Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Official Thread, 10.1" Android Honeycomb 3.1 tablet

benny888
post Jun 5 2011, 02:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The virtual keyboard is indeed problematic if you type on browser in the eeepad. I tested on my friend unit when he keep complaining difficult to use to post n reply on forums.
He tested it on my iconia and he was thoroughly amazed no such lag or cursor issues. On the iconia just like typing on computer. Asus need to solve this keyboard bug n is indeed frustrating using it
benny888
post Jun 5 2011, 02:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I experienced same keyboard lag cursor issues on the latest overcome ROM 2.0 on the galaxy tab.
Moved back to older version of the ROM was way much better .
Anyway I have tested Steve Lin gingerbread keyboard it is better I feel on the eeepad versus default
benny888
post Jun 5 2011, 04:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The usb in iconia can connect so far to my WD 500gb fat32 drive. For ntfs drive you need install 3rd party apk app from xda. Harddrive must be in single partition
benny888
post Jun 5 2011, 06:03 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 5 2011, 05:58 PM)
I have tried plugging in a USB drive, at the bottom right corner, android detected it and I can browse the content via the File Manager (that comes with Android). Copy, paste and delete without problem.

I tried connecting my USB 3G modem stick to it, nothing happened. The system can't detect it. So I assume, so far no driver for USB modem stick yet.

Yeah, there is no jailbreak for iPad2 running on iOS 4.3.3 yet, a lot of people are waiting for it.

Added on June 5, 2011, 5:58 pmFor the keyboard lag issue, if you are using the on screen keyboard, please use the default one which come with Android, don't use the Asus one, it will solve a little bit.
There is no support yet for USB stick modems ; but I do believe once this is available newer tablets will offer a USB port as a standard
benny888
post Jun 7 2011, 11:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 7 2011, 06:29 PM)
pros and cons man...ios biggest weakness is that you dont have as much freedom as android to do customisation...and you have a lot of choices for the phone / device itself compared to apple's...one single type of fruit...which is both its advantage and weakness at the same time. so pros and cons...haha

Added on June 7, 2011, 6:48 pmFinally the market is working perfectly without proxy anymore. Give it a try guys! Tried downloading angry birds from the tablet, no errors anymore!
Yes , I think you are right. The Market problems seems to have solved. Today I check - I can see ALL the apps I have bought, and updated some of them . Previously some couldn't be seen at all. I am using Acer Iconia
Also several apps which I have to use market.android.com to send to the iconia can now be downloaded and installed
Guys has been saying cannot download angry birds - I can now download 3 versions of them now ; just testing - I don't play

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 7 2011, 11:07 PM
benny888
post Jun 8 2011, 11:16 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 8 2011, 11:09 AM)
not jobs, but kene racun by my sister. haha

i like TF, but suddenly i like ipad2 also.. sad.gif
Wanna try ipad - forget about the present models. Wait till iOS5 is available on it or iPad3 - speaking from my 8 months experience using the iPad.
With iOS5 coming up, the android's Honeycomb I must say is indeed way behind in features. Google need to work harder on HC else I forsee its market share will definitely lose out considerably to iOS5 ipads. With present iOS4 ipads there is still some competition
Many users got suck into iPad mainly because of apps availability and the extremely smooth and slick user interface which is unbeatable yet. Just the UI alone will convince most new users to buy it without considering its weakness
benny888
post Jun 8 2011, 10:33 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Google market should be OK as reported by many users
Clear your data/cache at settings/applications/manage applications
Reset tablet
Launch market at top right menu, content filter select all
So far whatever apps you guys reported cannot be download can be done since yesterday. I test just for fun only

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 8 2011, 10:34 PM
benny888
post Jun 12 2011, 05:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 12 2011, 05:05 PM)
looks like everyone is pretty contented even with light bleed..i'm somewhat contented but i prefer if no bleeding...
Even the great iPad2 has bleeding problems and is in all units
benny888
post Jun 13 2011, 04:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Official keyboard price is rm429
benny888
post Jun 13 2011, 11:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Shark - Just connect using usb cable to PC to transfer files if transfer through FTP too troublesome.

benny888
post Jun 15 2011, 09:36 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

YES huddle is rm399 and minimum data subscription is rm30/month. For areas with yes coverage the speed is 4 to 5 times faster than 3g. Check yes.com.my for more info

Added on June 15, 2011, 9:38 pm
QUOTE(tyenfei @ Jun 15 2011, 07:19 PM)
many forum / android users recommend K9 mail.

I never use before. Just some info I read.
The best full feature email I have ever used and is free. Use it and quite sure you will not want to use any other if you reqd specific features applied to.your account

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 15 2011, 09:38 PM
benny888
post Jun 15 2011, 11:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jun 15 2011, 11:09 PM)
TS pls update on how to fix wifi on TF.i think its a big problem for TF .

