Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V19, Bandai!! plz MG this & that bla bla bla

StarGhazzer
post Jun 2 2011, 05:12 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(calcilis @ Jun 2 2011, 12:34 AM)
it cannot racun me cuz my Sazanju looks cooler XD

Fixed.

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Jun 2 2011, 02:45 AM)
if u want medium-sized MGs, try to look from Seed/Wing/00 series. UC especially Unicorn series are huge sweat.gif

poison travel fast~~ whistling.gif
Wing MGs are smaller due to their average 16m heights. Nevertheless the current available Wing MGs, with the exception of Shenlong and Deathscythe appear larger than they are due to their wingspan.

Seed MGs are pretty bulky due to their humongous backpacks, although their limbs and torso are generally slimmer than the average UC MGs despite similar heights.

Most Seed and Wing MGs will require action bases otherwise they'll bend backwards very quickly.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 2 2011, 07:51 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 2 2011, 02:43 PM)
damn, im loving Ex-S so much, but haven get it yet cos mahal, waiting to get sponsorship  cry.gif
For the budget conscious, try the HGUC version of the S/ExS. It's more forgiving on the wallet, big enough to stand among average-sized MG kits, You lose the transformation of the core fighter and bomber parts but how often would one transform the MG version anyway?

At 2500 yen, it's even cheaper than the HGUC Sazabi and comes with more parts. The 8000 yen MG version doesn't even come with a full skeleton due to its transformation mechanism and old technology.

QUOTE(calcilis @ Jun 2 2011, 06:22 PM)
cuz thats my sazabi mah laugh.gif
sazanju.

or sinanbi.

I prefer the former sweat.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 2 2011, 07:51 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 2 2011, 09:58 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(sigmabreaker @ Jun 2 2011, 08:35 PM)
Transform? MG Ex-S? 3 words for you my friend, don't even try . If you think MG Unicorn is hard to transform, wait till you try Ex-S (troublesome, time consuming and annoying). Beside MS mode >>> MA mode imo.

HGUC version doesnt have the external fuel tank though. sad.gif

While the MG is abit expensive, its worth it. The price is about the same as most special edition MG + another RM30 or so (SF Full Burst, Destiny Full Blast or whatever the hell it was, etc) but u get more for what you pay for. More runners, more parts, more bulk. I got it when yen rate is at 0.032 so about 260  icon_rolleyes.gif

There is a certain charm to it. Yes it cant do dynamic poses, cant stand on its own 2 feet or even hold its massive gun properly but it just look so dam cool even if it just stand there like a brick. It's sheer size is its main selling point dominating every other MG out there (apart from perfect Zeong of course). When u hav it in your collection and put it in ur display cabinet along with other MG, the 1st thing ppl will notice is the Ex-S.  brows.gif

I mean look at it

For those who love the ExS for what it is, i.e. sheer bulk, the money won't be a huge issue. But I personally prefer something that can at least do some basic poses rather than standing straight like a statue. The ExS is so bulky that it can't even hold the rifle properly and ends up supporting it with its phallic crotch most of the time. The S fares better but still needs the left skirt armour/energy pack to allow a slightly awkward-looking sideway aiming pose.

If I were to choose, I'd go for the S as its less-cluttered armour allows more mobility and posing.

To each their own I suppose, that's the attraction of this hobby. The mind is weak when it comes to gunpla laugh.gif
MG S Booster Type(if Bandai decides to make one)... That is even more like a brick!
StarGhazzer
post Jun 3 2011, 08:31 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 3 2011, 02:25 PM)
Exiled u got both 1/60 Freedom n MG Freedom rite?
which is more worth its price in ur opinion?
MG. Apart from the old fashioned hands and a slightly oversized head, the MG Freedom is an awesome kit for something that was released during that time.

The 1/60 is a blown up version of the NG 1/100, meaning you get the awkward-spreading wings, no internal frame, much more oversized head, and limited articulation. Totally not worth the money, for which you could get an MG Freedom PLUS any other 1/144 Seed kit.

I don't own either of them, but have examined both of them which were owned by friends and trust me, you won't go wrong with the MG if you're a Freedom fan.

