this means only developers can use it?
users cant?
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 11:31 AM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(iPlx @ Jun 7 2011, 11:22 AM)
Yea i can say is the best update of iOS so far....  notworthy.gif
i can see that it works best on iPad and iPhone.
mainly because of 3G capabilities, many needs internet connection
iPlx
post Jun 7 2011, 11:34 AM

__Tomorrow is another day__ ( ̄(工) ̄)
707 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:31 AM)
i can see that it works best on iPad and iPhone.
mainly because of 3G capabilities, many needs internet connection
yup. too bad for people who just buy the phone without a plan. and too bad for iphone 3G and below...
nate12
post Jun 7 2011, 11:35 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:30 AM)
this means only developers can use it?
users cant?
No. In iOS 5 current builds is not enabled for devs 2 test bt users can use when it's out or if u're running iOS 5 seed on ur iP now.

This post has been edited by nate12: Jun 7 2011, 11:36 AM
maximus85
post Jun 7 2011, 11:36 AM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

while the new features are mostly already available in the jailbreak market, i'm glad that they are now integrated within the iOS itself.. thumbup.gif
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 11:36 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(iPlx @ Jun 7 2011, 11:34 AM)
yup. too bad for people who just buy the phone without a plan. and too bad for iphone 3G and below...
but buying an iphone without a plan is really not fully utilizing the phone.
i mean a nokia torchlight phone could do the job.
such a waste
maderfader
post Jun 7 2011, 11:37 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 7 2011, 11:17 AM)
iOS5, what do I think? I think nothing much is special compared to previous years.  Most features already covered by other OS... no more innovation by Apple.  For a whole year of development, I thought there'd be something more, something which will make people go WOW!  Maybe Apple running out of ideas.

But the new features are still good for those who haven't experienced such things yet, I guess.
I'm sorry but I'm just curious..could u give us an example of 'new development' that u would expect this next ios??
ak101ss
post Jun 7 2011, 11:39 AM

Tauke Mabuk Guinness Stout
449 posts

Removed due to privacy reasons

This post has been edited by ak101ss: Nov 29 2011, 10:16 PM
iPlx
post Jun 7 2011, 11:39 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:36 AM)
while the new features are mostly already available in the jailbreak market, i'm glad that they are now integrated within the iOS itself.. thumbup.gif
Actually Apple stole all the ideas from JB community lol... No offends. But integrated in iOS is better then getting a tweak. I guess i wont need to JB anymore if Apple keep getting ideas and update from JB community Hahaha

Added on June 7, 2011, 11:40 am
QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:36 AM)
such a waste

totally agree with u... having a smart phone without a plan is a waste... but cant say much cos some cant affort to have a plan but they wanted a smart phone

This post has been edited by iPlx: Jun 7 2011, 11:40 AM
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 11:43 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(iPlx @ Jun 7 2011, 11:39 AM)
Actually Apple stole all the ideas from JB community lol... No offends. But integrated in iOS is better then getting a tweak. I guess i wont need to JB anymore if Apple keep getting ideas and update from JB community Hahaha

Added on June 7, 2011, 11:40 am

totally agree with u... having a smart phone without a plan is a waste... but cant say much cos some cant affort to have a plan but they wanted a smart phone
jb tweaks are not official, theres always something different in using things that are official and unofficial.
also, i dont think its possible to jb this OS, right up to now 4.3.3 still cant be jb for ipad 2
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 11:45 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(nate12 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:35 AM)
No. In iOS 5 current builds is not enabled for devs 2 test bt users can use when it's out or if u're running iOS 5 seed on ur iP now.
well, atleast a new feature is added biggrin.gif
iPlx
post Jun 7 2011, 11:46 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:43 AM)
jb tweaks are not official, theres always something different in using things that are official and unofficial.
also, i dont think its possible to jb this OS, right up to now 4.3.3 still cant be jb for ipad 2
It is possible to JB any iOS just that JB dev needs time only thats all
cocooh
post Jun 7 2011, 11:47 AM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

Looks like iOS 5 is still compatible with iPhone 3GS biggrin.gif
maximus85
post Jun 7 2011, 11:54 AM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:43 AM)
absolutely wrong, sir. iPad 2 is difficult to jailbreak due to the bootrom build is different now for the new devices. It's not unbreakable, just that it needed more times. iPad 2 jailbreak coming in the next 2~3weeks...

