Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

storm88
post Sep 22 2011, 09:19 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 22 2011, 10:02 AM)
Why Taiwan for V-day? I dun find really romantic setting there wor..
what is V-day ?

If say about Romantic places, Taipei have tons of it
either you want at
hilly place, like Mao Kong
hot spring house at Yang Ming Mountain
Hello kitty shop nearby ZONG XIAO EAST ROAD 4TH SESSION
etc etc...

storm88
post Sep 23 2011, 05:02 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 23 2011, 11:39 AM)
Winter is the best (Nov-Feb). Less rain cooler temperature. Nov temp almost like Fraser Hill (~23C)and Dec like CH/Genting (15-18C). Jan/Feb  will be cold. (~ 10C)

No of days depending whether you want to round whole Taiwan or only Taipei or Taipei + 1 outstation

If whole island probably a week or 7-8days
If Taipei on;y $ dyas
If Taipei + Huelien (or 1 alternative city) - 5Days
I travel to taiwan quite frequently
but i could say "8 days for whole isle?" impossible
Possible only applies for = PASSBY VACATION, e.g. join group lor tongue.gif

Added on September 23, 2011, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(GrandElf @ Sep 23 2011, 10:39 AM)
Hi there every1...

Just wanna ask something here....what is the best month/day to visit taiwan next year??Planning for next year......and approximately how many days should I be able to almost finish visit all around taiwan??

TY for reply...^^
My own personal recommendation,
go by End Feb /March. You get higher chance to see Sakura

Added on September 23, 2011, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 22 2011, 10:32 AM)
V-Day = Valentine lor...For me I dun find any romantic restaurants in Taiwan worthwhile lor..Anyway, I think the most famous probably the Lovers bridge at Dansui? Probably restaurant facing this bridge? The skyline of Taipei also so-so nia..KL skyline much better esp V-day on top of Skybar overlooking KL skyline..Taipei sklyline worst than any cities in china  biggrin.gif
Cities suitable for V-day - Hong Kong, Macau, Venice, Paris & those European cities..not Taiwan wor..
Skyline at Taipei 101? IMO, i think it's Okay. But Its quite personal...But they do provide Tourney equipment, let you understand each direction of view. I believe KL doesn't have these stuff.
I enjoy the moment in the lift. Guess how many seconds from ground to top?

Added on September 23, 2011, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Sep 23 2011, 10:07 AM)
Jiufen is crowded no matter it's weekday or weekend. worst is when it's raining! romantic places maybe can consider hot spring brows.gif but as aiyume say, if 2 person in love, go anywhere also romantic one lo...

regret that i din go with my bf. went with my colleague and we have diff interest, so i was quite mehhh throughout the whole trip, come to the last 3 days i was pretty homesick lo! haha.

definitely will go back taiwan again with the bf, hopefully for pre-wed photo shoot tongue.gif
You need to know when is the right time to go JiuFen. Luckily i do, so no need to "Jam" with crowds
If you have good stamina, ride bicycle is a very good idea, as you can enjoy very good view while riding. But... beware for the narrow roads, quite danger sometime

This post has been edited by storm88: Sep 23 2011, 05:08 PM
storm88
post Sep 23 2011, 05:11 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ Sep 22 2011, 10:35 AM)
Really? O Shi~  sweat.gif
Thanks bro, just google-ed some info for some romantic places in taipei hopefully it's not outdated  icon_rolleyes.gif
no problem.
but i really do recommend you this shop:
http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/juicy8914/article?mid=3176

if your GF or wife likes cuttie things, you won't be wrong going this place

p/s: beware ur wallet tongue.gif kaboom~

Added on September 23, 2011, 5:21 pm
QUOTE(aiyume @ Sep 23 2011, 06:11 PM)
so when is the right time?
Try avoid going there by Sat / Sunday, Public holiday
But if you challanging yourself by going there at the stated day, try don't take Bus (however it's cheapest compare to you take Train or HSR *no direct train, need change transit*) and arrive before 11Am.
Crowds start to climb in around 12 / 1pm * from my observation *

Which month you go, also will direct affect the crowd.

Try to go Jiu Fen Old street first, then visit to JIN GUA SHI.

