Nokia N8 - V30 - [The King of Camera Phones], Any New Amazing N8 Discovery You Found??

luckyhillkop
post Jun 1 2011, 02:14 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

The new battery monitor is really nice but it hogs too much RAM for my liking.
luckyhillkop
post Jun 5 2011, 07:02 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

Anyone here knows how to fix 'leaking ram' problem (or whatever it's called)?
It's getting worse for my N8 after installing battery monitor 2. my ram can go down to 80 with just battery monitor and whatsapp running in the background.
luckyhillkop
post Jun 5 2011, 09:41 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Jun 5 2011, 07:58 PM)
normally i exit battery monitor and i kill whatsapp when i don't use it. It might give u around 20mb more ram.
Then the widget will not show the actual battery level. Kind of beating the purpose.
If u kill whatsapp can u still get messages sent to u in real time?
luckyhillkop
post Jun 5 2011, 10:44 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Jun 5 2011, 10:14 PM)
cannot.. Too bad. Kill the connection edi of cos cant get in real time edi lo. But it's a trade off. U get more battery and ram in exchange of tat. So i only turn on whatsapp when i have to talk to my frens.
yeah i understand. thanks for your info.
anyway according to battery monitor whatsapp doesnt use too much battery.
luckyhillkop
post Jun 8 2011, 03:41 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Jun 8 2011, 02:49 PM)
No prob i can wait. Haha. Galaxy s oso from 2k sthg drop til less than 1.5k now. Hope history repeats itself.
Right now pre-order price is 2050.
luckyhillkop
post Jun 8 2011, 03:55 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Jun 8 2011, 03:50 PM)
Wow serious? For original?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1882364
If that guy is lying, than I'm lying smile.gif
luckyhillkop
post Jun 8 2011, 04:25 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

it is! here's another seller for u.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1882973
unfortunately that price is still more than my budget. i'm hoping to get HTC sensation or incredible s for ~1.6k. no luck so far sad.gif
luckyhillkop
post Jun 28 2011, 10:41 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

Anyone here using Baidu? I used it but then I find it hard to get to the apostrophe key so I got rid of it.
Anyone else has the same problem?
luckyhillkop
post Jun 30 2011, 02:20 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(todak @ Jun 30 2011, 01:32 PM)
havent sold my n82 and probably wont. I just finished peeling off the protective plastic coating i used when i 1st bought it and it looks almost brand new!I like casings/screens as i can remove them later on and get that brand new look even after using the phone for a year or two. i have a habit of putting my phone in my pants side pocket with my car keys so some protection is needed.

N8 supposed to have an unscratchable screen but i kind of doubt it.
It's not unscratchable, just scratch resistant.
luckyhillkop
post Jul 1 2011, 04:25 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

Is Rovio abandoning Symbian? How come we still don't have the update for Seasons?
luckyhillkop
post Jul 4 2011, 04:21 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(soul_star @ Jul 4 2011, 04:05 PM)
Hey guys.Is it still a good time to buy n8? Im looking for the best cameraphone.should i buy it now or wait for another few month till a better phone come out?
I think someone made a point before that though N8 has a great camera, it's still hard to get the best result out of it. I can understand that since I do not have the steadiest of hands and to me the camera button is quite hard to press resulting in bad pictures because of shakes. So I can vouch for that.
Don't know about other N8 owners though, maybe that's not a prob for them.
Not sure about other phones' camera, maybe Arc is good enough?
luckyhillkop
post Jul 4 2011, 04:58 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Jul 4 2011, 04:44 PM)
i'm new to N8 and got lot question here.
How can i check my phone QT and QT mobility?I really dont understand when you all discuss about it.I cant find it on *#0000#. My current PR1.1 and i want to update it to PR1.2 and i check for latest device update at setting but it mention there is no update available.How can i updates it?sorry for my noob questionĀ  sweat.gif
Another thing is v7.00 install steps,i kinda confuse with the steps likeĀ  "Sign the .sis with your own cert", i dont understandĀ  sweat.gif
Sorry,hope you all dont mind to help me
To sign apps, u need to get your cert from OPDA. Get your IMEI first bcz u'll need it at OPDA(I cannot remember now how to get IMEI lol. But the nice ppl here probably put all the how tos in the first page of this thread so please check there how to get IMEI or if ur lucky maybe some nice ppl here will just tell u).
After u got your cert, install Freesigner. It's free.
Then refer to the link below. I haven't watched the video myself but hopefully it's the correct way of signing and it can help u. Gdluck!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIgvUkqTAT4

