WTA About TV res

TSalister88
post May 31 2011, 10:41 PM, updated 15y ago

1,367 posts

Hi all,

I just bought a 32" LCD TV and currently using normal astro and planning to upgrade to Byond since what I'm seeing are so pixelated! sweat.gif
Anyway, I would like to ask do I need a better DVD player or a new DVD player or a branded DVD player in order to get better quality of image?
Cos currently I'm testing it on a local made DVD player(bought from carrefour) and it's so pixelated. sad.gif
Was it the DVD player or was it my TV settings?

Thanks!
RAMChYLD
post May 31 2011, 11:00 PM

1,715 posts

What you need is a DVD player that advertises "upscaling". Most likely your TV resolution is 1366x768 if HD Ready or 1920x1080 if True HD. For normal DVD (PAL) it's only 768x576. The picture is magnified to fill the screen, that's why look ugly.

You have two options:
1: Get a DVD player with a better upscaler than the TV, or a third party upscaler box. Most TVs have pretty simplistic upscaler built in- that's why picture is pixellated. A Third party upscaler box has a better, more complex upscaler. Note however, that this still will not give you crystal clear image since DVDs are not HD by design. It will give you a less pixellated image, but detail is still blurry.
2: Time to sell off your DVDs and player and switch to Blu-Ray. Blu-Ray is encoded at 720p for most first-gen titles, and most recent titles will be 1080p. This ensures that you will be getting crystal clear picture.

And oh, either will be useless if you still using regular (red-white-yellow) cable. You must be using at least component (5 cable red-blue-green-red-white) to have HD image.

And lastly, Upgrading to B.yond you will not see much different on normal channels (clearer, yes, but that's because switched to digital, no signal loss). Only HD channels will be crystal clear, and even then only if the TV is connected to B.yond by HDMI.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 31 2011, 11:03 PM
TSalister88
post May 31 2011, 11:15 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 31 2011, 11:00 PM)
What you need is a DVD player that advertises "upscaling". Most likely your TV resolution is 1366x768 if HD Ready or 1920x1080 if True HD. For normal DVD (PAL) it's only 768x576. The picture is magnified to fill the screen, that's why look ugly.

You have two options:
1: Get a DVD player with a better upscaler than the TV, or a third party upscaler box. Most TVs have pretty simplistic upscaler built in- that's why picture is pixellated. A Third party upscaler box has a better, more complex upscaler. Note however, that this still will not give you crystal clear image since DVDs are not HD by design. It will give you a less pixellated image, but detail is still blurry.
2: Time to sell off your DVDs and player and switch to Blu-Ray. Blu-Ray is encoded at 720p for most first-gen titles, and most recent titles will be 1080p. This ensures that you will be getting crystal clear picture.

And oh, either will be useless if you still using regular (red-white-yellow) cable. You must be using at least component (5 cable red-blue-green-red-white) to have HD image.

And lastly, Upgrading to B.yond you will not see much different on normal channels (clearer, yes, but that's because switched to digital, no signal loss). Only HD channels will be crystal clear, and even then only if the TV is connected to B.yond by HDMI.
Hi mate,
Thanks for your reply! notworthy.gif
Btw, my TV is a Full HD tv and yeah I'm currently using RCA cables.
Which means it's my DVD and the cable which cause the bad image.. hmm..
BluRay seems abit off my budget but does a Branded DVD player make a difference on the DVD playback image?
Boy96
post Jun 1 2011, 01:23 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ May 31 2011, 11:15 PM)
Hi mate,
Thanks for your reply!  notworthy.gif
Btw, my TV is a Full HD tv and yeah I'm currently using RCA cables.
Which means it's my DVD and the cable which cause the bad image.. hmm..
BluRay seems abit off my budget but does a Branded DVD player make a difference on the DVD playback image?
get a HDMI DVD Player.. now Blu-Ray player RM399 can get..
calvin_ng
post Jun 1 2011, 09:21 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

just get a Media Player that can handle HD can adee cheap and good smile.gif
apexg2
post Jun 1 2011, 09:33 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

dun forget ur setting!
TSalister88
post Jun 1 2011, 09:38 AM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 1 2011, 01:23 AM)
get a HDMI DVD Player.. now Blu-Ray player RM399 can get..
I see I see...
Gonna check it out this weekend. THanks! smile.gif

