Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V2, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard
MilesAndMore
Jul 10 2011, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jul 10 2011, 11:16 PM) Yup, it is a platinum. Maybe you can call up MBB Platinum Services, free of charge, don't care lah  LOL! Don't think it actually warrants a call to MBB hotline. Precisely why i asked it here. Like a casual talk something like that. Not exactly very important. Just wanted to give it a try here. May be some of you may know QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 10 2011, 11:20 PM) if it's ur first mbb card, the period is shorter, am i right?  , mine is until 2015 although i previously held few different types of cards from mbb and i had AMEX gold when they gave me the m2 plat without applying so no idea how they decide No sure. Yeah. This is my very first credit card from Maybank. This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 10 2011, 11:55 PM
charymsylyn
Jul 10 2011, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jul 10 2011, 11:39 PM) were you charged GST for the maybankard 2 since you said your anniversary month is January ? I was not invited for the card, so I paid for GST. I've already earned quite a bit more than RM50 and no other card gets you so many points for such a wide variety of merchants. This has caused me to favour Amex-accepting merchants. I think I've collected more points on M2 Amex than my 5 prior MBB cards since 2007.
chemistry
Jul 11 2011, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Jul 10 2011, 11:58 PM) I was not invited for the card, so I paid for GST. I've already earned quite a bit more than RM50 and no other card gets you so many points for such a wide variety of merchants. This has caused me to favour Amex-accepting merchants. I think I've collected more points on M2 Amex than my 5 prior MBB cards since 2007.  Yes, indeed. I've collected near 10k points in 4 months. Previously, it would take 1 to 2 years to collect 10k points no matter which card is used.
whojen
Jul 11 2011, 12:40 AM
keke.. i have collected 29k as of today. 3rd month using.
chemistry
Jul 11 2011, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(whojen @ Jul 11 2011, 12:40 AM) keke.. i have collected 29k as of today. 3rd month using. I believe some Admin Exec or Purchasing Executive get to earn a lot points from using Amex to buy things on behalf of company. My sister for example, earned 20k points in one week, for buying stuffs required for an on-site job.
tanch78
Jul 11 2011, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jul 11 2011, 01:01 AM) I believe some Admin Exec or Purchasing Executive get to earn a lot points from using Amex to buy things on behalf of company. My sister for example, earned 20k points in one week, for buying stuffs required for an on-site job. For me, I am using for business trip!
chemistry
Jul 11 2011, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(tanch78 @ Jul 11 2011, 01:07 AM) For me, I am using for business trip!  yeah, lucky you.
CP88
Jul 11 2011, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 10 2011, 11:32 PM) Both my Visa and AMEX are until 2016. The same goes for me
MilesAndMore
Jul 11 2011, 01:25 AM
May be those Maybankard 2 Cards approved in January all will expire in 2014. Just a wild guess
fruitie
Jul 11 2011, 07:10 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jul 11 2011, 01:01 AM) I believe some Admin Exec or Purchasing Executive get to earn a lot points from using Amex to buy things on behalf of company. My sister for example, earned 20k points in one week, for buying stuffs required for an on-site job. My company is a little bit of compliant when it comes to this, each of us have our own Citibank corporate credit card. Though I still use my MBB2 to swipe my company's movie night, of course with permission.  I only managed to earn 29k in about 2 months of transaction with 10k of those is free from Maybank.
beyond86
Jul 11 2011, 07:35 AM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 11 2011, 02:25 AM) May be those Maybankard 2 Cards approved in January all will expire in 2014. Just a wild guess  my card will expire in 12/13 Added on July 11, 2011, 7:36 amQUOTE(charymsylyn @ Jul 11 2011, 12:58 AM) I was not invited for the card, so I paid for GST. I've already earned quite a bit more than RM50 and no other card gets you so many points for such a wide variety of merchants. This has caused me to favour Amex-accepting merchants. I think I've collected more points on M2 Amex than my 5 prior MBB cards since 2007.  all the time 5X, really very good This post has been edited by beyond86: Jul 11 2011, 07:36 AM
ronnie
Jul 11 2011, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 11 2011, 01:25 AM) May be those Maybankard 2 Cards approved in January all will expire in 2014. Just a wild guess  Mine approved in February has exiry of 2015
cute_boboi
Jul 11 2011, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(s@ni @ Jul 10 2011, 07:47 PM) oh, have you ever encounter such problem before: 1. spent more than rm100 at supermarket (jaya jusco to be exact) using AMEX 2. then tried to pump using AMEX at 2 different esso stations, both rejected. but the terminal accepted my mastercard  is there any limit using AMEX for the weekend? Early this year I kena once at ESSO also, on Sunday.  No issues. After shop at Jusco supermarket, I always refuel before heading home.
mletee
Jul 11 2011, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 11 2011, 11:17 AM) No issues. After shop at Jusco supermarket, I always refuel before heading home. yes..me too..
xjeez
Jul 11 2011, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(s@ni @ Jul 10 2011, 07:47 PM) oh, have you ever encounter such problem before: 1. spent more than rm100 at supermarket (jaya jusco to be exact) using AMEX 2. then tried to pump using AMEX at 2 different esso stations, both rejected. but the terminal accepted my mastercard  is there any limit using AMEX for the weekend? Early this year I kena once at ESSO also, on Sunday.  Sometimes the Banks put such rules in place for individual accounts supposedly "for your own protection". Usually you can just call the CS and explain what happened and explicitly request that they remove such protection or at least include certain outlets that you always go to into the 'safe-list'.
alexwsk
Jul 11 2011, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Jul 10 2011, 11:33 PM) If you are an existing MBB CC user, validity is based on your existing card(s). My MBB cards are all in January month since my first MBB card despite my subsequent cards not being issued in January. they will follow the month but for the year  Added on July 11, 2011, 12:15 pmQUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 10 2011, 11:55 PM) LOL! Don't think it actually warrants a call to MBB hotline. Precisely why i asked it here. Like a casual talk something like that. Not exactly very important. Just wanted to give it a try here. May be some of you may know No sure. Yeah. This is my very first credit card from Maybank. yup, don't really care since a new card will be sent out b4 expiry anyway This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jul 11 2011, 12:15 PM
MilesAndMore
Jul 11 2011, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(beyond86 @ Jul 11 2011, 07:35 AM) my card will expire in 12/13 Okay. This makes it even weirder. QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 11 2011, 08:33 AM) Mine approved in February has exiry of 2015 Alright. Seems like there is no solution to this puzzle
SUSDavid83
Jul 11 2011, 12:19 PM
Previously you guys were trying to solve the 4-digit AMEX CID number. Now, you guys trying to solve the expiry date riddle.
mletee
Jul 11 2011, 12:26 PM
mine can use 5 years
MilesAndMore
Jul 11 2011, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 11 2011, 12:14 PM) yup, don't really care since a new card will be sent out b4 expiry anyway +1 QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 11 2011, 12:19 PM) Previously you guys were trying to solve the 4-digit AMEX CID number. Now, you guys trying to solve the expiry date riddle.  I'm kind of very free now