Income Tax Issues v2

firee818
post Aug 2 2011, 10:00 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(sunnyloke @ Aug 1 2011, 01:25 PM)
Submitted my Borang BE on March 2011. Supposingly there should be few hundred refund I can get. However, I just got a letter last week, saying that "akaun tuan tidak menunjukkan apa-apa baki kredit yang boleh dibayar balik"..
Past few years I also able to get the refund, just that this yr I receive such a letter...
Shall I visit / call / email and request them to check for it?
If I was u, then I will check the tax file.

1). If the net outcome is, I earned (i.e. IRB calculated wrongly and I untung), then I will close my eyes and bank in the "tax credit".

2). If the net outcome is less than RM 1000 (whether earned or lost), then I will close my eyes.

3). If the net outcome is, I lost over RM 1000.00, then I will inform IRB (this also depend on situation whether it is worthwhile to do so).

Since it is IRB making mistake, let them to settle the problem themselves if it is outcome (1) and (2) above.

Added on August 2, 2011, 10:26 am
QUOTE(Nidz @ Aug 1 2011, 03:15 PM)
im not sure about the PCB, but they asked me to open an account first, which i did (e-filing).
so, do i have to do PCB or i just can submit my file manually every April?
If u have tax file number, u need to give the tax file number to u employer. Then u just sit down and rest, u don't have to worry anymore.

It is the duty of your employer to deduct (PCB). Whether they (employer) do it or not, u don't have to worry, because u are nothing wrong in tax law.

In fact, I really don't like my employer to do PCB for me, because I don't need to worry about my tax credit. FYI, If u want to claim back tax credit, u need to bring in all sort of prove, receipt and sometime to might got into trouble if u mis-do u Borong B/BE!

This post has been edited by firee818: Aug 2 2011, 10:26 AM
firee818
post Aug 4 2011, 11:28 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(hockster @ Aug 4 2011, 12:22 AM)
Hello,

I need some help regarding on income tax issues. I would be glad if somebody can explain my situation.
I'm an offshore contract worker which hired by Switzerland company and my salary in USD which transaction by Tele-Transfer from Switzerland to Malaysia Bank.
I don't pay income tax in Switzerland. and I dont pay tax in Malaysia also but recently I've register an Income tax account in Malaysia.
My question is, is it taxable on my income situation? As far as I know, earning foreign currency is not taxable right? But the officer in LHDN told me that I need to show prove that I've pay tax in Switzerland, so that I dont have to pay it again in Malaysia. So this really worries me, if i need to start pay tax in Malaysia.

Please help me to sort out this issues... thank you in advance... cheers~
Mind explain what is know as "offshore contract worker."

Where is the location of the work/job ?

firee818
post Jan 19 2012, 01:53 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Jan 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
Rayng18,thank you so much. FYI I can get the EA form from company A because I just work there for 3 months only,before that I work with company C for 9 months, I grab that one from them too and company B said no EA form for me doh.gif

Is it I just need to submit EA form 2011 from company A and company C to IRB department?

Yes,I not yet have an income tax file with IRB. I don't want the company A HR to file the income tax because I don't want them to know I got side-income. In company A HR,they think my salary no need to declare because didn't reach the limit yet.

I heard the income tax will deduct 12% is it ?
1) Company B didn't deduct EPF and Socso from u, meaning that this income is "illegal"
2) So, obviously Company B can't give u EA.
3) So u need to declare Company A and Company C income if u total income is over RM2500 (my advise) to IRB.

firee818
post Jan 19 2012, 02:51 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(rayng18 @ Jan 19 2012, 02:28 PM)
1) totally disagree, eg,if you do part time unit trust consultant, mana ada deduct EPF or Socso, they still provide you with commission statement so you still have to declare
Then WhiteWing need to say clearly what is his part-time job, this will clear all the doubt.
No need to agree or disagree this and that and guess what is his part-time job.
See the word "SALARY" written by WhiteWing below. Look carefully before make any comment.

Wonder u react in such a weird way? hmm.gif

Added on January 19, 2012, 2:55 pm
QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Jan 19 2012, 10:22 AM)
Good morning everybody,I been reading the thread from page 1 until here.

I just got some question in my mind now. sad.gif , Appreciate it if anyone could assist me. sad.gif

Right now I working with 1 company and my basic salary is RM 2,200 and fixed allowance is RM 400 = RM 2,600. I am paying EPF and socso for this company A. Then got a company B I been working as part time as a favor by helping them,they giving me a random salary every month, like November giving me RM 1,000,then December RM 1,400,then January RM 2,000. So sometimes this company B paying the salary to me is not fixed and this company I didn't contribute EPF and socso as I only part time.

