The all new Nintendo Wii U Discussion Thread, NA price drop next month

SUSMatrix
post Dec 26 2014, 04:47 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Planning to get a Wii-U for playing MarioLand 3D and future Mario games. Sick of all the realistic graphics on my PC and XBOX.

Need some unrealistic looking graphic games to play.

Some questions:
1) Can it play Wii games? Can buy from online store?
2) Is it compatible with Wii controllers?
3) How many versions are there (Wii U) and the price roughly now?
4) Is there region lock for this console? Any particular region console i should buy? Or is it the console can play all region games?

Tq.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 27 2014, 02:55 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Dec 26 2014, 06:46 PM)
baca dulu FAQ bro. tongue.gif

1. Can... But only physical ones. There's no digital Wii games on the E Shop.
2. Not all games, but the back box of the game will tell you what works and not.
3. I think most of the sellers have the 32GB Super Mario 3D World bundle for RM 1200 and above. Should be the case.
4. Just buy US. That's probably the easiest region to get.
There is no FAQ link in the firat post bro. Maybe TS can improve it.

Anyway, thanks for the reply, now is matter to look for seller. Any recommended seller and shoos from KL or PJ?
SUSMatrix
post Dec 27 2014, 04:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Dec 27 2014, 03:12 PM)
TS dah lama tak update. Haha. not even sure if he/she is around anymore. BUkak thread tapi no update after.

Check my website for the FAQ. http://kyosgamemart.com
Oh, you are seller. Pls pm me price for WiiU with Mario World.

You got PM. I can come over today or tomorrow. Pls whatsapp me. Contact in PM.

Tq.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 2 2015, 12:26 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Just bought WiiU yesterday:

Impression:
1) This thing is complicated for a 1st timer to Wii (never have a Wii). So many different controllers.
2) The WiiU gamepad is also complicated with so many stuff.
3) The console itself is slim and good!! Way smaller than my Xbox360!
4) WiiU gamepad quiet heavy. Cannot take with one hand for long period.
5) WiiMote Plus with nunchack, quiet ok to use (Additional item)

So far played Nintendo Land and SM3DWorld (a bit). Really enjoyable, playing with my 10 yrs old son. smile.gif The WiiU gamepad seems to be a bit hit and miss…in some games (like Zelda Battlequest in NintendoLand, it’s quiet useful for the archer and a nice experience), in others like that Fruity drawing game, is kinda stupid and boring. Pikmin in Nintendoland is pretty good..had a good laugh when got eaten by the monster and dump out as shit and needs recue from your partner! LOL.
Tried: NETFLIX and HuluPlus. NETFLIX seems to stream at lower quality than possible on PC. HULUPLUS seems to have better quality and almost on par with PC. After watching for a few hours and playing, the console remains lukewarm. Impressive! thumbup.gif
All in all, a worthwhile purchase, it’s all about Fun! I was really sick with all the serious games on my XB360 and PC. Great graphics don’t make great games. The first party Nintendo games alone makes it worthwhile. Who cares if there’s no “serious “ or 3rd party games….all those can be play on the PC. Glad I didn’t waste RM1.7k on a PC graphic card which does nothing but gives more frame rates!!! doh.gif

This reminds me the excitement of the original Playstation and Sega Saturn.

Hopefully my Mario Kart 8 arrives tomorrow. smile.gif

SUSMatrix
post Jan 2 2015, 02:12 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(carpark7 @ Jan 2 2015, 12:41 PM)
May I know where you bought it? Been looking around and most of the shop have no stock
Yeah, was hunting high and low over a week...really kanasai...bought from WiiSeller. PM him, hopefully he still has stock.

SUSMatrix
post Jan 2 2015, 03:33 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(PLa5teRz @ Jan 2 2015, 03:28 PM)
Welcome to the club. You should try zelda wind waker hd too. But, its not a multiplayer. Just finish first quest, and really2 enjoy it.
Saw that game in videos and reviews, I don't like the graphics...Maybe need to wait for a true ZELDA game for the Wii U.

And i forgot to add, the initial system download is ridiculous. I think 1 hour 40 minutes or so. And i have an 8Mbps fibre internet. Waited 3 minutes only the first bar appears....at 70%+, i cannot tahan and boost my internet to 50Mbps....maybe helps a bit in the last 30%...

Really potong steam...then somemore each app have to update...Netflix, Hulu, Nintendoland etc....Zzzzz....

I read from the web a lot of people complains about the slow update.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 2 2015, 03:42 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 2 2015, 03:58 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 2 2015, 03:44 PM)
You didn't put in the SM3D World disc first?
No. Need to put that first ah?? It has system firmware update?