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jun 1 2011, 09:21 AM)
just get a Media Player that can handle HD can adee cheap and good smile.gif
Got think of it but my TV got USB port which can read my HDD also..
So I think no need to spend another few hundreds for a Media Player? hehe...
Thanks btw! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jun 1 2011, 09:33 AM)
dun forget ur setting!
Okay TQ! Setting for TV or DVD player? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by alister88: Jun 1 2011, 09:38 AM
Skylinestar
post Jun 1 2011, 09:47 AM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

Branded DVD player will give better image quality. I've compared a pioneer and a funai before, with pioneer giving a better image quality... And that's visible even on a 29" CRT tv.
apexg2
post Jun 1 2011, 09:53 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Jun 1 2011, 09:38 AM)
I see I see...
Gonna check it out this weekend. THanks! smile.gif
Got think of it but my TV got USB port which can read my HDD also..
So I think no need to spend another few hundreds for a Media Player? hehe...
Thanks btw!  biggrin.gif
Okay TQ! Setting for TV or DVD player?  hmm.gif
both! brows.gif
neb
post Jun 1 2011, 01:44 PM

2,234 posts

use component video or s-video for better video quality

VeeJay
post Jun 1 2011, 02:09 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jun 1 2011, 01:44 PM)
use component video or s-video for better video quality
correct, I think you should switch the component from Astro to TV to S-Video, it should solve half of the problem. Anyways, watching astro on LCD, had been reported not as good as plasma.
RAMChYLD
post Jun 1 2011, 02:13 PM

1,715 posts

If can, use HDMI. Otherwise use at least component, or even VGA (VGA is actually RGB with separate H and V sync signal and is still capable of 1080p).

Try to avoid using S-Video and Composite. S-Video is still only 768x576i50. Only difference between S-Video and Composite is it separates image signal from color pulse signal to reduce color crosstalk and supply better image than composite. But on a 1080p TV it will still result in blurry image.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 1 2011, 02:19 PM
TSalister88
post Jun 1 2011, 02:58 PM

1,367 posts

Thanks for all the feedbacks mates! rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
I think I'll just go for the HDMI cables instead.. haha
since Astro will be giving free HDMI cables when we upgrade and I'll just get a HDMI DVD player.. hehe

Thanks again guys! biggrin.gif
calvin_ng
post Jun 1 2011, 04:14 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

HDMI is a MUST!!!!

writesimply
post Jun 2 2011, 02:26 AM

936 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 31 2011, 11:00 PM)
2: Time to sell off your DVDs and player and switch to Blu-Ray. Blu-Ray is encoded at 720p for most first-gen titles, and most recent titles will be 1080p.

Less than 1% of BDs are encoded in 720p. Most movies are mastered at 1080p from 2K and 4K tapes, which is higher than 1080p. Most documentaries are in 1080i but the trend is moving towards 1080p as most of the cameras in the rental stock are 1080p.

fuad
RAMChYLD
post Jun 2 2011, 10:03 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Jun 2 2011, 02:26 AM)
Less than 1% of BDs are encoded in 720p. Most movies are mastered at 1080p from 2K and 4K tapes, which is higher than 1080p. Most documentaries are in 1080i but the trend is moving towards 1080p as most of the cameras in the rental stock are 1080p.
fuad
I know. Note that I said "First Gen". When Blu-Ray first come out most of the titles are 720p. Now 720p Blu-Ray titles are rare and new titles are mostly either 1080p for film or 1080i for documentaries.
writesimply
post Jun 2 2011, 12:02 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jun 2 2011, 10:03 AM)
I know. Note that I said "First Gen". When Blu-Ray first come out most of the titles are 720p. Now 720p Blu-Ray titles are rare and new titles are mostly either 1080p for film or 1080i for documentaries.

Still incorrect. Check out the earliest reviews of BDs and HD-DVDs on Blu-ray.com, highdefdigest.com and even AVS Forum back when there is a format war between BD and HD DVD. Both formats were 1080p out of the gate because both wanted to show they are superior.

BD's first gen is about the usage of single layer discs at 25GB while HD DVD could already do double layer but only at 30GB. It was only about three to six months later that the BD manufacturers perfected the BD50. That signaled the end of HD DVD.

fuad

0.0172sec    1.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:00 PM