68 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Events Club LYN Japan V4, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

nasizwan
post Aug 18 2011, 01:56 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(obee @ Aug 18 2011, 12:28 PM)
Err. Don't think I'll be doing cross-country trips (would be nice though biggrin.gif ) Should be just around Tokyo.
I'm attending basic Japanese class now. Should help a bit during my stay there. Or you can just bring your wife along everywhere you go tongue.gif
Oh ya. Intro some kawaii friends if we do meet whistling.gif

I know the dangers of impulse buying (especially at Akihabara). So I'll be cautious on the spending. I hope/must!

Not sure which area I'll be at yet. Still awaiting details from bosses.
If you're electronic freaks then Akihabara is the place. Im a shoe freak i bought 4 pairs costing nearly rm2k lol. My wife is my walking dictionary but I need to learn how to survive myself tho cant take her along with me all the time. If you have some extra off day try visit places other than Tokyo, maybe Kyoto, Osaka or Yokohama. Kawaii friends are mostly my wife's friends so need to ask her.

Like RegentCid said, Jan~Feb is the coldest period so be prepared to bring thick winter clothes. My advice bring one is sufficient and buy the rest in Japan because you'll find more options, stylish, plus cheaper compared to outdated winter clothes in Malaysia. I don't mind going out in winter I love cold weather! I'm planning to go to Niigata prefecture in January for snow boarding thumbup.gif
RegentCid
post Aug 18 2011, 02:06 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(obee @ Aug 18 2011, 12:45 PM)
Seriously? Ah, dang! There goes my shopping spree.. rolleyes.gif

But being the curious me, cold weather won't stop me from going out.
Maybe spend more on hot chocolate or something.

Thanks for the heads up though.
That cold is no simple cold...that cold are strike into your bone. That month Tokyo City should be around 3 - 6 C. At Night can go as low as -3 C. Seriously at night Tokyo street are very less people walking around.
nasizwan
post Aug 18 2011, 02:13 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 18 2011, 02:06 PM)
That cold is no simple cold...that cold are strike into your bone.  That month Tokyo City should be around 3 - 6 C.  At Night can go as low as -3 C.  Seriously at night Tokyo street are very less people walking around.
Korea the neighbour country is worst. It can go up to -11 Celsius. Don't mention Russia or Ukraine -20 Celsius or more but people still go out rolleyes.gif
RegentCid
post Aug 18 2011, 02:19 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Sure got people going out but less....those not necessary they won't go out.

If outside is minus 3 ...got a friend ask me go out for drinks...i will reject away...lol
obee
post Aug 18 2011, 02:32 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Aug 18 2011, 01:56 PM)
If you're electronic freaks then Akihabara is the place. Im a shoe freak i bought 4 pairs costing nearly rm2k lol. My wife is my walking dictionary but I need to learn how to survive myself tho cant take her along with me all the time. If you have some extra off day try visit places other than Tokyo, maybe Kyoto, Osaka or Yokohama. Kawaii friends are mostly my wife's friends so need to ask her.

Like RegentCid said, Jan~Feb is the coldest period so be prepared to bring thick winter clothes. My advice bring one is sufficient and buy the rest in Japan because you'll find more options, stylish, plus cheaper compared to outdated winter clothes in Malaysia. I don't mind going out in winter I love cold weather! I'm planning to go to Niigata prefecture in January for snow boarding thumbup.gif
Yeah. I'm a gadget freak. But I have self-control. Most of the time. lol. Would love to visit Osaka if possible. Any holidays during the months of Nov-Jan?

Thanks for the tip on the winter clothing. Can save some luggage space.

And you sir are living the life there. If only I can extend my stay there cry.gif

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 18 2011, 02:06 PM)
That cold is no simple cold...that cold are strike into your bone.  That month Tokyo City should be around 3 - 6 C.  At Night can go as low as -3 C.  Seriously at night Tokyo street are very less people walking around.
Well then, would you be nice enough to go out for a drink with me at night in the month of January? laugh.gif

If it's that bad, then staying in at night will be best. Unless really gatal wanna go out.
tatsuyachiba
post Aug 19 2011, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 16 2011, 07:47 PM)
At Japan, parking bicycle also need to pay.....
Yes if you are a commuter e.g. you ride a bike to a train station, park and commute to work. Train stations, when they have bike racks, are on a monthly reservation.