This post has been edited by storm88: Sep 23 2011, 05:35 PM
storm88
post Sep 23 2011, 06:45 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Sep 23 2011, 06:53 PM)
the hello kitty place is overrated IMO.

i'm going jiufen next monday. sweat.gif staying a nite.
Yes. The charges really overated. Basiclly it's a place to gain some experience.
But since Malaysia doesn't own one. Once for a while, doesnt matter i believe smile.gif

Ouch~ next Monday. It's little hot at Taiwan now.
But if not mistaken, there was Earthquake yesterday near HUA LIAN, East Taiwan.

storm88
post Sep 23 2011, 10:28 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Sep 23 2011, 09:43 PM)
Starting October, Taipei will become colder.
Typically the weather is the hottest around July.
Last year October, i was at Taipei for a while. The temperature there is still very hot, and dry too! If memory serve me well, it was 30C

furthermore, this year the climate has change alot, i guess November will be hot too
storm88
post Sep 24 2011, 11:40 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Sep 24 2011, 07:12 PM)
going to taiwan this november..booked Ecfa hotel using booking.com..anyone got stay in that hotel be4??
mind to provide the hotel's website?
most taiwan hotel has website smile.gif
storm88
post Sep 25 2011, 12:03 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Sep 25 2011, 12:57 AM)
shud be this one http://www.ecfa-hotel.com/home.html
cant confirm coz i book from "booking.com", not from the website  biggrin.gif
it's not too cheap, however it's close to Xi Men Ding
It should be fine by the looking

This post has been edited by storm88: Sep 25 2011, 12:03 AM
storm88
post Sep 28 2011, 11:40 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(ayashiyin @ Sep 26 2011, 03:09 PM)
Any1 went to Window on China or Doraemon Park before? Worth to visit? Can advice how to go there? Thanks
never visit to Window or china park. no comment
Doraemon park at taoyuan looks okay. But depend on certain people.
u can always ask for friendly tour guide center everywhere at taiwan for direction

p/s: make sure u can speak mandarin

Added on September 28, 2011, 11:41 am
QUOTE(Assassin @ Sep 26 2011, 08:19 PM)
Plan to go Taipei early Feb next year after CNY. Do all the shops close during that time and hotel more expensive?
it slightly go higher for the hotel.
And not really. Taiwan shops don't close all day
for some street, they are very crowded too!

Added on September 28, 2011, 11:44 am
QUOTE(infrasonic @ Sep 26 2011, 04:11 PM)
anyone tried the 'stinky tofu' from taiwan before? i heard ppl said that the smell is horrible but the taste veri nice..feels like trying it, but then my parents told me it's dirty  sweat.gif
It depends.
If you cant accept local version of stinky toufu at all, you can't accept Taiwan version
The smell of taiwan version get more mixture compare to local one. I called local "the lauya version stinky toufu"

But atlast, Hongkong one still the best.
the most "busuk" yet most delicious

Added on September 28, 2011, 11:46 am
QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 26 2011, 07:56 PM)
The so called sales is on now...

Depart
    D7 372 Kuala Lumpur (KUL) to Taipei (TPE)
    Wednesday, 10 October 2012
    Depart 0950 Arrive 1440

Promo (KUL - TPE)
    508.00 MYR 2 Guest @ 254.00 MYR
    50.00 MYR Airport Tax
    100.00 MYR Fuel Surcharge

Return
    D7 373 Taipei (TPE) to Kuala Lumpur (KUL)
    Wednesday, 17 October 2012
    Depart 1545 Arrive 2035

Promo (TPE - KUL)
    448.00 MYR 2 Guest @ 224.00 MYR
    140.00 MYR Airport Tax and Fees
    100.00 MYR Fuel Surcharge

1,346.00 MYR

Expensive?
it doesn't consider very cheap. but cheaper than normal rate.
But try to stick your eyes on MAS or Cathay. you'll get very nice rate at sub RM800
(better food, better service, better convenience and also better AIR STEWARDESS biggrin.gif)

Added on September 28, 2011, 11:48 am
QUOTE(kons @ Sep 25 2011, 07:46 PM)
Deduct hotels and transport, basic necessities should not be more than TWD 5k.
I tried 10 days/9 nights in Taipei, spent less than TWD 3k on eating.
You very save $ in taipei.
i always spend more than 60K of TWD there...

