Light Switches Installation, Need Advise on how to change and add ?

TSwoengx2
post Jun 3 2011, 01:58 AM, updated 15y ago

311 posts

Hi, All Sifu here in electrical wiring and light swtiches
I want to add an additional 1 Gang 1 Way light switch below a 3 Gang 1 Way switch and the original 3 Gang 1 Way switch will become a 2 Gang 1 Way switch.

Can any sifu here advise it is difficult to do so or it is impossible to do so ? icon_question.gif

ORIGINAL SWITCHES :

PROPOSED CHANGED AND ADDITIONIAL SWITCHES :

iv'N
post Jun 3 2011, 02:05 AM

657 posts

Should be easy i reckon
bhtan
post Jun 3 2011, 06:48 AM

241 posts

Should be easy but dont you think it is more ugly with the new layout? Personally, I would put the new 1G1Way in the same row (either to the left or right) unless you are running out of space
sl2007
post Jun 3 2011, 10:04 AM

285 posts

Agreed with BH idea.. Apart from that, you need to hack a new wiring route for the new switches if the wiring is done according to standard practice..
TSwoengx2
post Jun 3 2011, 11:27 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(bhtan @ Jun 3 2011, 06:48 AM)
Should be easy but dont you think it is more ugly with the new layout?  Personally, I would put the new 1G1Way in the same row (either to the left or right) unless you are running out of space
Thanks for suggestion! biggrin.gif
And, yes it is good idea to put it at the side but on the left side it has no space and it I put it in the right side, how is the wiring works to be ?

Added on June 3, 2011, 11:39 am
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jun 3 2011, 10:04 AM)
Agreed with BH idea.. Apart from that, you need to hack a new wiring route for the new switches if the wiring is done according to standard practice..
Thanks for your post! biggrin.gif
You mean I have to hack into the wall above this switch all the way to the main distribution board ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by woengx2: Jun 3 2011, 11:39 AM
karyeowl
post Jun 3 2011, 02:31 PM

309 posts

But y u wanna change?

Hacking job is messy.
TSwoengx2
post Jun 3 2011, 03:28 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(karyeowl @ Jun 3 2011, 02:31 PM)
But y u wanna change?

Hacking job is messy.
Want to change to a little modern type of switches ... tongue.gif
sl2007
post Jun 3 2011, 04:03 PM

285 posts

You need to check the conduit space available...
TSwoengx2
post Jun 3 2011, 04:22 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jun 3 2011, 04:03 PM)
You need to check the conduit space available...
Ok, noted with thanks! biggrin.gif
mainbola
post Mar 20 2012, 02:00 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(woengx2 @ Jun 3 2011, 01:58 AM)
Hi, All Sifu here in electrical wiring and light swtiches
I want to add an additional 1 Gang 1 Way light switch below a 3 Gang 1 Way switch and the original 3 Gang 1 Way switch will become a 2 Gang 1 Way switch.

Can any sifu here advise it is difficult to do so or it is impossible to do so ?  icon_question.gif

ORIGINAL SWITCHES :

PROPOSED CHANGED AND ADDITIONIAL SWITCHES :
Sifus,

I'm looking for this PDL switches. Apparently they no longer available. Anyone know if there's any shops that still carry them? Looking for 2 gang switches.
stevie8
post Mar 20 2012, 04:13 PM

1,365 posts

I dont see it serve any purpose, just wonder why you want to do that? Nothing to do ah?

0.0242sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:47 PM