But you don't have to pay parking (usually) if you are biking to a mall and shopping. Usually the 1st 3 hours are free (at least in my neighborhood). The rack autolocks after 3 hours so you should pay attention to the time.

I'm in Japan now and weather this weekend is cool because of the storm (Arashi). Downside is that rain is forecasted the whole weekend. Yesterday was crazy hot so the cooler temps are welcome.

Finally most people think winter in Tokyo is comparatively mild as winters go. Doesn't snow and not that cold. Of course everything is relative, compared to Malaysia it IS cold.

obee
post Aug 19 2011, 11:28 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Aug 19 2011, 09:39 AM)
Finally most people think winter in Tokyo is comparatively mild as winters go. Doesn't snow and not that cold. Of course everything is relative, compared to Malaysia it IS cold.
I miss winter season. Had a blast with friends in Melbourne during winter. 0 degrees at night and we were having ice-cream outdoors with only our pyjamas on. Good times!
TStanoshi
post Aug 19 2011, 02:42 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Aug 17 2011, 11:20 PM)
wow, now exchange rate already near rm4.....confirm cannot go yet lah like this hahahaha

tanoshi, the bikes looks nice! but the price doh.gif
the price because....The CUSTOM fixed bik shop lol hehehe ble la daddy n mummy naik sama huhuhu! thumbup.gif

Added on August 19, 2011, 2:44 pm
QUOTE(nasizwan @ Aug 18 2011, 12:18 PM)
Pippo!!!  drool.gif Fuji Q the bomb! Enjoy Fujiyama King Coaster and Dodonpa. Jangan terkencing dalam seluar sudah tongue.gif
Aku gerak sana for good end of Nov. Datang lambat sikit boleh lepak sekali
Omedetou back to you!!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
We are all in the same league now with Tanoshi
Being a father can be really exhausting but really good experience and fun  laugh.gif
Hows your daughter doing? What's her name?

@ALL
I'm going to migrate to Japan for good by end of Nov. Its confirmed! Any advice for new alien? I'm wondering what is the cheapest way to send money back to Malaysia as I still have bills to pay on monthly basis. TT is expensive and based on my research I found out Postbank would be the cheapest method. Any other way? Im thinking of using Paypal too. I would prefer to transfer straight to my Maybank acct
u ganti tempat i ok!
jgn lupa berbaik dgn imam Shinjuku, he got a lot of tattos! notworthy.gif seriuosly... but he is IMAM of Shinjuku Musallah

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Aug 19 2011, 02:44 PM
nasizwan
post Aug 19 2011, 02:58 PM

125 posts

@tatsuya
which part of Japan are you living at the moment? are you there for good?

@tanoshi
scary gila imam dia.. maybe yakuza turned good hahaha.

so guys any info about sending back money cheaply but efficient?

RegentCid
post Aug 19 2011, 06:59 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Fukushima hit by 5.8 mag earthquake 5.30pm malaysia time. Shinkansen been stop functionl until reopen at 7pm. Earthquake + Thunderstorm. Really speechless.......
keii-kun
post Aug 20 2011, 12:07 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(obee @ Aug 18 2011, 02:32 PM)
Yeah. I'm a gadget freak. But I have self-control. Most of the time. lol.
you will need icon_question.gif when you are in akihabara laugh.gif now can say la, later when there, aiyoh rugilah tak beli here hahahaha

save the money to shop on 1st Jan sale@ new year sale. reaallly worth it.

@nasizwan, every night not enuff sleep for the past 3mth, except for weekend - cover up during day.
me and wife once had to take leave on weekdays to sleep while our daughter is sent to babysitter's house laugh.gif
too tireddd...

sending back to japan or what? now exchange rate high, no option lah i think
tatsuyachiba
post Aug 20 2011, 07:34 AM

@nasizwan
No I am not living permanently in Japan. When I am in Japan, I live in the Tokyo area (in Chiba). I am here often for work and also because my family goes back to Japan 2x a year on vacation. Right now I am in Japan with family for a week for a somewhat delayed Obon (Obon was actually last weekend but I had a schedule clash)

#earthquake
Tokyo area - common to feel small jolts of earthquakes. There have been at least 2 since I arrived last week. One on Friday early am (the house shook) and another Friday pm (the building I was in was swaying side to side).