Oh and sorry I dnt know anything about QT smile.gif

Added on July 4, 2011, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jul 4 2011, 04:54 PM)
Agreed that the button is not the easiest to press but so are the cam buttons on the other phones that I previously owned too. Practice makes perfect. sweat.gif
To me N82 is easy to snap pictures.
I'm not talking abt close up pictures or what not, i'm talking about taking the phone out of your pocket and quickly snap the scene in front of u.

This post has been edited by luckyhillkop: Jul 4 2011, 05:06 PM
luckyhillkop
post Jul 4 2011, 05:51 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 4 2011, 05:35 PM)
Which phone has easy to press shutter button? If there is no auto-focus, then it's easier to make "soft" shutter release, just softly touch then snap. If you want auto-focus, it needs to have more sensitivity like half-press for the auto-focus function.

Any camera, you need to hold it properly; Some camera or most digital camera comes with in-body image stabilization feature, which helps to reduce shake; It also depends the lights available and largest aperture available for the camera. If you're shooting in lowlight, and let's say the N8 is using the largest aperture of f/2.8, in order to achieve fast shutter to reduce shake problem or subject movement, it will need to increase the ISO; As default, I think the camera did not use higher ISO, instead it reduce shutter speed.
If you want to reduce the shake in low light, try to use Sports mode, or customize the function by increasing the ISO at the expense of image quality.
For point and shoot, I think N82 is better. And the camera button is easier to press.
For playing with settings, yeah logically N8 is the king, I don't know, I'm noob in photography. And problem is, to play with the setting itself, it will take time, and the scene you want to capture is probably gone ady by the time you're set.
But like I said this is just me, so it's good that others don't find it a problem.
luckyhillkop
post Jul 4 2011, 07:18 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

I agree with u andy, n that's kind of my point actually. I'm sure the best of N8 pixs will beat the best of N82 pixs hands down. However it's easier for me to get better pictures using N82, point and shoot. I guess with easier to press camera button plus N82 being thicker contribute to this.
However like closeup shots N8 is it, no contest.
luckyhillkop
post Jul 4 2011, 11:27 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 4 2011, 10:41 PM)

Added on July 4, 2011, 10:44 pmHonestly if u ask me i prefer the N8 shutter button. Its because of its shutter i am able to get so many amazing shots.
Sifu u got so many nice pictures because of your skill, not so much the camera tongue.gif

This is the latest picture I took, what do u think of it?

luckyhillkop
post Jul 4 2011, 11:40 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 4 2011, 11:36 PM)
my advice is framing. I think u move back alittle will be better
Alright noted, I actually crop the picture. maybe it's better off as the original.
luckyhillkop
post Jul 4 2011, 11:57 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 4 2011, 11:43 PM)
We might host another event very soon with a few more sifu do join us we will show you another world that you been missing.
Tempting..
luckyhillkop
post Jul 5 2011, 08:49 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jul 5 2011, 08:23 AM)
soft tongue.gif

try avoid background same colour with the butterfly...even got bokeh it still brown colourĀ  tongue.gif
Thank you for your comment.
Next on my list is upskirt photos, could use a tip or two from u! thumbup.gif

Added on July 5, 2011, 8:55 amHow about this one, better or the same?

This post has been edited by luckyhillkop: Jul 5 2011, 08:56 AM
luckyhillkop
post Jul 5 2011, 09:02 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

i found another one

This post has been edited by luckyhillkop: Jul 5 2011, 09:02 AM
luckyhillkop
post Jul 5 2011, 09:03 AM

Bored at work