a few questions about gym

TSthunderfoot
post Jun 8 2011, 07:16 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jun 8 2011, 07:12 PM)
wtf is your point? explain how are we deviating
already explained...I shouldn't be saying this. but i am new to this field, and i have things i dont understand. so i guess it explains everything, right no?

What i type in the reply, is a reply. Its really not a good idea to start reading from a reply.

Added on June 8, 2011, 7:17 pm
QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jun 8 2011, 07:14 PM)
1. Yes, its normal. Don't need to freak out.

2. If you do fast, you are using momentum, not shocking your muscles. It is just like mopping floor, if u wipe fast, its as though you are painting, not cleaning.

3. Sometimes it depends how you position your self with the machine, or your foot position. But if you feel the pressure reaching your knees... you should reduce the weight. Don't rush on getting heavy. Despite being bad for knees, you should consume more quality food to maintain your joints.

4. No it doesn't.

5. No.

6. Yes.  Again similar to ans (3).
I like your reply, thanks for answering and clearing my doubts.

This post has been edited by thunderfoot: Jun 8 2011, 07:18 PM
VeeJay
post Jun 8 2011, 07:30 PM

3,854 posts

wow, so may different answers...anyways I'm just gonna touch point number 4. infact it was answered by thunderfoot for point number 3

<<
no wrong in this, your tendon will eventually become stronger and thicker as the result from strength training, muscle grows along too. reason to cause injuries is bad form while performing an exercise.
>>

To recover from a surgery or injury, strengthening exercise is part of physio therapy, normally you do resistance, and not heavy weight.
DOnt do by your own without consulting a physio
TSthunderfoot
post Jun 8 2011, 07:32 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 8 2011, 07:30 PM)
wow, so may different answers...anyways I'm just gonna touch point number 4. infact it was answered by thunderfoot for point number 3

<<
no wrong in this, your tendon will eventually become stronger and thicker as the result from strength training, muscle grows along too. reason to cause injuries is bad form while performing an exercise.
>>

To recover from a surgery or injury, strengthening exercise is part of physio therapy, normally you do resistance, and not heavy weight.
DOnt do by your own without consulting a physio
thanks for helpful reply. i also realise a lot of diff answers =.=
mikehuan
post Jun 8 2011, 08:09 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(thunderfoot @ Jun 8 2011, 01:53 AM)
So i finally had access to a cheap gym. First time in my life i entered a gym.

1. Is it normal that the machine make a lot of noise when i release and drop the weight? The load of the machine collided because i released a little too fast and it kinda made some noise i dunno if it will spoil the machine.

2. What about the tempo of pushing and releasing the load? I saw on video tutorials those people usually carry the load and release slowly, but in the gym, i saw some of the other ppl doing it fast. I find it easier to do more when i do it fast too.

3. There was this leg pressing machine and when i used it, i tried to reach my maximum by setting it as heavy as possible. But when it reaches around 80 kg, when i push i feel the pressure in my knees, there was no pain but i can feel the pressure, i assume this is bad for the knees, no? Is it suppose to be like that? Cause i dont wanna end up having insufficient joint liquid when my time comes, like many sports athletics, our body cant secrete joint liquids right?

4. My friend told me that he needs to exercise in the gym to help recovering from his sports injury. So something is new here, i thought our body is suppose to rest while waiting for the injury to recover. How does gyming helps recovering an injury?

5. I am eating 3 eggs every day i work out in a gym. Is it enough?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

6. Sometimes when i work on the abs loading machine, instead of feeling the pressure on the abs, i feel part of it on my legs too, is that normal? Or does it means i am doing it wrongly?
1. control the weight. machine weights should not touch the bottom weights unless its the end of the rep. even so, lower it as slowly as you can. dropping weights is just plain rude.
2. people are doing it fast because its easier. always control the negative portion of the rep, dont drop it down.
3. when you do a jump dont you feel the pressure as well? dont worry about it, just dont go too heavy too fast.
4. ask your friend? though from experience, i have recovered from knee injury. lifting weights might have be a factor.
5. no.
6. depends on the machine.

QUOTE(thunderfoot @ Jun 8 2011, 07:16 PM)
already explained...I shouldn't be saying this. but i am new to this field, and i have things i dont understand. so i guess it explains everything, right no?

