12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Official Thread, 10.1" Android Honeycomb 3.1 tablet

TSmydragoon
post Jun 24 2011, 02:15 PM

7,044 posts

just sharing an observation... means nothing much...

in today's the star...

Asus TF got small ad at main section (Nation).
Acer Iconia got big advertisement at business section. smile.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 24 2011, 02:46 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Jun 24 2011, 02:44 PM)
Exactly... hopefully got such app soon .. or update from Asus on this and dont have to wait for Google.. tongue.gif
maybe in TF2 (with tegra3)? doubt asus would wanna pay royalty for codecs on machines already sold...
TSmydragoon
post Jun 27 2011, 03:42 PM

7,044 posts

sorry guys... i will try to update Pg1 by this week -- very tied up at the moment...

i know a few things already pending -- update owner list, compatible games and also videos...

sorry, ya... :S
TSmydragoon
post Jun 28 2011, 08:41 AM

7,044 posts

i know this one is a bit late... smile.gif

From: Android Apps Support <android-market-support@google.com>
Date: Thu, Jun 23, 2011 at 6:50 AM
Subject: Re: [#812568728] Your question about Android Market

Thanks for your patience- we recently rolled out a fix to all devices, and I'm following up with affected users to see if they are still experiencing this issue.  If you are, please let me know, and I'll investigate asap.

Regards,

Paz
The Android Market Team

Added on June 28, 2011, 8:46 amUpdated Pg1. if i missed out anything, please PM me... especially owner listing... dun be shy. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 28 2011, 08:46 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 28 2011, 11:14 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 28 2011, 11:07 AM)
i thought warranty is 1 year? how come 7 days only?
i think this is the 1-to-1 replacement. it would be similar to other manufacturers... usually first week is 1-to-1. after that, it will be repair the unit.

yes, going thru the shop you bought from might cause delay... i think i mentioned before that evernew did advise that i go directly to service centre as they may only send units they get after about 1 week or so. they send in batches.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 28 2011, 11:22 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 28 2011, 11:19 AM)
Just noticed it is for 1 to 1 replacement..well i think its really difficult to get this done within one week...too short time frame, not to mention stock availability issues. its not like they stock up extra TF101 in the service centres right?
ya, i think the 1-to-1 won't really be a 1-to-1. you probably still need to wait for stocks to arrive. i think we had one owner commented about that -- taking a while (few weeks?!?) to get replacement (or maybe not even gotten it yet?)...

i guess, that's the problem with TF at the moment... demand more than supply.

for me... i think i will wait it out. plus, my 'defects' are small issues i can live with -- mainly light bleeding.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 29 2011, 11:05 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Jun 29 2011, 10:48 AM)
test typing using opera mini, no lag here. but i kinda like the stock browser = =
i kinda like the stock browser feel too... very much like Chrome -- can tell i like to use Chrome?!? smile.gif

but i have been using Dolphin HD. quite similar too and i'm beginning to like it a lot! now using Dolphin HD as my default browser. do try it... smile.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 29 2011, 11:07 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(xenon_aniki @ Jun 29 2011, 10:45 AM)
its not 9 hours just like being told (tablet alone). it only about 7 hrs. Anyway maybe some of back end processing i i dunno can cause the drainage
specifications mentioned on marketing brochures... if you read fine print, normally will tell you how the time is derived. in TF's case, it could be playing some video...

but anyway, it depends on what you have been using it on, etc... if set screen brightness to 100%, 100% volume, download stuff, play flash games, use wifi, etc... sure finish faster than 9 hrs... smile.gif

Added on June 29, 2011, 11:08 am
QUOTE(xenon_aniki @ Jun 29 2011, 11:00 AM)
Is TF101 cant use skype?
why i cant download the software?
as viravira replied... skype is region locked. supposedly not available for download to MY users. but like he said, you can get it elsewhere...

it was one of the apps i wanted to download... until i found out -- no video calls on android. so, gave up and now looking into just using Google Talk. well, android is Google's product... so i guess should use more Google services. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 29 2011, 11:08 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 29 2011, 11:44 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(xenon_aniki @ Jun 29 2011, 11:40 AM)
Are you mentioning that we cant use skype for video call in Malaysia by default, or Android itselft by default cannot use skype video call? So resulting u use the google talk to make a video call?
just to clarify...

