Technical Gaming Wireless/Wired Headset (PS4/PS3/Vita), PULSE wireless stereo headset, etc

jhcj
post Sep 12 2011, 09:53 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Just got mine. No reviews on performance of the headset yet as it's still charging. Will just show pictures of the unboxing. smile.gif

The packaging

Once opened...

It certainly feels sturdy!

The side panels are made of the same material as the casing of the PS3 Slim. The top of the earphones are shiny silverish metal. Nice!

The receiver

The charging port and volume slider

The mouthpiece unfortunately cannot be moved up, only in and out...this is the in position...

And this is the out...

Press buttan, receive virtual 7.1!

jhcj
post Sep 13 2011, 08:48 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Alright guys, had a chance to take it for a spin yesterday night! Here's my inpression:

Games tested with: Deus Ex and COD Black Ops.

Comfort
The headset is comfortable! Besides the ear paddings, the top band of headset is also padded so it sits on your head nicely. I was playing for about 2 hours without any problems. The ear pads are big enough to cover your entire ear, so you might sweat a little, but it's no big deal. The headset weighs heavy enough to feel solid, but not too heavy to affect comfort.

Design
Very PS3. Like I mentioned before, the side panels are made of the same rough surfaced plastic like the casing of the PS3 slim, while the top band is shiny metallic. I have concerns that maybe the shiny part might scratch easily, but I think it would take alot to do so. But still, it looks good! The headset uses the same mini USB port for charging, similar to your controllers, so just plug in the charging cable to charge. The USB port is locate on the left together with the volume slider and virtual surround button. Despite this, the headset is well balanced, it is not heavier to one side, which is cool.

Functionality
Getting the headset to work is a breeze. No need to set up anything. Just plug and play! Of course you can adjust settings from your PS3 dashboard if you want. You can adjust it so that only mic audio is heard through the headset too. To turn on the headset, simply press in the left panel which acts like a big click switch and hold till the headset beeps. To turn off, press and hold again. Volume sliders are conveniently placed so that accessing it while in game is a breeze, an I must say this is a brilliant design choice. Cause nobody has time to press and hold buttons during gameplay right! Simply slide to your desired volume!

Sound quality
The important part. Cause no matter how nice the design, a poor sound quality will be a put off haha! But worry not, the headsets do not disappoint! First impression from the sound: the solid bass! I popped in COD:BO and wow, I could feel every tremor and bomb blast. However, mid range and high range sounds are a little lacking for me though, since I prefer a slightly more brighter sound. Funnily, turning on the virtual surround also seems to brighten the sound a little. Regarding the surround, everyone has to remember that this is virtual surround, not true surround. So while you still will get a pretty good idea of where the sound is coming from, it will not be as precise as a true 7.1 headset. Too bad the virtual surround only works on games, not movies. Hopefully Sony fixes this with a software patch in future firmware updates! Too bad I couldn't test the mic since I had nobody to talk to in game haha.

All in all, I'm pretty happy with the purchase. Good value for it's price, and unless you are a serious audiophile, this headset is good enough for anyone.

Added on September 13, 2011, 9:05 amOh, and I forgot to mention. This headset requires burning in! After about an hour or so, I suddenly noticed that the sound quality became noticeably better. So keep listening, these headsets get better! smile.gif

This post has been edited by jhcj: Sep 13 2011, 09:05 AM
jhcj
post Sep 13 2011, 09:46 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Got mine for SGD119. I work in Singapore. smile.gif
jhcj
post Sep 13 2011, 01:04 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I didnt know CoDBO was a bad game choice to test the sound. Then what game should I use? laugh.gif

And I cannot comment on the mic, cause like I said, I didnt have anyone to chat with. Perhaps someone wanna try with me tonite? laugh.gif
jhcj
post Sep 13 2011, 02:12 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

the place i went to brought in lots of stock which arrived yesterday. but with the crazy demand here, not sure if any still available today!

but i do know most are restocking, either today or tomorrow.
jhcj
post Sep 13 2011, 03:17 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Sep 13 2011, 02:24 PM)
bro jhcj, have you tested it with PC/laptop?
I have not, but from what I've read in forums, the virtual surround does not work in PC/Xbox so you'll only get stereo.

I'll test it tonite and let you all know what I find.
jhcj
post Sep 13 2011, 05:47 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Ask away and maybe we can test it out for you lol
jhcj
post Sep 13 2011, 07:48 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I can confirm that it works on the PC. And it's plug and play. Windows automatically detects the drivers and installs it, then you can listen already. But again, no virtual surround on PC cause that requires the PS3 firmware.
jhcj
post Sep 13 2011, 10:26 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

265 is cheap!

