8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Yes life vs Viber(Official) Update, Both need install+data but viber is free

TSwkkm007
post May 30 2011, 12:55 PM, updated 15y ago

3,123 posts

Yes life need 9cent/min/msg. The advantage is not limit to yes life user only, can call anyone, to any number land(DSL)/ mobile(GSM). For viber call and msg for free to all another viber user only. For land (DSL)/ mobile(GSM) no. are not able temp at the moment. Future viber can call to any no. land(DSL)/ mobile(GSM) with certain call rate like skype credit (no official announcements yet) post by official Team Viber in forum.xda-developers.com. Link below.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...51&postcount=39

YTL YES : Malaysia WIMAX Internet Service Provider(ISP) + Premium Voice Over Internet Protocol(VOIP) + msg(sms)
-Yes Life: is a software/program/application that look like Window Life Messenger aka msn(but charge per msg/sms apply due it can send to any mobile phone no.) + also like skype (but charge per min apply due it can call to any mobile phone no.) available on: window PC, ios
Official Site: http://www.yes.my/v2/index.do

Viber : Using phone no. as ID like whatapp but this also offer free voice call(VOIP like skype) + msg. Therefore, u can call to any contact in your phone book without having to asking ID(e-mail add require by skype) , Blackberry Messenger(BBM) need device PIN(attached on each blackberry smartphone)
available on: ios (ALL iDevice) http://itunes.apple.com/app/viber-free-pho...d382617920?mt=8, android (now available on Android Market) https://market.android.com/details?id=com.viber.voip.
Future-releases: Blackberry(close beta testing only), symbian phones, Windows phone, Desktop. Source: http://helpme.viber.com/index.php?/Knowled...future-releases

Is your iPhone compatible with Viber?
Viber system requirements for your iPhone:
* iPhone Models: 3G (*partially), 3GS and 4.

* iPhone IOS (operating systems): 3.1.3, 4. or newer.
* For top performance we highly recommend iPhones 3GS and 4.
* Other devices: iPod touch and iPad (latest generations)
are partially supported.

* Viber works best on a multi-tasking device.
From: http://helpme.viber.com/index.php?/Knowled...ible-with-viber

Is your Android compatible with Viber (system requirements)?
From: http://helpme.viber.com/index.php?/Knowled...em-requirements

Official Site: http://viber.com/index.php?/Core/Default/Index

Official from team Viber is here! rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 21 2011, 08:29 PM)
Hi all,
This is a member of the Viber Development Team.

I'm here to help you with all the questions or suggestions you might have for Viber!

QUOTE(Re:Hi viber @ Jul 25 2011, 06:42 PM)
We are based in Cyprus, and we also have offices in the United States.

QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 28 2011, 01:36 PM)
Yes, it can.
Instructions:

1. connect to WiFi from your iPad/iPod.
2. download and install Viber app. when asked for your number, enter your regular cellphone's number, then confirm.
3. an SMS message with the code will be sent to your regular cellular phone.
4. take that code and use it in your iPad/iPod. Viber will then be activated, and you're good to go.

* this means that if anyone dials your number on Viber, you will get the call on your iPad/iPod.
*Note: If the iPad/iPod user already register their phone no. on their iPhone/Android Phone, please use another no. such as Broadband SIM no. that able receive SMS.

Example scenario:
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 8 2011, 07:28 AM)
Can I migrate my existing viber account (same phone number) from Ipod touch to a my new Ipad 2 ?
I suggest uninstall Viber on the iPod 1st(to prevent opened on two device at same time) then install to ur iPad 2, activate use the same no. and don't forget sync the latest Phone book contact. U still can use Viber on ur iPod but need another no. for the activation, install again and activate with the another no.
Why not on 2 device 1 no. ?
QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Aug 9 2011, 12:22 PM)

Viber has explain to me because this not using ID/e-mail but using international telephone number.
When every 1st time installation need to get the activation code in order to 'create' an account in the viber server and verify the international telephone number are real and belong to u. So, (I guess) the app itself and the server are holding and using same activation code. If activate in another device using same no. , the another activation code generate, therefore the old code will be 'substitute' by new code in the server and result can't use in the 1st device.
Hope this help smile.gif
QUOTE(Viber @ Aug 9 2011, 02:08 PM)
Yes, wkkm007 explained it right.

We are considering to allow having 1 number for multiple devices, but this feature will not be ready anytime soon.

Archive msg:

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Sep 5 2011, 02:11 PM
meneverlearn
post May 30 2011, 01:57 PM

165 posts

no data charge on voice services.

kiantee
post May 30 2011, 02:45 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(meneverlearn @ May 30 2011, 01:57 PM)
Any data charges before the other party take the call if we make a call? And, any data charges for talking when someone call my Yes 018 number?
TSwkkm007
post May 30 2011, 03:27 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(meneverlearn @ May 30 2011, 11:57 AM)
Somehow, I feel when someone turn on the huddle 4G Mobile Hotspot to connect the net oso will use little data quota. eg 0.1 mb.

this mean Yes life only can use on ytl yes, free public wifi and house wifi(steamyx). If use on pocket/desktop wireless 3G router using(maxis,digi,celcom,umobile sim) then worth lor. eg: huddle 4G Mobile Hotspot battery kong and and want to borrow friend internet using above pocket wireless 3G router using(maxis,digi,celcom,umobile sim) can't lor.

