Income Tax Issues v2

CKJMark
post Apr 30 2013, 10:00 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(Ping-ping @ Apr 27 2013, 09:48 PM)
Hi! Can someone please help me? This is the first year i'm declaring rental income, so i am not sure where should i fill in the deductible expenses.

I couldn't find any field or column to fill in this info.  I have attached my screen cap of the e form. I can only fill in the rental income under Statutory income from rents. But there's no breakdown for me to insert more details.

Please advice. Thanks so much!!  smile.gif

In the Form BE you are suppose to report your rental income nett of deductible expenses.

In the "buku panduan borang BE" you will find a lot of worksheets at the back. The one you are looking for is called HK-4.

See page 48 of this PDF http://www.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/BP_BE2010_1.pdf

This is the worksheet you use to help you compute your rental income to report in your Form BE. You don't have to submit this worksheet, just keep it for your reference. The worksheet sample I have attached is from 2010 because I can't get the 2012 version. However, I do not think there is any material changes from the 2010 worksheet that would affect your computation.

This post has been edited by CKJMark: Apr 30 2013, 10:00 AM
CKJMark
post Apr 30 2013, 10:01 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(eeki @ Apr 30 2013, 09:55 AM)
Guys,
Need help. I'm not clear on this portion 'FAEDAH PINJAMAN PERUMAHAN'. Stated in the BE 2012 guidelines, mentioned that it's only applicable to S&P signed within 10 Mar 2009 until 31 Dec 2010. Also stated there it's claimable for 3 years.

So for 2012 S&P is not applicable?
Correct
CKJMark
post Apr 30 2013, 10:02 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(Shirleykame @ Apr 27 2013, 11:29 PM)
Hi anyone cal tell me what is include under "Medical treatment, special needs and carer expenses for parents (certified by medical practitioner)" ?

my dad went in Gleneagle  for medical + medicine this can deduct??
Yes, if you paid for it and have the receipt.

If you claimed insurance then you cannot claim for tax
CKJMark
post Apr 30 2013, 10:10 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(ezatamrol @ Apr 28 2013, 04:59 AM)
Advice me please, I know ASB is exempted from income tax but do I still need to declare it under dividen section and fill the deduction? Sorry for noob question, first time filling it. Thanks in advance.
If it is tax exempt then you don't have to put it in the Form BE
CKJMark
post Apr 30 2013, 10:30 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Apr 30 2013, 09:32 AM)
Hi all sifu, I have 2 situations hope to get some advice and your experience sharing...

1.I resigned mid last year with short notice and payback my ex-employer. The payback amount did not appear in my 2012 EA. Should my total income in 2012 be reduced by the payback amount?

2.I have done e-filing last week. If there is any amendment, what is the procedure?

Thanks in advance.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Technically speaking the payback is a penalty, not a refund of salary. I say this because when you paid them back, you did not refund the EPF contribution, right?

In this case, it is a penalty you pay for early resignation and it is not deductible for tax because you didn't spend that money to earn your salary.

CKJMark
post Apr 30 2013, 11:38 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(swrong @ Apr 30 2013, 07:15 PM)
Hi LYN,
Based on link here:
http://www.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Spesifik...Berkomputer.pdf
Traveling allowance can be relief if exceed 6k.
But i don't see any way I can enter the amount on the e-filing page?

"Petrol  card,  petrol  allowance,  travelling  allowance  or  toll  payment  or  any  of  its
combination for official duties. If the amount received exceeds RM6,000 a year, the
employee  can  make  a  further  deduction  in  respect  of  the  amount  spent  for  official
duties. Records pertaining to the claim for official duties and the exempted amount
must be kept for a period of 7 years for audit purpose."
The excess allowance is not a personal relief. It is a deduction granted at gross level. This means the excess allowance you want to claim is to be deducted from your employment income per EA form. But make sure you keep receipts and proof that the traveling is for work.

Bear in mind you are not just supposed to keep the proof for the excess you are claiming. You are to keep the proof for all your traveling even the amount before you exceed 6000. This is to prove you are not double claiming
CKJMark
post Apr 30 2013, 11:40 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(meme00 @ Apr 30 2013, 11:35 PM)
Hi all,

Wanted to check if travel allowance for my travel between home to office is still tax free (up to RM2400)?
If yes, does it mean my HR has to declare it under Section G in EA form? Or how should they go about it?

