Huawei Ideos X5 - Official Thread, Stunning, Fast, Affordable!

akash3656
post May 30 2011, 09:32 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ May 30 2011, 09:28 AM)
exactly, even i myself using galaxy s also need a lot tweaking to reach 2.5 days standby for froyo :\
with 512mb rom is it sufficient? cause some of the apps cannot move to SD
Actually about ~400 MB usable for apps.... I heard from another user........

In this price range, you can't complain..... Galaxy Ace has only ~150 MB for apps.....
akash3656
post May 30 2011, 10:21 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ May 30 2011, 09:38 AM)
this one has better spec than ace right?
QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ May 30 2011, 09:39 AM)
Ya 400mb is good to go, i have 60 apps and games in phone and guess what...220mb+ left.

Added on May 30, 2011, 9:41 am
If u compare from the terms of processing power, screen, ROM/RAM
Completely pawn Ace  smile.gif
QUOTE(darude87 @ May 30 2011, 09:42 AM)
good to hear that, yea if you compare spec it is slightly better than ace in terms of gpu, but ace has video call for those who need
QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ May 30 2011, 09:43 AM)
Ace got video call? Wondering... hmm.gif
QUOTE(darude87 @ May 30 2011, 09:51 AM)
not sure bout that, at least thats what i read from gsmarena
at this price range, did huawei mention bout 2.3 for this phone?
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ May 30 2011, 09:54 AM)
video call but with no front cam  laugh.gif
Ok firstly Ace no Video Call....
Second Ace can't even record at 480p with froyo..... With leaked 2.3.3 you can record at 480p....
Ideos X5 pawns at every aspect except maybe brand name and got no 2.3.3 whereas Ace has leak but stable 2.3.3?
Ideos X5 seems to be faster with Custom ROM (mean that the developers seem more interested with Ideos X5)...... than Ace.....

Ace use ARM 6.... It is not only slower, it can't run newer apps.....
Ace use lower resolution screen.... Need to zoom more often...... Can't see more "content" compared to Ideos X5...
Proof: go to your desktop... Open lowyat.net..... at 800*600 and at max resolution...... which 1 looks better? which one needs to scroll more?

This post has been edited by akash3656: May 30 2011, 10:22 AM
akash3656
post May 30 2011, 10:41 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(muchio @ May 30 2011, 10:36 AM)

Added on May 30, 2011, 10:37 am

IMO, people still sceptical about chinese brand
I'm not skeptical lar.......... Its just majority people KNOWS Samsung better.... Hence, they will buy the Ace.......
akash3656
post May 30 2011, 11:07 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(muchio @ May 30 2011, 10:46 AM)
@akash im not saying u sceptical but others who still thinks that this phone sucks mainly because its china brand..btw, u own this phone bro?
No. I don't own it YET.... After my final exams are over probably will get it.... I used the Galaxy Ace for a while. Therefore, I speak from my experience...

Currently, my dad is using the Galaxy Ace...

My only concern is the warranty how fast can fix, whether can fix or not..... The phone is quite solid as many have said.... Looks solid too......

Just for an example what happens if your phone is a defective phone.. (Can happen to any brand any model) After 1 month screen can't turn on.... After a week usually u can't do a 1-to-1 exchange...

So, you send back to Huawei for service.... This is what I hope Huawei can compete with the other bigger players....... (After sales support)
akash3656
post May 30 2011, 11:27 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ May 30 2011, 11:10 AM)
Okokokokok, next time I try, but mostly U8800 no need reboot, really stable, so far no random reboot.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For those doubting Huawei, pls read this:

What I like about Huawei U8800

1. Price for rm899, a good specs phone, compare to Ace at rm999. laugh.gif

2. Good specs, 3.8" WVGA 800*480 resolution screen, readable in direct sunlight at 50% brightness, Qualcomm Scorpion CPU 800mhz, Adreno 205 GPU (same GPU in Xperia Play, Desire Z), 2GB internal SD, 512 RAM, 512 ROM( 480 user accesible) flex.gif

