QUOTE(vtspot @ Jun 27 2011, 02:22 PM)
Yes it comes with uv cut glass. In bare form, its cooler than cars with normal glass.If u dont fancy crytalline, elite, 40 what not, normal tint will do just fine.
°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V3 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !
Jun 27 2011, 02:39 PM
11 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Jun 28 2011, 03:41 PM
Jun 30 2011, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(areszues92 @ Apr 20 2011, 09:17 PM) Car cover can get form ACE hardware in IKEA, the one i got ngam ngam can cover my blackie, somemore strechable. It's for SUV wan i think can't remember the name. No choice had to buy stupid cats go and step and sleep on my precious blackie.Btw, when the car is about to fully stop like under 10km/h with econ mode on, do you guys experience a jerky like move stop move stop kind of feeling? They call that a 'lurch'. It something to do with recharging disengages. Once u get use to it, it helps when coasting before stop at traffic light.QUOTE(jacek @ Jun 28 2011, 06:13 PM) Worth approx 4800km.QUOTE(infinitium @ Jun 29 2011, 10:21 AM) Your right lamp HID got any melting issue? U changed the left side only right?QUOTE(rainie1284 @ Jun 29 2011, 11:09 AM) They should let them win 1 season first before being bannedQUOTE(2piece @ Jun 29 2011, 01:52 PM) Got all those + Honda towel. QUOTE(infinitium @ Jun 29 2011, 02:13 PM) yesterday i was running on BKE.... running back to PG at nite... 150km/h.. still feel quite stable. Some of the wind noise were coming from side mirror. Try fold the mirror u'll notice that.only problem for me is that @ 150 km/h... the wind/tyre noise is very loud, so a little irritating when driving long dist. The tyres are using harder compound & harder sidewall hence noisier. QUOTE(psyeo @ Jun 29 2011, 06:18 PM) minus shipping, cost of AP, 10% sales tax, HM profit margin, branch profit margin and sales man commission. I checked with a friend working at custom. The declared price 56K price in AP form was more on the black and white. I think he get that figure from the AP cert QUOTE(Lucky_Wishes @ Jun 30 2011, 10:24 AM) My SA has bank in a cheque to me from HM on the battery change, because the dealer already paid first so that they can change the battery for me earlier. Now I will need to transfer back the money to the SA.. weird right... Why and which battery? IMA battery? 1. Why the dealer need to pay first to get the battery. 2. Why the cheque is to me not to the dealer. |
Jun 30 2011, 02:02 PM
Jul 1 2011, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(eltaria @ Jun 30 2011, 04:59 PM) Insight fuel saving drive tips? As i always said, maximize the usage of your 'momentum'......Do you all just drive normally? I noted driving normally, the IMA doesnt kick in as much.. and resulted in less than max fuel econ. One trick i noticed is, if u accelerate until say 70km, and u back down the pedal to 65km and u hold.. the IMA assist will almost 100% be triggered, and it'll run in pure battery mode. But, feels very leceh to do this speed up, pull back trick all the time. Others, can u all share how u maximise ur fuel econ? QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jun 30 2011, 10:02 PM) Do u all notice that the rear view mirror is quit shaking? 4 speaker only. I did shared DIY steps to install the tweeter (and/or subwoofer). Find it in V2.The car audio system is 4 speakers + 2 tweeters rite? QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jun 30 2011, 10:38 PM) Want to confirm one thing with u all. NopeAfter lock the car with center lock button, after shutdown the car. Will it auto unlock? QUOTE(rainie1284 @ Jul 1 2011, 09:07 AM) if u have driven other hondas, you will know the full power doesnt come by continuous push on the accelerator.. you need to push then release b4 pushing again to get the drag.. (applies only to automatic transmission) Typical style honda it is. They say it is because honda engineering used the 'light flywheel' concept for their engine developments.QUOTE(groovy @ Jul 1 2011, 09:33 AM) gosh, now i'm hearing knocking sounds when i accelerate or deaccelerate at lower speeds. Anybody knows what's going on and what I should do? This is new. Care to detail it little more? |
