Music Event, Contest, Concert Workshop Information, Share any music event(s) you know of

chapree
post Nov 16 2005, 11:47 AM

I used to stuff for LYN Editorial and troll at LYN Forums
2,046 posts

ROCK THE WORLD 6

Saturday :: 17 December 2005 :: Stadium Merdeka

Bands playing :
A.C.A.B
The Pilgrims
OAG
7 Collar T-Shirt
Cassandra
Gerhana Ska Cinta
LO
Disagree
Deja Voodoo Spells
Langsuyr
Vormit
The Times
Furniture
Pop Shuvit
Cosmic Funk Express <-- w00t!
Plague of Happiness
Frequency Cannon

Tickets are priced at RM 25 available at all Extreme shops or at the venue on the concert itself.
As like previous years, 1st 5000 entries will get free Rock The World 6 t-shirt thumbup.gif

This year looks more metal and hardcore laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chapree: Nov 16 2005, 11:48 AM
chapree
post Dec 18 2005, 11:49 PM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(fipoch @ Dec 2 2005, 05:31 PM)
Hey guys, I heard that muse is coming in malaysia this coming december, zit true?
SERIOUS? shocking.gif drool.gif
Chris Wolstenholme is an awesome bassist too. thumbup.gif

Continue to the gig listing.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
This one is for hardcore fans.

This Year's Final Threat

Date : 31st December 2005
Venue : Paul's Place, Jln. Klang Lama, KL
Time : 6pm till finish
Cost : RM 15

Bands :

Crystal Lake (Japan)
Force Vormit (Singapore)
Cassandra
Second Combat
Devilica
Uphold
The Falling Grudge
Man Under Zero Effort
N.E.T
Restraint
Crestfallen

---------------------------------------------------------------

The second one are organised by MusicCanteen.com

The tickets are pretty darn expensive if you ask me (RM 30 per day siot). Cosmic Funk Express alrdy promised they gonna do it clinic style on their show which definately worth the money. Apart from Deja Voodoo Spells, I dunno about others how they gonna make your RM30 worth it. laugh.gif

KLPAC map & address

THE KUALA LUMPUR PERFORMING ARTS CENTRE
Sentul West, Jalan Strachan, off Jalan Ipoh,
51100 Kuala Lumpur.

Public Transport: From KTM Komuter Sentul station, take Rapid KL bus #143

This post has been edited by chapree: Dec 18 2005, 11:52 PM
chapree
post Dec 19 2005, 12:17 PM

2,046 posts

Jemi : Confirm not going, takde duit la bro sad.gif If i get to go, I'll choose Julian Mokhtar, CFE & DVS.

Anybody read today's The Star alrdy?

BANGKOK 100 ROCK FESTIVAL 2006

Date : 18-19 February 2006
Venue : Lakeside Muangthong Thani, Bangkok

Featuring :
Oasis
Franz Ferdinand
Ian Brown (former Stone Roses)
Placebo
Snow Patrol
Also some of the best Thai's indie acts - Modern Dog, Ebola, Big Ass, Bodyslam

http://www.bkk100rock.com/main.html
Ticket info --> http://www.thaiticketmaster.com/

Full Brit-Rock siot...Before this, Korn were also listed in the line-up but not in the final list (if got, by any means I'll be there for Korn!). Although it still far ahead from Australia's Big Day Out, Japan's Fuji Rock Festival & Summer Sonic, it's better than nothing. Oih Malaysian concert organiser, wake up la...it's been a while since we get good international acts in the country. cry.gif
chapree
post Jan 1 2006, 08:17 PM

2,046 posts

Yesh, go go go and support local musicians! nod.gif

Welcom to the family, Az. thumbup.gif

Do you guys know these chicks?

But this one are more important!

Pat Metheny! with Christian McBride..w00t! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by chapree: Jan 2 2006, 02:54 AM
chapree
post Jul 31 2006, 01:12 AM

2,046 posts

I've been missing for a very long time, but i promise u guys i'll be back after the WCG fever is over.

Anyway, i'm taking a break from my gaming to post this very exciting news rclxm9.gif

FOURPLAY - Live at Dewan Filharmonik Petronas, KLCC.

Quoted from http://alldatjazz.com/item/805
Some might think that with a band name such as Fourplay, it must have an impish connotation when the band chose the name but it's far from it. It might be used by some to set certain moods but let's not open that door.

They came together on part of Bob James' Grand Piano Canyon album in 1991. Incidentally, that was the same year, their self-titled debut album was launched.

The band that has performed at numerous jazz festival worldwide and has over 10 albums will be in town. This year alone, they have performed at the Montreux Jazz Festival with Herbie Hancock, the prestigious North Sea Jazz Festival, and the 14th Annual Capital Jazzfest, just to name a few.

If you have not heard of this group before, then I suggest you get some friends together and go catch this band 'live'.

Dewan Filharmonik PETRONAS (DFP) begins its new 06/07 season with two sensational concerts by renowned jazz group, Fourplay. The group comprises four accomplished performing artists, namely Bob James (keyboard), Nathan East (bass), Larry Carlton (guitar) and Harvey Mason (drums), each of whom who have received an overwhelming number of industry accolades.

Under the Jazz & World Music Series, the group's performances are scheduled on Tuesday, 15 August 06 and Wednesday, 16 August 06 at 8.30 p.m.

Fourplay's recordings combine elements of R&B, pop, rock, blues, classical and jazz. The group has garnered a legion of fans that spans all geographical, ethnic, and musical boundaries. Its first release, 'Fourplay', and the follow-up, 'Between the Sheets', have respectively received global platinum and gold RIAA certification. Both albums have also reached the number one spot on Billboard's Contemporary Jazz Chart, with the debut CD reigning for a record-setting 33 weeks.

