19 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Huawei Ideos X5 - Official Thread, Stunning, Fast, Affordable!

shadow111
post Jun 13 2011, 04:03 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(piumiu @ Jun 13 2011, 03:51 PM)
I did not root before upgrading.
I did backup my original rom before updating to custom rom.
Anyway I have 3 units of X5. So I just update 1. If I have issue I can also copy over my other phone rom.

Added on June 13, 2011, 3:52 pm

Looking to it now.
i'm reading the guide now -> http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1059753

Boot to clockworkmod recovery
(Optional) Perform a full backup [see note 2]. After backing up reboot recovery (in the advanced menu)

can i know what's the file format for the rom after the backup? thanks.
shadow111
post Jun 13 2011, 04:07 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jun 13 2011, 04:04 PM)
You can get it here, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1456101. Forgot to mentioned there's a free Dopod pouch also!
too bad. i hv alrdy gotten mine.. maybe this can makes more ppl wanna get x5 now.. smile.gif
shadow111
post Jun 13 2011, 04:31 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(piumiu @ Jun 13 2011, 04:14 PM)
got the from info tab. running 1.2ghz stable so far with on demand setting.

Added on June 13, 2011, 4:17 pm

i did not root. i just paste the recovery.img.
then backup the rom. reboot. paste the update.zip.

recoverymod run the update.zip. and its done.
im using genokolar vesion.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1067490
ic.. any idea how to revert back to ori rom?
shadow111
post Jun 13 2011, 04:45 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(waseken2 @ Jun 13 2011, 04:34 PM)
for those who want to partition their internal 2g sd card to internal phone storage, u can try method here
without flashing to custom rom..

but u have to Installing ClockworkMod first, the step are here

good 1.. should hv pinned this up on the first page..
shadow111
post Jun 13 2011, 08:01 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Jun 13 2011, 07:25 PM)
If you think its silly then dont answer. You should have tell me ways to prevent cracking instead(hard cover or soft cover enough?)
actually.. it depends on how u drop yr phone..
even if u put hard cover on it, if the screen drop face down on top a sharp object, the sharp object will still poke on the screen n crack it..
unless the cover is made from kevlar, then it's a diff story.. tongue.gif

Added on June 13, 2011, 8:02 pm
QUOTE(waseken2 @ Jun 13 2011, 07:06 PM)
finally.... after reading all the benefit and corns for different rom, i flash to B136 "slim version",
is same with our current rom but just del all the demo game n the application that i dun,t need..
plus add some feature that can set cpu speed, 1 button to recovery mode, vibrant on pick up call 2 clear radioactive.. ant etc...

now still playing ard.... rclxms.gif
where to download B136? thanks.

This post has been edited by shadow111: Jun 13 2011, 08:02 PM
shadow111
post Jun 13 2011, 08:48 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(waseken2 @ Jun 13 2011, 08:18 PM)
u can download here, but is in chinese forum
eiks... I'm 1/2 banana.. sad.gif

Added on June 13, 2011, 8:49 pm
QUOTE(piumiu @ Jun 13 2011, 08:44 PM)
All 3 units of X5 has been successfully updated with B160. smile.gif
any benefit of B160 other than the overclocking of the cpu?

This post has been edited by shadow111: Jun 13 2011, 08:49 PM
shadow111
post Jun 13 2011, 10:14 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(piumiu @ Jun 13 2011, 09:26 PM)
On standard setting is faster and smoother.
You should try it.
will give it a try.. btw, can u try to reflash back to ori rom?
i wanna know whether it's possible to do this after the upgrade.. blush.gif
shadow111
post Jun 13 2011, 10:36 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Jun 13 2011, 10:25 PM)
At least this is a decent answer.

What if no sharp object but just fall onto the floor?
if juz fall onto the floor, it also depends on the height of the fall..
the higher itis, the momentum n force of impact is muc higher..
getting a casing is a good choice, but it doesn't guarantee 100% protection to crack/etc.
shadow111
post Jun 13 2011, 11:29 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(piumiu @ Jun 13 2011, 11:16 PM)
can backup before updating it. Just restore back using the recovery boot. Later I put my own updated instruction.
i know backup is done b4 the updating..
i was wondering whether the backup can really works or nt..
since u got 3 x5, u can use 1 to try.. tongue.gif
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 06:47 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(piumiu @ Jun 14 2011, 12:01 AM)
Installation step for Custom ROM.

Step 1: Set up Clockwork Recovery:

1. Download clockwork at http://www.multiupload.com/DQGL84P3A5. Unzip and only use the recovery.img from the cust folder.
2. Ensure that there are no Huawei rom updates on your SD-Card in the dload folder and unplug the phone from your computer
3. Boot to bootloader mode by pressing the up and down volume keys and pressing the power button. This will show a plain violet/purple screen.
4. Connect the phone to your computer. In windows it will automatically mount one mass storage device which corresponds to the /cust_backup folder on your phone. If your OS supports EXT3 it will mount multiple devices, look for the one with an images directory and this is the device to use.
(Basically there is a flash drive with a folder that you can rename the current recover.img and paste the clockwork one.)
5. In the images directory rename recovery.img to something else (ie. recovery.bak) and then copy the new recovery image in its place.
6. Exit bootloader mode by pulling out the battery.

Note: You now have the clockwork recovery installed. Boot to recovery by holding the volume up and power buttons to turn the phone on.
To scrol up and down use the volume button. To enter/select use the power button.

Step 2: Set up Clockwork Recovery:

1. Download B160 ROM; update.zip to you pc from: http://www.multiupload.com/0HR8W3BMUR
Don't need to unzip it.
2. Copy update.zip to your sdcard. Either SD card or internal 2GB. Put in root/main directory.
2. Boot to clockworkmod recovery by pressing power button & volume up simultaneously (don't press volume down).
3. In clockwork you can perform a full backup. Go to backup & restore > backup > enter.  Wait until it complete (there is a progress report).
Complete the backup.

