PROTON SAGA BLM & FL CLUB V13

lhwj
post Jun 10 2011, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 10 2011, 10:25 AM)
Hmm, the first batch was well known with rust around the drive shaft, but reaching the stage where it detaches? First time I've heard of this.
Is the rust caused by the air cond water hose being too short? blink.gif I read about that somewhere some time ago.

Gear spring fixed under warranty? Great, I'm gonna get mine fixed too. Hopefully they can raise the accelerator pedal too brows.gif
lhwj
post Jun 10 2011, 10:49 AM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 10 2011, 10:40 AM)
Ahh, that.

Gear spring + IAFM under warranty. Dont delay yo

The almost new-car like feeling is great
Okay, whatever you say rclxms.gif
lhwj
post Jun 11 2011, 10:31 AM

Tragic accident involving a BLM sad.gif

QUOTE(jo3y30 @ Jun 11 2011, 10:19 AM)
Thanks for the info.
The gear position is displayed on the dashboard. There's no need to look down anyway.

lhwj
post Jun 11 2011, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 11 2011, 12:22 PM)
Damn fast it goes down after that lolol
Maybe your gauge float is stuck, that's why it suddenly drops tongue.gif
lhwj
post Jun 12 2011, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(LizStephenie @ Jun 12 2011, 05:14 PM)
Jz to be sure. If we wanna reset the ECU of my Saga BLM, I just pull out the fuse stated "ECU 15A" for 10mins then plug it back in. Do I complete the whole process with my car engine off or I do have to start the engine in the middle of the process?
You cannot start the engine without the ECU fuse. The engine won't even crank. Been there, done that tongue.gif

Also there are two ECU fuses. One in the engine bay and another in the compartment next to the driver door. Don't know if you have to pull out both. I tried leaving them out for five days or so while I went away to JB. Didn't feel any difference hmm.gif
lhwj
post Jun 15 2011, 09:56 AM

QUOTE(xshiro @ Jun 14 2011, 03:52 PM)
yes..fill up...before its too late..3 times already my car mati on the road tongue.gif
Erm, when you ran out of fuel how much (petrol) was it to a full tank to the brim? Wanna know exactly how big is the reserve tank icon_rolleyes.gif
lhwj
post Jun 17 2011, 10:05 AM

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jun 16 2011, 10:04 AM)
1 bar oni get 80km....damn penang.... now even more damn cause much road being close for repairing..  doh.gif  mad.gif    vmad.gif
Haiyah sabar lah. Once the roads are reopened it'll be nice and smooth rclxms.gif I appreciate that the island's roads are so much better than Prai thumbup.gif

80 km per bar is very good.. I only get about 65-70 each. But then again the gauge may not be very accurate unsure.gif

Oh last night there was someone blaring their foglights at me. I was thinking what the hell car is this... then it overtook me. Turned out to be a FL Executive, rock blue blush.gif But the original BLM's foglights aren't as glary hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jun 17 2011, 10:29 AM
lhwj
post Jun 21 2011, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 20 2011, 10:39 AM)
Who got test drive BLM 1.6 here??? Is it available for test drive already?
QUOTE(jeff_ckf @ Jun 21 2011, 08:29 AM)
Guys, any1 here drives a Saga 1.6 FL? I need to check out few items as follows:

1) What is the rpm when the car is at 110 km/h?
2) What is the normal mileage one can get from a full tank?

I have a 1.3 BLM at home so I want to compare if they made it more frugal. The Saga at home does 110 km/h at around 3500 rpm and a full tank can get max around 400 km on mixed driving. Hope to hear some feedback from owners and if got any peculiar problems on the 1.6 do share as well  smile.gif  Thx  thumbup.gif
Ask this guy lah.

QUOTE(jo3y30 @ Jun 11 2011, 09:48 AM)
Hi everyone, newbi here with the saga fl 1.6
I just got my saga fl 1.6 yesterday evening.

The car is good and powerful. Pick up was good compare to the 1.3.
For FC, i still need time to check on it.