QUOTE(calcilis @ Jun 3 2011, 07:17 PM)
chars is always so cool

and i'm planning to get the MG rx-78 gundam casval custom
is it worth the price?
Bear in mind that the Casval RX78 is based on the old ver1.5, and also comes with the more "eye-striking" strong pink of older Char mechas rather than the MGver2.0/RG salmon pink. Worth the price or not? Depends on how desperate you are for the kit, it is after all a pretty affordable kit at 3000yen.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 3 2011, 08:36 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 5 2011, 07:22 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(chameleon @ Jun 5 2011, 11:56 AM)
i already owned it .. very disappointed with the joint ... loose joint and cannot stand own its own ..

may be i'm just unlucky to get that set condition.
Which particular joints are loose?

And if you can, post some pictures and do a review... it'll help those who are interested in getting this kit make a final decision.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 7 2011, 06:30 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jun 7 2011, 05:34 PM)
duno... sometimes NG can be better than HG if the NG is 1/100? not 1/144... hmm.gif
It's due to the naming system that confuses people.

The 1/100 Seed series dropped the "HG" nomenclature and was simply called 1/100, in fact it doesn't even call itself NG. The cheapo 1/144 is also simply known as 1/144 instead of "NG1/144", and the nicer one with more details is the HG1/144. 00 continues with this naming system where the larger scale is simply called 1/100, then there's the usual HG 1/144 but this time they stuck a "FG" in front of the crappy lowest end 1/144 models.

Generally speaking 1/100s are more detailed than HG1/144s, although HGUCs are different as the UC line doesn't really have a 1/100 line apart from really old ancient kits for certain mechas.

And yes.... Aegis has arrived... gonna pick it up tmr.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 7 2011, 06:32 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 8 2011, 01:07 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Everyone's excited about warehouse sales sweat.gif

http://gundamguy.blogspot.com/2011/06/tran...-bandai-at.html

Interesting points:
1. MG V2's pretty much confirmed... it's a matter of when. Hopefully they will address the hip joints of the MG V. Simple ball-socket polycaps just do not cut it in MGs.

2. More MG W kits... Tallgeese please... but don't do it if Katoki's gonna fck around with the original design again.

3. HGUC Unicorn is no surprise... expect a barrage of kits when Autumn comes. Given that the story's gonna be focused on the Dakar invasion, expect HGUC Zee Zulu, GM variants, Jesta, possibly Ankusha and definitely Banshee.

4. HGUC 0083... fck yeah ! Dra-C is likely given it's a shared design between Unicorn and 0083, Gerbera Tetra is pretty popular among fans, what else is left? Pretty much everything else has already been released in HGUC form; the Neue Ziel is unlikely (too $$$), the Xamel perhaps?

5. MG Hyaku Shiki 2.0... yes yes yes. Delta Gundam too. Maybe it'll lead to a possible release of the MSV Hyaku Shikis eg FA/Kai.

6. No news of MG X/DX? Cheh.

7. If the Kshatriya is too cumbersome for a typical MG skeleton, the even-larger Nightingale has even lesser chance of seeing daylight. Come on, just make a HGUC version. That will dwarf most 1/100s anyway.

8. Not much talk about 00... not surprising, given that many 00 kits have already been produced in conjunction with every new release in that franchise.

9. Apart from RG Strike, CE's pretty dead for now.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 8 2011, 01:07 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 8 2011, 03:40 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(james83 @ Jun 8 2011, 03:08 PM)
noooo.... cry.gif more RG from CE please... cry.gif  vmad.gif
Aegis perhaps? brows.gif
There might be RG Strike variants eg IWSP or Noir, but I wouldn't put my money on Aegis or the other GATXs. They simply aren't as popular as the Strike, plus the Aegis's frame may be too complicated/fragile to reproduce in RG form if articulation is an emphasis.

Going to start work on the HG Aegis tonight... review to come soon.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 8 2011, 03:40 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 8 2011, 09:22 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jun 8 2011, 03:45 PM)
HG aegis quite good for me , just arm only can bend 90 degree only, other wise can fully transform to MA mode, just need unplug head, and the 2 palms.

as far i remember, the aegis detail is okay okay la, lining not much.  hmm.gif

forget already since that is 2nd gunpla i assemble for my lil brother.
You're doing it wrong ! laugh.gif
The head doesn't need to come off, it folds down as the tail fins move upwards and tucks away nicely behind the opened torso.

