°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V3 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !

lunchtime
post Aug 8 2011, 01:06 PM

487 posts

just booked my insight last week (spur of the moment thing, walking pass honda showroom, go in look see look see, end up buy car blink.gif ), waiting for loan approval, if all goes well, next week will take delivery.

been reading v2, v3, where do i find v1 link?

noticed there are something that must be done upon delivery, aka autolock, PPS, tinting, adjust headlights, buy boot light. Haven't decided on the corba yet, however i will skip on skirting & leather seat. (out of the blue purchase, HM aka FM giving an earful rclxub.gif )

For tinting, is it okay to tint the black W/S black? Have any owners done black tinting? Thieves can easliy look into the boot and its not practical to pull / release the tonnec cover everytime. I see MPVs are all black at the back.

For the sound system, thinking of adding tweeters & a bass. Plus doing additional soundproofing to reduce NVH. Has anyone tried KL Auto? How do they charge?

one other thing, i read that only a remote is given, how can that be? is it true?

Added on August 8, 2011, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(ericchua @ Aug 8 2011, 12:07 PM)
Does anybody ever experience static shock from your insight after driving it for more than half an hour?
i believe it depends on the material / farbic of clothing that you wear. sometimes shock, sometimes no shock.

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 8 2011, 01:09 PM
lunchtime
post Aug 8 2011, 01:52 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(infinitium @ Aug 8 2011, 01:17 PM)
remote - yes, only one remote is given. but you're given 2 pcs keys. if you lose the remote, you can open the door using the 2nd set of keys, then disable the alarm inside by punching in a 4-digit combo (read your manual later when u get the car).

boot lamp / autolock - yes, i would recc you get these done ASAP. for me, it's top priority. along w/tinting of course.

PPS - i hv no regrets getting this. keeps your paintwork nice n new.

sound sys - if you buy component speakers, you'll need to change all 4 door speakers. your component speakers should come w/a set of tweeters, which your AV guy can fit into the front tweeter grill, where yr dash meets the front windscreen.

other items i'd suggest you consider - add a 4-channel amp. will make a lot of diff to yr sound quality. also suggest changing headlights to HID, since HIDs are a perfect fit for our insight projector headlamp.

check my signature below for links to some stuff i did. g'luck!
one remote won't do well with me, how much to make another remote? need min 2 remotes.

PPS = which brand? sonax, S&S, PPS?

did you tint black at the back?

lunchtime
post Aug 9 2011, 12:00 AM

487 posts

From what i m reading, insight parts & maintaining this car is not cheap plus its not easy to maintain. Everytime must go to H SC which will take up time and will cost a bomb.

My current car, the SC will come to pick up the car & deliver after service, H Wergo don't have this policy.

Has any owner service (normal service) this car outside authorised SC?

Does anyone know the theft rate (stolen rate) of the Insight? or is this a cold Honda?

Added on August 9, 2011, 12:20 amsave on petrol but paid high price on parts & service? is this the insight way?

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 9 2011, 12:20 AM
lunchtime
post Aug 9 2011, 09:17 AM

487 posts

folks, help me see otherwise, will be meeting my SA soon to relook at how cheap /expensive to own this insight, else i may go for the city instead (need something cheap & easy to maintain for my run about car) both my current cars are costing me bombs to run & maintain. blink.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 9:24 am
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Aug 9 2011, 01:29 AM)
Lol... I think hm will giving me frer service voucher for rm1k. Lol
why is that so? why HM give free service voucher? Sorry, this is my first time dealing with H marque. blush.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 9 2011, 09:24 AM
lunchtime
post Aug 9 2011, 12:34 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Aug 9 2011, 10:14 AM)
Owning a Honda regardless is a CKD or CBU, the price of parts and maintenance is not that far different. My wife owned a 2007 Honda City. Parts that been replaced before cost a bomb too. Changed a pair of rear bearing cost RM 9++ after discount. 12V Battery cost RM 2++, brake pad front and rear RM 600 to 700, irridium  spark plugs RM 6++ and etc.