===========================

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jun 17 2011, 02:16 PM)
want to ask for Saga auto, the gears always change at 2krpm?
with light foot strength on the pedal (using D), 1st, 2nd, 3rd,etc gears all change at 2krpm.. then pedal to the medal (using D), at 4.0-4.5krpm change..

unless i use a the "manual" way L, 2, 3 then D, then i can rev up to 5+krpm with medium foot strength.. Car needs tuning a little? Naik Genting using D, will force me to use L, 2, and then 3... mahfan wei =(

So low? No wonder people always complain underpowered doh.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jun 21 2011, 10:34 AM
lhwj
post Jun 21 2011, 10:41 AM

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jun 21 2011, 10:39 AM)
After few weeks on the road, my SAGA FL, managed to get 300km in 30L  rclxm9.gif  but the fuel indicator is dumb, blinking so far ahead, scared me as i've traveled about 30+km while its blinking... then pump in fuel tank only to know that it's 29.xx L, like it doesnt want me to use the balance 10L fuel only  doh.gif
People who have run out of petrol before say they can only pump in 35-36 L after that. So the reserve isn't exactly 10 L. I'd say 50 km on blinking is a safe guide, unless you're stuck in a horrible traffic jam.

QUOTE(Aishinka @ Jun 16 2011, 01:05 AM)
tried refilling from petronas today. felt not as powerful as shell, but it could bring my FL to 172km/h max speed. o.o.. shell 95 only gave me up to 165km/h max speed.
You sure you weren't on a slope? It sounds so contradictory... more power = higher top speed rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 21 2011, 10:41 AM)
i'm at COE again. lol
Good luck with your fix. I really hope I don't have such problems with mine down the road for the next many years yawn.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jun 21 2011, 10:43 AM
lhwj
post Jun 21 2011, 10:54 AM

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jun 21 2011, 10:42 AM)
depending on how you drive though.. if light footed (and a mix of medium foot strength too), you'll feel underpowered (especially going up hill)..

But I compared with myvi 1.3... the myvi can accelerate faster than the Saga (even with me pedaling to the medal) but I can go at a higher speed compared to myvi.. i can easily reach 110-130, but myvi will start slowing at about 90-100... so the Saga FL is gd for traveling I guess.. the longer it travels the more you see the efficiency on the FC smile.gif
Yeah, even on the manual the torque only starts to kick in at about 2.5-3k RPM so the initial acceleration is a bit sluggish. And I agree with you on the highway drive. The other week we were in a convoy, the other car was a manual Myvi with five girls inside, mine had four larger than average guys and one lady (with the extra ~100 kg kerb weight + the guys, my car was obviously a lot heavier than the Myvi). We were chasing the lead car, an empty LMST. I kept up with the lead car easily but the girls had to radio and tell us not to "F1" too much tongue.gif

I want to test drive both the 1.3 and 1.6 auto BLMs. Any volunteers? brows.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jun 21 2011, 10:55 AM
lhwj
post Jun 21 2011, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jun 21 2011, 11:23 AM)
hahaha try the saga fl running at 80-90 and do cornering! tongue.gif I'm enjoying my ride, kinda changed a lil of my perception on proton cars.. but then of course, it's still new...  whistling.gif
I know right... this car is heck a lot more enjoyable to drive than my mum's 2004 Hyundai Elantra thumbup.gif
lhwj
post Jun 22 2011, 06:59 PM

Guys, guys. I just had the biggest LOL ever.

I picked up my friend from UK at the airport. "Nice car. Is that a Dodge?

doh.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
lhwj
post Jul 6 2011, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(izwanz @ Jul 4 2011, 04:07 PM)
guys, what is the stable top speed on highway for saga fl? anybody know what is the FC from KL to Penang?

should I get the 1.6 or 1.3 saga fl? or should I just wait for the new saga iafm + CVT very soon?  blush.gif  blush.gif
I've yet to try a proper top speed run but last week on my way back from KL my GPS recorded a max of 155 km/h. The car was stable all the way and at no point did it feel floaty. If not for the speed limit I could probably cruise all the way at about 140 km/h constant.