Weather looks better this weekend, at least in the Tokyo area. Stopped raining Friday evening and hasn't rained since. Hopefully it'll last - son has baseball practice and this evening I'm taking the kids to the local omatsuri.

kaizer_x
post Aug 20 2011, 10:16 PM

638 posts

Quick question for those who had travel with Airasia X to Haneda, before going back to Malaysia do u guys need to pay any extra airport fee or tax at Haneda?
RegentCid
post Aug 20 2011, 10:33 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

All should be already charge inside the Ticket when you buy pergi balik Ticket
deodorant
post Aug 21 2011, 07:15 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Hihi guys, help me critique my itinerary plan please? 5d4n in Tokyo:

Day1 (arrive narita 6.45, reach hotel 8.00):
Shinjuku, Meiji Shrine, Harajuku, Shibuya
Day2
Tsujiki Fish Market, Nihonbashi, Ginza, Tokyo Dome City, Imperial Palace East Gardens, Akihabara
Day3
Ameyoko, Sensoji Temple, Asakusa, Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa, Tokyo Tower, Roppongi, Ikebukuro
Day4
Disneyland or Disneysea (which one better?)
Day5:
Can't really do anything cos 1:30pm flight so have to leave quite early

Too packed/Don't make sense cos things all over the place? I stay at a hotel in Toshima. Also ... feel like going to just one temple OK liao, which one to choose?
Shazzac
post Aug 21 2011, 07:44 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 21 2011, 07:15 PM)

Day2
Tsujiki Fish Market, Nihonbashi, Ginza, Tokyo Dome City, Imperial Palace East Gardens, Akihabara
Day3
Ameyoko, Sensoji Temple, Asakusa, Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa, Tokyo Tower, Roppongi, Ikebukuro
Day4
Day5:

Too packed/Don't make sense cos things all over the place? I stay at a hotel in Toshima. Also ... feel like going to just one temple OK liao, which one to choose?
I feel that Disneysea is so much more interesting than Disneyland. Why don't you visit both? I did not regret one bit that i actually visited both!
RegentCid
post Aug 21 2011, 08:45 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 21 2011, 06:15 PM)

Day2
Day3
Day4
Day5:

Do you really want to go Japan most highest class most expensive area shopping with your body full of heavy fish smell?

If you plan Day 1 is shopping...put all shopping places all in Day 1.
deodorant
post Aug 22 2011, 01:23 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Aug 21 2011, 07:44 PM)
I feel that Disneysea is so much more interesting than Disneyland. Why don't you visit both? I did not regret one bit that i actually visited both!

Time limit I think ... I don't think you can do both in one day right? If two days for both parks, only 2 days left to explore the rest of the city leh.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 21 2011, 08:45 PM)
Do you really want to go Japan most highest class most expensive area shopping with your body full of heavy fish smell?

Good point, haha. Anyway Google tells me that access to the fish auction is now totally off limits to tourists for the time being (due to the earthquake & tsunami). is it still worth it to go at like 9am or so to look see look see and go omakase one of the sushi places there?
tatsuyachiba
post Aug 22 2011, 07:10 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid)

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 22 2011, 01:23 AM)
Good point, haha. Anyway Google tells me that access to the fish auction is now totally off limits to tourists for the time being (due to the earthquake & tsunami). is it still worth it to go at like 9am or so to look see look see and go omakase one of the sushi places there?
Ginza makes sense since it is near Tsukiji and you can walk from/to either places. I would plan around a locale like you have instead of activity. Otherwise it will be costly in terms of train fares.

I've never been to Tsukiji auction itself (too early in the am) but I've been to the market itself a couple of times. I think it is still a good experience because it's a working market - very interesting to see fishmongers zip around at lightspeed on their one-man "scooters" and the variety of seafood available. You might even see the famous (don't touch) bluefin tunas - huge. Good for an hour of look-see I think.
nasizwan
post Aug 22 2011, 10:23 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Aug 20 2011, 12:07 AM)
@nasizwan, every night not enuff sleep for the past 3mth, except for weekend - cover up during day.
me and wife once had to take leave on weekdays to sleep while our daughter is sent to babysitter's house laugh.gif
too tireddd...

sending back to japan or what? now exchange rate high, no option lah i think
Sending back to Malaysia from Japan bro. I need to find efficient way to send back money instead of expensive TT. icon_question.gif

Hahaha I feel you bro. I had to take EL once because baby kept crying the whole bloody night until 6 a.m and at that point of time you regret for having a baby. Eye bag is our new makeup look sweat.gif

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 21 2011, 07:15 PM)

Honestly speaking its REALLY packed. You will be rushing everywhere instead of enjoying the view

68 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:20 PM