Did you check how much is a Honda City condenser? It may cost around that price too I'm not sure........so owning a insight CBU or CKD city, civic and so on.....is the same....

I know a person who replaced his nazakia forte front bumber. Cost him RM2K including paint......
maybe i been out of the car market for too long blink.gif i just can't digest how a 1.3cc car will cost similarly to a 2.0/2.4cc car in terms of parts. Are car parts prices among marques similar these days?

how much is a normal service? can i service the insight outside of authorised SC? (in case i m in an area where there is no authorised SC)

i m stumped to learn about the remote. shakehead.gif

one thing is for sure, i don't have the time to google & import parts for the car aka ran_deep.

and could someone tell me how they tint the back w/s glass? can tint black aka MPVs? icon_question.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 10 2011, 10:19 PM

487 posts

after much thoughts & for the wow factor, i finally decided on a insight, may take delivery before Raya thumbup.gif balik kampung with new car icon_idea.gif thumbup.gif i guess its not to think too much and come what may, things will sort itself in due time.

now my mind must be strong, else sure kena poison from SA & other owners here to buy buy buy extra accessories rolleyes.gif

my SA offer tinting, full tank & carpet mat at cost price.
for autolock $360, leather steering $250 & brake lock $360, reasonable?
on the lamp, may check it out at ikea since i will be there tomorrow.

where to do PPS in KL? how much? which PPS is better?
since it not a hot car, i m having 2nd thoughts about the cobra connex.

what the torque on the insight? and how stable is the car on the highway? any floaty feel?

btw went to test drive cars today,
Altis 2.0 - very powerful, wolf in sheep's clothing
Pug308 turbo - very powerful & sweet, love the moonroof, love to have this feature on the insight.
Pug308 vti - so so nia

Prius - has the car started? wow, so dem silent on start up. shocking.gif For that 39k more, 7 bags, bigger boot, legroom & armrest, widescreen and joystick GB and its 10k km service interval for the Prius, why the Insight is 5k km interval? Honda want owners to know the SA better ka? mad.gif the Pug is 20k km service interval.

lunchtime
post Aug 10 2011, 10:32 PM

487 posts

has anyone done autofoam & sound proofing at KL auto?

where to fix tweeters & bass? the OEM sound system sucks.
lunchtime
post Aug 11 2011, 12:27 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Aug 11 2011, 10:25 AM)
No. The best is 700++ per 30 liters. If you count 40 liters, the most is 800++
Torque 121Nm + 78Nm
Stability on highway hmm.gif slightly better than City, closely similar to Civic. No floaty.
i tot the torque is not calculated 121 + 78, yes? gotta ask HM to clarify. doh.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 11 2011, 06:40 PM

487 posts

whose silver insight do i always see inside leisure mall's carpark? wink.gif

lunchtime
post Aug 11 2011, 06:50 PM

487 posts

SG quoted $600, its that about right?

Added on August 11, 2011, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(debbierowe @ Aug 11 2011, 06:48 PM)
stalking my neighbor's insight, shooting while i was driving my own tongue.gif

the decal so so ok la
the black area... doh.gif

i did nothing to my ori white insight sad.gif hot even tinting yet
girl car? what'swith the flowery decals? black area totally out of place doh.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 11 2011, 06:52 PM
lunchtime
post Aug 12 2011, 10:33 PM

487 posts

where to do leather wrap for steering wheel? has any owner here done it? mind sharing how much it cost.
lunchtime
post Aug 13 2011, 08:06 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(joshuawong @ Aug 12 2011, 11:01 PM)
Quoted once nearby Pandan Indah, RM190 same design like Honda Civic.
do you know if they (leather shop) need to dismantle the steering wheel to wrap the it? i was told by SA so, SA worry leather shop accidentally activiate the airbags. sad.gif

Added on August 13, 2011, 8:08 am
QUOTE(vacuos @ Aug 13 2011, 01:08 AM)
BUMP for MODULO Group buy...

Modulo bodykit group buy, price is RM1300 if managed to get 10 buyers, all in painted fitted excluded led light for side skirt.