This post has been edited by storm88: Sep 28 2011, 11:48 AM
storm88
post Sep 30 2011, 10:58 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Sep 29 2011, 02:02 PM)
What is the best period to visit taiwan? I was plan to go there for 14 days by next year.. Hope can get some opinion from you guys..  thumbup.gif
Best time, i would say Feb~ March. (my personal favour)
Or Mid march~ Early April also not bad
storm88
post Oct 6 2011, 04:02 PM

5,595 posts

just remind you guys something.

Remember to exchange your Taiwan Dollar, locally. Don't go there and exchange. You'll cry.gif

but if you got excessive TWD left when u coming back, can sell to the money exchange at TYAP, you can get better rate
storm88
post Oct 6 2011, 06:35 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 6 2011, 05:26 PM)
You probably go and change NT$ using RM haha.. As advised, change to US$ 1st or change here although rate is bad well atleast RM to NT$ still better here rather than RM to NT$ at taiwan.
No. I didnt do that.

I doing business there and i monitor currency exchange frequently.
And its NOT ADVISIBLE to change ur RM to USD and then change TWD at taiwan. You get less than changing directly RM to TWD
storm88
post Oct 7 2011, 09:03 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 6 2011, 10:02 PM)
It's proven strategy wor..just check the calculation I posted on pg 1.. There is link to real-time Airport exhange rate & here for comparison  smile.gif
Your strategy... i ever tried this method years ago.
But end up?
one word TROUBLE

Taking current exchange rate,

Say, wanted to buy TWD 10,000,
Your method:
TWD<->USD : 330.57 (30.25)
USD<->RM : 1065+/- (3.217) (incl charges at Taiwan)

Local exchange method:
TWD<->RM: RM1045+/- (10.46) Base on the rate i saw at Mid valley 2 days ago)

buying TWD10,000 you lost RM20+/-, the more you go with your method, the more you lost

Your method might works sometime, but it's so depend on certain situation. So for me, i would hold my horse

This post has been edited by storm88: Oct 7 2011, 09:16 AM
storm88
post Oct 7 2011, 04:27 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Oct 7 2011, 12:05 PM)
where did u see the 10.45 rate in Midvalley? Every shop I check in MV is asking for RM10.85 for TWD100

If I change RM1000 to TWD in Midvalley I get ~TWD9216 (rate is 10.85 for TWD100)

Alternatively for RM1000, I get ~USD315 (rate is RM3.17 for USD1)
Based on http://rate.bot.com.tw/Pages/Static/UIP003.en-US.htm, they will buy USD at TWD30.19500 so i get TWD9511.

So I get nearly TWD300 extra, so minus the TWD30 charge mentioned by stimix, i still come out ahead.
MV do have those few money changer only. They post the same rate.

Anyhow, it's up to you which method you wanted to use. wink.gif

storm88
post Oct 10 2011, 10:33 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 7 2011, 06:29 PM)
Anyway, the amt you save from doing conversion from RM to USD & To NT$ in Taiwan is ~ RM30 per every RM1000 you change.. If you feel thios amt is small, yeah changin g direct RNMto NT$ also can up to you
i think you a little bit not getting my meaning.
okay maybe i just share my experience. The method i used:

1. Traveller Cheques
2. Buy TWD locally
3. Buy Euro and convert TWD at Taiwan
4. Buy USD and convert to TWD at Taiwan
5. Buy TWD locally, but end up exchange extra TWD with RM at TWD (The most not worthy)
6. Activate Via ATM with HSBC
7. Have a account at Taiwan and Transfer $ oversea <- i uses this method now

I tried so many method, And Euro and US method sometime works, sometime not. It's not stable and that's what i trying to said this can't be categorized as PROVEN method

Added on October 10, 2011, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 10 2011, 11:52 AM)
crazy meh? Impossible for money changer of having rate 10% lower than market rate of ~ 10.3.. If true better fast wor, that Money changer habis liao
it's possible if its a bargain rate smile.gif

Added on October 10, 2011, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(aiyume @ Oct 10 2011, 11:14 AM)
9.25 seems to be too good to be true. if it's me i dun think i wanna change there. better find a reputable money changer.
9.25? its not possible la. few years back lowest i seen was 10.1x

Added on October 10, 2011, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(ruzzlacwe @ Oct 10 2011, 10:54 AM)
hi guys
I ll be going Taiwan next month
and been checking out on currency exchange
understand that the best is to change myr to USD then from USD to ntd at taoyuan airport

i ve two questions
- the USD had been strengthening against the myr past weeks
will it be better to change myr to ntd here instead?