Reboot back in Clockwork recovery.
4. Apply update from sdcard. It wil state the update.zip file found. Press power button for enter. Wait until it complete (there is a progress report).
5. Reboot to system. First boot will be slow as it rebuilds the dalvik cache so be patient, successive boots will be back to normal.
6. To ensure you are in the new ROM. There is a poweruser icon and its running launcher pro.

Notes

1. By default the kernel is set to the default cpu governor and clock speed. If you would like to overclock I suggest using setcpu: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...937&postcount=1
2. Be aware that after applying this you won't be able to restore the full backup unless you either revert to the original rom, or change the boot image. The purpose of the backup is instead to have a backup of /data just in case something goes wrong.

Added on June 14, 2011, 12:09 am

Buy this come with a good screen protector:
http://www.imcc.com.my/store/products.php?...Huawei-IDEOS-X5
this is great.. might try this when i'm free.. thumb up for u..
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 07:22 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(monkimajik @ Jun 14 2011, 02:16 AM)
I'm trying to customize the internal storage space using this. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1112857 I'm confused between Internal SD card and Internal phone storage. Does Internal storage mean the partition for the OS/system files? And Data means space for the user to use? Whats the recommended minimum then for the internal SD card size? What would happen if we just used all for data? Would the phone allow that?

So does this mean our phone actually has 2723MB internal storage? Is space already allocated for the system files then cause its such a weird number with storage space usually being the multiples of 2.

Anyone who can help me understand this, I am much grateful.
this is somethin which i also wan to know.. whether it's possible to fully use the 2gb as internal phone storage..
this way, will hv like 2.5GB for games installation/etc.. drool.gif
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 08:40 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(ghs06565 @ Jun 14 2011, 06:56 AM)
hi
anyone know how to play the flash
i already install adobe flash 10.3
after u install it, yr browser will be able to support flash d..
to test, just open any thread with attached youtube mov..
u can straight play the movie from there..

like mention by someone earlier, once you click on other link/etc from the page, it will crash n close the browser..
i tested this, and it does happen.. guess it must be a buy on all x5.. sad.gif
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 09:46 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(ghs06565 @ Jun 14 2011, 09:39 AM)
cant play the fb flash game?
someone posted earlier they are able to play fb flash games..
if u got the link, i can test it for u.. smile.gif
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 10:07 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(ghs06565 @ Jun 14 2011, 10:00 AM)
what link u need?
the fb flash game which i play.
currently at office, all fb games/etc is blocked..
why don't u try it yrself n let us know?
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 11:45 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(ghs06565 @ Jun 14 2011, 10:18 AM)
i try on X5  already
cant...
too bad.. i cant help u to test out while in office...
are u able to play those youtube movie embedded in forum? open the below link with your phone.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=42677403

if u r able to play this, means it's alrdy flash enable lo..
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 03:00 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(azimlatip @ Jun 14 2011, 01:34 PM)
Guys,

Are all Huawei Ideos X5 sold in Malaysia ori set? Meaning, it's all fully unlocked (SIM-FREE)? Can use any SIM right?

Was kinda scared it is locked to certain carrier etc. (ex-iPhone user).
so far, all is ORI that comes with 2 yrs warranty... drool.gif

Added on June 14, 2011, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(oldmannewphone @ Jun 14 2011, 02:39 PM)
you can goto this flash template site and try out those nice flash templates..
pls let us know if 10.3 work fine on x5. thx

http://www.templatemonster.com/flash-templates.php
able to test out some of the flash on this site.. but some do lag..

This post has been edited by shadow111: Jun 14 2011, 03:07 PM
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 03:12 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(waseken2 @ Jun 14 2011, 03:08 PM)
internal sd is like ur sd card which built inside ur phone, it act like ur ex sd, u can save ur song, pic etc.
internal storage is where u application install, like the program u download from market.
however, u can partition u internal sd space ard 1ghz to internal storage without flash to custom rom,
i have link the method n pic here

if u dun,t want to use this kinda of method, u can use app2sd, which can download at the market.. but not all the program u can transfer to sd card.
as far i know B160 rom allow u to choose where u want 2 install ur program, either internal sd or internal storage.

hope this is helping u.

edit - ur android os is store at ur rom.
i hv read thru the guide on how to do this.. but is it possible to allocate all the 2gb internal sd as internal storage?
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 03:47 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(waseken2 @ Jun 14 2011, 03:15 PM)
yes, but u have u install the other patch, which i haven,t try, u can allocate u own partition space, weather u want to use it all as internal storage, or leave a small space as a internal sd.
so.. u juz use the attached partition size of 1.2gb?

Added on June 14, 2011, 3:48 pm
QUOTE(metaloid @ Jun 14 2011, 03:37 PM)
then i cant wait to get an android and show my iphone friend that whatsapp is also possible. just asking is ur the black or white color and does the standard package come with 8gb card?
lol.. u juz wanna get this phone coz it can support whatsapp?
i'm using black one.. all standard package doesn't comes with any mem card at all.. but this phone comes with internal 2gb internal sd.

This post has been edited by shadow111: Jun 14 2011, 03:48 PM
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 04:16 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jun 14 2011, 04:10 PM)
yay, superbooted the phone and removed most of the preinstalled games from /cust/maxis/app/* via root explorer
how bout doc to go? it's in same folder too?
shadow111
post Jun 14 2011, 05:09 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jun 14 2011, 04:29 PM)
nope, doc to go is at /system/app/DocumentToGo.apk

can be removed as well
sweet.. juz remove the apk only, rite.. then it will be gone from my app list?

19 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0553sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:55 AM