Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Official Thread, 10.1" Android Honeycomb 3.1 tablet

andrekua
post Jun 3 2011, 05:23 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Jun 3 2011, 04:19 PM)
You need to do more searching..Try camera shops..They usually have class 6 or class 10..
Camera shops are mostly cold silent killers... I think buying them from pc hardware resellers is better. But beware of fakes lor...
andrekua
post Jun 5 2011, 01:54 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 4 2011, 10:23 PM)
tried a few 1080 files in mp4 and mkv format. different encoding. these are just some movie trailers ranging from 180 - 400mb.

i can get image on some. on others, blank screen. no sound.

for the files with image, it is not smooth. not very jerky but definitely not as smooth as watching on a high-end notebook.

i guess playing 1080 movies should be possible and better with tegra3.

Added on June 4, 2011, 10:26 pm
same here... bleeding top and bottom. seems quite bad though its only obvious when starting up the unit. so far, its not affect the performance. it's more an annoyance. goes to show that for QC, not many can top Apple. sad but true.
MKV is just a container, not a video format. That's why you get some that will play and some that will not. It's all down to the licensing of video format. Tegra2 should be able to play most format but since Asus is reluctant to licence the format and pay royalty fees, therefore cannot officially support playback of these affected video format. If you look at Samsung, their can play quite a lot of format without needing aftermarket player.

Apple sells a lot more device therefore should encounter more problem. But Apple problem definitely more severe due to the fact they keep quiet about it and some customers can accept slight bleeding.
andrekua
post Jun 5 2011, 10:46 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 5 2011, 09:46 AM)
y, I know mkv is just a container. what I was trying to say is that I think the current processors in the market, and specifically the tegra 2 chip in TF, is not good enuff yet to play 1080 movies smoothly.

other members mentioned it is smoothly with the basic/ baseline 720 movies.

hmmmm... din realise bleeding on aple products can be that bad.

anyway, I will propably call Asus and see what they have to say abt the bleeding.

camera... yes, can hear click when I start up TF and also when start camera function. I wanna ask, anyone figured out how to disable the camera shutter effect when taking photo?
The best way is to try the free MP4 format. Download one 1080P in that format and try. It should be GPU accelerated. Those that stutters is not gpu accelerated and uses software decoding.
andrekua
post Jun 5 2011, 01:40 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

To be fair, Shah already explained that Asus is lacking part for KBD, not the tablet itself. Probably just a sales strategy from Asus to lock in customer base while they wait for KBD production to ramp up.

0.0176sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:17 AM