3. Vanilla Froyo 2.2, really fast. notworthy.gif

4. Do not be poisoned by HTC and Samsung fanbois that cheap phone like U8800 are no good, for rm899, can buy Wildfire only, even Ace cost rm999.  moneyflies.gif

5. Battery drain is normal if using Taskiller, around 2mA - 5mA at night when sleeping.

6. Camera shutter sound can be off. brows.gif

7. Paul from Modaco has it. thumbup.gif

What about After Sales Support bro? Me very itchy to get my hands on this phone.......... Just need to have some assurance that after sales support exist.....

8. Using EXT3 stock.... WAYYYY better than Samsung RFS (Stands for Really F Slow)

This post has been edited by akash3656: May 30 2011, 11:28 AM
akash3656
post May 30 2011, 11:53 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ May 30 2011, 11:38 AM)
Where's the service center for Huawei mobiles?  Maybe can post in FP.  Average Joe on the street will probably opt for (1) Wildfire, and (2) Galaxy Ace, since HTC is top smartphone maker and Samsung is 2nd top handphone maker, even though spec- and performance-wise this X5 is head-and-shoulders above those 2.  Huawei needs better marketing!  In the mean time, I am guessing this X5 will only be popular for techies, since most people buy phone by design/brand and have low usage for special functions.
Go to Huawei's facebook page... Erm... I get ya the URL wait up...

Added on May 30, 2011, 11:53 amHere ya go: http://www.facebook.com/HuaweiDeviceMY

This post has been edited by akash3656: May 30 2011, 11:53 AM
akash3656
post May 30 2011, 12:06 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ May 30 2011, 11:35 AM)
I was to claim a dead pixel set for my customer today, will make feedback tonight once its done regarding Huawei ASS ( After Sales Service ) lol  laugh.gif
Can't wait to hear from you.... keep us up to date........

Added on May 30, 2011, 12:08 pm
QUOTE(khalpowers @ May 30 2011, 11:55 AM)
Yeaa man...froyo is the best n stable ATM...no need to hurry to gb bcoz ady can use flash 10.3...heehe
Gingerbread give an extra polish and make Android smoother........... + Better battery life........ But Froyo not too bad lar... Personally, I like GB's stock UI than Froyo's UI..

This post has been edited by akash3656: May 30 2011, 12:08 PM
akash3656
post May 30 2011, 10:39 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ May 30 2011, 10:24 PM)
Ahem, a word about Huawei Service Center, fast and quite efficient, deal pixel set i send to claim replace within 24 hour, i would give 9/10 for them (1 point deduction due to Lambat Buka - 2pm)  laugh.gif

Added on May 30, 2011, 10:25 pm
No problem bro, enjoy and be proud of being Ideos X5 owner  smile.gif
Nice to know......... I just told my mum about this phone.. Guess what she said when I said "china phone"? Y U WANT TO BUY? SURE SPOIL WITHIN 2 days after using.... I was gonna say HELLO iPhones are made in China too............... And they don't spoil within 2 days.... And my PC speakers (Edifier) also from China, sounds better than Logitech, only failed after years using it.... (it was the cable problem actually.... Speakers no problem; but due to terrible design, I had to change the whole thing)... Did I give up with Edifier, NO instead I bought a better and more expensive Edifier.... and loving the sound......

I want this phone, I did research, found out its solid and excellent + OEM is Foxconn same OEM for iPhones... But other people when hear "Huawei" will go what the hell is this? Made in China? Sure spoil ASAP.... *Buys a HTC/Samsung/you name it*

This makes me sad.gif Huawei better market this excellent product better..... Because nobody except us knows their real identity....
akash3656
post May 30 2011, 10:59 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 30 2011, 10:56 PM)
if it does spoilt, juz send for warranty claim.. bear in mind, it comes with 2 yrs warranty from huawei..
I know........ I saw in the newspaper...
akash3656
post May 30 2011, 11:26 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 30 2011, 11:19 PM)
then there is nothin u shld be worried about..  smile.gif
It is not me smile.gif My mum and dad sad.gif I'm still a kid.... Still eat parent's pocket lar.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by akash3656: May 30 2011, 11:27 PM
akash3656
post May 31 2011, 09:45 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ May 31 2011, 04:09 AM)
then tell them u want at Galaxy S II or Iphone lor smile.gif
That is what the told me.... I get you an iPhone.... I WAS LIKE NO WAYYYYYYY!!!!!!

