9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Huawei Ideos X5 - Official Thread, Stunning, Fast, Affordable!

SUSBorsch Soup
post May 30 2011, 10:43 AM

The East is Red. Defeat the new Opium called Corruption
2,641 posts

TS add me, can you put this video on front page? Cos the interwebs got lots of misinformation about U8800 GPS capabilities.

Huawei U8800 GPS lock speed, 10 secs rclxms.gif

CODE
[YOUTUBE]end9Cjf0URk[/YOUTUBE]

SUSBorsch Soup
post May 30 2011, 11:10 AM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ May 30 2011, 10:57 AM)
Dude...u shud videoing from hard reboot until bootup then run the GPS...huhu
QUOTE(khalpowers @ May 30 2011, 10:59 AM)
10 seconds on standby mod quite slow ..normally standby mod below 3-5 seconds ..
Okokokokok, next time I try, but mostly U8800 no need reboot, really stable, so far no random reboot.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For those doubting Huawei, pls read this:

What I like about Huawei U8800

1. Price for rm899, a good specs phone, compare to Ace at rm999. laugh.gif

2. Good specs, 3.8" WVGA 800*480 resolution screen, readable in direct sunlight at 50% brightness, Qualcomm Scorpion CPU 800mhz, Adreno 205 GPU (same GPU in Xperia Play, Desire Z), 2GB internal SD, 512 RAM, 512 ROM( 480 user accesible) flex.gif

3. Vanilla Froyo 2.2, really fast. notworthy.gif

4. Do not be poisoned by HTC and Samsung fanbois that cheap phone like U8800 are no good, for rm899, can buy Wildfire only, even Ace cost rm999. moneyflies.gif

5. Battery drain is normal if using Taskiller, around 2mA - 5mA at night when sleeping.

6. Camera shutter sound can be off. brows.gif

7. Paul from Modaco has it. thumbup.gif

SUSBorsch Soup
post May 30 2011, 11:41 AM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(akash3656 @ May 30 2011, 11:27 AM)
What about After Sales Support bro? Me very itchy to get my hands on this phone.......... Just need to have some assurance that after sales support exist.....

8. Using EXT3 stock.... WAYYYY better than Samsung RFS (Stands for Really F Slow)
Penang the service centre is at BJ complex, but I can send back to the shop I buy.

QUOTE(khalpowers @ May 30 2011, 11:28 AM)
Gud man..stable phone is most important rite...power pun asyik reboot jap2 pun take Gunaa....hehehe
My uptime so far

Battery drain

SUSBorsch Soup
post May 30 2011, 11:47 AM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ May 30 2011, 11:44 AM)
stock rom?
Yup. 2.2.1
SUSBorsch Soup
post May 31 2011, 05:59 PM

2,641 posts

Any idea how to access the 512 ROM? When I connect to PC only the internal SD and SD card show up. I need to delete some files inside the ROM.
SUSBorsch Soup
post May 31 2011, 07:15 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ May 31 2011, 06:16 PM)
Is impossible to access to the ROM files itself as it is only build for system partition, only solution is to root and access with root explorer.  smile.gif
Ok, the Modaco method looks easy to me. thumbup.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post May 31 2011, 08:16 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 31 2011, 07:43 PM)
any benefit to root now since there is no good custom rom available for time being?
btw.. any idea how to check whether there is update for the phone? any software like pc suite/etc for it?
thanks.
Might want to install app2sd if possible. Update? I think press Setting> About Phone> Online Update laugh.gif

QUOTE(XterNalz @ May 31 2011, 08:11 PM)
New owner here, I don't know why my phone is not so smooth when slashing fruits in Fruit Ninja and my Quadrant score is only 1331. Is this normal?
Haven't tried yet, but Quadrant score is normal. Neocore should be around 45- 46fps. laugh.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post May 31 2011, 08:25 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 31 2011, 08:19 PM)
juz now try to access the net from my office wifi..
since we are using proxy for net access, i'm not able to find this proxy feature anymore in froyo.. my old galaxy5 with eclair hv this when click advance under the wifi..
anyone can help? thanks.

Added on May 31, 2011, 8:20 pm

problem is.. i dun hv wifi at my home now..  sad.gif
I check liao, so far no update : Your Device is Up to Date thumbup.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 1 2011, 07:21 PM

2,641 posts

Already tried Star Battalion, PES 2011, Assasins Creed, Hero of Sparta and Samurai II. All working perfectly though Star Battalion got dropped fps when many units on screen.

TS really should put recommended games list for U8800 on Front Page as well.
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 2 2011, 10:39 AM

2,641 posts

After root what will happen? Will the battery drain remain the same?
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 2 2011, 06:38 PM

2,641 posts

The root process looks easy, but how is everything after that? Still like default settings?
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 5 2011, 07:32 PM

2,641 posts

For those that have root using first page method, is it stable and how is battery life? normal?
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 6 2011, 10:49 AM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jun 6 2011, 12:06 AM)
Root the phone will only allow you to have the administrator's right, it won't bring any side effect nor impact to the battery life.

for those who understand Chinese, can try the method in the below link:
http://bbs.hiapk.com/thread-1109934-1-1.html

- go download the update.zip, put into the root folder in your sd card.
- restart the phone in recovery mode.
- run the zip file.
- restart again and you will see the superuser icon.
laugh.gif Really tempting to root.
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 6 2011, 11:13 AM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 6 2011, 11:02 AM)
ic. once u install latest root explorer, let me know if u r able to remove it..
btw.. can help to try n remove the stock doc to go?  blush.gif

Added on June 6, 2011, 11:02 am

bro.. u plan to root using which methods?
Hiapk and modaco methods look simple to understand. But my U8800 is so far so good, maybe next time only I root laugh.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 6 2011, 11:31 AM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ Jun 6 2011, 11:22 AM)
My advise would be wait for custom roms to be more mature for Ideos X5 as rooting itself wont bring too much impact performance wise, MIUI also collecting votes for developement of this phone, just patient.  smile.gif

http://www.neopeek.com/viewtopic.php?f=113...79c931a7ccf33a7
Bro after root, how to move games and apps to SD card?
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 6 2011, 07:14 PM

2,641 posts

Aiyoh, really kesian my U8800 being reviewed like that doh.gif No mention of its GPS, GPU, CPU, benchmarks or being compared to more expensive Ace and Galaxy SL laugh.gif

Watching this

Really hard to play this game
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 7 2011, 06:27 PM

2,641 posts

How to apply the INTERNAL 2GB SD as data update? I no understand.
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 10 2011, 10:47 AM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 10 2011, 10:40 AM)
plan to, but nowadays internet line sucks big time..
hard to download/etc..
Try Samurai II, only 40 MB only. Nice graphics thumbup.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 10 2011, 04:51 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(akash3656 @ Jun 10 2011, 04:00 PM)
Anyone using a PC suite called Hi Suite?

http://www.huaweidevice.com/resource/mini/...e_en/index.html
Lolz nice software can do screenshot somemore laugh.gif Nice share rclxms.gif

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 10 2011, 04:24 PM)
i got installed, but somehow cannot connect due to missing driver..
You must enable these under Settings> Applications

SUSBorsch Soup
post Jun 10 2011, 04:58 PM

2,641 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 10 2011, 04:54 PM)
i got enable it, but it complain about missing driver.. where can i get this driver?

It will auto search and install it from my PC, no need do anything, after that will work. Yours not working?

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0520sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:46 PM