Buying a Nintendo DS, Getting Started

TSkwasky
post May 30 2011, 12:49 AM, updated 15y ago

45 posts

Hey guys, I'm just starting out with summer and I'm already bored as hell. I decided to try out what seems to be the coolest console around: Nintendo DS. Anyways I had a Gameboy Color back when I was 8. Skipped GBA for no reason but now I wanna jump into NDS. So:

1) What's the cheapest? There's NDSLite, NDSi, NDSiXL, N3DS. Mind-boggling. But what's value for money?
2) Where in KL can I find an authorised seller. Now I've been tricked before and don't want this to happen again. Any tips for determining the 'originality' of an NDS if I bought it in Lowyat or some small gamestore?
3) What's the best games you guys can recommend. I don't want to play all summer long so just list me what you think is best and the game that appears most is the one.. I guess
4) Technical details? Can NDS go into a comp? Battery life? Battery change? CD/Cartridge?

Yeah..
Frostlord
post May 30 2011, 12:55 AM

1,723 posts

1) dunno much about NDS but i do have a NDSL for sell though. looking for around rm400 offer. pm me if interested biggrin.gif
2) not sure as well. but i dun think there's recon NDS in the market. the reason being it is not as hot as PSP. correct me if im wrong.
3) one of the main games are pokemon. i think the latest now is black/white. some games i used to play are FFTA2, mario kart
4) the OS and specs for NDSL is lousier than PSP

SWATwolf
post May 30 2011, 01:02 AM

431 posts

1) What's the cheapest? There's NDSLite, NDSi, NDSiXL, N3DS. Mind-boggling. But what's value for money?
- DSlite is the cheapest. Value for money? Go for 3DS.
2) Where in KL can I find an authorized seller. Now I've been tricked before and don't want this to happen again. Any tips for determining the 'originality' of an NDS if I bought it in Lowyat or some small gamestore?
- Authorise seller? Check here, he's a authorize nintendo seller. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/976187
3) What's the best games you guys can recommend. I don't want to play all summer long so just list me what you think is best and the game that appears most is the one.. I guess
- There is a lot! Mario's series, Zelda series, Pokemon series, okamiden, kingdom hearts series, final fantasy series, etc.
4) Technical details? Can NDS go into a comp? Battery life? Battery change? CD/Cartridge?
- nds cannot go into comp, battery life pls check nintendo.com, nds/3ds uses catridge.
xtreme~~
post May 30 2011, 01:15 AM

206 posts

-DS lite cheapest, longest battery life, value for money.

2) Where in KL can I find an authorised seller. Now I've been tricked before and don't want this to happen again. Any tips for determining the 'originality' of an NDS if I bought it in Lowyat or some small gamestore?
-buy from garage sales then

-what genre do you prefer? there's mario, zelda, dragon quest thumbup.gif , pokemon, scribblenauts etc.

-go into a comp? rclxub.gif battery life for DS lite is around 14 hours. cartridge.

This post has been edited by xtreme~~: May 30 2011, 01:17 AM
TSkwasky
post May 30 2011, 01:36 AM

45 posts

Right, thanks for the replies. I was wondering what hardware does it have? I know theres a touchscreen hence logically there must be a stylus. Anything else? Memory card? List the possible I/Os (or inputs and outputs)

Oh yeah, how much does a NDSLite go for anyways? RM600?

This post has been edited by kwasky: May 30 2011, 05:27 AM
Kyoyagami
post May 30 2011, 08:53 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

If by any chance a DS Lite goes at RM 600, your being ripped off since an official one would only cost you RM 480 and I can give you 2 games free for that. Mystery though. tongue.gif

The I/Os for the DS Lite would only be the DS games and GBA games. That's it.
stalkie
post May 30 2011, 09:39 AM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

This show the comparison of all models: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3ds#Technical_comparison
SWATwolf
post May 30 2011, 06:19 PM

431 posts

2 free games when u buy ds lite from kyo?
im interested brows.gif
Kyoyagami
post May 30 2011, 06:19 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Ai, u baru tahu ka? tongue.gif
SWATwolf
post May 30 2011, 07:18 PM

431 posts

2 free games, i wonder wad it is hmm.gif
xtreme~~
post May 30 2011, 10:22 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ May 30 2011, 07:18 PM)
2 free games, i wonder wad it is hmm.gif
cooking mama+nintendog biggrin.gif
spacelion
post May 31 2011, 02:40 PM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

play a lot of RPGs , they can last you a long time.

Dragon Quest , both Zeldas.

Buy games that make use of the touchscreen/stylus like The World Ends with You

as for the system, it depends if you have access to GBA games or not, because the Slot-2 devices are pretty hard to find nowadays.
Kyoyagami
post May 31 2011, 03:21 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(xtreme~~ @ May 30 2011, 10:22 PM)
cooking mama+nintendog biggrin.gif
That one Girl option. Guy option different case. tongue.gif

Eh Cooking Mama quite hot, so not for free one. tongue.gif
elixirdream
post Jun 1 2011, 07:07 PM

[quote=kwasky,May 30 2011, 12:49 AM]Hey guys, I'm just starting out with summer and I'm already bored as hell. I decided to try out what seems to be the coolest console around: Nintendo DS. Anyways I had a Gameboy Color back when I was 8. Skipped GBA for no reason but now I wanna jump into NDS. So:

This post has been edited by elixirdream: Jun 1 2011, 07:14 PM
Joey87
post Jun 2 2011, 05:11 PM

637 posts

Note: DSi and DSiXL specific softwares are region locked.
TSkwasky
post Jun 3 2011, 03:48 PM

45 posts

Thanks for all the information guys. I think imma go for a NDSL cuz I'm pretty tight on budget. Btw I'm in jakarta for the month so I'll be hunting for one hopefully cheap

0.0192sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:27 PM