I've seen jailbroken iPhones.... IT LAGS LIKE MAD!

+ Android memang can customize and now can buy apps.... in Malaysia........

Me a good kid, don't want to burden parents lar.... Even though they can afford a S2 for me, I rather get something more budget friendly....

But if they insist then it would be S2.... Actually now 75% of what you use is made in China......

Next time, I'll lie to them its a Taiwanese phone....... And tell them about HTC.... and then Huawei entering the phone market.... Hence, low price, but very good...

EDIT: Anyway, I'm an anti-Apple guy.... Especially towards iOS devices......

This post has been edited by akash3656: May 31 2011, 09:47 AM
akash3656
post May 31 2011, 10:55 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ May 31 2011, 10:52 AM)
LOL sometimes its not a good thing to let parents buy stuff for kids, kids will like under parents control after that haha, wondering how they response when u damaged your S II compare to Ideos X5  tongue.gif
That is very very very very TRUE!!!!!! But I'm a careful guy... My bro can fit under that category u said.........
akash3656
post May 31 2011, 09:31 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 31 2011, 08:19 PM)
juz now try to access the net from my office wifi..
since we are using proxy for net access, i'm not able to find this proxy feature anymore in froyo.. my old galaxy5 with eclair hv this when click advance under the wifi..
anyone can help? thanks.

Added on May 31, 2011, 8:20 pm

problem is.. i dun hv wifi at my home now..  sad.gif
I'm afraid its not Eclair have Froyo don't have issue........ I'm afraid only Samsung Android phones can use proxy over wifi...
Read this from somewhere....
akash3656
post May 31 2011, 09:37 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 31 2011, 09:37 PM)
eiks.. this sucks.. sad.gif
But you gotta faham all Androids have this limitation....

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:43 pmMaybe try this here: http://android-proxy.blogspot.com/

Hope I helped smile.gif

You do have to be rooted though..

I myself cannot understand why Google did not put in this simple but essential feature.....

This post has been edited by akash3656: May 31 2011, 09:46 PM
akash3656
post Jun 3 2011, 10:29 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jun 2 2011, 01:24 PM)
this is interesting ,
3.8 inchh,btw , where is the service center ? around kl, melaka have?
Check here: http://www.facebook.com/HuaweiDeviceMY
akash3656
post Jun 3 2011, 12:36 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(monkimajik @ Jun 3 2011, 12:01 PM)
Performance-wise, the X5 is better than the Galaxy i9003 right? I see the galaxy quadrant score below 1000 stock, this can reach 1500 with OC. Trying to decide between the two. The 200 or so price difference is negligible.
That Galaxy i9003 like its older brother the i9000 also has lag issues.... Moreover, its graphic processor is inferior to Ideos X5.... You also get touchwiz 3.0 (which I hate) with the Galaxy i9003...
Galaxy i9003 also inherited the GPS lock issues of the i9000...
The thing is, i9000 has a official 2.3.3 Europe ROM that solves the lag and GPS.... But there is no 2.3.3 (leak or official) for the i9003..
Dump the Galaxy i9003 get the Ideos X5!
akash3656
post Jun 4 2011, 09:32 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(aionee @ Jun 3 2011, 10:27 PM)
Hi Mavezai1984,

Thanks for the info. I just install it from the app market and it automatically updated the existing 10.1 to 10.3.
Thanks a lot. smile.gif

Added on June 3, 2011, 10:34 pmHi. I have this file .android_secure.exe (on the root of the internal 2Gb flash ram)detected with infected worm by avgfree on my PC. There is no fix option.