Thank you.
I can't remember the amount of the exemption but yes it is in effect. You should see it lumped under "non-taxable/tax exempt perquisites" in your EA
CKJMark
post Apr 30 2013, 11:48 PM

579 posts

Edit post wrong place

This post has been edited by CKJMark: Apr 30 2013, 11:48 PM
CKJMark
post May 1 2013, 01:08 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(penangmee @ May 1 2013, 12:06 AM)
RM 2400 exemption for travelling allowances from house to work no longer in force for YA 2012.
You're right, it expired in 2010. My bad, apologies.
CKJMark
post May 1 2013, 01:12 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(frontierzone @ May 1 2013, 12:24 AM)
Just curious, does the LHDN investigates your EPF contribution for the assessment year to see whether the amount more or less around 11% of your annual earnings, and then makes out the estimated annual earnings figure, compare it with what you declare? DO they have clearance to go into EPF and dig out your information WITHOUT any suspicious reasons that you have done any frauds?
If they have no suspicious reason to suspect fraud, why would they go to that trouble? They don't need to go to EPF to confirm your contribution. They can compel YOU to go to EPF and get a statement to prove your contribution lol. That way, you do the legwork for them.

There is more than one way for them to check your earnings if they want to. They can go to your employer, or cross check you to the employers' return, or the PCB submissions by your employer.

This post has been edited by CKJMark: May 1 2013, 01:14 AM
CKJMark
post May 7 2013, 12:07 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ May 6 2013, 08:48 PM)
I'm in the middle of filing income tax for Sole Proprietor Year 2012.
There are few invoices in which I'm unable to recover the payment.
May I know how should I file the losses for those few invoices?
In your accounts these unreconverable invoices would be treated as doubtful debts. You have the option of:-

1) treating is as a provision
2) writing them off completely

Provided you keep the invoices to prove that you can identify the debtors.

You must also have proof that you tried to recover the debts (i.e. reminder letters, letters of demand).

If you have all this, then all you need to do is treat the unrecoverable amount as an expense item. Bear in mind that if you manage to recover in future, the amount must be brought to tax as income.
CKJMark
post May 7 2013, 12:09 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(blackking87 @ May 3 2013, 02:00 PM)
How do i claim back my taxes for the gross dividends before the single tier tax exemption was granted for shares?

I've got claims all the way back till 2009, but I have no idea how to claim it....
Were these dividends included when you filed your tax returns in 2009 onwards?

You probably have to file a revised/amended tax return. You should see the assessor handling your file to discuss the procedure and documentation.
CKJMark
post Jul 4 2013, 02:48 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(mIehaWk @ Jun 29 2013, 02:03 PM)
halo all..
got few questions here..

1. if i got 200k of personal loan.. can i pay lumsump.. is it goin to raise their suspicious?

2. same prob.. if i got 200k to 400k fm my profit.. can i put it in my bank? if can..  am i have to pay tax.. how much?

3. way to avoid all of this prob raise suspicous..
p/s. im a gov worker.. basic only 4100.
planning to start car biz. but just a few.. mybe 3-4 cars only.. buy frm custom.. repair here n there.. n sold back with higher price..
realy need advice here as i think it to small for me to start a compny n yet it only for that cars..
thank..
Having a business and starting a company are two different things. You don't have to start a company to have a business. But if you have a business like yours, you have to report it for taxable income.
CKJMark
post Oct 13 2013, 11:45 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(cruel_boy @ Oct 12 2013, 10:15 AM)
Hi. Recently after filing my tax return form, i received a letter from LHDN informing that my file is changed from SG to OG "kerana tuan mempunyai punca pendapatan daripada perniagaan"

i do not have any business income, probably i fill up form wrongly when i filed tax returns. Is this something i should be worried about? Would it affect my tax rate?
You should get it checked out why this change happened. They may have information you did not provide them, got the file mixed up, or like you said you filled up the form wrong. It won't change the tax rate, but the OG files have a lot more disclosure to do than the SG files.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0765sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:59 PM