skype apps is not available in MY via Android Market.

this official skype apps for android DOES NOT have video chats. if you check Skype website, its also mentioned. the skype apps is only for voice/ text.

on a side note, i'm not sure about skype apps for ios (iphone). not sure if got video call function or not.

and yes... because of the lack of video call function, i din bother to install Skype. i tested out Google Talk with video function) and my first test -- i'm happy with it. but i've yet to do a comprehensive test...
TSmydragoon
post Jun 29 2011, 01:32 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kw91043 @ Jun 29 2011, 11:53 AM)
tested in my wife's iPad 2. Skype video call working flawlessly....
ya, i just went to check out skype website.

skype for ios (iGadgets) has got video... the download page for ios even says "Skype for iPhone – now with video"

still no such luck with Skype for Android. i guess that might come in future versions.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 29 2011, 02:02 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 29 2011, 01:50 PM)
updates will eventually come for us, cos right now from what i see for US the trend is still prioritizing for iOS stuffs for their software, but i don think it's gonna be a long wait for us to have video call on skype tho
ya, i think it should be soon as well...

but for me... i am heavy Google user -- use lots of their services and my contacts are all ready for import. so Google Talk should also be fine with me... i guess just need to convince my contacts to use it. but if i'm not mistaken, Google Talk can do cross-platform... but not sure if its video or just text messages. sorry... too lazy at the moment to surf and check. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 29 2011, 02:02 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 29 2011, 02:28 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(digitheatre @ Jun 29 2011, 02:05 PM)
just got my Google Music Beta invitation last nite. I have uploaded my 300++ songs into the cloud.. streaming is quite good using 3G.. songs appeared both in my TF and my galaxyS phone.very nice service.. i like it  rclxms.gif

Added on June 29, 2011, 2:10 pm

if i'm not mistaken, to use video chat in Google Talk it only supported from honeycomb, web (gmail) or 2.3.4 gingerbread.
hmm... i tot some guys from Galaxy S2 and Sensation mentioned can use... both phones are on 2.3.3 Gingerbread.

anyway, maybe i can ask others and see...

Added on June 29, 2011, 2:33 pmupdate: ya, GTalk needs 2.3.4

Added on June 29, 2011, 2:43 pmThis might be a bit late...

Google’s first Ice Cream Sandwich phone to be manufactured by Samsung, possibly dubbed ‘Nexus Prime’
This upcoming superphone will not have any carrier preloads or OEM customizations, which goes without saying for a Nexus phone or a reference/flagship Android offering. The current codename is “Prime”, and our source believes it’s possible that the phone could launch as the “Google Nexus Prime.” We also have information that Google’s onslaught of high-end Android devices isn’t going to stop anytime soon. With the Motorola DROID and Motorola XOOM, Google launched its flagship Android devices with one carrier and one OEM, but we’re hearing things might be switched up this time around. Our source indicated that Google could be working with multiple carriers and multiple OEMs on their own “exclusive” Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) halo devices, and that they may all launch around the same time.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 29 2011, 02:43 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 29 2011, 05:06 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Vinspire @ Jun 29 2011, 04:56 PM)
how to dump it into a folder. where is the folder actually? am very noob in android sweat.gif

and how to play rmv files? downloaded few players d but still can't seems to play rmv file.

My TF left 40% only. Therefore I start charging at 2.30 PM, now 4.55 PM already and still charging.
the TF should be fully charged after about 2-3hours. but you probably see it as 99%. you can consider it as fully charged.

personally, sometimes i dun even wait for full charge... smile.gif

as for playing rmv files (this is the TVB movies, isit?), I use MoboPlayer. When I launch MoboPlayer, i just point to the folder where my movie files are stored -- usually i leave them on the microSD card.