Jul 1 2011, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(rainie1284 @ Jul 1 2011, 11:22 AM) hows abt this insight? i havent got my hands on it.. given the looks of the car, am seriously thinking bout it considering the price tag nw Insight engine share the same trait. The use of IMA motor kinda replace the usual vtec boost. Even more pronounced with Econ off and CVT shift to 'S'.QUOTE(ky_guy @ Jul 1 2011, 11:28 AM) i hv test drive this car and it seems pretty good except for the low height back seat....given the price of this car...im considering it with altis 1.8E jsut a few thousand can get it....sifu's any comment on this? im seriously not sure how to choose Altis are comfort oriented. More body-roll (which i cant stand) but softly sprung. If u're young and aggressive or always find yourself using B road, you'll settles with Insight. QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Jul 1 2011, 11:29 AM) When you are accelerating, the ECU figures that you need power, so both petrol and electric motor will work together. Insight owners in europe & US already done some study on the way to accelerate an Insight. Conclusion, slow or fast wont make much different. But the way we slowing down makes a different. Thats why we have to maximize our momentum, by extending our distance before stop, or give the battery nice and extended recharging state before stop. If u frequently brake till the meter turn to blue, u'll notice that u're getting lower mileage. When you remain at a certain speed after acceleration, the ECU thinks that maybe you still need power, so it will keep the petrol motor running for a while. But when u ease off the throttle and deccelerate, ECU knows that you no longer requires power, so it cuts off the petrol engine, and in fact use the decceleration force to charge your battery. I believe the best way to save fuel is simply to accelerate slowly and steadily. Once you reach a certain speed and maintain, the ECU will gradually kick in the electric motor to cruise your car. |
Jul 1 2011, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(autobeng @ Jul 1 2011, 02:02 PM) Confirmed it is RM56K in AP. Saw it myself. But what does it mean by the Price listed in AP? As i was told, it's more on 'documentation' purpose. To enable honda price the Insight below 100K. I get to know some korean cars can fight with local car coz they declare it merely 15-20k (on AP).1. Is RM56K price from Honda Japan for Honda Malaysia? 2. Is RM56K price from Honda Malaysia for Dealer? If it is price for Honda Malaysia, for sure lah Honda Malaysia want to make $ also, then dealer make $ then Sales Manager make $, then Sales Rep make $, then Sales tax. Don't forget 99K also include Insurance and registration cost. My 2 cents. Please comment The actual price, profit margin etc only HM knows.... |
Jul 1 2011, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(autobeng @ Jul 1 2011, 02:34 PM) Hi there, Correct as jacek comment. By default it will always on. VSA off can be used if u're confident enough that u wont overshoot,Just want to ask the sifu here. Insight provide an button to engage the VSA system. Can anyone advice when should we turn it on and when should we turn it off? If it is suppose to provide improved active safety features, why is there a button to let driver to turn it off? Or when the car stuck in mud (or in the other side of the world, snow), turn VSA off and front wheels will get all the power necessary to get out of it. This post has been edited by watonk: Jul 1 2011, 03:13 PM |
Jul 4 2011, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(autobeng @ Jul 4 2011, 09:51 AM) Dear owner, You can drive immediately but try to limit your throttle input. In fact, the car will automatically limits the engine/cvt rotation while the C appears. Revving a cold engine is not healthy habit. I notice my Insight Engine Coolant "is cold" signal light come on every morning I start my car. Should I wait till the light goes off before I drive or I can just ignore it? Advice appreciated. Thank you QUOTE(econ @ Jul 4 2011, 11:47 AM) Creep Aid System Thank you for the extended tips.I remember someone mentioned press the brake pedal harder in order to optimise the grip and prevent the car from rolling backward when the pedal is released. Actually there's is another way to maximise the grip of Creep Aid System. Instead of press it hard, you can actually press and release the pedal and press again and you will feel the depth of the pedal being press significantly reduced. By doing so, you can confidently release the brake pedal and allow the engine to start before apply the gas Not sure if this tips has been mentioned before but I think it works QUOTE(jacek @ Jul 4 2011, 12:23 PM) sorry to hear that but any booking from 15-April 2011 onwards, u will not entitle for old price. even if you booked on the 16-April, u will be charged the new price. unless ur SA willing to absorb the price difference from u. It is just how it works, same scenario if u bought the toyota prius prior the price reduction, i dont think you can claim back from toyota. this is what happened to my fren. He bought the Prius RM170k before the price reduced to RM139k. QUOTE(2piece @ Jul 4 2011, 12:27 PM) when i open the engine bay, saw like 'timing belt' beside engine..insight using timing belt or chain The belt u mentioned was the a/c compressor and other auxiliary belt. Yes its a rubber belt.i'm just curios coz it look like timing belt The timing chain is hidden inside the timing chain casing. Its a chain. |
