files I exported from RAW->JPEG are way smaller than JPEG I got directly from my camera. ~2mb vs ~7mb. Any idea why?

Photo size is the same (4928 x 3264).
-kytz-
post Jan 21 2013, 03:40 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Jan 21 2013, 03:31 PM)
Question.
I noticed that the JPEG files I exported from RAW->JPEG are way smaller than JPEG I got directly from my camera. ~2mb vs ~7mb. Any idea why?

Photo size is the same (4928 x 3264).
JPEGs in the camera is already processed with the in built settings (colour profile) such as sharpness, vibrancy, saturation and also other settings such as Noise Reduction/etc. There might be some compression done on the files too.

RAW--> JPEG in LR4 is basically just converting RAW files to JPEG without any processing/compression done.

Correct me if I'm wrong smile.gif
nivlanauk
post Jan 21 2013, 03:43 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 21 2013, 03:40 PM)
JPEGs in the camera is already processed with the in built settings (colour profile) such as sharpness, vibrancy, saturation and also other settings such as Noise Reduction/etc. There might be some compression done on the files too.

RAW--> JPEG in LR4 is basically just converting RAW files to JPEG without any processing/compression done.

Correct me if I'm wrong smile.gif
sorry I think I have confused you.
the RAW->JPEG files are ~2mb
and the JPEG direct from camera are ~7mb.

-kytz-
post Jan 21 2013, 03:54 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Jan 21 2013, 03:43 PM)
sorry I think I have confused you.
the RAW->JPEG files are ~2mb
and the JPEG direct from camera are ~7mb.
You sure or not? rclxub.gif Try to shoot RAW+JPEG and then process the RAW to JPEG in LR4 without any extra processing and compare both JPEG sizes smile.gif
nivlanauk
post Jan 21 2013, 04:13 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 21 2013, 03:54 PM)
You sure or not? rclxub.gif Try to shoot RAW+JPEG and then process the RAW to JPEG in LR4 without any extra processing and compare both JPEG sizes smile.gif
ok I just did what you say.
and I think the difference is because of the DPI. LR exports photos at 240dpi while JPEG from my camera are a 300dpi.

How do I change that on LR from 240 top 300 dpi? (just to see if that's the reason)
-kytz-
post Jan 21 2013, 04:21 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Jan 21 2013, 04:13 PM)
ok I just did what you say.
and I think the difference is because of the DPI. LR exports photos at 240dpi while JPEG from my camera are a 300dpi.

How do I change that on LR from 240 top 300 dpi? (just to see if that's the reason)
At the export options, do NOT resize or adjust anything, just leave the image resizing/watermark/sharpness/Noise Reduction unticked.

Make sure your file quality is set to 100%

nivlanauk
post Jan 21 2013, 04:37 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 21 2013, 04:21 PM)
At the export options, do NOT resize or adjust anything, just leave the image resizing/watermark/sharpness/Noise Reduction unticked.

Make sure your file quality is set to 100%

ahhhh Thank you. Found it. icon_rolleyes.gif
lucuias
post Jan 22 2013, 06:14 PM

172 posts

Lightroom does a very good job on pulling down the highlight

Besides,it does deliver very good skin tone as well

This post has been edited by lucuias: Jan 22 2013, 06:19 PM
seather
post Mar 27 2013, 11:50 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

any goods presets to use for landscape photography? hmm.gif

lazy to process vacation photos one by one sometimes laugh.gif

usually give more TLC to those money shots tongue.gif
mybiebie
post Mar 27 2013, 02:06 PM

1,419 posts

good info...bravo...
post Mar 28 2013, 08:46 PM

1,447 posts

Since this thread is all about Lightroom. I would like to ask..... i got a pc and a laptop already install with the lightroom 4.0 (the same Serial number), so now i want to change my laptop, can i install my copy of lightroom on the new laptop? Adobe mention that lightroom license can be install on 2 pc, since my old laptop will not be in used anymore can i still install it on my new laptop?
xeonsam
post Jun 7 2013, 07:05 AM

46 posts

Hi all, Want to ask some tips on lightroom.

Can the lightroom 4 watermark apply both text and graphic style together as the same time?

Or how about difference font text at the same time?

This post has been edited by xeonsam: Jun 7 2013, 07:09 AM
SUSLdee
post Jun 7 2013, 10:46 AM

442 posts

PS vs LR? I found both can do the same thing, jst PS need a bit of more time to edit
knight
post Jun 7 2013, 11:02 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Wrong. PS more feature lah. LightRoom best when u do it in bulk and if you want more detail editing like doing the Masking technique(as expample) you can choose edit in PS.

