4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Sony Ericsson XPERIA ARC Official Thread V2, Most Stunning & Beautiful Android phone

lotiman2003
post Jun 30 2011, 12:49 PM

1,367 posts

Sorry to be noob. How to safely upgrade to 2.3.3? Using PC companion? Can I download it first then copy to the phone and update? Will hit help improve battery performance?
lotiman2003
post Jul 4 2011, 11:41 AM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jul 4 2011, 12:02 AM)
new battery will take 2-3 days or even a week to get the optimum performance.. after few cycles then it will b ok..

stock launcher dun hav other themes..
I also having the battery issue. Idle without any calls during night time will consume 30-40% in 6-8 hours which I found it to be really ridiculous. I have being using it for 1 month now but battery not improving. However, the battery will hold much better when I keep on charging it when it hits 100%. The 100% will stay for 3-5 hours until it drop to 99%. I think the battery indicator is not very accurate.

Normally, 1% can standby how long?
lotiman2003
post Jul 4 2011, 03:44 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jul 4 2011, 12:22 PM)
dun depend much on the battery indicator... its not consistent draining.. if u wanna know ur battery is charging until full, its when the indicator does not show the chargng symbol, which is kinda like lightning symbol..

usually at the beginning and the end of the battery percentage, it will take a long time to lvl down... like from 100% to 99% case...
Good tips! I will try charging tonight and see how it goes. If this is the case, then Arc is not a lousy phone. smile.gif
lotiman2003
post Jul 4 2011, 10:43 PM

1,367 posts

I don't have the hairline crack. Is it really that disturbing?
lotiman2003
post Jul 10 2011, 09:00 AM

1,367 posts

Anyone using PAPAGO on Arc? How long it takes for the GPS to lockout to the satellite and start navigation? Mine normally took 3 minutes+ where I find it a bit too long.

This post has been edited by lotiman2003: Jul 10 2011, 07:34 PM
lotiman2003
post Jul 11 2011, 09:03 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Jul 11 2011, 08:23 AM)
I don't have such problem... do you turn on ur 3G? as A-GPS required data of the sattelite location to speed GPS lock....
I don't have data plan so no I didn't on the 3G. I just use normal GPS.
lotiman2003
post Jul 12 2011, 08:22 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Jul 12 2011, 07:18 PM)
sensation hardware is tempting me...haha

but its a very hard decision now, arc work great as a camera phone, speaker is good, its light and got the urge to take it out to play with all the time! y? u say? cos its dam sexy thts y haha
even the i got the batt to work tro the day for me

i still blame se for puttung such small ram on thier high end phone
IMO:

1. Camera
Arc is only slightly better than Sensation in normal light.

2. Speaker
Sensation speaker is better than Arc.

3. Internal Memory
It came with only 285MB out of the box.

lotiman2003
post Jul 13 2011, 09:58 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Jul 12 2011, 08:35 PM)
seriously the speaker is better? how abt screen? cos to me it looks kinda washout in you tube comparison

1 more thing im dissapointed is only 1 team is doing the rom developement
Yes, Sensation speaker is better and louder. As for the screen, Sensation is not very good, in fact it is worst than HTC IS and yes it is wash out and look a bit white when not look straight on. The screen it the major turn off and it was the reason I chose Arc over Sensation. The price is almost identical and Sensation wins in most aspect such as CPU, gHD screen, HTC Sense 3.0, RAM, internal memory, solid body, speaker, better and polished pre-installed apps, etc. But hey... movie, games, photo, web browsing looks so much better on Arc so I can live with that. smile.gif
lotiman2003
post Jul 24 2011, 01:13 PM

1,367 posts

Hi guys, in the first page got mentioned that the default camera apps which which causing battery drain because the camera apps is not fully closed. I noticed that even you forcefully close the apps but the battery drain is still occurring. I noticed that when that happen, the upper portion of the phone around the camera sensor is quite warm. I think the apps is closed but the camera (hardware) itself is still operating which explain the battery drain issue. When that happens, i tried to close the apps a few times and you will hear a tick sound which might be the sound of the camera shuttle closing.

