Income Tax Issues v2

klthor
post Feb 26 2013, 01:26 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Feb 26 2013, 12:32 PM)
Paying taxes is normal but paying taxes in advance is not normal. Sometimes you have not even received the money(cash flow) but have to pay in advance first.

6th and 9th revision are still before year end, business carries risks and uncertainties. It may experience fluctuations in final months, therefore the paying in advance practice does not benefit taxpayers. You pay them is easy, there's always e-payment system on irb website but where is e-refund?

Your less than RM30K income per year not subjected to tax is wrong since you assumed that employee has contributed epf, what if he did not and he does not claim other reliefs?
ermmm it depends on how u judge for the tax payment, for myself i will see it as monthly income tax paid. I earn in Jan, i paid in Jan. but if you Earn in Jan but prefer to paid in Dec. it all depends on which point of view you are from.

there is a reason why IRB change to current year basis in year 2000. cash flow is part of your well manage business as well.

besides, i have seen improvement in IRB refund. they act faster than previous year. I do agree with you regarding IRB should improve their refund method.

for a person who earn Rm2k avg a month, every1 who are has an income should submit tax return, but no worries if you didnt apply for tax file number becoz i dont think IRB will be interested in these group of ppl too hehe.

This post has been edited by klthor: Feb 26 2013, 01:32 PM
klthor
post Apr 23 2013, 02:12 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Apr 23 2013, 11:37 AM)
From property investment angles, do u think it is worth while to set up an property investment company instead of holding it in our names for tax relief purposes since expenses of a company can be deducted whilst it cant for individual taxes.
not all expenses u can deduct. eg. petrol, salary, etc.

best way is still hold under your names unless you are paying more than 20% tax.
klthor
post Apr 23 2013, 02:15 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(dambie @ Apr 23 2013, 12:57 PM)
i have received EA form from my employer. but no monthly tax deduction because my total annual income is less than 27,000. Not taxable is it? Do i still need to do e-filing?
1st question, have to apply or submit tax return before this?

if yes, please do the e-filing.

if no,
in theory, everyone who has income should submit their tax return.
in practice, dont need la.... wait until u have to pay tax la =.=
klthor
post Apr 23 2013, 05:01 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Apr 23 2013, 04:21 PM)
I am paying more than 20%.
if set up a company, since it is a part time thingy.  can i still grant a salary to myself thereby making the revenue 0? 
for ex, rental is RM 1k.  I get a salary for RM1k.  so dont have to pay for tax.
ok, because property investment nature a bit diff, the tax computation is diff from normal trading company. salary will falls under indirect expenses and at most u can only claim 25%, let say rental = Rm1k, staff salary = Rm1k, only 250 can be deducted. meaning any other admin fees = 25%. but theres another catch here, if i remember correctly, max u can deduct for indirect expenses is 5% of your rental income smile.gif so forming a company just to receive rental income isnt a smart way for me, at least i think. UNLESS, you are doing business like Mid valley, One Utama where u manage and provide alot of additional services, then u can consider for it. because it consider as business where everything is near to 100% deduction, eg. salary etc etc.

and for 20% or above tax rate, u need to do some calculation. SME tax @ fixed 20% for 1st 500k only, whereby personal tax = scale. so u really need to calculate nicely. 100k @ SME will be 20k tax, whereby 100k on person is around 14k if i remember the schedule propery -.-

besides, forming a Sdn Bhd include more cost instead of saving. example audit fee, company sec fee, filing fee, etc etc which can easily cost u over 3k a year. theres a new type of company named Limited Liability Partnership which is the same as Sdn Bhd, just that they dun need auditors, comp sec. sorry i cant give more info on LLP as i didnt come accross these type of companies yet.

klthor
post Apr 23 2013, 05:49 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Apr 23 2013, 05:18 PM)
I see.  thanks for the clarification.  unless i am really into investment biz like holding more than 5 properties, holding it under personal name is still more viable?

if under personal name, i understand that only net rental is taxable.  mind educate me in this.

thanks  notworthy.gif
holding more than 5 is longer consider as business income the last time i read their public ruling which is in early 2012. need to double confirm with LHDN or any other tax agent.

for Net rental meaning u can deduct those direct expenses like quit rent and assessment, repair and upkeep, term loan interest, maintenance fee if im not mistaken, and advertising to rent out your property (but not for the 1st time if im not mistaken).
klthor
post Nov 1 2013, 11:21 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(ConstantLove @ Oct 31 2013, 11:22 PM)
Need some confirmation on this :

lets say Justin is getting 70k salary annually.

