98 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

The iPad 1/2 Jailbreak Discussion Thread, iPad 2 5.0.1 untethered out!

Joelles
post Nov 16 2011, 12:51 AM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Nov 15 2011, 09:44 PM)
thank u ...any problem if i charge 8 hour for first will it effect the battery life?
and usually when is the time to charge ?reach 20% or 0%?
I don't think the one time overcharge will do any harm to your brand new iPad, anyway you can refer this thread for more information regarding about the iPad Battery: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1910597

Cheers!
jtdc
post Nov 16 2011, 12:24 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Nov 12 2011, 02:04 AM)
heard that new ios 5 even u save blob SHSH also cannot rollback ady..
any evidence for this? i plan to update to iOS 5.0 since tinyumbrella won't do with 4.3.5 anymore.
azraeil
post Nov 16 2011, 01:04 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(hadzGBN @ Nov 14 2011, 07:17 PM)
to any pros out there, for ipad2 wifi only. i update to ios5 b4 after two weeks of boresome i downgrade back to 4.3.3 using method provided by redmonpie site whoch require to edit the host file n use tinyumbrella, let say i want to update to ios 5 when the jb is out for 5.0, can i do it the same way to trick apple to sign the ipsw?

Added on November 15, 2011, 12:17 amto any pros out there, for ipad2 wifi only. i update to ios5 b4 after two weeks of boresome i downgrade back to 4.3.3 using method provided by redmonpie site whoch require to edit the host file n use tinyumbrella, let say i want to update to ios 5 when the jb is out for 5.0, can i do it the same way to trick apple to sign the ipsw?
Nope. You cannot upgrade to iOS5.0 once Apple stops signing the firmware even if you do have the SHSH for iOS5.0. Once you missed the signing window for iOS5, that's it ...

So the choice was to upgrade to iOS5.0 while Apple was still signing it and wait for the jailbreak to come out OR sticking to a perfectly working 4.3.3 untethered jailbreak ... I chose the latter.
clon12
post Nov 16 2011, 05:25 PM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

Cannot update to iOS 5 but can update to 5.0.1?
iRadiation
post Nov 16 2011, 05:59 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Nov 16 2011, 05:25 PM)
Cannot update to iOS 5 but can update to 5.0.1?
Yep, that's the case for now.

QUOTE(Joelles @ Nov 16 2011, 12:51 AM)
I don't think the one time overcharge will do any harm to your brand new iPad, anyway you can refer this thread for more information regarding about the iPad Battery: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1910597

Cheers!
Tumpang tanya, you mentioned that for ipad2 it takes around 4 hours+ for 0% to 100%. Is there a big difference between charging times for ipad1/2?

My Ipad 1 takes around 6-7 hours for 10% -> 100%, charging it with the wall ac power adapter.
SharingBeat
post Nov 16 2011, 06:21 PM

PromiseAintEnough
733 posts

so guys now which one is the best selection?
upgrade from 4.3.5 to ios 5??cox some say cant upgrade to 5.0.1....
im confuse..><

Joelles
post Nov 16 2011, 07:51 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(iRadiation @ Nov 16 2011, 05:59 PM)
Yep, that's the case for now.
Tumpang tanya, you mentioned that for ipad2 it takes around 4 hours+ for 0% to 100%. Is there a big difference between charging times for ipad1/2?

My Ipad 1 takes around 6-7 hours for 10% -> 100%, charging it with the wall ac power adapter.
Since yours are iPad 1, battery degrading maybe or not that may caused the charging time but there are some tasks that you need to follow in order to preserve the lifespan of your battery. Here are the instruction how to preserve your iPad lifespan and may reduce your iPad charging time taken from Apple website:

Optimize Your Settings
There are a number of iPad settings you can adjust to minimize power consumption and extend battery life, including screen brightness. These tips may help extend your battery life.

Adjust brightness: Managing the screen brightness is the best way to extend iPad battery life. By default, your iPad has Auto-Brightness turned On. Auto-Brightness adjusts iPad screen brightness based on ambient lighting conditions; lowering brightness in low light conditions helps to extend battery life. You can adjust brightness yourself; go to Settings > Brightness & Wallpaper and drag the slider to the left to lower the default screen brightness.

Manage the use of downloaded applications: Use of certain applications, such as games that prevent the screen from dimming or shutting off or applications that use location services, can reduce battery life.

Turn off Wi-Fi: If you know you’re not going to be using Wi-Fi, you can turn it off to save power. Go to Settings > Wi-Fi and set Wi-Fi to Off. Note that if you have iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G and use it to browse the web, battery life may be improved by using Wi-Fi instead of cellular data networks.

Turn off 3G (Wi-Fi + 3G model): Using 3G cellular networks when you’re out of range of Wi-Fi connectivity allows you to stay in touch but may also decrease battery life, especially in areas with limited 3G coverage. To disable 3G, from the Home screen choose Settings > Cellular and set Cellular Data to Off. Note: You will no longer be able to send or receive data via a cellular data network.
Use Airplane Mode (Wi-Fi + 3G model) in low- or no-coverage areas: Because your iPad always tries to maintain a connection with a Wi-Fi network or 3G data network (Wi-Fi + 3G model), it may use more power in low- or no-coverage areas. Turning on Airplane Mode can increase battery life in these situations. To turn on Airplane Mode, go to Settings and set Airplane Mode to On.
Minimize use of location services: Applications that actively use location services, such as Maps, may reduce battery life. To disable location services, go to Settings > General > Location Services or use location services only when needed.