Almost completed the Aegis after 3 hours... left the head, backpack, and side skirts... Quite a lot of things to complain but I'll leave them for the review.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 9 2011, 04:18 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(ascentic @ Jun 9 2011, 03:44 PM)
brows.gif Made me wanna laughing at the corner if they make white color sazabi into MG... and sell RM50 higher than normal cost for it's color... HAHAHAHAHA and also the special BEAR Guy.. imagine the size of the HEAD... HAHAHAHA!
Nah... won't happen.

Recolored versions of a particular MG will cost the same unless they chuck in additional parts. The grey/white Zeta costs the same as the normal Zeta, and this white HGUC Sazabi is also 2800yen, no increase at all.

Extra finish versions however will cost much more.

And calcilis, some poison for you.

New gundam anime? Seems like it's aimed at younger audiences like Gunpla builders. Don't care. Unicorn will satisfy older UC fans like me at least for another year while the OVA keeps on going.

StarGhazzer
post Jun 9 2011, 08:45 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Aegis completed!

Can't do review for now coz broke two parts... T_T damn cb.

Small crack at the left V-fin so it's slightly crooked... male connector of pelvis broke completely and now the crotch armour is off... Need to find some superglue and stick a rod in between those two pieces to maintain the swiveling movement. damn. sibeh fragile kit.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 9 2011, 08:47 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 13 2011, 10:14 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Tiger I @ Jun 13 2011, 02:44 AM)
I agree. At least a bit cheaper and got freebies, only if you buy with the Action Base 3 blush.gif
I finish the Rick Dom already-lah bro brows.gif
Review the Dommy. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jun 13 2011, 07:50 AM)
Nah... the head is acceptable, if you can live with Turn-A Gundam.  thumbup.gif
Turn A is awesome. Turn X is even more rad.

If you're talking about ugly heads... Raider and Calamity share the crown in CE while the Thrones take the win in AE.

Done with Zaku I... broke something again, this time it's the hobby knife blade.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 13 2011, 03:06 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jun 13 2011, 02:31 PM)

gandamn RAGE promotional video tongue.gif

got a lot mix feeling there... the promo video seems same with Unicorn ep 1... got fire, got big mecha invade to coloni like macross frontier ep1, got kids, got professor and other side character who looks like osaumu tezuka's work...

and Chubby GN look-a-like  tongue.gif

wait and see how it the other gunpla design will looks like.... hopefully RG will refine this things into more awesome
Nice animation, but seriously god damn aliens !
This is really aimed at kids, just look at the character designs.

Gundam Age doesn't seem too bad although it's very similar to the skinny gundam-0 from 00. Much less radical compared to the Beginning Gundam, but the latter is ridiculously powerful like the V2 with its beam ovals and moonlight-butterflyesque spread. Bandai seems to be going gungho with this new series; we've already seen 3 HG prototypes of the Age, and now there's news about MG and mega-size versions.

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jun 13 2011, 02:45 PM)
i did. but the articulation is very very impeded. and the NG legs not much details.
Care to share how is it impeded? The 1/100 Astray's legs should be able to pull off most typical standing/half-squat poses.

Anyway, fixed my broken Aegis front skirt... superglue and thin wire did the trick.
And got a small shelf to display gunpla on my workdesk... still need to get detolf one of these days, really running out of space.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 13 2011, 03:15 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 13 2011, 03:20 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Jun 13 2011, 03:12 PM)
kesian GP02a kena tinggal kat belakang laugh.gif
Because the GP02 is too bulky and gets in the way of everybody.

The Gunner Zaku is even worse... hidden underneath the shelf behind the RX78 tongue.gif

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jun 13 2011, 03:15 PM)
well, i just kasi pasang tht NG legs direct to MG. Upper part MG, lower is NG. whil can stand, the skirts still block the movements.

with NG legs, it really look just nice.....

I'd keep it this way. Looks much better. In fact I also prefer the 1/100's plain shoulder armour instead of the MG's.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 13 2011, 03:22 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 13 2011, 09:54 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(lucasng89 @ Jun 13 2011, 05:43 PM)
So first i have to drill a hole to fit in needle or brass rod right? May i ask where can i get the brass rod? I didnt see that before around TimeSquare area  hmm.gif
Don't need to buy brass rod. Use a paperclip, straighten it and voila !
If the broken joint is made from ABS then good luck... ABS is rock hard to drill.

QUOTE(Tiger I @ Jun 13 2011, 06:27 PM)
This is a short review of MG MS-09R Rick Dom, Principality of Zeon Mass Productive Mobile Suit.