Guys, I have a question and like to see how you guys save the settings on the raw file after editing? For me I just export the setting I changed. So my folder have another set of XMP files. (If not mistaken it's called XMP). Any betterr ways to do this??
sp6068
post Jun 8 2013, 04:57 PM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,699 posts

For those who wanna know what LR can do to your pics. I use them all the time esp to pop the colours out. Here's an example of one of my pics b4 and after in Lr with some light touch-ups..

This post has been edited by sp6068: Jun 8 2013, 04:58 PM
sp6068
post Jun 8 2013, 04:59 PM

1,699 posts

QUOTE(xeonsam @ Jun 7 2013, 07:05 AM)
Hi all, Want to ask some tips on lightroom.

Can the lightroom 4 watermark apply both text and graphic style together as the same time?

Or how about difference font text at the same time?
The watermark you can choose either Image or Text only. You can change different fonts for Text WM incl opacity etc.
SUSchokia
post Jun 10 2013, 12:34 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5 now available for $149

http://www.engadget.com/2013/06/10/adobe-p...ilable-for-149/
sp6068
post Jun 10 2013, 10:03 PM

1,699 posts

Upgrade from old version (download) is RM 260.40 RM 243.36 ex. TAX
mls_gamer
post Jun 11 2013, 01:01 AM

1,589 posts

PS best for edit cosplay photos....
chucky
post Jun 11 2013, 02:17 PM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

Photoshop and Lightroom and any number of hundreds of software out there can be used to edit cosplay photos.
danielcmugen
post Jun 24 2013, 06:04 PM

5,538 posts

I heard Photoshop is very hard to use, does it apply to Lightroom as well?
Ryou
post Jun 25 2013, 03:34 PM

866 posts

Sometimes after applying some recovery on highlight, those over-exposed skin tone will become too warm. Anyone has any idea what to do? Besides lowering the saturation?
ahquan26
post Mar 26 2014, 12:43 PM

292 posts

This thread is dead ?
chucky
post Mar 27 2014, 10:45 AM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

If you post something interesting to talk about, then it will become alive again. Otherwise just let it rest in peace biggrin.gif
akahito
post Mar 27 2014, 04:15 PM

23 posts

Any1 using LR5

boigarage
post Mar 29 2014, 03:51 AM

286 posts

May i know what is the different between 32 & 64 bit?...
is it for computer requirement or how?...
Fizzy-Fiz
post Mar 29 2014, 07:10 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(boigarage @ Mar 29 2014, 03:51 AM)
May i know what is the different between 32 & 64 bit?...
is it for computer requirement or how?...
ram usage.
boigarage
post Mar 29 2014, 04:44 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Mar 29 2014, 07:10 AM)
ram usage.
Does it mean 64 bit is better but use more ram?...
ahquan26
post Mar 29 2014, 06:14 PM

292 posts

Let's post a photo of how your lightroom looks ! biggrin.gif

Can anyone share presets as well ? smile.gif

Fizzy-Fiz
post Mar 29 2014, 07:20 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(boigarage @ Mar 29 2014, 04:44 PM)
Does it mean 64 bit is better but use more ram?...
it's better because it can utilize more ram

32bit ram usage is restricted to 3.5gb
boigarage
post Mar 29 2014, 11:47 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Mar 29 2014, 07:20 PM)
it's better because it can utilize more ram

32bit ram usage is restricted to 3.5gb
I see...does it mean i cant use if my laptop only using 2gb ram?...
Fizzy-Fiz
post Mar 30 2014, 12:41 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(boigarage @ Mar 29 2014, 11:47 PM)
I see...does it mean i cant use if my laptop only using 2gb ram?...
if your processor is x64 you can use, but you wont benefit since you dont have the extra ram.
boigarage
post Mar 30 2014, 12:46 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Mar 30 2014, 12:41 AM)
if your processor is x64 you can use, but you wont benefit since you dont have the extra ram.
It will laggy or cant use at all?...
Fizzy-Fiz
post Mar 30 2014, 03:53 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(boigarage @ Mar 30 2014, 12:46 AM)
It will laggy or cant use at all?...
can be used. no practical difference between 32bit

kfhoe
post Apr 29 2014, 01:06 PM

97 posts

Hi guys,
Do you know where to get Lightroom 5 for a cheap price? Mind tell me any seller in lowyat who are selling.