Turn off push notifications: Some applications from the App Store use the Apple Push Notification service to alert you of new data. Applications that rely extensively on push notifications (such as instant messaging applications) may decrease battery life. To disable push notifications, go to Settings > Notifications and set Notifications to Off. Note that this does not prevent new data from being received when the application is opened. Also, the Notifications setting will not be visible if you do not have any applications installed that support push notifications.

Fetch new data less frequently: Applications such as Mail can be set to fetch data wirelessly at specific intervals. The more frequently email or other data is fetched, the quicker your battery may drain. To fetch new data manually, from the Home screen choose Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars > Fetch New Data and tap Manually. To increase the fetch interval, go to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars > Fetch New Data and tap Hourly. Note that this is a global setting and applies to all applications that do not support push services.

Turn off push mail: If you have a push mail account such as Yahoo! or Microsoft Exchange, turn off push when you don’t need it. Go to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars > Fetch New Data and set Push to Off. Messages sent to your push email accounts will now be received on your phone based on the global Fetch setting rather than as they arrive. If the global Fetch setting is set to Manually, you will not be able to locate your iPad using the Find My iPad feature.

Auto-check fewer email accounts: You can save power by checking fewer email accounts. This can be accomplished by turning off an email account or by deleting it. To turn off an account, go to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars, choose an email account, and set Account to Off. To remove an account, go to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars, choose an email account, and tap Delete Account.
Lock Your iPad

It may seem obvious, but you should lock your iPad when you aren’t using it. To lock iPad, press the Sleep/Wake button. You can also set the Auto-Lock interval so your iPad will turn off more quickly after a period of inactivity. To set Auto-Lock, go to Settings > General > Auto-Lock and set the interval to a short time, such as 1 minute.

Use Your iPad Regularly
For proper reporting of the battery’s state of charge, be sure to go through at least one charge cycle per month (charging the battery to 100% and then completely running it down).
fongkarseong
post Nov 16 2011, 11:04 PM

124 posts

Hello all Sifu,

1st of all.. sorry if i ask some noob questions. I'm new user for IPad 2. I just bought an IPad 2 wifi + 3G on yesterday. My version of the IOS is 4.3.5

I been read/seach on this thread for Jailbreak and I very confuse now. Is 4.3.5 can be Jailbreak or need down grade 1st?
I google around in internet and some article said that to Jailbreak Ipad 2 with IOS 4.3.5 need to down grade to 4.3.3 then only able to Jailbreak by using Jailbreakme.
But in this thread mentioned that 4.3.5 cannot be down grade.
So i got 2 questions.. hope all master can give guide to me.

1) Is 4.3.5 can down grade to 4.3.3?
2) If cannot down grade.. any other way I can Jailbreak Ipad 2 with IOS 4.3.5?

Please help icon_question.gif .. I really need Jailbreak my IPad..
Thanks in advanced..
eikozai
post Nov 16 2011, 11:46 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Nov 16 2011, 11:04 PM)
Hello all Sifu,

1st of all.. sorry if i ask some noob questions. I'm new user for IPad 2. I just bought an IPad 2 wifi + 3G on yesterday. My version of the IOS is 4.3.5

I been read/seach on this thread for Jailbreak and I very confuse now. Is 4.3.5 can be Jailbreak or need down grade 1st?
I google around in internet and some article said that to Jailbreak Ipad 2 with IOS 4.3.5  need to down grade to 4.3.3 then only able to Jailbreak by using Jailbreakme.
But in this thread mentioned that 4.3.5 cannot be down grade.
So i got 2 questions.. hope all master can give guide to me.

1) Is 4.3.5 can down grade to 4.3.3?
2) If cannot down grade.. any other way I can Jailbreak Ipad 2 with IOS 4.3.5?

Please help icon_question.gif ..  I really need Jailbreak my IPad..
Thanks in advanced..
Eh hem!! Lemme try to help ah smile.gif
1) u can't downgrade it as u din not have a SHSH blobs for 4.3.3 version of ur ipad2 saved. Blobs can only be save when you jail broken it.
2) the latest untethered version of JB for ipad2 is 4.3.3 and there's no later version of JB, which meaans u can't JB it now since ur iPad delivered in IOS 4.3.5 sad.gif you might as well upgrade it to IoS since u're kinda stuck in between and can't even JB it at all since blobs are unique to every iPad, means u can't copy other iPad blobs and put it in ur iPad, it doesn't work this way. Google more about this SHSh blobs for more information.

