Confinement with Breastfeeding~, Ginger will effect the breastfeeding???
TSsunflower808
Jun 9 2011, 03:36 PM, updated 15y ago
During my first baby girl, i have giving breastfeeding to her for 2 weeks time.
But confinement i have to eat a lot of ginger with dishes.....that's will make the bm was heated for baby?
phythia79
Jun 9 2011, 03:51 PM
Try not to take lots of ginger during confinement as babies will get jaundice easily and for a longer time.
My son had jaundice when he was about 3 days old. my doc just advised me to reduce my intake of ginger.
Added on June 9, 2011, 3:53 pmi strongly suggest for you to go to the breastfeeding class..then you can ask a lactation consultant (gina yong) questions which she can advise better. you can even ask the sillyest question..
This post has been edited by phythia79: Jun 9 2011, 03:53 PM
TSsunflower808
Jun 10 2011, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jun 9 2011, 04:51 PM) Try not to take lots of ginger during confinement as babies will get jaundice easily and for a longer time. My son had jaundice when he was about 3 days old. my doc just advised me to reduce my intake of ginger. Added on June 9, 2011, 3:53 pmi strongly suggest for you to go to the breastfeeding class..then you can ask a lactation consultant (gina yong) questions which she can advise better. you can even ask the sillyest question.. I Think so.... How long your baby recover to normal from jaundice?
phythia79
Jun 10 2011, 10:33 AM
If i'm not mistaken about 2 weeks for total recovery.
EnPoiNte
Jun 10 2011, 02:54 PM

during my confinement, most of my food were cook with ginger, including the drinks. My baby has little red dots because of heaty but went off after I stop taking ginger.  Dont worry too much, it won't affect anything on the baby.
nicKit
Jun 11 2011, 11:57 PM
sunflower808, i wanna pm u but ur inbox is full... pls clear some up space for me... thanks
TSsunflower808
Jun 13 2011, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(nicKit @ Jun 12 2011, 12:57 AM) sunflower808, i wanna pm u but ur inbox is full... pls clear some up space for me... thanks  done clearing lah,,,,,what you want pm me?
2lovemylife
Jun 15 2011, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(sunflower808 @ Jun 9 2011, 03:36 PM) During my first baby girl, i have giving breastfeeding to her for 2 weeks time. But confinement i have to eat a lot of ginger with dishes.....that's will make the bm was heated for baby? Eat ginger will cause baby get yellow skin.....You may notice see whether yr bb got yellow or not, if so, pls put her under sun to get more Vitamins E sunshine! Added on June 15, 2011, 4:08 pmQUOTE(2lovemylife @ Jun 15 2011, 04:06 PM) Eat ginger will cause baby get yellow skin.....You may notice see whether yr bb got yellow or not, if so, pls put her under sun to get more Vitamins E sunshine! my bb oso like that, but after few days put under the soft sunlight, they recover soon. This post has been edited by 2lovemylife: Jun 15 2011, 04:08 PM