°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V3 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !
jacek
Jul 18 2011, 12:06 PM

Last weekend drove up to Fraser's Hill. Only 2 pax. Pumped full tank, FC registered 18km/l for whole trip. Econ mode off when going uphill with S mode. Not too bad.
Only set back is the L gear when coming down hill. It seems dragging the gear box and not a smooth drive. Decided to change to D gear and drove all the down.
Quite a head turner up there as I believe many residents up there hardly see Insight on the road :-p
jacek
Jul 18 2011, 12:42 PM

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jul 18 2011, 12:28 PM) using L while going down to help u with the wear and tear on ur pads rite.. yea.. there might be some jerking bcoz of the engine braking but i think it helps reducing the damage on ur brake parts.  Thanks for your reply. as it was my 1st time engaged L Gear since i got this ride, it is rather 'draggie' and practically can feel the engine/gear box is struggling to run the engine and caused jerking along the way down. Yes, it will definitely prolong the brakepad lifespan but am not comfortable with the L gear; thou I have driven manual tranny before, engaging 2nd and 3rd gear going downhill was way smoother drive. just sharing... cheers
jacek
Jul 20 2011, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(autobeng @ Jul 20 2011, 10:00 PM) My headlight turn on at 6pm plus in Kuching. Here, sun set earlier Added on July 20, 2011, 10:02 pmMy headlight turn on at 6pm plus in Kuching. Here, sun set earlier hey, i am on a business trip in Kuching now. spotted a truck with White and Silver Insight this morning. So far, only spotted a lady driving white Insight...
jacek
Jul 26 2011, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(2piece @ Jul 26 2011, 10:18 AM) when i do my 1st service, i asked for contest form but the old guy there said only 40kkm entitle for the contest.. i ask twice for confirmation but he keep gave same answer..feel been cheated lol.. done 1st service at puchong SC (kah motor).. my next 2nd servce i plan to do at glenmarie but shylah coz my 1st booking cancel there..don't know SA there still remember me or not...  i did my service in Glenmarie and yes, they allowed us to fill up the contest form. i am actually not entitle to but heck, since they asked, i just join the contest. who knows i will own another Insight soon hehe.
jacek
Jul 27 2011, 12:00 PM

I have tested last week to continue driving when the range meter hit '0'. Managed to drive another 80km but dare not to drive further. Usual full tank is 31L vs tank capacity of 40L. This time round, pumped 36L.
jacek
Jul 29 2011, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(Kensim00 @ Jul 29 2011, 07:56 AM) Probably u stepped on brake that time, when autostop just kicked in, then u switched to N or R and this activated the engine again. So that looks like an instant autostop then start, rpm dropped n bounced, car jerked? I don't know, just guessing :$ that's what i thought as well. most probably when he engaged from D to R, he stepped on the brake and the auto stop kick in. that is when the RPM dropped to '0' and wnet back up when he release the brake after he engaged to R gear.
jacek
Jul 29 2011, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(Kensim00 @ Jul 28 2011, 10:19 AM) Apparently i donno also. This seller from jb v0x msport says it's normal double sided tape. Story is i placed deposit 150 or smtg else. Then I cancelled order and ask if I can get refund. He said no but can change to other things. So I suggested mugen door visor. He said 250. Til now I think it doesn't worth the price, so I decided to burn the deposit instead of letting them charge me like I donno what I'm buying. Burning 150 cannot blame, my own mistake. I just can't pay an extra 100 for this visor. since u have deposited RM150, instead of burning it, why dun just top up another RM100 for the mugen visor? then u can sell it to me, I am offering you RM150, so, net net, u will only burn RM100 instead of RM150
jacek
Aug 2 2011, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(jcn @ Jul 31 2011, 02:45 PM) something wanna check wit u guys...i just drove my insight bk from town.. when i stop the engine,i noticed tat there is a sound from the engine part。。sound like gas leaking...it is normal for this sitution?any1 here hv same experience? actually i just noticed the same thing last Sunday. The moment i parked my car, when i poped up my hood, there was this sound...like gas leaking near the engine distributor. anyone else face the same issue? or izit normal?
jacek
Aug 3 2011, 11:05 AM