Good luck waiting for the IOS5 jailbreak smile.gif I'm using IOS5 and it is worth upgrading with all these new features implemented. Free apps are more than enough currently.. smile.gif
tinglun
post Nov 17 2011, 03:39 AM

19 posts

Hi bro... 4.3.5 can jailbreak?
SharingBeat
post Nov 17 2011, 08:38 AM

PromiseAintEnough
733 posts

QUOTE(tinglun @ Nov 17 2011, 03:39 AM)
Hi bro...  4.3.5 can jailbreak?
no....
4.3.5 cant JB....
currently those hackers are trying to JB ios 5 only...
so maybe u shud upgrade to ios 5 and wait for the JB...=)

eikozai
post Nov 17 2011, 09:28 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(SharingBeat @ Nov 17 2011, 08:38 AM)
no....
4.3.5 cant JB....
currently those hackers are trying to JB ios 5 only...
so maybe u shud upgrade to ios 5 and wait for the JB...=)
+1 Well said, buddy biggrin.gif

Added on November 17, 2011, 9:31 amI think there's a lot of people confuse between IOS5 and IOS5.0.1. Apparently, both appear to be the same, but there are minority experiencing bugs with IOS5, so Apple decided to release IOS5.0.1 as a bug fixed version.
This means that whoever have not upgraded to IOS5.0.0 a.k.a IOS5 wont be able to upgrade to this version anymore as Apple no longer releasing the blobs, but you can alwis upgrade to IOS5.0.1, no problem.

Hope my statement make your mind clear biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by eikozai: Nov 17 2011, 09:31 AM
SharingBeat
post Nov 17 2011, 10:16 AM

PromiseAintEnough
733 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Nov 17 2011, 09:28 AM)
+1 Well said, buddy biggrin.gif

Added on November 17, 2011, 9:31 amI think there's a lot of people confuse between IOS5 and IOS5.0.1. Apparently, both appear to be the same, but there are minority experiencing bugs with IOS5, so Apple decided to release IOS5.0.1 as a bug fixed version.
This means that whoever have not upgraded to IOS5.0.0 a.k.a IOS5 wont be able to upgrade to this version anymore as Apple no longer releasing the blobs, but you can alwis upgrade to IOS5.0.1, no problem.

Hope my statement make your mind clear biggrin.gif
tat means we shud choose to upgrade ios5.0.1??
aiya...so confusing... doh.gif
eikozai
post Nov 17 2011, 11:09 AM

1,120 posts

Erm, not 'choose to upgrade IOS5.0.1', but u have no choice but to go IOS5.0.1 if you have not upgraded to IOS5 before, either you din upgrade or u have not own one ipad before. Because Apple have stop signing the IOS5.0 blobs, but IOS5.0.1 would be the same function, just that they fixed bugs. For easy understanding, get a picture in ur head that every version is a different blobs(one kinda file from Apple).

IOS5.0 and IOS5.0.1 JB might be different, i'm not sure because until this date there's no JB for IOS5 above yet for ipad2.

LordNed
post Nov 17 2011, 12:15 PM

190 posts

Hi, I wanna ask about sync-ing apps to itunes. Will it also sync my saved games? Because currently mine is 4.3.5 and I planning to upgrade to 5.0.1, since 4.3.5 won't have and jb and 5.0.1 might have. I don't wanna lose my saved games, is it possible?
iRadiation
post Nov 17 2011, 02:32 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(Joelles @ Nov 16 2011, 07:51 PM)
Since yours are iPad 1, battery degrading maybe or not that may caused the charging time but there are some tasks that you need to follow in order to preserve the lifespan of your battery. Here are the instruction how to preserve your iPad lifespan and may reduce your iPad charging time taken from Apple website:

Yeap, I've read that before. My iPad 1 has push mail/no 3g/brightness set to lowest/no push notifications/no location services. I always let the battery drop to single digit battery % before charging. (Usually lasts a week before I need to charge).

Mainly using it for occasional web surfing, watching about 30 minutes - 1 hour of video every night, and some casual games.
Frenly
post Nov 18 2011, 08:20 AM

381 posts

Hmm...heard that io51 jailbreak is out -- semi untethered version ...no points only for ipad1

http://www.iphonestuffs4u.com/ios-5-untethered-jailbreak/

This post has been edited by Frenly: Nov 18 2011, 08:37 AM
ddr3
post Nov 18 2011, 01:21 PM

HEDGIE :3
1,459 posts

a quick question, ipad2 3G n wifi can support GPRS,EDGE or not?
eikozai
post Nov 18 2011, 01:58 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Nov 18 2011, 01:21 PM)
a quick question, ipad2 3G n wifi can support GPRS,EDGE or not?
Quick answer for ur quick question here. YES.
ab0y88
post Nov 19 2011, 02:17 AM

490 posts

juz want to make sure. i found tethered jb for ios5 on pandaapp.com.
thinking about to try it out. but i have a question to ask.
if let say i jb my ios5, when unthetherd jb come out, can i jb again my ipad 2 for unthetherd one? sry this is my first time in jb-ing. thx smile.gif

-edit
oh i think i understand this wrong. there's no way to jb ipad2 yet?

This post has been edited by ab0y88: Nov 19 2011, 02:56 AM

98 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:35 AM