Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V2, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

staind
post Jun 4 2011, 08:40 AM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

It shows how vulnerable card users are. If we opt to pay something over the phones, I saw in places to use Amex that some bill can be paid over the phone, isn't we expose ourselves to this danger as well.?
staind
post Jun 4 2011, 12:05 PM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jun 4 2011, 11:09 AM)
seriously the amex card is really insecure to use, i used it to pay ACCA, sometimes it requires the front digits, sometimes the back. MBB also does not bother to call and verify.

few weeks back i used the Visa to buy hp notebook online 3k+, they also don't bother to call me and verify, straight away approved. Malaysia Boleh!
Well, I used to have a Maybank Visa Petronas Gold. I used it online to purchased a Dell laptop for my gf (from laptop, delivery address all under her name). Guess what. The transaction went through. We received the laptop. However, when I tried to swipe my card a few days later, it was blocked.

So, I called their CS and she told me they decided to block my card due to that purchase. I was like WTH, you blocked my card after you let the transaction went through?? The CS gave excuse they can't reach my cellphone to confirm the transaction when it happen. Not true at all.

Anyway, I am currently holding Maybank 2 Cards. Can't resist their rebate. Need to be extra vigilant when holding their card.

staind
post Jun 4 2011, 03:06 PM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

@bata,

You mentioned that Maybank called you to inform about the illegal transactions. Anyway can confirm that it is from Maybank CC centre (1300-88-6688) ? This may be a clue on how it happen.

IF the call is not from this number, it could be:

The forumer saw ur number, then from your posting elsewhere in this forum, he got ur hp number. Pretending to be from Maybank, he got more details about your card when he called you. Then, he use the card for the purchases.
staind
post Jun 5 2011, 02:39 PM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Jun 5 2011, 11:53 AM)
rclxub.gif  The MBB staff put my name on card FULL NAME........ stupit right? They said if they not to do so some time is difficult to get approval.
I put my English and surname on my application form but my card comes in my full name. I dint bother to ask the CS but now I know the reason.
staind
post Jul 7 2011, 12:08 AM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 6 2011, 05:13 PM)
You need to goto CS counter, fill up form to ask them to de-link it  doh.gif  Or you can try do it over tel to CS (unlikely)

I have a card which is cancelled ~2-3 yrs ago when the RM50 GST started, and it is still there as 0.00  doh.gif

Currently I just leave it as it is, and I have 3 cards that are cancelled already rclxub.gif
I had the same experience. I called the CS and ask them to remove it from my Maybank2u. within 3 days settled.
staind
post Jul 7 2011, 10:08 PM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

QUOTE(fat_lip2525 @ Jul 7 2011, 09:09 PM)
I just call to Maybank CS to cancel my existing Visa Petronas card since I already have the Maybank 2 cards. I was told to go to Maybank card centre instead for the transaction or fax the picture of the card after cutting. Is that the correct procedure since I'm new in this.

If yes, would prefer to do it at card centre then. Guess i have to drop by 1U soon then before they start charging the GST since my gonna expire on July
From my experience of cancelling 2 cards.

Card 1: Received a CC card physically. I din't apply for this card. Immediately call the CS and they cancel the card without me going to the branch. Card is still uncut. I keep it as souvenir.

Card 2: In-use card that I have been using for 2 years. CS insist I go to their branch to have the card cut. No picture taken. End of the process, I also get to keep the part of the card as souvenir. The cute lady insist I must take part of the cut card with chip. Should be part of their procedure.

Both cards are from Maybank.

This post has been edited by staind: Jul 7 2011, 10:09 PM
staind
post Jul 11 2011, 11:45 PM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Jul 11 2011, 10:32 PM)
OMG! Now only I realised after reading this post!
My cards are expired in 9/2013  sweat.gif
Mine is 10/2016.hehe
staind
post Jul 23 2011, 06:57 PM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 22 2011, 10:38 AM)
I encountered a problem with this AMEX buy 1 free 1 promotion at a Starbucks outlet in my place last night. I tried to buy a Mocha Ice-blended Frappucino and was told that it is not eligible for the AMEX buy 1 free 1 promotion as the promotion is only applicable for regular coffee and tea drinks only. I did querry them and told them how come it was possible last time. She told me that they received an email from Maybank just very recently that it's only for regular coffee and tea. Anyone faced the same problem ?
I encountered the other way round last week. My intention was to purchase normal coffee and free normal coffee.

But was told that the promotion is only for Frappucino. End up I paid for the Frappucino and get the free normal coffee.
staind
post Jul 26 2011, 12:20 AM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Jul 25 2011, 10:24 PM)
4k? I thought all maybank CC shared the same credit line?

my Maybank2card amex + master + petronas shared the same limit. anyone can confirm?
Mine too. I used to have Maybank2card amex + master + petronas. They shared the same combined CL.

I canceled my Petronas after that. The combined CL given to me earlier still remains the same.
staind
post Aug 16 2011, 09:28 PM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

Lately, I encounter many Esso stations that do not accept Amex at their pump. So far, 5 stations. All in Johor area. Even the one accepting Amex previously becomes not able to.

0.0403sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:30 PM