Added on June 15, 2011, 11:12 pm

is it worth it ?
bcause i have bad experience with celcom broadband .no intentions of buying another broadband if it useless

wireless broadband means no need to plug in the broadband to the usb port ??
Please refer the yes website if you want to know more on what and how
Yes offer a rm99 usb plugin too. YES does not use sim card
Again whether worth or not depends on coverage in the places you go too. You can check it at YES website
benny888
post Jun 15 2011, 11:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jun 15 2011, 11:36 PM)
So even the huddle does not have a SIM card inside is it?
Y ES does not used simcard all. Please refer yes.com.my for more info to know what, how, where as is self explanatory at their website
benny888
post Jun 16 2011, 09:29 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 16 2011, 08:25 AM)
honestly, if you dun get the dock, might as well check out other tablets. smile.gif serious. even the name of the tablet (Transformer) is because it can transform between tablet and dock. sitting at kopitiam is where u wanna have the dock... heh heh... after type, undock and become tablet...  shocking.gif  cool2.gif
That is why I didn't get transformer as I no need the dock. I felt buying it without dock seems like buying a handicapped tablet. Of couse it is not handicapped just a phschological feeling. At the end I bought the iconia as it comes buiktin full usb and 32gb for similar price as eeepad tablet. You can consider the iconia a understated , poor publicized tablet but performs great and that's what matter most. You don't have to be well known to be great.
benny888
post Jun 16 2011, 09:58 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Battery life in iconia I am happy. I can browse on it continously up to 4 hours and still have about 60% left. Can match my previous iPad and is better than my HTC flyer and galaxy tab. Battery size is smaller than eeepad and galaxy tab and flyer. So is very good

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 16 2011, 10:00 AM
benny888
post Jun 16 2011, 10:26 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 16 2011, 09:49 AM)
so iconia comes with 32GB internally?
how about the battery life?

with full USB i admit iconia has the edge over TF without the dock and with patch,  it can connect to 3G via some huawei 3G usb modem according to XDA.
but in terms of screen panel i prefer TF.

still deciding which honeycomb tablet to buy.  unsure.gif
You should try yourself the various tablets ; by now I am sure most KL big outlets will have demo units. By than you should be able to make a good decision basing on your needs. One thing for sure, buying the EEEpad you can get lots of support and help here - better than Asus facebook or its support pages.

I make my decision after trying the xoom, eeepad and iconia at Challenger Store ( Spore ). I like testing stuffs at Challenger as they laid out all the tablets , totaling about 10 different types ( Viewsonic, Archos, China made, Motorola, Asus, Acer, Ipad, ipad2 etc ) out on a big table. You can spend time testing on all of it ; no one will come and disturb you unlike some KL stores, just only a few minutes touching it, you will see the salesman overlooking your shoulder and trying to convince you to buy. I don't know what is the scenario at KL new Challenger store - hopefully is the same
Similarly you can test all the latest notebooks, smartphones etc - a indeed conducive environment to test gadgets.
benny888
post Jun 17 2011, 08:30 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 17 2011, 08:10 AM)

if i missed out anything, please either post in the forum or PM me... we wanna keep the Pg 1 useful even though most ppl dun actually look at it... lol...
That is very true. I see exactly same scenario in all the official threads. TS put in efforts to organize information but users seldom refer
benny888
post Jun 18 2011, 09:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Now i understand you guys frustration with the asus keyboard. It is indeed terribly laggy and poor response especially posting on lowyat forum. I must say is a big difference vs the iconia which is smooth responsive similar to normal typing
I am now running asus honeycomb 3.1 on my iconia. Anyway i solve the lag issue by replacing it with stevelin gingerbread keyboard, at least is now close to the original iconia keyboard
benny888
post Jun 18 2011, 10:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

That is strange. I could have add reply.
The xda chap who ported the transformer honeycomb 3.1 over to the iconia has done a greatjob. Haven't notice any bugs yet. He has also enabled 3g usb modem support for a range of Huawei usb modems

benny888
post Jun 18 2011, 11:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 18 2011, 10:59 PM)
this is sooooo not right. you are using a rom based on TF (our rom!) and you dun get our problems (laggy keyboard)? asus... i want my money back! biggrin.gif

Added on June 18, 2011, 11:00 pm
close means ? fast enough? still not fast enough?
Means there is no obvious lag ; it's performance is very close to the original iconia default keyboard which doesn't lag - it is just like typing on hard keyboard, fast and responsive
The problems with the ASUS keyboard is mainly on lowyat forum website when replying or typing new posts ; replying is the worst

0.0832sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:16 AM