-this is on money changer. I read the thread on currency exchange which states that there are lotsa good ones at bb plaza. I went there yesterday to check the rate. most are selling at the standard 10.8 rate
however there was one that stood out, with a pink signboard i think. it was selling at 9.25  

have any of u came across a money changer offering exceptionally good rate at bb plaza? I'm wondering if it is dodgy....cos it seems pretty good
USD is shooting up recently especially these few weeks. You monitor the movement. If not you might end up paying extra, also paying extra time for same work.

btw, Saying about next month, i might be at Taipei already. See got chance to be tour guide anot tongue.gif

This post has been edited by storm88: Oct 12 2011, 04:59 PM
storm88
post Oct 29 2011, 10:47 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Bkboy @ Oct 28 2011, 10:38 PM)
any sifus here that live in taipei? if tumpang beli ticket concert + postage to malaysia before december ....cause no patience waitting them reply my mail so slow..pm me pls thx
what tic you looking to buy?

Added on October 29, 2011, 10:49 am
QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 29 2011, 08:55 AM)
The illegal cab guys in the airport already telling you not to take cab liao haha.. I was offered NT$1200 or ~ RM120 to Taipei from Taoyuen...darmn..I opted for NT100 bus instead
Uhn? I tot TIAP <->Taipei Bus costs around TWD300+/-?
Seldom see illegal Cab now adays at airport now. they kinda tight on this when renovation started

Added on October 29, 2011, 10:50 am
QUOTE(ruzzlacwe @ Oct 28 2011, 07:24 PM)
from what I gather, yes they accept but u will be charged ntf100 or ntd200 for every USD100

lol I'm only going there next month but came across this info online
b bare in mind, many of them do accept USD new bill only

This post has been edited by storm88: Oct 29 2011, 10:50 AM
storm88
post Oct 29 2011, 11:42 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Bkboy @ Oct 29 2011, 12:00 PM)
shy la....nvm dy already faxed my detail and payment liao...thx biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
LOL don't tell me it's AV show tongue.gif

This post has been edited by storm88: Oct 29 2011, 11:43 AM
storm88
post Nov 7 2011, 08:09 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Nov 7 2011, 08:52 PM)
Looking for budget hotels in this area: 台北市八德路四段
Any nice, decent, cheap hotel suggestion? Need to stay there about 3 or 4 nights next year Jan 2012. Not sure whether its a gud time to visit taiwan anot?!
how much is your budget / night?
Early Jan will be a very cold at Taiwan.. not really recommended unless you have to

This post has been edited by storm88: Nov 7 2011, 08:27 PM
storm88
post Nov 8 2011, 11:00 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Nov 7 2011, 09:32 PM)
Budget less than RM150 per night!
I check temperature in d past around Jan would be +/- 17'C. Correct me if wrong!? Starting feb would be rainy season i guess...
I email BestHotel, no reply since last week. Wonder any other hotel would you suggest for 2 pax?
there are pretty many choices for a RM150 budget nearby Zhongshan Airport area.
u can take a look:
http://www.hoteltraveltaiwan.com/
http://hotel.network.com.tw/

quite alot information you can get there.

for the temperature wise, i think it'll getting even colder, if rain even FAR colder. Prepare some cloth to keep yourself warm

storm88
post Nov 13 2011, 11:11 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Nov 8 2011, 05:50 PM)
Any hotel suggestion? Or any of you had try some nearby? I've been through many site of the information regarding the hotels but due to limited pictures, it cause me bit hard to decide which one is better?!
Well, yes it was cold. The temperature shows around 17'C, roughly like Genting Highlands at night. But if the wind consistently blow at u at lower temp, soon or later its may freeze u up... So i m guess a jacket, long sleeve, scarf, socks, glove shud be sufficient ...