hmm wondering how it looks like if insight with modulo bodykit and mugen door visor ...
Added on August 3, 2011, 11:12 amjust noticed that honda malaysia website updated with price on all accessories ... or it has been there?
This post has been edited by jacek: Aug 3 2011, 11:12 AM
jacek
Aug 6 2011, 01:36 PM

spotted an insight last night cruising round 40km/h on jln damansara and hogging on the fastlane. vans and car flashig light behind but the insighter didnt bother to switch lane. i was few cars behind on the middle lane. then i by pass him using middle lane....yes, middle lane was clear but the insighter stick on the fastlane still.
to those who wanna get best FC, be considerate k. maybe the insighter too focus on the green odometer
This post has been edited by jacek: Aug 6 2011, 01:37 PM
jacek
Aug 10 2011, 03:32 PM

lazy wednesday ... on leave today. going to wash my gf now; after spent half an hour reading the insight posting here. nice update guys
jacek
Aug 15 2011, 11:39 AM

Drove to Cameron Highland for 2night stay and managed to clocked 19.5km/L. FC reset to '0' before the journey starts.
110-130km/h on highway (play with auto cruise to get best FC) 30-40km/h during uphill and downhill Econ mode on all the way with D gear. Didn't use S gear at all. 2 pax in the ride.
Very satisfied with the FC.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- As compared to my ride to Fraser's Hill last month, only clocked 16.5km/L. FC reset to '0' before the journey starts
S mode during uphill and Eco mode OFF. 110-130km/h on highway with auto cruise.
next trip ... will try Genting Highland.
jacek
Aug 16 2011, 09:27 AM

hmm, looking at the after market visor quality and finishing, i would rather save for the original visor from honda. you can get the modulo visor from honda, at RM400 if not mistaken.
jacek
Aug 16 2011, 09:37 AM

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Aug 16 2011, 09:28 AM) 400  Added on August 16, 2011, 9:30 ampaint protection - which one better PPS by SnS or SG? sorry, it is RM360. just re-checked on the honda website.
jacek
Aug 16 2011, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(alxdc @ Aug 16 2011, 10:06 AM) honda malaysia is using after market visor as well if i'm not mistaken... hmm, modulo visor from honda is with clip and not the double sided tape stick on. it is similar with the orginal visor which i used before on my previous civic. aftermarket visor is all using double side tape.
jacek
Aug 17 2011, 12:37 PM

QUOTE(WT2 @ Aug 17 2011, 12:11 PM) Hi, I remember someone mention about engine oil leak. i found out the my engine is having the same prob and i told Honda SA during service. Really got prob. same as mine. found slight oil stain near the distributor. will ask them to check it out on next service.
jacek
Aug 18 2011, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Aug 17 2011, 05:28 PM) I think I posted it...when will be your next service ? yes, i can recalled that. actually i checked it out when i saw ur comment and spotted the same thing. another 800km for 15k km service. Added on August 18, 2011, 10:22 amQUOTE(lunchtime @ Aug 18 2011, 08:58 AM) for those who do highway driving, does the insight feel floaty at higher speeds? felt a bit floaty during cornering on hiway at 160km/h. I would say it is stable and better than my wife's honda city. This post has been edited by jacek: Aug 18 2011, 10:22 AM
jacek
Aug 19 2011, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(idoblu @ Aug 19 2011, 09:38 AM) can someone post a picture of the area where you are finding the oil stain please. i look around the engine bay this morning, everything looks ok btw dunno why this car the bonnet very susceptible to stone chips. found a couple already. and one more thing, do you find that your wiper is leaving a mark on your windscreen? usually its dirt but they are very difficult to clean off. is the wiper scratching into the glass? can it be adjusted? yes, it happened to most cars i believe. try use rainx or similar liquid for better water resistance. it help to reduce the dust/stain mark on the windscreen. on stone chip, i count it everytime i washed my car... so far only 1 spot ... and 1 small stone chip on the windscreen when it was hit by a stone dropped from a big truck. very heart broken.