Jul 4 2011, 03:45 PM
[quote=dazzleec,Jul 4 2011, 02:15 PM]
hmm..what exactly ru insinuating here?can u be more specific? Added on July 4, 2011, 2:17 pm This is so sad [/quote] i agree with bro econ.do report to the admin if u suspect this.it is not nice to accuse people of being dishonest. [/quote] I wont mind if the effort=cost Business wont exist if everybody tend to do everything themselves... |
Jul 5 2011, 11:58 AM
Jul 5 2011, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(jacek @ Jul 5 2011, 12:06 PM) mind to show close up pic? keen to do the same ...if u dont mind to steal ur idea hehe The panel is held by 5 center clips and 2 screws at both ends. The screws is easy job but prying open the clips needs a pair of firm but careful hands. The clips have some watertight washer/layer so be careful not to tear or loose it in the process. Need to put a layer of plastic cement then sand the surface. Spray according to Insight colour code. U're lucky i have a close up pic... QUOTE(2piece @ Jul 5 2011, 12:09 PM) Its Fit/Jazz. See my reply in V2.Added on July 5, 2011, 1:30 pm QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jul 5 2011, 12:47 PM) NopeThis post has been edited by watonk: Jul 5 2011, 01:30 PM |
Jul 5 2011, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(Kensim00 @ Jul 5 2011, 01:56 PM) Haha well black insight owners already 'have' that panel? =P Should honk them if u've already replace Insight horn with Bosch or Stebel. If std horn, no need to honk as they will laugh Added on July 5, 2011, 1:58 pmWhat would u guys do when a motorist accidentally touched or scratched ur side mirror? Honk them? They come down and scold u Leave it? They feel it's nothing and continue laughing. And ourselves feel unhappy |
Jul 5 2011, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(jacek @ Jul 5 2011, 02:32 PM) in order to prevent any motorist to hit our side mirror during traffic jam and such, just unfold the side mirror when u r stuck in the jam. that's 1 of the purpose of auto fold side mirror. just press fold and unfold Agree, fold it when we line up @ traffic lights or stuck in jams.haha..jz jk. coz a bit pissed off too as it happened to me last week. Added on July 5, 2011, 2:33 pm yeap, same thing, after i honk, the motorist just show his middle finger and ride away ... Not to be rude, i used to chase a motorcyclist showing me finger and block him. He cut away behind me, shy away and just leave while i just came out of the car and try to settle things. He knew he's guilty. |
Jul 6 2011, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(loonsave @ Jul 5 2011, 06:04 PM) The 3rd brake light panel was sprayed to pearl white. Its originally rough black plastic panel.QUOTE(gadgets2us @ Jul 5 2011, 10:16 PM) The thing bout this thread after following it so long... sure kana poison by all those pictures of gadgets, accessories and addons... I settles down with original 4 speakers, adding 2 soundstream tweeters @ its supposedly original location, an active sub below driver seat and 7inch sunvisor DVD player. GPS use Nokia Ovi map oni ps: i like these horns too. Lol. Looks cool and surely would sound way better than this peet peet sound stock horn. Whats good brand and model for nice pair of tweeters and speakers? Something like 1K and below range. Would 3 way speakers plus tweeter make the sound come out really sharp and not nice to listen? or would a normal speaker + tweeter be a better combi? or does it depend on budget? Any audiophile expert wanna share their thoughts and opinion? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1827103/+1680 QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jul 6 2011, 04:28 AM) They've achieve monthly profit target. Better the profit, lanc-er the attitude |