How long you heading there?
sorry. can't help you much as i seldom stay at that area.

I think 17C is somehow even COLDER than genting highlands. So don't try challenge the weather.
and yes, you should get yourself at least jacket, scarf and glove

Added on November 13, 2011, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(ukiya @ Nov 10 2011, 09:13 PM)
Yeah... Its cheaper! Cheaper rate I bought was at NT35 for scarf. But this price way back around 2009. But Can you last/tahan that long until you buy it at Taiwan?
Buying warm keeping stuff at Taiwan is soooo convenient, and price is fair enough. I think wait until you buy at Taiwan is not an issue

Added on November 13, 2011, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(Mercedes @ Nov 11 2011, 11:57 AM)
Just came back from Taipei.  The weather there is nothing but hot, hot and HOT!  It was hot in the city and when we went to Yeliou Geopark.  But it was raining when we got to YangMingShan, so we didn't really get to see much.  YangMingShan and Yeliou is a definite "must see".  Will go back for YangMingShan the next time I'm in Taiwan.
Taiwan now is no doubt very hot, and dry!
YMS doesn't have much thing to see now. The best time to go is within March til June. Especially end May is the Lily season!

Added on November 13, 2011, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Nov 11 2011, 11:17 PM)
Aii climate change d, the world is going nuts. Don't think it wil be that cold in jan d. That sucks
No. I think Jan/Feb should in Taiwan should getting more and more colder than it was before. (due to climate change)
remember back at year 2009 Late Jan/ Early Jan , YMS snowing

Added on November 13, 2011, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(OnOne @ Nov 13 2011, 12:50 AM)
what is the must try thing/food when u guys at taipei??will be going next going next week
i suggest you must try their Taiwanese crystal pear and fruits. Big, juicy, sweat and most importantly, CHEAP

Buying back ey?
凤梨酥

Added on November 13, 2011, 11:22 pm
QUOTE(terryykf @ Nov 13 2011, 03:01 PM)
Hi guys,

We need help here.
We will be going to Taiwan again on March 2012 for 7days 6nights.
In a group pf 13 people,free and easy trip.
Last year me and my wife went to Taiwan for honeymoon,we stayed at Cityinn hotel at Huai Ning Street. Next year we plan to stay at  the same hotel again. Hotel rate is about TW1790 per night, some of our friends feels that it's quite expensive. Any good recommendation or not for other hotel choices?
City inn hotel at ZHONGZHENG district you mean? herm.. not very convenient summore...
i strongly recommend you this:
http://yotong.ffh.com.tw/
rate from 14xx, a 2 star hotel, but more than enough for a stay.
All basic stuff you need in a stay, also free internet.
with 13 people for 7 days 6 night stay, they will provide Limo pickup.

Most important, very convenient. Just in front of the plaza there goes a MRT station

This post has been edited by storm88: Nov 13 2011, 11:22 PM
storm88
post Nov 14 2011, 11:10 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 14 2011, 04:56 PM)
For temperature not less than 10C, no need scarf & glove-lah. Only if below 10c or even lower, you need a scarf. Glove if below 5C

Added on November 14, 2011, 4:03 pmIf strong wind, the 17C can drop to 13C and will be hily but still no need scarf & glove-lah...Anyway, at 17C without wind is actualy nice temperature and almost similar to ~ 21C in CH/Genting not the other way round.. Over there it is dry but Genting is wet & cool.

I just came back from Beijing.. on avg Afternoon- Evening temperature avg 14C and nite & early Morning ~ 6- 10C. Still no need scarf & glove even Nite & early Morning.. OK only.. but once temp drop to 5C, yes need scarf liao. normal glove also can at 5C & below
scarf or glove anot, i think it's quite personal. Let say if you can tahan 1 hour 16C aircond, you might have no problem staying out there at Taiwan. If not, trust me, dont try...

Taiwan's climate is dry at Dec/Jan...

This post has been edited by storm88: Nov 14 2011, 11:12 PM

0.0365sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:05 PM