At the same time he sets up an enterprise using his name. that enterprise lose -10k in that year.

in the Borang B next year, his chargeable income will be effectively = 70k-reliefs-10k (loses from the business).
is this correct?
yes but limited to current year losses only.
klthor
post Nov 4 2013, 09:19 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 1 2013, 06:27 PM)
Your source please ?
Public Ruling No. 1/2005 page 4 number 8.

http://www.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/PR1_2005.pdf

This post has been edited by klthor: Nov 4 2013, 12:49 PM
klthor
post Nov 4 2013, 12:47 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(Ahkwang @ Nov 4 2013, 12:02 PM)
Hi, i'm currently employed with a company ABC and at the same time i'm planning to set up an enterprise. During income tax declaration, do i just fill up one form , i.e. Borang B-E? or need to fill 2 separate forms (1 for employed, 1 for business)?

B form if you have business income and employment income.
klthor
post Nov 6 2013, 04:21 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(jpaul @ Nov 6 2013, 01:27 PM)
don't this consider foreign income ?
as per cherroy said, it doesnt matter who pays you or where they pay you or where you receive the money... what important is where you earn it... do check with your singapore Company, do they deduct your salary for SG income tax? if yes, then you might not need to pay tax or pay less here back in malaysia.
klthor
post Nov 20 2013, 10:10 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(adam09 @ Nov 20 2013, 09:43 AM)
what's the reason employer use employee details,name , ic for some company income tax form
Borang E? employer need to submit borang e with their employee name ic annual salary.
klthor
post Nov 26 2013, 10:57 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Nov 26 2013, 12:13 AM)
in 2014 budget ah jib gor announced rm2k tax relief for those who earned <rm8k per month rite? this one will effective in 2014 filing? bcoz other income tax incentive only effective in 2016 filing.

8k per month means 96k per year inclusive bonus? or purely gross salary?
2014 filing ? normally we use YA2014 which need to file in 2015 and YA2013 will be in year 2014
klthor
post Nov 26 2013, 11:46 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Nov 26 2013, 11:35 AM)
i meant 2014 filing = YA2013
i havent check the IRB website, but normally budget 2014 is for YA2014 meaning the filing in 2015 ~.~
klthor
post Dec 11 2013, 04:58 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(haicaramba @ Dec 5 2013, 09:50 AM)
Would like to ask all the sifus here for some company tax issues...

I have set up an enterprise (sole-proprietorship) around half a year ago.
Up til now, my monthly turnover is around 200k, with profit around 5-10%.
Annually will be exceeding 2 mil and counting.
The thing is that, I have almost zero overhead - no office, no workers, no equipment, nothing.
It is just a 1-man-show trading company that I do on part-time basis (I'm a full-time office employee).
Am not sure how's the tax structure for businesses, trading company in particular.
I had tried to search online but the info available is either limited or not relevant.

Is there any ways that I can minimize the company tax legally?
Should I employ some 'workers'? Rent an 'office'?
Coz from the way I look at it now, it's going to be the maximum 26%  mega_shok.gif
Paying 26k for every 100k is really painful  wacko.gif
I'm already in the 19% tax bracket from my employment salary.

I have been keeping all the receipts of meals & petrol since setting up the company, but am not too sure on the claimable %%%

I heard that for enterprises, the tax is to be filed in together with our employment salary, therefore, there isn't much "space" to play around.... is it true?

Is it better to set up an LLP or Sdn Bhd for my current case?

TQ in advance & any constructive feedback is appreciated.
SME tax rate is flat 20% (up to 500k profit) compare to individual schedule up to 26%.

eg. 100k profit for SME = 20k
100k profit for enterprise = 14k ish~~

and for your info, changing into sdn bhd is never gonna save you anything. with accounting, audit, tax agent, and company sec fee judging from your turnover rate can easily hit 5k~10k + - sdn bhd is when u wanna expand, not when u wanna save cost or tax planning.
klthor
post Jan 3 2014, 01:09 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(whojen @ Jan 3 2014, 01:01 PM)
Hey guys. Recently bought Osim chair for my parents.
Osim. People said can claim. Under Income tax. Under which category ah? Anyone knows?
osim chair can claim tax relief ? thats something new to me, do let me know if u found out the answer

0.0446sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:17 AM