What i type in the reply, is a reply. Its really not a good idea to start reading from a reply.
its a reply to a topic thread started by you in regards of the topic. tell me how is it deviating, unless you deviated yourself? i read from the beginning, who do you know reads from the middle of the thread? i just didnt have the time to reply to all your questions just now.

what i dont get is why would you post this in a bodybuilding thread when you specifically said you weren't interested in bodybuilding?

TSthunderfoot
post Jun 8 2011, 08:19 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jun 8 2011, 08:09 PM)
1. control the weight. machine weights should not touch the bottom weights unless its the end of the rep. even so, lower it as slowly as you can. dropping weights is just plain rude.
2. people are doing it fast because its easier. always control the negative portion of the rep, dont drop it down.
3. when you do a jump dont you feel the pressure as well? dont worry about it, just dont go too heavy too fast.
4. ask your friend? though from experience, i have recovered from knee injury. lifting weights might have be a factor.
5. no.
6. depends on the machine.
its a reply to a topic thread started by you in regards of the topic. tell me how is it deviating, unless you deviated yourself? i read from the beginning, who do you know reads from the middle of the thread? i just didnt have the time to reply to all your questions just now.

what i dont get is why would you post this in a bodybuilding thread when you specifically said you weren't interested in bodybuilding?
thanks for reply rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

i posted here because its body building and strength training, im interested in the latter part.
x-199Tx
post Jun 8 2011, 08:36 PM

1,089 posts

QUOTE(thunderfoot @ Jun 8 2011, 03:09 PM)
college gym =.= rm1.20 per hour but u can use it 2-3 hours no one cares, they dont check also. but i dont think anyone would want to hit the gym for 2 hours above.

only students can use lol

Added on June 8, 2011, 3:21 pm
1. what i mean is i release the load too fast and the upper load collided into the btm load and make noise.
5. im not into bodybuilding, i go to gym to enchance sports performance, faster stronger fitter but not bigger. i mean growing big is eventually unavoidable but i dont want to become like arnold or having robotic movements.
Relax guys , maybe he just doesn't know the proper words ..

His not into powerlifting.. and I supposed he just want to get ' bigger ' not get BIG .. It's 2 different concept ..

Toner or beach body would be ideal in this situation I think , thats just my opinion

CHEERS
The Silent Killer
post Jun 12 2011, 04:06 AM

657 posts

2. if ur form is correct, i dun see anything wrong with fast lifting. this topic until today is still very debatable. some claim that fast lifting trains explosiveness while others say slow lifting trains endurance. ur call.

but some exercise u just cant slow lift it. power clean slowly is definitely retarded. as for me, im lifting moderately. but definitely not slow.

Added on June 12, 2011, 4:17 am
QUOTE(thunderfoot @ Jun 8 2011, 03:09 PM)
but i dont want to become like arnold or having robotic movements.
go google or youtube search for franco columbu. a competitive partner of arnold. yes he's big. he was in heavy boxing. see the way he skip ropes n punch sand bags. do u still think bodybuilder/powerlifter is slow? training makes ur muscle develop and by saying this, we know that u can be more agile because ur muscles are more developed right? if not y do u think most athletes today do strength training? and no, dun think that u can be "big" ( maybe like dan said, our perception of big is diff) in just few weeks or even months. arnold trained for yrs to achieve that body.

This post has been edited by The Silent Killer: Jun 12 2011, 04:17 AM
Dharmain
post Jun 15 2011, 11:08 AM

65 posts

I'll reply to your sixth question:

"6. Sometimes when i work on the abs loading machine, instead of feeling the pressure on the abs, i feel part of it on my legs too, is that normal? Or does it means i am doing it wrongly?"

I'm assuming you're using the double crunch machine for this one. Yes, its normal to feel part of your legs too especially on your thigh area, if you're lifting too heavy. What happens is, your abs can't contract without your legs pulling back on the weight which could be why you're experiencing this. My advice, drop a few plates and try again. If you're feeling it at your legs, you're not going get the results you want.

Keep your mind and thoughts focused on your abs when you're contracting and keep it that way till the end of your set.

0.0178sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:00 AM