(i think -- recalling from memory) you need to browse all the way to the top folder... and look for removable and then look for microSD then then your movie folder... i

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 29 2011, 05:07 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 29 2011, 05:11 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 29 2011, 05:09 PM)
alternatively, just tap on the SD card icon at the notification tray and click on that 'folder' icon
hmmm... it din work for me... i wonder why. that's why i found it troublesome playing movies... dunno why when i click on the movie file, it says cannot find player or sth... so i end up have to open the movie file using the player instead.

but when i open photo files, it will ask me use what to open... i wonder... maybe my wife adjusted some settings for movie?!?
TSmydragoon
post Jun 30 2011, 08:14 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 30 2011, 07:33 AM)
if what you mean is some older apps that only show on a small portion of the screen, nope you cant do anything about it except hope the author comes up with a version that supports tablets.
i think he means some games get stretched to full screen and thus, the images become blurred.

i know some games are like that... they were meant for small screens. i dun think we can do much about them -- have to wait until the dev work on a higher-res version...

Added on June 30, 2011, 8:15 am
QUOTE(digitheatre @ Jun 29 2011, 11:20 PM)
yes, it is my friend's case. i suggested him to report to consumer tribunal. so far good progress.
care to share details of the case? as in what happened? also, i tot consumer tribunal will complete the case within 1-2 weeks or sth like that?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 30 2011, 08:15 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 30 2011, 08:19 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ceras @ Jun 29 2011, 10:49 PM)
Read a lot of bad reviews about Evernew. Seems they don't care after money changed hands. Someone also reported them to Consumer Tribunal after holding his case for a month.
i won't really say they are that bad... but just that different people at different times get different treatment.

as for dun care... again, based on my experience with them... its not they dun care... but they were being upfront -- if i claim anything thru them, it would take longer coz they go by batches... meaning compile all problematic items (be it notebook or tablets, etc) and then send one-shot to asus. this can be once a week or so.

again on my own experience... during the launch... the extra guys they had at the shop were knowledgeable. after that... when i went to collect my dock... some of the guys at the shop dun really know the product. so it was hard for me to ask them anything 'technical'.

but at times, they were bordering on being 'unethical'. one example is... the 'free leather case' that came with the TF. on launch day, we were told it costs rm199. in actual fact, they were selling it later at only rm99.

Added on June 30, 2011, 8:21 am
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 30 2011, 08:17 AM)

Added on June 30, 2011, 8:19 am

well that means screen ratio issue, by right games should be optimized for 16:9, should not have any issues since even smartphones are 16:9/16:10..guess the game developer didnt do a good job tongue.gif
i suspect some of these developers were using low-res images. on smaller screen, you can't tell the diff... but when its exploded onto the big screen, you can start to see the images are not sharp. i think partly this has to do with making the package small. since tablets came into the picture only recently, developers din not anticipate that using low res would be a bad idea... smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 30 2011, 08:21 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 30 2011, 10:27 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(hawk123 @ Jun 30 2011, 09:46 AM)
For those who looking for chinese handwriting input, u can install baidu input for pad from market. It works very well and it's awesome.
is this the one:
https://market.android.com/details?id=com.baidu.padinput
TSmydragoon
post Jun 30 2011, 01:02 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Jun 30 2011, 12:52 PM)
which anti virus apps u all use?

because when i plug in my thumbdrive to TF,, TF will create a "mohjih" folder consists of 1 .exe file inside the drive.

wonder what is that.
dun use any and dun intend to... better way is to scan your pendrive before insert into TF.

i use Avast! AV. free for personal use on the PC.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 30 2011, 01:17 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Jun 30 2011, 01:07 PM)
i scan my drive d..

at first dont have any 'mohjih' folder,, but once put in TF then auto create ,,., i unplug it then plug to pc and scan with nod32... detected the mohjih as virus.
could mean your TF infected with something?? you got root or load apps from grey market?
TSmydragoon
post Jun 30 2011, 04:16 PM

7,044 posts

@littlekev i suggest you also lodge a complain with the tribunal. if i remember correctly, its supposed to be only rm5 or so... maybe even free...

sadly... this shows the greediness of some shops. if they give you a unit they have, it means they get 1 less sales. so naturally, they try to delay you and get the sales instead.

but i'm kinda disappointed as well that asus is not coming down hard on their dealers/ distributors.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 30 2011, 04:17 PM

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0188sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:02 AM