Awesome. 100 marks for the effort.

QUOTE(Tiger I @ Jun 13 2011, 06:35 PM)
But, but I love Dom sad.gif Now hunting for the elusive White Ogre biggrin.gif
Go ahead, have a Dom™ tongue.gif
White Ogre? It's merely a J type with extra grenades and a lizard decal... Grey Wolf would be better, it's still white but comes with R1A legs, bigger backpack, and a slightly larger bazooka.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 14 2011, 04:55 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(lucasng89 @ Jun 13 2011, 10:15 PM)
Sorry but what do u mean use the paperclip? i think the joint part is the ABS, so..  cry.gif
A paperclip is just a twisted iron rod. Untwist it and you'll have a rod.

If it's ABS then you might want to try a tiny handdrill. For normal plastic a needle/nail plus some brute force should suffice.

Otherwise just bring it to a modelling shop and ask them to repair it. I repaired my blue frame's upper arm for 10 bucks after the male connector broke.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 14 2011, 04:56 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 14 2011, 08:26 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Jun 14 2011, 08:09 PM)

It's gonna be dead when it drops from the stand anyway.  whistling.gif

That's mean.

Play nice tongue.gif

Preview of the Epyon.
http://blog.goo.ne.jp/yshobbyblog/e/1fc8b1...020e79325ac1bec
Meh.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 20 2011, 04:44 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Jun 19 2011, 10:37 PM)
try online shop like gwing.. it's based in Penang if not mistaken.. the price is not that cheap lah, but still reasonable nod.gif
me likey Hyaku Shiki's design (the delta design actually) but me ain't digg no bling2 gold mang laugh.gif

so when i saw the HG Byaku Shiki the other day, kinda want to have it rolleyes.gif
The HGUC Hyaku Shiki also comes in bling bling.

Also, you would want to avoid the HGUC Hyaku Shiki + mega launcher at all costs. Horrible poo-colour will burn your eyes, unless you paint the entire thing. If money is not an issue, go for the HD MG which has a softer extra-finish gold. Or take the ballute system which is flat yellow and will be easier to paint.

Or just wait for Delta Plus... coming soon.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 21 2011, 05:16 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(kurz @ Jun 21 2011, 12:23 AM)
wonder y dalong.net no RG reviews?
or i didnt know where to find? tongue.gif
It's in the HGUC page.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 21 2011, 03:14 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(hyzam1212 @ Jun 21 2011, 09:20 AM)
Since Gundam Unicorn series are starting to continue the battle on earth, what MS (another MG wishlist) can we expect for the ground units and others? Bandai seems wanted to complete the HG line for the Unicorn series
Don't hold your breath for the monstrous Shamblo, although the escorting Zee Zulus will be a possible release as there's already 3 Zulu variants present. If Bandai decides to follow the path they took with Dreissen, expect to see a Gallus-K with swapping parts to build a ZZ version.

For EF, Jesta will likely be next in line given that the first part of the earth arc focuses on the Dakar invasion (and destruction). There's also GMII and Nemo during the middle part of the earth arc. Can't say much for other EF units such as Aqua GMs or even Guncannon DT since they are not very popular nor do they have pre-existing moulds.

Finally there's the inevitable Banshee. I'd be very surprise if Bandai didn't release this, at least in HGUC form. Ankusha, given its radical design, plus Bandai's previous experience with Asshimar's transformation will probably see it getting the nod. Hopefully Ankusha will come with ABS joints otherwise the skinny high-heels plus Gaplant-style forearm cannons will turn it into a wobbly mess.

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jun 21 2011, 09:50 AM)
itulah, makes me start on HGUC liao..
Jump on the bandwagon.

QUOTE(Parody @ Jun 21 2011, 01:19 PM)
The design is pretty ridiculous, i might say. Then again, most designs in G Gundam are. sleep.gif

Devil Gundam actually doesn't look that bad given the G universe is wacky to begin with.
Seraphim looks more ridiculous with a huge head as its torso and skinny limbs.

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jun 21 2011, 02:13 PM)
i will take HGUC instead
If you don't mind old HGUC tech (i.e. crappy proportions, poor articulation, lousy joints), or really in love with Zaku III, by all means go ahead.
Otherwise the Zaku F2 is the best early-UC Zeonic grunt you can get in HGUC form.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 21 2011, 03:16 PM

0.0269sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:17 PM