Can i install it in my lap top and PC with one CD?
btw, i am using Microsoft XP.

kiwibird
post May 1 2014, 11:00 PM

141 posts

Guys, mind knowing what is the purpose of flagging photos?
more2teayap
post May 2 2014, 11:58 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(kiwibird @ May 1 2014, 11:00 PM)
Guys, mind knowing what is the purpose of flagging photos?
I not sure if this is the right usage, but i used to to mark which one i want so that later i could easily filter out those i don't want.
Slevin Sent
post May 2 2014, 03:04 PM

= Music & Basketball =
2,271 posts

girl friend company laptop can download all the adobe FREE & legal(but only on her laptop)!

got the latest Lr and Photoshop~~ Free biggrin.gif
kfhoe
post Aug 2 2015, 03:30 PM

97 posts

Where do i get to purchase Adobe Lightroom?

neohwengtart
post Sep 13 2015, 09:17 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(kfhoe @ Aug 2 2015, 03:30 PM)

Where do i get to purchase Adobe Lightroom?

Hi, you can either purchase online, through adobe website, you can register an account and have a free trial for 30 days. I believe through website cannot get the standalone version of the adobe lightroom. Its only the version which you have to pay monthly, or in other word rented software. If you preferred standalone version, means pay once use forever, then you can try contact the Malaysia Reseller, check the website below,

Adobe Software Malaysia Reseller

Find the company Kenfil, I called once and they are selling lightroom 6 business version for around RM600-RM700 depends on the Ringgit to USD changing rate. Happy buying.

This post has been edited by neohwengtart: Sep 13 2015, 09:17 AM
neohwengtart
post Sep 13 2015, 09:20 AM

158 posts

Hey guys, I just purchased the Panasonic Lumix LX-100 mirrorless camera and what I want to ask, in lightroom 6 under camera calibration section, how is it for me to find more preset profile? As I only can choose adobe standard for the moment... I shot in RAW using the camera...

This post has been edited by neohwengtart: Sep 13 2015, 09:22 AM
tigaxxx
post Sep 13 2015, 12:57 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(neohwengtart @ Sep 13 2015, 09:20 AM)
Hey guys, I just purchased the Panasonic Lumix LX-100 mirrorless camera and what I want to ask, in lightroom 6 under camera calibration section, how is it for me to find more preset profile? As I only can choose adobe standard for the moment... I shot in RAW using the camera...
Presets from other 3rd parties... normally got to pay
neohwengtart
post Sep 13 2015, 02:23 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Sep 13 2015, 12:57 PM)
Presets from other 3rd parties... normally got to pay
But my the RAW files shoot by my Nikon DSLR have the camera calibration profile... they are camera vivid, camera portrait, camera landscape and camera neutral...
CocoMonGo
post Nov 27 2015, 11:21 AM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

hi guys. want to ask where to get cheap copies of Lightroom 6? Looking for original one... not ahem ahem version... just cheaper since it is black friday today.
DS_Legacy
post Nov 27 2015, 02:53 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(roteiro @ Oct 8 2015, 07:18 PM)
I'd like to learn Lightroom too someday. It is a great software, as for me. Currently, I am using the FX Photo Studio app - http://macphun.com/fxphotostudio but  I want to learn some advanced editing. Hope, I will master it smile.gif
Lightroom is not hard to learn. And it is such a useful software! You can edit a photo heavily in less than 10 minutes. brows.gif
Dannyoski
post Jan 23 2016, 08:10 PM

226 posts

Is it worth buy the lightroom in one lump sum around rm400++ or subscribe to monthly ~rm40 creative cloud to use LR.
Rice_Owl84
post Jan 23 2016, 09:42 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Jan 23 2016, 08:10 PM)
Is it worth buy the lightroom in one lump sum around rm400++ or subscribe to monthly ~rm40 creative cloud to use LR.
If you always buy a new camera often like every year. Creative cloud is better with with the latest updates of Lightroom CC being available to you. Some of the newest camera RAW files cannot be read by older ver of lightroom.

So yeah new camera might need the newest latest lightroom.
Lego Warfare
post Jan 23 2016, 10:39 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Jan 23 2016, 08:10 PM)
Are you getting direct from Adobe Asia website? RM450, still the cheapest I've found compared to US, SG, etc.

