Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V11, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

hye
post Jun 18 2011, 11:58 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Jun 18 2011, 11:25 PM)
Ok this is ridiculous now, without a VPN, I can't even log into lowyat forums or Facebook. Is anyone facing the same issue?
LYN forums and Facebook works well with me and I'm not on VPN.
hye
post Jun 25 2011, 08:30 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jun 25 2011, 07:34 PM)
waa..my dream router so expensive..><
Cheap thing not good. Good thing not cheap.
hye
post Jun 27 2011, 08:15 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Jun 27 2011, 08:12 PM)
I can tell you that people who post here usually will have problems and those without any are keeping quiet including myself lol.

Except for discussing with alternative solutions for wireless router.
Agreed. I am one of the quiet ones myself.
hye
post Jun 30 2011, 05:23 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Folks ... I just came across this router "PROLiNK WNR1008 3.75G Wireless-N Gigabit Router". (Perhaps not available in Malaysia yet)

I looked at the product manual and found VLAN settings. I'm curious whether this router would be another candidate for use with Unifi.
hye
post Jul 15 2011, 09:46 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@Point Ex

WEP configuration and WPA are total 2 different animals. You can't use the configuration interchangeably.

Both uses different encryption methods. It is akin to asking your notebook to talk in Chinese whereas your Router is speaking Japanese.
I suggest you to look for updated drivers on your notebook which support WPA / WPA2.
hye
post Jul 16 2011, 05:29 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jul 16 2011, 05:00 PM)
Just install unifi today. They gave a black router. Is that the DIR-615? I don't think so right?

Anyway, just wanna ask what should be the first things i should do to the settings.
Did you check the main page or Google the answer ? Answers will be there and in detail to help you out.
hye
post Jul 19 2011, 04:08 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jul 19 2011, 01:50 PM)
Bros, i just had my unifi installed.

need help with stb. Due to wiring limitation, i can only fix my unifi on 2nd floor. I connect the homeplug to the wifi router and another homeplug to another router below.

I can share internet without a problem. The only thing is the iptv is not working. Somehow TM hardcoded the iptv to LAN4 on the wifi router. If i plug straight into it iptv works, but if i go through homeplug it doesn't.

I tried plugging homeplug straight into LAN4 and another homeplug into the IPTV also won't work.

Please advise bros sad.gif

Also, i would like to change the admin password to the wifi router, admin/admin is only operator status, anyone can provide tmadmin password? I tried tmadmin and it doesn't work sad.gif
My friend also had a problem similar to yours and the answer is the homeplug itself. If you don't mind, please share which homeplug you bought so that we could avoid it. Also, just to double check ... use the homeplug and plug it to your notebook or PC. If your PC / notebook is able to connect to the internet then homeplug is not the problem.

If this is confirmed, please get yourself a better homeplug and should solve your problem.
I'm using homeplug (and many others in here) without any problems.
hye
post Jul 19 2011, 05:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I am aware of the different IP settings if you were to plug your cable to a wrong LAN port on the router. In both cases, the LAN cables were plugged to the homeplug on the correct LAN port .... one type did not work and another worked.

I cannot remember the actual specs of that cheaper homeplug. I don't understand how can this happen myself.

Trust me this is not the case.
hye
post Jul 19 2011, 05:52 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

No ... a misunderstanding there.

If you plug the cable to the LAN4 (aka IPTV port), you can only use it for IPTV. And likewise for other ports it can be used for surfing only.
hye
post Jul 22 2011, 04:57 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(soulknight @ Jul 22 2011, 04:22 PM)
Guys I just wonder, does it possible to watch the iptv on pc/laptop? does it require any hardware like the tv tuner? i'm asking since my house dont have any tv.
Yes ... provided your PC/Laptop have HDMI / Component input which your TV box need to talk to.
Otherwise ... the answer is no.
hye
post Aug 2 2011, 08:56 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(kwing911 @ Aug 2 2011, 08:51 AM)
My condo unit jz installed unifi 10mbps last morning. the tm guy said the speed shud up later the night since they nid to activate the account or something. But in the night, it is slow like snail jer. Anyway, next morning i did a speed test. Results as following:

Ping: 20ms
Download: 5.86mbps
Upload: 5.25mbps

But my package is 10mbps, shud i lodged a complain to tm? im new to tis forum btw.
Run the test again using Unifi speedtest. Unifi CS will only recognize speedtest done using the Unifi speedtest.
Then only decide (based on the test results) whether you want to lodge a report or not.
hye
post Aug 2 2011, 11:15 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(nonameNo @ Aug 2 2011, 11:03 AM)
do you mean that we need to purchase the homeplug ourselves?
Yes ... Homeplug you need to purchase on your own, it's not part of the bundled package.
I'll suggest to get a good homeplug.
hye
post Aug 4 2011, 08:47 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Aug 4 2011, 10:25 AM)
off topic

it Is possible to steal credit card detail over wifi cause my card been fraud to purchase air ticket at mas and air Asia.

This card is seldom used at Malaysia i only used for usa and UK online purchase. If it been used for international purchase than i believe it related to my online purchase but this time it been used at Malaysia so i suspect people break my wifi encryption and steal it through monitoring my wifi transaction. I don't do transaction at public wifi so the possible it only my home.

What you guy think?
Allow me to provide you with the correct feedback to your concerns.
Unless you keep your credit card information on your physical machine (Card number, Name on card, Expiry Date, CVV, Address) and/or you actually use your credit card online in a website without SSL then your concerns about your credit card details being stolen while using WiFi are not valid. It is very difficult (although possible) to steal your credit card details using public or private WiFi as the data packets need to be captured and decrypted on the fly. (I assume there's some sort of security in place) Also bear in mind the amount of computing power that you need to break the WPA type encryption on the fly - you need to bring a supercomputer within the range of proximity of the WiFi bubble.

Like I said while it is possible .... you are likely to notice a truck nearby with power cables connected to it. Someone wanting to do might as well hack into a bank or something to make while the effort.

Such credit card theft normally occurs at either receiving ends where the data has been received. Theft at public WiFi occurs when browser cache are not properly flushed out, leaving the possibility of the next person in line to steal the info from the cache itself. That's why you will see at public PC/WiFi areas, you are asked to flush your cache after surfing the net. Card information can be compromised in many ways ... even a disgruntled online employee, waiter at a public restaurant, cashier at the supermarket or an unhappy trusted friend can make this fraud happen.

However, buying air ticket online is plain stupidity on the part of the fraudster as the person can be caught the moment he/she shows up and attempt to board the aircraft. Unless the person is very mentally challenged, I think it is just an attempt to agitate you with the fraud on the air ticket.

In your case while your card has been fraudulently been used to purchase ticket at MAS and Air Asia, the actual information theft are likely to have occurred elsewhere. Seriously, I don't think you need to think the fault lies within your WiFi. Had that been true, you'd have seen much more cases like yourself all over.

I hope you will feel safe to use your credit card online (or anyone else) from now onwards.
hye
post Aug 11 2011, 12:44 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(SushiBurgerX @ Aug 11 2011, 12:40 PM)
VIP home package lar...i am not that rich....sweat.gif
Cheapest Biz package is only RM50 difference, it is not RM500 or RM5000 difference. + You did ask not to have a download limit and that is your answer.
It is a matter of time before the VIP be imposed a download limit and you will come back here and make noise again. (Although we are advising you right now to take the BIZ package)

0.0625sec    0.31    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:37 PM