Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V1, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here

cempedaklife
post Aug 2 2012, 03:34 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

just got a call by an agent for this SCB Business platinum Visa..

offered rm200 credited to my account once approved.....Dunno whether worth the trouble to apply or not...

i've mbb 2 cards and ocbc titanium card at the moment...

hmm....

edited:

just saw ronnie post a day ago, apply online got rm300?? did i just almost got conned by the agent? blink.gif

edited again:

http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...-conditions/en/

from here, looks like better apply online urself rather than through agent...

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Aug 2 2012, 03:44 PM
cempedaklife
post Aug 2 2012, 04:23 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 2 2012, 04:20 PM)
RM200 upon approval, RM100 after 45 days ( with 3 swipes). Total : RM300
still thinking...any hidden t&c?

got any advice from "senior" ronnie? biggrin.gif
cempedaklife
post Aug 2 2012, 04:32 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 2 2012, 04:29 PM)
I'm still waiting for my RM100 brows.gif
i'm just worried if there's any hidden t&c, like:

- must retain the card for how many years to be eligible for this
- any hidden minimal spending..

if there's none, it's good to keep, for less than one year, before the 2nd GST kicks in, and after spending the remaining cashback after GST charge, then stop using... brows.gif
cempedaklife
post Aug 3 2012, 09:34 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

Sila baca t&c:

For applications through the Bank's Direct Sales Agencies or via the Bank's branches, the cashback will be credited into the cardholder's credit card account within 30 days from the approval date.
For online applications, the cashback will be given to the cardholder in the following manner:-
12.1 For Gold / Business Gold credit card, the sum of RM150 will be credited to the cardholder's credit card account upon approval of the credit card. The balance RM100 will be credited within 30 days after that.
12.2 For Platinum / Business Platinum credit card and Preferred MasterCard World, the sum of RM200 will be credited to the cardholder's credit card account upon approval of the credit card. The balance RM100 will be credited within 30 days after that.
cempedaklife
post Aug 3 2012, 11:09 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 3 2012, 11:04 AM)
SCB lost you as a customer... come back to enjoy the RM300 cash back for new applicants.
He's not eligible biggrin.gif

The Campaign is open to New Customers who successfully apply for any of the following credit cards ("SCB Credit Card") as principal cardholder with the Bank during the Campaign Period:
• Classic Credit Card
• Gold or Business Gold Credit Card,
• Platinum or Business Platinum Credit Card,
• Preferred World MasterCard, or
• Priority Banking Visa Infinite Credit Card,

AND maintain their accounts with the Bank in good standing, without any breach of the terms and conditions or agreements, throughout the Campaign Period.

"New Customers" mean applicants who have not held any Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia Berhad credit card whether as principal or supplementary cardholder within the past 12 months before the applicant's credit card under this Campaign is issued

Added on August 3, 2012, 11:10 am
QUOTE(psiloveu @ Aug 3 2012, 10:51 AM)
Yesterday I called to bank to cancel my business visa plat as well as master plat....... lost confidence for their double standard practice. sad.gif

Added on August 3, 2012, 10:52 am
I had rejected all these offers when I cancelled my cards smile.gif
what is the double standard u r referring to?

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Aug 3 2012, 11:10 AM
cempedaklife
post Aug 3 2012, 02:50 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Aug 3 2012, 11:14 AM)
Thank you very much, brother Ronnie.

The bank service is good, but the "double standard practice" is not match for an international bank....... their credit card marketing department is really "sxck".  Cost to maintain a royal customer is much mush lower to recruit a new customer.  I have been using their cards for few years...... the TNC for contests are getting more restriction. sad.gif

Added on August 3, 2012, 11:17 am
The double standard which I referred to:
1.  The YES contest last for the HIFI, BVP customers are not eligible for the gift (eventually they replaced me after I make complaint to bank)

This is the reply from them

Dear Mr. XXX

Thank you for your message on XX/3/2012.

We note your query on the YES campaign.

Pertaining to your query, please be informed that the bank has rectified the matter and you are entitled to for the Philips Micro Hi-Fi System.
2.  5% petrol rebate for new BVP customers.
i get what u feel...

in fact, many bank also have this tactic, some promo and contest favour new applicants more, albeit in a milder way...

in fact SCB dun have much benefits as oppose to other cards in the long run..take for example ocbc titanium has 5% rebate on few categories, mbb 2 cards amex got 5% weekends rebate...

the only reason why i would drop by here is coz of the activation cash back rm300....which i got to know from agent...

upon checking, not much other benefits using this card...

cempedaklife
post Aug 6 2012, 02:48 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 6 2012, 07:21 AM)
This what we called "Redemption Points Inflation"  vmad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif
it's too much of an increase to be consider as mere inflation blink.gif
cempedaklife
post Oct 17 2012, 08:07 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

u guys think if i apply now (today or tomolo online), will i still make it for the rm300 cash back until end of 31st oct?
cempedaklife
post Oct 17 2012, 08:14 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 17 2012, 08:13 PM)
u can try. just try, u will never know. better than to wait till its over and then whine that u missed out on it. smile.gif
but if cannot get, no point i get it, need pay extra rm50 GST somemore sad.gif

Added on October 17, 2012, 8:15 pm
QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 17 2012, 08:13 PM)
Should be able to make it... it's based on Application date, not Approved By date
but i tot this is in t&c?

To participate in this Campaign, Eligible Customers must apply for a SCB Credit Card and have it approved, all within the Campaign Period ("Successful Eligible Customers").

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Oct 17 2012, 08:15 PM
cempedaklife
post Oct 17 2012, 08:17 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 17 2012, 08:16 PM)
Maybe the Nov deal is even better... @ RM400 Cash-Back per Platinum CC
u got news? brows.gif
cempedaklife
post Oct 17 2012, 08:23 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 17 2012, 08:21 PM)
just wait and see. smile.gif
fuuu!!

thx..i can wait..

currently very happy with ocbc titanium and mbb 2 cards..

saw this quite awhile back, tot dun wan take the trouble, but now a lot frens applied...kiasu pula i biggrin.gif
cempedaklife
post Oct 19 2012, 12:20 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 19 2012, 11:03 AM)
this is with effect from?..today?..or last week alrdy start this rule?.. hmm.gif
its actually in the t&c

in fact t&c stated that there will only be one cashback, regardless how many u applied and got it approved.

i've no idea why all ppl applied a lot of cards for this..or whether someone actually get extra cashback for this.

i dun always lurk here in this topic

http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...-conditions/en/

If a New Customer applies for more than one credit card through any application channel during the Campaign Period, the cashback will only be awarded to one credit card, namely the credit card with the highest cashback entitlement.

Example
Mr A applies through one of the Bank's branches for a Gold credit card. He also applies online for a Platinum credit card. The Bank has approved both applications. Mr A will only be entitled to the cashback for the Platinum credit card, namely RM300.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Oct 19 2012, 12:21 PM

0.0444sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:46 AM