Fuel consumption wise, the best I've ever achieved so far is 7.6 L/ 100 km, 438 km on 33.41 L but that was done without leaving Penang island. On the KL trip last week going down was 8.2 L / 100 km, return trip 8.1 L / 100 km, all on Shell RON 95 (although I topped up 5 litres of Esso at Sg Buloh before leaving for home). I did a lot of hard revs and overtaking so I imagine if you stick to the speed limit you could easily do 7.5 or below.

By the way check out this crazy guy laugh.gif

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 15 2011, 08:40 PM)
much improvement from previous tank

lhwj
post Jul 6 2011, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jul 6 2011, 11:59 AM)
Is time for me to post shot which break his 'record'... tongue.gif

If his is crazy, then mine is insanely mad... laugh.gif
Yeah go on then thumbup.gif I hereby start the crazy fuel consumption record tongue.gif laugh.gif
lhwj
post Jul 6 2011, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 6 2011, 08:12 PM)
Now that i've passed the 400km mark..i dont see whats next liao

mellow.gif

450km? that seems to take away my joy from driving
Yup, I agree. Since I hit my record in May I don't really care about FC nowadays whistling.gif It's such a pain to drive frugally sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 6 2011, 10:04 PM
lhwj
post Jul 16 2011, 12:23 PM

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Jul 16 2011, 12:07 PM)
guys wana ask sometg. evryday i warm up my car 5 mins (at least until temperature gets 3 bar).. my mom went n consulted her mechanic n he said our saga is fuel injection, no need to warm up one. is this true??
please advice me.. thanks
Warm up meaning letting the engine idle while parked until the temperature reaches three bars? Your mechanic's right. That's totally unnecessary. It's a waste of fuel and time. I drive off the moment the engine is started. Though I keep revs below 2k RPM until three bars.

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 16 2011, 12:26 PM
lhwj
post Jul 23 2011, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jul 23 2011, 11:48 AM)
Test drive the 1.3 CVT Saga FLX just now. Don't worry the auto gear stick is exactly the same as the 1.3 FL, not the toy looking one. Anyway we couldn't really go for as its the display unit as well, my first impression is that the steering feels heavier, espec at stationary/startup. Once the speed and rev's picks up, its ok. Definitely feels heavier compared to FL/BLM.
The normal BLM/FL's steering is already quite heavy sweat.gif I wonder if this will put off women drivers hmm.gif
lhwj
post Jul 23 2011, 01:36 PM

No, actually I really like the steering feel of this car. It's good for both highways and trunk roads. Due to this reason alone I'd rather drive my car than my mum's 2004 Hyundai Elantra for long trips. It's slightly heavy for parking but still manageable.

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Jul 23 2011, 12:30 PM)
they spend money for their "luxury car" but has no confidence in it. laugh.gif

Anyways, I would like to know how the Saga feels when outstation travelling. I'll be travelling across states most of the time and that Myvi with its sampan characteristic and also light steering (Thanks, Toyota, lol) is a definite no no for me. Normally on highways I'll do 100-130km/h most of the time.

My current Japanese Brand car has since been returned to my friend because it has a lot of problems like cracked wheel bearing and a slightly crooked driveshaft. Now considering between a second hand 08' Saga and 06' Waja. Both are RM30k.
I did a trip to KL and back a few weeks ago. Highway stability is excellent. I was cruising at about 120-130 km/h most of the way. GPS logged the highest speed at 155 km/h (not top speed, I could have gone faster) and it was still stable then.

(Time of 2:48 is between Jejantas Sungai Buloh and Penang Bridge Toll)

The only drawback is the loud engine drone at 4k RPM. I'm perfectly okay with the NVH. Even managed to have a good conversation with my friend along the way icon_idea.gif

If the FLX's CVT has a ratio which does 110 km/h at about 3k RPM or lower, it'll be great.

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 23 2011, 01:37 PM
lhwj
post Jul 23 2011, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 23 2011, 04:41 PM)
the aichi kikai g/box is actually damn nice.
Really? I thought everyone says it has a bad, rubbery feel? sweat.gif (It's my first manual car so I'm okay with it)
lhwj
post Jul 27 2011, 02:59 AM

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 26 2011, 11:39 PM)
Paling best is CVT manual + 1.6 CPS

whistling.gif laugh.gif

0.0438sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:06 AM