Added on September 13, 2011, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Sep 13 2011, 09:10 PM)
try out

5.1 virtual surround:
MGS4
Heavy Rain
Vanquish

7.1 virtual surround:
Uncharted 2
MAG
Split/Second

some of the games i know that have really good sound.

*test 5.1 and 7.1 to see if there's a difference or if it's a negligible one.
tempted to get one set, but still wondering if it's worth the price-considering it's pretty much as good as PS3 only. Maybe wait for enterprising hackers to get the virtual surround working on pc brows.gif
haha my uncharted 2 is back in malaysia, so i tested with killzone 3 and infamous. the game does sound really good with the virtual surround, especially infamous! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jhcj: Sep 13 2011, 10:28 PM
jhcj
post Sep 13 2011, 10:28 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

i've tested the voice chat as well with nairud. according to him, crystal clear! smile.gif
jhcj
post Sep 14 2011, 07:58 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Bro I think you missed the point. This is a playstation peripheral, and it has been marketed as such from day 1. It's not just a mass market Sony peripheral, therefore I don't think anyone without a playstation will get it. If you're looking for something that goes with everything, then you might as well just settle for something else. smile.gif
jhcj
post Sep 14 2011, 09:12 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

As per my previous posting, I've tested the voice chat yesterday, both in-game and also via the PS Chat.

Crystal clear. smile.gif
jhcj
post Sep 14 2011, 02:18 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I've only tested listening to music on the PC. But I assume that if chatting on PS3 is clear, then theoretically it should be the same on PC no?
jhcj
post Sep 14 2011, 03:58 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

the sony headset cannot be compared to the turtle beach dpx21. it's like comparing honda and bmw.

sony headset:
cheap, decent quality, wireless

dpx21:
expensive, good quality, wired
jhcj
post Sep 14 2011, 05:04 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

guys, i'm abit more relaxed about the bm rule, but please dont go offtopic.
QUOTE(wanbob93 @ Sep 14 2011, 04:13 PM)
Dpx21 got really good sound quality but twice the price of sony headset and messy wire. Astro a40 wireless got the best combination of wireless, best quality but freaking damn expensive rm1.2k. Can tell how the 7.1 virtual sounds like?
7.1 means you can tell the sound comes from where. example a NPC is speaking to you from your rear left, so you will hear the sound coming from your speaker from the rear left.

if there is a rocket coming at you and you dodge to the right, you can hear the rocket swooshing past you on your left. drool.gif

Added on September 14, 2011, 5:04 pmin short, positional audio la...just that 7.1 you can tell better compared to 5.1 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jhcj: Sep 14 2011, 05:04 PM
jhcj
post Sep 14 2011, 05:37 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

usd200 @@

but might as well get Turtle Beach then if you want true 7.1, since this one got no mic. Without mic, you can play online, but cant chat.
jhcj
post Sep 15 2011, 08:16 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I made a reservation for a friend, but he pulled out at the last minute. Anyone wants me to get for them? I'm selling at retail (no profit).

My conditions: COD only (no delivery, too much hassle) in Klang/Subang this weekend.

Price: SGD120 (RM300)

Oh, and no warranty ya...but I will test for you at the shop before I leave lah of course. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jhcj: Sep 15 2011, 08:17 PM
jhcj
post Sep 24 2011, 01:53 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(DWExia @ Sep 24 2011, 01:34 AM)
Hmm i cant seem to change my voice chat output at all.

only can cahnge the input.

very odd. everyone can hear me saying hello hello but i cant hear anyone else
there are 2 sliders on the left side of the headsets. the ones at facing the back is for volume, then the one facing the front is to adjust chat/audio balance. try adjusting that.
jhcj
post Sep 26 2011, 12:44 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Sep 26 2011, 12:33 PM)
no one here owes you answers.
haha dont be mean. laugh.gif

but looking back at some of the posts here, i just wanna say people will buy if they think it's value for money. buying a RM300 headset and expecting it to be gold is just ridiculous.
jhcj
post Sep 27 2011, 12:09 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Sep 27 2011, 11:41 AM)
Huh ??? u mean the whole Asia include Jpn still not release ??? which mean this recent headset are fake ???
not fake, grey imports from the US more likely.

0.0334sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:57 PM