Need sifu to clarify my problem, Noise from component set

TSshiun0808
post Jun 8 2011, 09:33 AM, updated 15y ago

52 posts

Just fix in a set of audio in my car.

After a few day of testing, i felt when it was low volume there are some noise from component set (mostly is from tweeter), but when turn to volume 20 the noise gone.

And the woofer also is another problem, when playing some high bass song, it unable to perform and like bass around the back.

what is the problem ?

Hu : pioneer 1950. (entry level. very basic)

with 1 set component, 4ch amp and woofer.

Thanks for help.

This post has been edited by shiun0808: Jun 8 2011, 09:41 AM
craziechild
post Jun 8 2011, 01:20 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

what kinda of noise??

weeeee.... ~~~~

-or-

shhhhhhh.... ~~~
bafukie
post Jun 8 2011, 02:19 PM

1,406 posts

setting problem... amp gain set too high.. x-over set incorrectly..
TSshiun0808
post Jun 8 2011, 03:36 PM

52 posts

shhhhhhh.... ~~~

When is was low volume....

Any comment how to set gain in Amp ?

nothing can be set on X-over, it was only -2db, 0db and +2 db only.
Any Possible on wiring problem ?
jasonloke
post Jun 8 2011, 05:20 PM

213 posts

got tuning on amp?
MyWifeCar
post Jun 8 2011, 06:12 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jun 8 2011, 01:20 PM)
what kinda of noise??

weeeee.... ~~~~

-or-

shhhhhhh.... ~~~
Sifu memang sifu la... can even guess what sort of noise even without listening....

But the sound "shhhhhh....~~~" make me thinking something else, and also wonder why ICE got such sound.. laugh.gif
TSshiun0808
post Jun 8 2011, 09:41 PM

52 posts

Coz from the speaker is only 2 type of sound under this situation....

But if from other part maybe a lot. like wind, road, rock hit, pressure from road.

tunning under which swtich ?

howiechoo
post Jun 8 2011, 09:57 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

normally the shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh sound are due to amp or cd.....try skip track, does it produce the sound when skipping?
TSshiun0808
post Jun 8 2011, 10:00 PM

52 posts

no sound when skip track....

If due to Amp, how to fix it?
howiechoo
post Jun 9 2011, 12:51 AM

1,919 posts

if skip no noise, then probably is the cd..try other cd..
if other cd is same, then u can try playing with lower amp gain and hu eq, see if that solve the problem
TSshiun0808
post Jun 9 2011, 09:01 AM

52 posts

seem is the Amp gain is the problem.

wouldn't be CD, test on few CD already. Hu Eq also not much difference, it noise after test on all EQ.

Btw how to tune on lower amp gain, any information can be provide?

thanks a lot

zennn
post Jun 9 2011, 11:37 AM

just lower the amp gain till u dont hear any noise, make sure head unit volume is high. there will be a knob on the amp labeled as gain or level.

if there is still noise at low head unit volume, then what u have is high floor noise, could be from any source such as, amp quality, rca cable, power cable, ground cable, routing of speaker and rca wires, location of ecu, location of passives, head unit grounding, etc etc

This post has been edited by zennn: Jun 9 2011, 11:40 AM
TSshiun0808
post Jun 9 2011, 12:48 PM

52 posts

walao....... so many source of the problem.

try just now, but lower the gain, sound volume also will be lower.

what is the X over? function ? it stated from 50db to 250 db.

should it be balance?

what will be the most possible factor among it?

Sh@rty 5
post Jun 9 2011, 11:28 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(shiun0808 @ Jun 9 2011, 12:48 PM)
walao....... so many source of the problem.

try just now, but lower the gain, sound volume also will be lower.

what is the X over? function ? it stated from  50db to 250 db.

should it be balance?

what will be the most possible factor among it?
smile.gif bro if i were you, get back to the place u've install it

u already paid for ur stuff, so i am sure, you have the right to get it done nicely wink.gif
howiechoo
post Jun 10 2011, 01:40 AM

1,919 posts

headunit volume dial is not to indicate how loud the system is going to be....

lower the amp gain with high hu volume dial is GOOD.......
TSshiun0808
post Jun 10 2011, 08:55 AM

52 posts

some how it's mean the Amp is powerful enuf to push on the woofer or component set. right?

but i have tune at very high gain, sound baru ok. if not headunit volume have to be very high. volume low like 1-10 cant heard anything.

sien liao. need a better amp?
craziechild
post Jun 10 2011, 10:55 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

nope.... thats a common mistake...

in actual fact, if your HU volume range is from 0-100. most of us here would use the 80-90 range and thats our normal listening volume... by doing that you keep your amp gain at the very low point.

now as to why keep the amp gain low... well first off, from the HU, the source will be played at its maximum output, put it as "as what the artist would want you to listen to". then going through to the amp, it then gets amplified. at this stage, if your gain is too high, possibilities are you degrade this music source by introducing distortions and noise. while on lower gains, the amplification works as normal, minimal degrading occurred.

well... while high gain makes the system goes "kaboom kaboom" at 0-10 volume range. it doesnt mean that thats where the point its giving out the full potential. gain doesnt effect the wattage at any point.

hope you understand the whole process is bahasa pasar... biggrin.gif
cheers.gif
TSshiun0808
post Jun 10 2011, 01:36 PM

52 posts

ok.... thanks for your time to explain to me......

Look like i'm unable to solve the problem....time to look for sifu for better setting to solve my problem.

i believe if the amp is powerful enuf should be no problem to generate clear sound even on low gain. for my amp, when it's low gain, sound very low as well.

thanks.
zacisme
post Jun 14 2011, 12:33 PM

sounds like hissing sound to me...
you cant hear it on high volume could be due to it was covered by music
Wats your rca and amp model?
so-so quality amp could lead to this problem as well

And, 1950 is only one preout right?
did you use preamp or 1-2 rca to inscrease your preout so that
you able to transmit front signal to ch1/2 and sub to ch3/4?

Burned cd also tend to have similiar noise
Do you play original cd or music downloaded from internet?
TSshiun0808
post Jun 15 2011, 08:43 AM

52 posts

Thanks for your reply, zacisme

RCA is Genexis and amp is hamony 4cd.

I think the amp problem. will be look into it.

Ya, is only 1 preout. have to use 1-2 rca to connect with Amp. it will cause problem?

0.0200sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:53 PM