i want to replace the wood for hob and sink to semen and tiles type...
and move the sink to left facing the windows....
my question, can i take off the kitchen cabinet and move to other position?

re-structure kitchen cabinet, move or switch position
May 27 2011, 03:39 PM, updated 15y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,767 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
i bought a house that come with kitchen cabinet.
i want to replace the wood for hob and sink to semen and tiles type... and move the sink to left facing the windows.... my question, can i take off the kitchen cabinet and move to other position? ![]() |
May 27 2011, 05:04 PM
1,475 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Paradise |
May 27 2011, 05:10 PM
185 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Is that the pic of your kitchen? It looks good condition lah. Anyway, you may be able to move, but there may be some damage, and also, now it is all chipboard carcass, if u start to do a cement counter, the measurement may run. The easiest is to replace with solid surface counter top. |
May 27 2011, 07:22 PM
19 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
if you going to do cement for your counter top, then your only doors can be use on it ( and also you need to let your contractor know that your door size) but carcase cant be use anymore.
if you going to change to solid surface or granite top, then just need to add another corner unit and continue with ur existing cabinet (if the size is fit) |
May 27 2011, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(lizziewong @ May 27 2011, 05:10 PM) Is that the pic of your kitchen? It looks good condition lah. Anyway, you may be able to move, but there may be some damage, and also, now it is all chipboard carcass, if u start to do a cement counter, the measurement may run. The easiest is to replace with solid surface counter top. intially i do not want to kacau the kitchen cabinet coz i plan to do wet kitchen at yard but it too small...so think to replace the top counter (wood - light chocolate color in the pic) with something solid/semen type...don't know how to explain it.... y i want to move it? i think wanna put the sink at the corner facing the windows....and replace the current sink position with kitchen hood & hob... Added on May 27, 2011, 8:43 pm QUOTE(KirRoyale @ May 27 2011, 07:22 PM) if you going to do cement for your counter top, then your only doors can be use on it ( and also you need to let your contractor know that your door size) but carcase cant be use anymore. sorry KirRoyale,if you going to change to solid surface or granite top, then just need to add another corner unit and continue with ur existing cabinet (if the size is fit) not quite clear with your explaination especially "then your only doors can be use on it (and also you need to let your contractor know that your door size) but carcase can't be use anymore. if i don't switch position for carcase but just change the wood top counter to solid surface/granite top and add corner unit, i still can use the existing carcase? This post has been edited by xSean: May 27 2011, 08:43 PM |
May 27 2011, 11:21 PM
19 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(xSean @ May 27 2011, 08:39 PM) intially i do not want to kacau the kitchen cabinet coz i plan to do wet kitchen at yard but it too small... yes, u can use all the carcase if you just change to solid surface or granite.so think to replace the top counter (wood - light chocolate color in the pic) with something solid/semen type...don't know how to explain it.... y i want to move it? i think wanna put the sink at the corner facing the windows....and replace the current sink position with kitchen hood & hob... Added on May 27, 2011, 8:43 pm sorry KirRoyale, not quite clear with your explaination especially "then your only doors can be use on it (and also you need to let your contractor know that your door size) but carcase can't be use anymore. if i don't switch position for carcase but just change the wood top counter to solid surface/granite top and add corner unit, i still can use the existing carcase? but only the end unit u need to change to corner carcase because of the joining. if you just add another new cabinet beside, then the joining area will be very ugly. |
May 28 2011, 01:00 AM
4,342 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: The place that i call home :p |
QUOTE(xSean @ May 27 2011, 08:39 PM) intially i do not want to kacau the kitchen cabinet coz i plan to do wet kitchen at yard but it too small... cements top and used back the existing KC is not possible, coz after have the concrete top u just needs the frames and doors for cover up. but u can used back the existing carcass plus add up one more cabinets for the corner extensions (if can change the sink cabinet too) this method u can used granite,solid surface, quartz stone, marble or solid wood top without any problem ...... hope this will help so think to replace the top counter (wood - light chocolate color in the pic) with something solid/semen type...don't know how to explain it.... y i want to move it? i think wanna put the sink at the corner facing the windows....and replace the current sink position with kitchen hood & hob... Added on May 27, 2011, 8:43 pm sorry KirRoyale, not quite clear with your explaination especially "then your only doors can be use on it (and also you need to let your contractor know that your door size) but carcase can't be use anymore. if i don't switch position for carcase but just change the wood top counter to solid surface/granite top and add corner unit, i still can use the existing carcase? reminder: the doors colours will be different as u added a new cabinets. |
May 28 2011, 03:02 AM
QUOTE(KirRoyale @ May 27 2011, 11:21 PM) yes, u can use all the carcase if you just change to solid surface or granite. no choice, so waste for the current kitchen cabinet...but only the end unit u need to change to corner carcase because of the joining. if you just add another new cabinet beside, then the joining area will be very ugly. for the corner extension...probably add the visible type cover/door at the bottom...just like the grey visible at the top kitchen cabinet...so it will look not so ugly... Added on May 28, 2011, 3:10 am QUOTE(cwhong @ May 28 2011, 01:00 AM) cements top and used back the existing KC is not possible, coz after have the concrete top u just needs the frames and doors for cover up. but u can used back the existing carcass plus add up one more cabinets for the corner extensions (if can change the sink cabinet too) this method u can used granite,solid surface, quartz stone, marble or solid wood top without any problem ...... hope this will help ok, maybe i gave wrong meaningreminder: the doors colours will be different as u added a new cabinets. yes i wanna change those like granite, solid surface, quartz stone, marble to replace current wood top because when kena water, sure will spoil later... between above material....which one is good for normal use and cost effective? This post has been edited by xSean: May 28 2011, 03:10 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0195sec
5 queries
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:11 AM |