This post has been edited by firee818: Jan 19 2012, 02:59 PM
firee818
post Jan 19 2012, 03:25 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(rayng18 @ Jan 19 2012, 03:13 PM)
You are the one who is acting weird, as the part time income is not fixed its not called salary its called wages and its not illegal. you still have to declare all income earned, we are just trying to give an opinion and so arguments like this is normal to get everyone know.
Why just now u said it maybe commission and now turn the word to salary/wages?

Either salary or wages, it is required to contribute EPF and Socso by law.

Since u like to argue with me, then u need to give the reason why Company B didn't contribute EPF and Sosco for him? smile.gif

If Company B can't give u EA, how can u declare to IRB?

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Jan 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
Rayng18,thank you so much. FYI I can get the EA form from company A because I just work there for 3 months only,before that I work with company C for 9 months, I grab that one from them too and company B said no EA form for me doh.gif

Is it I just need to submit EA form 2011 from company A and company C to IRB department?

Yes,I not yet have an income tax file with IRB. I don't want the company A HR to file the income tax because I don't want them to know I got side-income. In company A HR,they think my salary no need to declare because didn't reach the limit yet.

I heard the income tax will deduct 12% is it ?
This post has been edited by firee818: Jan 19 2012, 03:39 PM
firee818
post Jan 19 2012, 04:08 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(rayng18 @ Jan 19 2012, 03:45 PM)
its because we don't know that's why i say maybe and read further his part time pay is not fixed and yes it is by law part timers needs to contribute to EPF and Socso if he contributes 30% to 70% of his normal fulltime job time to his part time job
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?sec=n.../20100818160440
all these are not known, maybe he work only just for few hours and the onus is on Co B to deduct EPF and Socso, and since he is getting paid (and pls be informed that payslip is given to him) he needs to declare his part time income also.
All these presumption are assumed, thus no point to discuss further until whitewing makes clarificaton.

firee818
post Jan 20 2012, 08:39 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Jan 19 2012, 04:50 PM)
firee818,I don't know how to say. My job scope in company B is like this :-
I work with them,meet customer. If I able to close the deal,they share with me some of the profit of the deal I closed. That why can see inside the payslip,every month amount is different. This is the reason why they say cannot give me EPF and socso contribution.
In determine the legality of your Company B income, you need to identify whether there is
any employment contract or any sort of contract between you and the company stating that you are:-

1). Employee of the company.
2). Independent contractor/contractor/agent of the company

If you are under No.(1), then you may entitle to EPF and Socso contribution (subject to the part-time rule).
If you are under No.(2), then you are not entitle to EPF and Socso contribution.

If u do not have any employment contract between u and the company, then your income will be classified under "grey area".

This post has been edited by firee818: Jan 20 2012, 08:41 AM
firee818
post Feb 7 2012, 11:34 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Feb 1 2012, 08:05 PM)
Faster Submit it and get my extra PCB back  thumbup.gif
Faster submit may let to more time available for IRB officers to scrutinize your file.
Of course, if you are clean, then nothing to be afraid of.
firee818
post Feb 10 2012, 10:49 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(Peter_APIIT @ Feb 10 2012, 01:59 AM)
Hello to all,

I have a question here.

I worked for company A from August 2010 to March 2011. In April 2011, i did not file any income tax but my company A has deduct the PCB.

My income has not reach Rm 25000 pa. Can i still get back my PCB deducted?

Then, i stop for working until then i worked for company B from August 2011 to current. My income has not reach RM 25000 PA for this period.

Do i need to file tax for this year?

Since Company A had deducted PCB and submitted to IRB, meaning that you have tax file number.
Therefore, you need to declare your income every year to IRB even though you have no income at all for that particular year.
If u have tax file number but you didn't submit your Borong B/BE, IRB will penalize you.
firee818
post Feb 18 2012, 08:13 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 17 2012, 11:28 AM)
I just received CP500 from LHDN today. Inside they aggregate the same amount as last year for 2012 tax. They separate it into 6 installments for me to pay.

Question is can I pay together at one lump sum? Since for example the tax they aggregated is RM 2,500 so if my tax for this year is RM 2,750 so I would have to pay RM 250 more at the end of this year?  hmm.gif
Is it mean that u pay RM2500 in one go in the 1st instalment of YA 2012?

e.g.

Feb 2012 RM416-----> pay in one go RM2500
Apr 2012 RM416
Jun 2012 RM416
Aug 2012 RM416
Oct 2012 RM 416
Dec 2012 RM 420
Total RM2500

If it is, yes, you can and supplement with a letter forward to IRB to inform them u payment mode.
Remember that u have to pay the installment before the due date.
firee818
post Apr 1 2013, 04:11 PM

1,205 posts

How should we pay e-bayaran:-
1) via MBB2U
2) Via IRB web e-bayaran

Which one is better in term of safety and user friendly?

0.0194sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:13 AM