p/s: nothing is unbreakable when it comes to software. whenever a new patch applied, another hole opens up. It's a matter of time.
iPlx
post Jun 7 2011, 11:55 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:54 AM)
absolutely wrong, sir. iPad 2 is difficult to jailbreak due to the bootrom build is different now for the new devices. It's not unbreakable, just that it needed more times. iPad 2 jailbreak coming in the next 2~3weeks...

p/s: nothing is unbreakable when it comes to software. whenever a new patch applied, another hole opens up. It's a matter of time.
agree... iPad2 is all because of that stupid A5 chip Hahaha.... If it's on a A4 chip i guess it had been jailbreak on the 1st day when it launch lol

This post has been edited by iPlx: Jun 7 2011, 11:58 AM
Dannyl
post Jun 7 2011, 12:02 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(maderfader @ Jun 7 2011, 11:37 AM)
I'm sorry but I'm just curious..could u give us an example of 'new development' that u would expect this next ios??
No examples at all. I was prepared to be surprised by Apple, but somehow this year the announcements are like, 'oh ok, that's nice to have', that's all. Was expecting something to put a smile on my face, but meh.

Added on June 7, 2011, 12:10 pm
QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:36 AM)
such a waste
I beg to differ. Some people don't get a data plan because they have free access to wifi, whether at home or work. Just sync or download using wifi whenever connected. Even without plan, still can use offline apps, play games, use GPS, read eBooks, take notes, take good pics, watch movie, listen to songs, or whatever. You sure this is not fully utilizing the phone, and a Nokia torchlight phone is up to the job? Remember that the Ferrari-without-a-straight-road analogy does not apply to phones. Ferraris only go fast and look good, a smartphone can do so much more, with or without line.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Jun 7 2011, 12:10 PM
samlee860407
post Jun 7 2011, 12:14 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 7 2011, 11:17 AM)
iOS5, what do I think? I think nothing much is special compared to previous years.  Most features already covered by other OS... no more innovation by Apple.  For a whole year of development, I thought there'd be something more, something which will make people go WOW!  Maybe Apple running out of ideas.

But the new features are still good for those who haven't experienced such things yet, I guess.
i tend to agree with this

most of the stuff added in iOS5 are old stuff, which available either on android or other platform or even at cydia

but IMO apple are not good in inventing something, but they are superb in modifying what others had invented into something which is super easy and fun to use.

hence, i still got high hopes in iOS since i am sure all those new stuff (old at other platform) will be polished to the max
maderfader
post Jun 7 2011, 12:18 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 7 2011, 12:02 PM)
No examples at all.  I was prepared to be surprised by Apple, but somehow this year the announcements are like, 'oh ok, that's nice to have', that's all.  Was expecting something to put a smile on my face, but meh.
Well,i respect your opinion..as for me,it really does put a smile on my face with;

a) Airplay mirroring - mirror my idevices' view wireless-ly to my HDTV
b) PC free - can back up & update wireless-ly without connecting to a pc@laptop
c) new notification system - at least for ios users,although i think other OS have it already
d) Quickaccess Camera - no longer need to unlock n select 'camera' app to snap photo
e) New & faster Safari

The above are the features that are most benefited me(at least) coz they're the one's that i experience regularly..these features makes the idevices much more towards a 'perfect' device
kael90
post Jun 7 2011, 12:49 PM

576 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 7 2011, 12:02 PM)
No examples at all.  I was prepared to be surprised by Apple, but somehow this year the announcements are like, 'oh ok, that's nice to have', that's all.  Was expecting something to put a smile on my face, but meh.
To me, its more to upgrading. I m expecting the notifications thing. What makes me curious is the way they executed it.
iOS5 can do something which only available in other OS without have to tweak is good enough. You wouldnt wanna get two devices. One for iOS for its features and one more Android for its features. Now iOS have all of it. I feel its one step ahead of other OS with iOS5.
BRY7
post Jun 7 2011, 12:50 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(maderfader @ Jun 7 2011, 12:18 PM)
Well,i respect your opinion..as for me,it really does put a smile on my face with;

a) Airplay  mirroring - mirror my idevices' view wireless-ly to my HDTV
b) PC free - can back up & update wireless-ly without connecting to a pc@laptop
c) new notification system - at least for ios users,although i think other OS have it already
d) Quickaccess Camera - no longer need to unlock n select 'camera' app to snap photo
e) New & faster Safari

The above are the features that are most benefited me(at least) coz they're the one's that i experience regularly..these features makes the idevices much more towards a 'perfect' device
these are minor interface improvements, but proves to be important as it makes it even more user friendly
tab browsing in safari caught my eye, dont have to use alternatives now tongue.gif

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:05 PM