SM3D is the only game which doesn't need to download further software updates.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 2 2015, 03:59 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 2 2015, 07:58 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 2 2015, 07:11 PM)
Erh... It's stated on the slip that you should put THAT disc first and then it will update without the internet. tongue.gif
Fark!!!! What Slip!!!! doh.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jan 2 2015, 11:40 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(carpark7 @ Jan 2 2015, 09:05 PM)
Thanks. Finally got it at lowyat plaza bundle with Mario 3d world deluxe set but the game came pre-install not physical disc sad.gif
How come? Sounds like con job. Do you get NintendoLand as well? Should have Mario 3D + NintendoLand. How much did you paid for it?
SUSMatrix
post Jan 3 2015, 01:49 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(carpark7 @ Jan 3 2015, 12:42 AM)
This what I get

[attachmentid=4284856]
Is this US region or Asian? The box says pre-installed, so should be ok i guess. How much did you pay for this?
SUSMatrix
post Jan 3 2015, 12:18 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(carpark7 @ Jan 3 2015, 12:07 PM)
US. RM 1.2k
rm 1.2k is good price. But if pre-install, means use a lot of the storage space, the 32GB storage space is really pathethic. With 2 games installed, maybe 8GB gone liao. sweat.gif

It will also means next time you cannot sell the games if you don't want it anymore.

Anyway, as long you can play now, enjoize!! biggrin.gif

Mine come with this WiiFlow/Homebrew for the Wii Mode, interesting....biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 3 2015, 12:20 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 18 2015, 06:01 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 16 2015, 10:20 AM)
The only thing I want to see is how it is for games that were never localised, along with games (that people consider shovelware) that are just fun be released again for the WiiU.

It's better to unify 1 it to 1 console, but it also works if Nintendo actually gives a solution to storage too. There's only so much i can do with a Y cable really.
Y cable? Your hard disk cannot power ar? I have an old HDD casing with a HDD i rip off from old laptop, need a Y cable. But my WD Ultra passbook 1TB, does not need a Y cable, can run straight with one port. So to those looking to buy a HDD, can buy this model without hassle of Y cable.

Btw, can you store games on an SD card instead? Can you store on multiple location? Internal SSD + SD Storage card or Hard disk??
SUSMatrix
post Jan 20 2015, 03:44 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Jan 20 2015, 01:15 PM)
Got a WiiU from Kyo on Friday night.

1. How do I apply screen protector on the gamepad?
I bought the biggest screen protector from Daiso (bigger than ipad mini) and the gamepad screen does not follow the s.p. grid boxes.
How to cut the s.p. properly?

2. What's the best thing to use to clean the gamepad before applying s.p.?
First time apply s.p. but can see bits of dust here and there..
Huh? Mine come with a screen protector which fits exactly the Gamepad size wor. Your set dun have? Mine is US set.

But i suck at applying screen protector, made a lot of bubbles, have to rub very long and hard to push the bubbles to the edge. Still got a few bubble here and there.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 20 2015, 03:45 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 20 2015, 05:26 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(narien @ Jan 20 2015, 05:18 PM)
my set also comes with a screen protector and i also suck at this too..too many bubbles, too many time re-applying until in the end i had to throw that away. then i bought the screen protector for galaxy mega, use scissor to cut off the excess to make it fit, apply it gently and no more bubbles..but since i cut it using scissor the edges of the protector doesnt look straight.. biggrin.gif
I think you can buy WIIU screen protector from lelong.com

Usually, i buy screen protector for phone, i do it at the shop...ask the sales assistant do for me, they're very pro....tongue.gif

SUSMatrix
post Jan 21 2015, 11:39 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Wanna ask, is the Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker is only in e-Shop or is there retail copy?? Doesn't seems to be able to find retail disc copy...
SUSMatrix
post Jan 21 2015, 12:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 21 2015, 12:18 PM)
Not sure why buy our local retailers don't bring them over. I ordered mine from Qisahn back in December.
How much did you paid?
SUSMatrix
post Jan 21 2015, 02:31 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(varblade82 @ Jan 21 2015, 02:24 PM)
I've got relatives living in Canada. Is it true I can get a US Wii U unit and use their Canadian address.. then use my credit card to purchase stuff from the Eshoo?

In any case, can I just whack anything for a US address.. I know Kyo's FAQ stated that you can just use Google ... I have no idea how.
No need so complicated lar...just buy e-shop card locally and top up your credits.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 21 2015, 06:13 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Just bought usd50 eshop credit just now...its cheaper than current exchange rate today if pay by credit card...lol...gonna buy Captain Toad tonight perhaps...but download will take forever given Nintendo ridiculously slow server even when you have a fast internet.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 21 2015, 07:50 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Took about half an hour or so to download on an 8Mbps line....Zzzz...Installation also took about 10 minutes!!! This WIIU installation and downloading really slow...

Paid RM 143.97 for it. smile.gif

Oh yeah, to those intending to buy from eshop, make sure you put your US code to a tax free state...if you put your address and zip code to a taxable tax, will need to pay the tax!!!
SUSMatrix
post Jan 22 2015, 10:27 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ottacone @ Jan 21 2015, 10:51 PM)
Just buy mario galaxy 2 from eshop using deluxe digital promotion funds.
Now just wait for my wii remote+ to arrive later biggrin.gif
What is this??? Some free points?

I have 2 WIIMote+ nunchuk already...playing lots of WII games....brows.gif I never have a WII b4.

0.0606sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:44 PM