Can the file be deleted? What is the purpose of that file? Anyone here having the same file? Pls. Advise on what should I do.

TQ
Dude, I think its a false positive.... AVG is very good at catching non-virus as virus/worm/threat....
This is called false positive.... Use Avast free if you are running AVG free.... Less false positive...

Added on June 4, 2011, 9:35 am
QUOTE(monkimajik @ Jun 4 2011, 03:30 AM)
Thanks for the info!
But with Ideos X5, you get a smaller screen sad.gif (only .2" smaller), no front facing camera.... But if you don't care about 3G video call and Tango, then forget about the front facing camera... I had a 3G phone and never ever ever used the video call....

Added on June 4, 2011, 9:37 am
QUOTE(oldmannewphone @ Jun 3 2011, 03:17 PM)
Any one using antivirus ? which one is better...need some opinions here, first time android user
Btw, my wifi working fine...battery also last long when I turn off gps and wifi.

Ya...received first MMS last night. 3G also working fine, I didn't do any setting, just turn on "Wirelees & network - Mobile networks - Data enabled" then can browsing without wifi.
I used to use "Lookout" on my Galaxy Ace..... If you want to actually buy that app, DON'T. Use the free version (anti virus + disable other features) + Wavesecure (not free but superior but no anti virus)

This post has been edited by akash3656: Jun 4 2011, 09:37 AM
akash3656
post Jun 4 2011, 10:03 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 4 2011, 09:42 AM)
hey guys... is antivirus software really that important for phone?
not say we use our phone for online transaction/etc, rite..
Well, not really lar.... Just to check malicious apps whether u accidentally install.... Btw, Lookout is a on demand scanner... It does not really provide real time protection....

Added on June 4, 2011, 10:04 am
QUOTE(Silver_Shadow @ Jun 4 2011, 09:53 AM)
The X 5 only can play youtube video on facebook?
The original Facebook video cannot play?
any solution for this?
Thanks for help.
Do you have Adobe Flash Player 10.3 installed from the market?

This post has been edited by akash3656: Jun 4 2011, 10:04 AM
akash3656
post Jun 4 2011, 02:29 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(SubRoutine @ Jun 4 2011, 01:51 PM)
20 Cell Phones With Least Radiation

Apparently Gizmodo ranks the Ideos X5 as the number 5 phone with the least amount of radiation. Yay for lower cancerous cells!

As for those who are worried about battery life, use the Power Control widget and disable wifi/gps/background syncing/auto-brightness when you dont need it. For even more control, try using JuiceDefender that can automatically help reduce battery usage as you use the phone. For power users who have rooted the phone, use SetCPU for minute control over your CPU cycles. I use the ondemand profile when im running on battery, and the powersave profile when the screen is turned off. Helps me so far. Also, try not to use task managers. Turns out, if you keep killing tasks that you frequently use but dont need at that moment, Android actually uses more CPU cycles and battery power to run it again when you need it later. Leave the managing to Android, that's why it's voted as the best OS with multitasking ablities compared to iOS and others  smile.gif

BTW i have updated the owner's list, if anyone is left out please post or PM me. Been busy this past few days, so much to do lol  cry.gif
I prefer Green Power.... Because when I used Juice Defender, there wasn't really any improvement...
akash3656
post Jun 4 2011, 03:12 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(monkimajik @ Jun 4 2011, 03:10 PM)
http://cellphones-radiation-ratings.com/review/ check this site out for SAR scores. Seems samsung scores the lowest SAR and motos will fry your balls.
I told this to my dad.... Who is using a Moto... and was lecturing me about radiation from phones...... I told him your phone is proven to "leak" radiation...
EDIT: I can't access that site....

This post has been edited by akash3656: Jun 4 2011, 03:12 PM

0.0532sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:55 PM