However, sometimes the battery drain still occurring even there is a tick sound when exiting the camera apps. Anyone have this problem? If I installed third party camera apps can fix this problem?
lotiman2003
post Jul 24 2011, 02:48 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jul 24 2011, 01:33 PM)
battery drain bcoz of camera apps occurred on previous firmware version 2.3.2... 2.3.3 oledi fix the bugs..
That good to hear that. If I upgrade to 2.3.3 how much free internal space available after that? Previously, my space is just 285MB available out of the box.
lotiman2003
post Jul 24 2011, 06:48 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Jul 24 2011, 03:04 PM)
so tempted to remove the native camera app... using vignette and set to superfine quality, each image size is an average of 5mb
You mean vignette is better than the stock camera apps?
lotiman2003
post Jul 25 2011, 12:44 PM

1,367 posts

I already updated to 2.3.3 and the camera battery drain is fixed and start-up also faster. Normally during stand by / idle, how long it takes to drop 1%? Mine around 2hours drop 1% with 2.3.3.
lotiman2003
post Aug 3 2011, 11:14 AM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Aug 3 2011, 10:47 AM)
You can try the following steps:

http://androidflip.com/re-lock-boot-loader...tep-step-guide/
So, anyone updated already to the latest firmware 4.0.A.2.368? Still can't root though, and no pre-rooted firmware image as well.

Most of the changes is cosmetic (i.e themes, widgets, etc)
This one is 2.3.4?
lotiman2003
post Aug 4 2011, 08:46 PM

1,367 posts

Most phone only got digital zoom.
lotiman2003
post Aug 5 2011, 08:54 PM

1,367 posts

Hi guys, is there any other market which better than one installed in Arc? I prefer english version.
lotiman2003
post Aug 6 2011, 09:04 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(cheng34 @ Aug 6 2011, 04:25 AM)
i think he meant other unofficial version of market (filtered and mostly great apps only) like those that can be found on the china website, only that he prefers eng version one~
Yes, like those china one.
lotiman2003
post Aug 13 2011, 02:12 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 12 2011, 09:53 AM)
Hi guys! I plan to get an ARC or NEO but I have a doubt here. From the spec, it says "Internal phone storage: 1GB (up to 320MB free)" so exactly how much internal phone storage does it has? 1GB or 320MB? Is it more than enough for heavy apps user? Thanks
I only have 285MB free when I got my Arc. I really don't understand why SE put such a small internal memory in their flagship.
lotiman2003
post Aug 13 2011, 07:12 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 13 2011, 04:58 PM)
=__= 320MB is already bad and now it's getting worse with the 285MB... Maybe I'm not going to buy it anyway...
Well, if you compare with SGS2 definitely the spec will blow Arc away but if you want to be different then Arc might be the better choice because many ppl will choose SGS2. A few of my friends already using SGS2 and the exterior looks just like another touchscreen phone for most ppl but Arc will catch other ppl attention. The side silver plastic chrome with curve body look striking and I don't think SGS2 can match that.

As for 285MB, yes it is small but if you not a heavy user then it won't an issue. Most apps can be transfer to SD but normally just around 40-60%. If average transfer is 50% then 285MB can be consider adequate. I already install 20-30 big and small apps and still got around 100MB.
lotiman2003
post Aug 23 2011, 05:14 PM

1,367 posts

Anyone knows which widget can use to turn off the screen rather then using the power button.
lotiman2003
post Aug 23 2011, 09:56 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(bluebeary @ Aug 23 2011, 06:03 PM)
i use Screen Off and Lock. Can create a short cut at Notification area and also choose ur own animation. It's free btw :-)
Thx. I'll try it.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0493sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:03 PM