Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V11, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

toytoy
post Jul 16 2011, 12:05 AM

875 posts

Dear all. I am getting my unifi installed next week and I have a few questions I need to ask all sifus.

1. I would like go install the unifi fiber home unit in my study room. I believe the fiber home unit has 4 ports? I will connect one port to my pc and another port to an Ethernet powerline adaptor.

2. Another powerline adaptor in the living room connects to the wifi router in the living room.

3. IPTV device connects to the wifi routerk and tv in the living room.

Will this setup work? If I have another powerline adaptor on the 2nd floor bedroom, can I use the iptv device there?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by toytoy: Jul 16 2011, 12:21 AM
toytoy
post Jul 16 2011, 01:16 AM

875 posts

Thanks for the reply. So that means the BTU and router needs to be at the same place? But IPTV unit only needs to be connected to the the router?

So I can use iptv device on 2nd floor with a homeplug?
toytoy
post Jul 16 2011, 08:39 AM

875 posts

Hehe thanks for the reply bro. This is good as I can watch tv anywhere in the house.

Bro rattan, is it true that unifi package must apply for new phone line and we have to terminate existing streamyx phone line? Otherwise have to pay monthly access fee for the old phone line if we decided to keep it while terminating streamyx only?
toytoy
post Jul 16 2011, 04:49 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Jul 16 2011, 04:00 PM)
Unifi comes with a total new phone line. You cannot migrate your existing number to Unifi. A new number will be assigned. You can keep your old phone line if you want to or you can terminate. If you keep you have to still pay the access fee, where by phone line comes with unifi is free. Do monthly access fee.
Thanks so much for the clarification.
toytoy
post Jul 18 2011, 02:46 AM

875 posts

It's actually a pain for alarm user. Have to update a lot of parties and setup the alarm again. Sigh I dunno how I can connect the new line to my existing alarm. Sobs.
toytoy
post Jul 18 2011, 05:10 PM

875 posts

Congrats Masculine, hopefully my installation can go smoothly tomorrow. Fingers XXX
toytoy
post Jul 19 2011, 01:50 PM

875 posts

Bros, i just had my unifi installed.

need help with stb. Due to wiring limitation, i can only fix my unifi on 2nd floor. I connect the homeplug to the wifi router and another homeplug to another router below.

I can share internet without a problem. The only thing is the iptv is not working. Somehow TM hardcoded the iptv to LAN4 on the wifi router. If i plug straight into it iptv works, but if i go through homeplug it doesn't.

I tried plugging homeplug straight into LAN4 and another homeplug into the IPTV also won't work.

Please advise bros sad.gif

Also, i would like to change the admin password to the wifi router, admin/admin is only operator status, anyone can provide tmadmin password? I tried tmadmin and it doesn't work sad.gif

This post has been edited by toytoy: Jul 19 2011, 01:55 PM
toytoy
post Jul 19 2011, 04:40 PM

875 posts

I don't think homeplug itself is the problem. It is in the network itself.

I m using TP-Link homeplug.

In the wifi router itself, there are 2 network profiles, 1 for data, 1 for iptv. If you plug homeplug to one of the lan ports in the wifi router, it will only connect to the internet. if you connect to the iptv port then you can only get iptv, it's separated.

So to solve this problem instead of connecting the wifi router to the BTU, i connect home plug to the BTU in 2nd floor. 2nd homeplug i connect to the wifi router WAN port in ground floor. Then i connect iptv to the dedicated lan port in the wifi router.

It solves my problem for now biggrin.gif

So in short i only have my BTU and phone on 2nd floor and my wifi router and iptv is downstairs, connected to my tv. biggrin.gif

I believe if you buy another router TP-LINK etc u can solve this problem? I'll read more from athena website tongue.gif

How are you connecting your homeplug? i m curious how it works. Because my case if i plug home plug to the router, it cannot find the ip address for the IPTV. Maybe the new black RG from tmnet setup differently?

This post has been edited by toytoy: Jul 19 2011, 04:47 PM
toytoy
post Jul 19 2011, 05:48 PM

875 posts

So you mean you just plug the homeplug to any of the lan ports and both ur internet and iptv will work?

That's weird. I just found the admin password for the black router and there's no special settings for the iptv.

Which homeplug are u using btw if u don mind telling biggrin.gif

toytoy
post Jul 19 2011, 06:00 PM

875 posts

Oh then it's the same case for me.

If i plug into the iptv port i can only get iptv. I thought i can bypass that by plugging LAN1(normal internet) and LAN4(IPTV) into another hub. Then plug homeplug into that hub.

But then same case, the internet works, and IPTV doesn't. If i unplug LAN1 from the hub, then IPTV works again.

There seems to be some clashing on the network.

But now i just plug wan into homeplug and it's working without problem.

Now i wonder if i plug another homeplug into the wifi router can i use another homeplug in another room? will it clash with the WAN?

hmm...
toytoy
post Jul 19 2011, 09:51 PM

875 posts

Dear all, what does it mean by unifi packages free 1 month subscrption? i just called the agent and he said it's just a gimmick, still have to pay 1st month subscription. only that it's not advanced payment. we use for 1 month only use?

does it make sense?

thanks biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Jul 20 2011, 01:28 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jul 20 2011, 12:56 AM)
This will required 2 pair of homeplug right?
I m also thinking of 2 pairs of home plug. But then if all 4 are connected it will still be mixed up like all 4 connections connected to an unmanaged switch. Unless we can route the connections somehow? Or r the devices smart enough to find it's own path?

toytoy
post Jul 20 2011, 01:02 PM

875 posts

5Mb line theoretically should get 640KBps download speed.

1Mb is 1024KBps.

But my 5Mb also max out at 570 to 580KBps
toytoy
post Jul 20 2011, 09:13 PM

875 posts

Nope. IPTV dedicated 8Mb connection.
toytoy
post Jul 21 2011, 05:22 PM

875 posts

Hmm same experience here for iPad2. When i browse using WiFi it stays connected but after some time it will stop responding.

Have to off wifi and on back then only work. But after some time, it will hang again.

I changed to 20Mhz already.
toytoy
post Jul 21 2011, 10:40 PM

875 posts

Most ppl said Asus wifi router is good. the dual band unit comes with torrent client?
toytoy
post Jul 21 2011, 11:41 PM

875 posts

Thanks for the info. will try it out biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Jul 22 2011, 01:25 AM

875 posts

Bros, i have my ps3 connected to the router and nat type is 2.

However in black ops my nat type is moderate. Anyone knows how to get it back to open?

toytoy
post Jul 22 2011, 01:35 AM

875 posts

Already done that. But somehow the black router is not so straightforward.

uPnP and DMZ both got PPPoE and DHCP.

First i thought internet thru pppoe so i set dmz for pppoe only. Just tried enable dmz for dhcp and now port is open liao.

Hehe.
toytoy
post Jul 27 2011, 08:23 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(DarkTenno @ Jul 27 2011, 07:35 PM)
I just noticed that the new TM router you can't disable the remote login!! damm doh.gif
yes you can actually, you have to login using operator. find the password in athena's link biggrin.gif

0.0693sec    0.33    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:45 AM