1. Happyman
2. Devinz
3. Zamri
4. Rizal (Zamri's buddy)
5. vacuos
any photos of this kit? what is included for a 1300? ABS material similar to original?

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 13 2011, 08:08 AM
lunchtime
post Aug 14 2011, 08:40 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(vacuos @ Aug 13 2011, 04:15 PM)
as mentioned by fellow forumer is authentic Modulo. he supplies to Honda showrooms etc.. therefore more expensive i guess.

this is his link..

original modulo
where is his shop? where to do installation?

Added on August 14, 2011, 8:56 am
QUOTE(honvee @ Aug 13 2011, 08:46 PM)
now now where tofix NOS? brows.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 14 2011, 08:56 AM
lunchtime
post Aug 14 2011, 04:02 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Aug 14 2011, 02:17 PM)
biggrin.gif thxs to bro east7654 who came to get his boot mat, Yuma coil mat and Mugen door visor done yesterday

and might be cod-ing wit bro alakazom later around sunway for his coil mat icon_rolleyes.gif
blush.gif as promised earlier ( another bro who came for pedal lock and his front tint , cant recall the nick )

laugh.gif carbon fibre design laugh.gif
short, please PM floor mat price. thanks

Added on August 14, 2011, 4:09 pm
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Aug 14 2011, 04:02 PM)
short, please PM floor mat price. thanks
has anyone changed the armrest or mod the armrest? noted its too low & short. mad.gif and why honda malaysia didn't sell it with leather steering ? mad.gif cry.gif city cheaper yet has better armrest & leather steering shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 14 2011, 04:09 PM
lunchtime
post Aug 14 2011, 08:08 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(2piece @ Aug 14 2011, 05:11 PM)
i notice his remote key different from original remote (like iswara type) shocking.gif
yaworr, why his remote different? how much ar? shocking.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 15 2011, 08:31 AM

487 posts

what's the 0-100 time for the malaysian insight? IIRC, it weighs 1201kgs which is different from overseas insights, around 1290kgs. Correct me if I m wrong.
lunchtime
post Aug 16 2011, 09:28 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(jacek @ Aug 16 2011, 09:27 AM)
hmm, looking at the after market visor quality and finishing, i would rather save for the original visor from honda. you can get the modulo visor from honda, at RM400 if not mistaken.
400 shocking.gif shakehead.gif blink.gif

Added on August 16, 2011, 9:30 ampaint protection - which one better PPS by SnS or SG?

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 16 2011, 09:30 AM
lunchtime
post Aug 17 2011, 09:00 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Aug 10 2011, 11:08 AM)
this might be a good solution for boot lamp :3
has anyone bought the ikea lamp for boot use? or for foot well use? any good?

shorty, do you have a better solution for the lamps? will installation involve slicing of wiring & voiding the warranty?
lunchtime
post Aug 17 2011, 10:27 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Aug 17 2011, 10:19 AM)
I would like to suggest the inclusion of this 2 link on the front page of our V4 thread later:

http://www.euroncap.com/results/honda/Insight/365.aspx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwVe5NAGEu0
where are the side airbags on the malaysia insight? mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

Added on August 17, 2011, 10:28 am
QUOTE(ongdennis @ Aug 17 2011, 10:11 AM)
i buy the osram dot-it liner LED light for the boot lamp...somehow the 3M sticker not doing well...it drop down after sometime...
is it bright enough for the boot?

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 17 2011, 10:28 AM
lunchtime
post Aug 17 2011, 07:02 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(WT2 @ Aug 17 2011, 12:11 PM)
Hi, I remember someone mention about engine oil leak. i found out the my engine is having the same prob and i told Honda SA during service. Really got prob.
did Honda mention why the oil leak?

Added on August 17, 2011, 9:19 pm
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Aug 17 2011, 07:02 PM)
did Honda mention why the oil leak?
btw for kepoh sake, how much SA earn for selling one insight?

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 17 2011, 09:19 PM

0.0255sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:48 AM