This post has been edited by wkkm007: May 30 2011, 03:33 PM
SUSchokia
post May 31 2011, 02:10 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Viber sounds good
Jellular
post Jun 1 2011, 11:01 AM

54 posts

Is it possible to use Viber on a Wifi-only iPad ?
TSwkkm007
post Jun 1 2011, 03:31 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(Jellular @ Jun 1 2011, 09:01 AM)
Is it possible to use Viber on a Wifi-only iPad ?
Yes, now I am using it on my iPod touch gen 4 oso no 3G tongue.gif . What u need is a wifi hotspot home/office/public free wifi(er... may be will lag cause slow due to alot ppl using), any mobile phone no. for 1 time activation setup after the installation viber app into ur ipad u will be ask to enter ur mobile phone no.(suggested not using ur primary mobile no.(maybe u oso need/want to use on ur iphone, android...) due to 1 no.(ID) only can use on 1 device)
and finally ur ipad contacts app can copy ur current hp phonebook via sync to 1 of this ms office outlook, gmail acc sync via itune or manually enter 1 by 1 by urself and at last ur contacts person must already install and active the viber (ID) mobile no. using idevice, and android(little due to beta testing) both party must on9 at the same time.

here is the itune app store link:
http://itunes.apple.com/my/app/viber-free-...d382617920?mt=8

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Jun 1 2011, 03:38 PM
TSwkkm007
post Jul 21 2011, 01:02 AM

3,123 posts

Viber's free, no-registration 3G VoIP app officially launches on Android

http://www.engadget.com/2011/07/20/vibers-...ly-launches-on/

for idevice user now can call even more friend using android device.

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Jul 21 2011, 01:04 AM
Viber
post Jul 21 2011, 10:29 PM

160 posts

Hi all,
This is a member of the Viber Development Team.

I'm here to help you with all the questions or suggestions you might have for Viber!

SUSs3an_looi
post Jul 21 2011, 11:37 PM

ZQOUTLET.COM
2,144 posts

Viber sux battery life like crap... 100% with Viber on... 3 hours later not doing anything battery life went to 30% ... and the phone was very hot in my pocket throughout...
gurus
post Jul 22 2011, 12:34 AM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

Yes vs viber?
Free is always the people's choice smile.gif
TSwkkm007
post Jul 22 2011, 02:10 PM

3,123 posts

Any feed back from YES life user on iPhone? Will it heat up the phone and how long the bat can last?
Viber
post Jul 23 2011, 05:30 PM

160 posts

About the battery drain: are you sure you isolated Viber in order to determine that this is the certain cause for your battery drain? We tested it here in our labs with several devices and except for when making a call (when it is natural for the battery to be used), we didn't notice any significant battery drain.

Anyway - we will certainly investigate the problem and see if there is anything we can do to improve it.
myjunk
post Jul 23 2011, 08:02 PM

3,446 posts

@s3an_looi : You sure it's viber or not? I also use viber and it doesn't suck battery. Perhaps you better list down or try to list down why you say it sucks battery. U using android or Iphone / Ipad?
selinix
post Jul 23 2011, 08:49 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Jul 21 2011, 11:37 PM)
Viber sux battery life like crap... 100% with Viber on... 3 hours later not doing anything battery life went to 30% ... and the phone was very hot in my pocket throughout...
My Viber is on also all the time and it doesn't suck any battery as mentioned by you.

Anyway I hardly use viber because I seldom do voice call and my only comment that it works well with a stable connection. A lot of times the line cracks when you are on 3G and on the move.
SUSs3an_looi
post Jul 24 2011, 12:08 AM

ZQOUTLET.COM
2,144 posts

Yeah I'm sure it's Viber...
I've been using iPhone for almost a year now.
The day I install Viber the phone heats up in my pocket and battery drains.

I'll try having it again maybe if Viber updated their app...
ybtan
post Jul 24 2011, 12:41 AM

663 posts

just wanna clarify on something, the new mobile numbers with 11 digits by maxis cannot sign up for viber?
TSwkkm007
post Jul 24 2011, 02:45 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(ybtan @ Jul 23 2011, 10:41 PM)
just wanna clarify on something, the new mobile numbers with 11 digits by maxis cannot sign up for viber?
the 11 digits not only on maxis, other telco also have. 011 0 xxx xxxx are issue by SKMM/MCMC due to the increase of the Malaysian demand on the mobile phone no. Feed back needed by 11 digits user on viber to know does this can or not.
musica22
post Jul 24 2011, 10:51 AM

352 posts

Viber since its free, i can't try YES tongue.gif
Its good to contact online friends smile.gif
sawmania
post Jul 24 2011, 12:49 PM

435 posts

I m down to viber as most of my close friends are iphone users
and viber works great on DiGi 3G too