The group's third album, 'Elixir', received both gold and number one chart status, as well as being named Best Contemporary Jazz Album in the Jazziz Readers Poll. This album also received the Album of the Year Award at the Soul Train Awards.

Following these successes, Fourplay has since released 'Four', 'The Best Of', a Christmas album entitled 'Snowbound' and 'Yes, Please!' (which received a Grammy nomination in 2000). The Jazztrax also honored Album of the Year 2002 for 'Heartfelt'. In 2004, the release of their Grammy nominated album, 'Journey', charted at number two.

Fourplay has recently completed their tenth studio album entitled 'X' to be released on 8 August 06. Each of its members contributed two songs to this new release, together with Steve Winwood's composition, featuring the unmistakable vocals of Michael McDonald. This album offers another perspective in how Fourplay continues to grow, writing collectively, with a cohesive rhythm section.

Be tantalised with the performances by Fourplay, an unmissable treat for true jazz and world music lovers, only at DFP!

Seriously, I still couldn't believe my eyes.
Who's coming? I definately going thumbup.gif
chapree
post Jul 31 2006, 01:28 AM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 31 2006, 01:16 AM)
i heard about fourplay coming last week from a friend.
but no thanks.

its SLAYER that im going to oct13 tongue.gif
Me no metal, me more pop stuff. A sell-out I am laugh.gif
This is to cover up for missing Al Di Meola a while ago (plus tonnes of Nathan East clinic over the past years) doh.gif

Note to Cosmic Funk Express fans : the 4th August show at Mont Kiara Jazz Festival will be the last ever show by the band. After that, the band will be disbanded due to Zack will be going back to Korea. More details :- Alda Tan - CFE bassist blog. Stupid uni, why the hell they give me an exam at the night of CFE last show??? vmad.gif
chapree
post Jul 31 2006, 02:05 AM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 31 2006, 01:30 AM)
i might go to fourplay if i can manage to get a photographer's pass tongue.gif
i think tho its possible to bring in cams, just no flash allowed.
must check for this fourplay one.
Unfortunately, cannot sad.gif
http://www.malaysianphilharmonic.com/policies.php
If you manage to get the pass, I'll hand you my camera tongue.gif nod.gif
chapree
post Aug 4 2006, 12:25 AM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Jul 31 2006, 03:58 PM)
So far 4 of us from the Guitar Phreaks Club are going... biggrin.gif Don't miss this show dude! Or you might never catch them live again.  biggrin.gif
Crap! I couldn't make it la! Exam finish at 10pm. NOOOO!! vmad.gif
Maybe I should call Alda and visit their soundcheck. My only chance sad.gif

chapree
post Aug 4 2006, 03:39 PM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Aug 4 2006, 07:55 AM)
You got exam? Poor boy..... I got mid term break!!!!!! smile.gif
Ohhhh so lansi ah...

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Aug 4 2006, 12:01 PM)
poor chapree... never got a chance to go for a LYN musicians outing. haha.

i might be going to watch fourplay if i manage to save enough money. who else goin?
Heh, next time maybe. I'm coming to their soundcheck anyway. icon_rolleyes.gif
And I'm going to watch fourplay oso (if still got ticket) rclxm9.gif
chapree
post Aug 5 2006, 01:55 AM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 4 2006, 06:46 PM)
Hah which day are you going??? Are you going with anyone? lol... biggrin.gif
Most probably Tuesday...doesn't matter who's coming who's not, the biggest priority is to get the ticket first. I heard that the ticket might have been sold out. If that's the case, that would be double dissapoinment for August alone sad.gif
chapree
post Aug 5 2006, 02:05 AM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Aug 5 2006, 02:00 AM)
i heard its sold out too!!!! PLEASE OH PLEASE DONT LET THERE BE MORE TICKETS!!!!
Going to call them first thing in the morning. I hope the higher power somewhere there will let me watch Fourplay after denying CFE. sad.gif icon_question.gif
chapree
post Dec 18 2006, 06:21 PM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Dec 16 2006, 10:33 PM)
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...5478&sec=nation

OMG!!! IS IT TRUE???!!!!

WHOS GOING???!!!!
Thank you god for answering my prayers again... hands.gif

I'M GONNA f***ING GO FOR THIS ONE!!! OH YEAH!!! icon_idea.gif rclxms.gif

More info here -> http://www.junkonline.net/?p=1012
chapree
post Jan 4 2007, 12:07 PM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jan 4 2007, 11:23 AM)
On sale this Sunday or Saturday, Sungai Wang at 2 or 3pm..... but get there early anyway........ lines are gonna be packed.
Read it in the newspaper.
http://www.galaxy.com.my/projects/muse2007/default.htm

This Sunday. 3pm. Hell yeah. drool.gif
chapree
post Mar 14 2007, 01:57 AM

2,046 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 13 2007, 11:18 PM)
NOFX - April 19th, KL Planet hollywood

but blah to them.

HEAVEN AND HELL (aka BLACK SABBATH with DIO), SINGAPORE MAY 25th.
LAMC will be bringing them in, hope that date is correct tongue.gif

this one must have front row tix.
w00t! drool.gif

The local distributor of Behringer ajak everybody to jam at their place, so to say.
TO ALL MUSICIAN

COME TO JOIN " BEHRINGER FREE JAMMING "

FORM A BAND AND CALL FOR FREE JAMMING BOOKING.

EQUIPMENT WITH TOP END BEHRINGER MUSICAL INSTRUMENT

EMAIL OR CALL

maverick@avem.com.my
goh@avem.com.my
012-3062181
012-3827576

The thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/425487

The poster: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...=post&id=203494

0.0169sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:35 AM