Dannyoski
post Jan 23 2016, 10:40 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 23 2016, 10:39 PM)
Are you getting direct from Adobe Asia website? RM450, still the cheapest I've found compared to US, SG, etc.
Sorry its about rm450.... From adobe asia

This post has been edited by Dannyoski: Jan 23 2016, 10:41 PM
Dannyoski
post Jan 24 2016, 03:02 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Jan 23 2016, 09:42 PM)
If you always buy a new camera often like every year.  Creative cloud is better with with the latest updates of Lightroom CC being available to you.  Some of the newest camera RAW files cannot be read by older ver of lightroom. 

So yeah new camera might need the newest latest lightroom.
How about new lens? Will it support new lens profile?
iamkent
post May 17 2016, 04:23 PM

i shoot you <3
3,073 posts

i start using lightroom with mac pro not long ago , i just notice when i loading pic , i automatic creating a new files .dng
do it was normal ? because i did not notice this on window .
sepulse
post May 20 2016, 03:27 PM

434 posts

need some help, whenever i edit my pic with LR, my photo become grainy. any ideas?
amanda nordin
post May 23 2016, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Jan 21 2013, 04:37 PM)
ahhhh Thank you. Found it.  icon_rolleyes.gif
i do agree with you, because we need more information to taking care of size every picture.
LOOOOOOL
post Jun 2 2016, 12:03 PM

what is this
704 posts

anyone have bought the lightroom 6 full ver recently?

Tax Information

Tax is only applicable in Singapore, and is included in the price for purchases in Singapore. For purchases in Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines and Thailand, tax is not applicable and is not added to the price.

Upgrade from:
RM 260.40 tax included
Full from:
RM 481.74 tax included

is this the price you all get?
Lego Warfare
post Jun 2 2016, 12:37 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Jun 2 2016, 12:03 PM)
anyone have bought the lightroom 6 full ver recently?

Tax Information

Tax is only applicable in Singapore, and is included in the price for purchases in Singapore. For purchases in Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines and Thailand, tax is not applicable and is not added to the price.

Upgrade from:
RM 260.40 tax included
Full from:
RM 481.74 tax included

is this the price you all get?
Got mine for RM450.22
LOOOOOOL
post Jun 2 2016, 02:00 PM

what is this
704 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 2 2016, 12:37 PM)
Got mine for RM450.22
how u get cheaper price???
adolph
post Jun 5 2016, 10:45 AM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

got mine, cracked and hacked version > totally free

when connected to internet, no issue as well because i've put the firewall from getting auto updated.

good using, always used it for my photo editing with sony a7r2 RAW.
Lego Warfare
post Jun 5 2016, 12:02 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Jun 2 2016, 02:00 PM)
how u get cheaper price???
Your price is including tax? As you wrote Msia price without tax.
I use Capture One Pro mostly though, the quality and colour output is much nicer than Lightroom, but features are more limited and it's damn pricey...
yusripp
post Jun 5 2016, 02:13 PM

67 posts

Does anyone here use older version of lightroom?
Mine is LR 5.2 and it seem it unable to reed my new Olympus E-M10 MKII .orf RAW files. It seem only the new LR supported this. Anyone havinf the same issue?
kevyeoh
post Jan 8 2017, 12:20 AM

4,721 posts

any idea where to buy standalone version of LR in Malaysia?
LegendLee
post Jan 9 2017, 01:33 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 8 2017, 12:20 AM)
any idea where to buy standalone version of LR in Malaysia?
On adobe's website.
I just bought the upgrade for Lightroom 6 not that long ago.

kevyeoh
post Jan 9 2017, 07:27 AM

4,721 posts

Usually the page points me to the monthly cloud subscription... let me browse again for this...

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jan 9 2017, 01:33 AM)
On adobe's website.
I just bought the upgrade for Lightroom 6 not that long ago.
LegendLee
post Jan 9 2017, 08:53 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 9 2017, 07:27 AM)
Usually the page points me to the monthly cloud subscription... let me browse again for this...
I got mine from here.
http://shop.adobe.com/store/adbehap/en_SG/...uctID.316961400

Mine is just an upgrade though.
Useful if you use to own previous versions of Lightroom before.
Upgraded my cs4 to cs6 so it can support newer cameras.
Mainly lose out on the dehaze/haze feature, but I got a plugin on photoshop that can do that.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Jan 9 2017, 08:55 AM

0.0632sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:03 AM