Jul 6 2011, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jul 6 2011, 10:53 AM) i like ur audio setup I tap the current behind the 12V power outlet. Have to remove the panel. Sorry i dint have the picture but this link could give u an idea.for the active sub, how u connect to the interior power socket? can show some photo? for those who really want to get powerful setup but dont want mess up the wiring, can check this out. blaupunkt tha 475 pnp, but i not sure is there any wiring harness for our car or not la...and the price seem very very expensive http://www.insightcentral.net/forums/modif...tock-radio.html The power socket was fused to 120W which should be more than enough. I didnt fancy any add on wiring straight to battery. |
Jul 6 2011, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(CS7 @ Jul 6 2011, 12:48 PM) Hi insight mate, We have black interior only What is the interior colour scheme to you have ? In malaysia how many interior colour tone? Black? Black n sand beach ? Any? Can list here? QUOTE(vtspot @ Jul 6 2011, 01:27 PM) Is it really matter if we do not wait till some of the lights (such as ABS, airbag, etc...) to turn off before starting the engine? Most modern cars have been design with foolproof system. Yes u can turn the key all the way to start. However, it is believed that giving the system sort of 'refresh' state is recommended. I always wait for the charge needle go up (2-3 seconds only). So for the cars that have the "Start-Stop Engine" button such as Forte, they usually have to start their engine immediately without waiting the lights to be turned off.. I read the Insight manual and it does not mention about waiting the light off before starting engine... it just confused me a bit, so is it ok to start the Insight engine without waiting the lights to be turned off?? Will it harm the engine or the car?? Its like switch on your engine with your radio/aircond on. Practice it daily for years and they still ok. Until 1 fine morning suddenly they kong. |
Jul 6 2011, 05:24 PM
Any owners interested in upgrading the motorcycle horn can also try stebel. Its air horn and cost around rm100 oni
Jul 6 2011, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(dazzleec @ Jul 6 2011, 08:49 PM) PROBLEM! Did u asked him which battery?i didnt drive my car to work today.reached home n found my insight ,a beeping sound coming out frm the front bonnet intermittently without stopping.use remote to open car door cannot.managed to use key to open door but cannot start engine.no light at all.call SA,was gvn another no to call.the man said looks like the battery problem...konk alred.its crazy my car is less than 1 mth old n this happen.hv to wait for the honda foreman to come to my hse to check tomorrow.meanwhile waitin for another car foreman to come take alook if can take out the wire to stop the beeping sound..sigh. I've been collecting info from Insightcentral, for 1st gen Insight, the IMA indicator in meter panel will light up when the IMA battery getting weak. Only a few have been through it and mostly with excessive mileage (>200K km). None so far with 2nd gen Insight. Any tell-tales from the meter panel? Normally the engine is cranked by IMA motor (using IMA battery), and once the IMA battery depleted (took years), it will use the normal starter motor (below intake manifold) and 12V battery. Can both battery kong together? It might be more than battery issue.... |
Jul 8 2011, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(chizzu @ Jul 7 2011, 12:49 PM) Finally... congrats.... and nice trunk light there QUOTE(hong1380 @ Jul 7 2011, 06:53 PM) Hi everybody, For me, seeing the City air condition control already a turn down..... (psstt..... looks like rice cooker temp control) I'm in dilemma in choosing city and insight. Personally what I like about Insight is the interior, more futuristic dashboard design compare to city. But buying city wont give much problem in near future such as battery problem encounter by insight? What I'm worry about Insight is will it feel underpower while fetch 4~5 persons (sometimes)? How about the pickup and aircond during traffic jam in hot days QUOTE(fychan @ Jul 7 2011, 10:34 PM) Guys..... just did my DRL...(Daytime Running Lights) Nice indeed. Mine to share which shop?hehe... quite satisfied with it... coz its in the most desired location... which is just below the signal lights... just like the other branded cars.. QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jul 7 2011, 11:44 PM) not sure its the same, but i think it is last time he sent to me, i ask him ambil balik, cause too long hmm curve? QUOTE(loonsave @ Jul 7 2011, 11:44 PM) It has tilt and telescopic steering + height & distance adjustable driver seat, im pretty sure u can get the best setting to view everything on dash & on road (unless u're cross eyed |
| Change to: | 0.0496sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:56 AM |