Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

ryan18
post Jan 3 2012, 02:54 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(petersiow @ Dec 31 2011, 04:21 PM)
Hi guys. need some advice from you all, i going to taiwan on february. i need some idea,

from kenting to taroko need how long, if we travel by van?

From taroko to tapei need how long?

Is it sufficient if we just spend half day at taroko? Around 6 to 7 hour?

Thank for your kindly advise..
taroko (hualien) to taipei using taroko express train is about 2-3hr
ryan18
post Jan 7 2012, 10:27 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Jan 7 2012, 09:21 PM)
hey guys...

Beside getting Digital Tour Buddy, is there any other way to get a 3G Prepaid Sim Card in TW? How much? Where to apply for it!?
http://english.taiwanmobile.com/english/pr...repaidCard.html

Added on January 7, 2012, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jan 7 2012, 10:27 PM)
taiwan mobile myfone outlets.easiest to get from airport
350NT for every 5 days of unlimited data then prepaid minutes & text of top of that.

This post has been edited by ryan18: Jan 7 2012, 10:42 PM
ryan18
post Jan 13 2012, 02:32 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Jan 13 2012, 01:29 PM)
Not a lot to see in Taichung. There Feng Chia night market, supposedly the biggest in Taiwan.
sun moon lake is also in taichung i think but not in the city are
ryan18
post Jan 18 2012, 02:32 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 17 2012, 04:40 PM)
one way rm40 mar... so both way about rm80 lor? okla not rm100 haha. rm20 can be used for other stuff.

ahhh.. i see.. how long did you take for that? previously i tour whole island use 7 days. and dunno my friends interested in fo guang shan or not.lol
last time i tour whole island is 6day since 1st and last day is arrival and departure so go nowhere else but airport lol.went to taipei,yilan,hualien,kaohshiung,taichung and back to taipei
ryan18
post Jan 26 2012, 12:27 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 25 2012, 10:07 AM)
some do and may charge a small fee.
the hotels that i went do provide the adapters and they charge a NTD100 deposit which will be refunded when you return the adapters
ryan18
post Feb 15 2012, 11:29 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 15 2012, 11:13 PM)
any airlines that fly to taiwan besides AA/mas/cathay? thanks.
China Airlines,EVA Airways
there are more airlines like TransAsia,Jetstar Asia/Tiger Airways if you fly from singapore.and THAI Airways also flies to taiwan if you dont mind transiting in Bangkok

This post has been edited by ryan18: Feb 15 2012, 11:35 PM
ryan18
post Mar 20 2012, 10:15 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 20 2012, 09:58 PM)
Is one day enough to visit Hua Lien?Do i need to stay over night?

What about Sun Moon Lake? Is it advisable to stay one night there? Or around Puli/Taichung?
hua lien only to see the toroko gorge and perhaps the farglory resort
sun moon lake can complete in 1day
ryan18
post Apr 7 2012, 10:34 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 7 2012, 08:53 PM)
is it feasible if i book all my accomodation through agoda? or do you guys have better recommendations? thanks smile.gif
holidaycity,zuji,asiatravel etc shop around to see which one offer the best rate
ryan18
post Apr 8 2012, 02:48 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Apr 8 2012, 01:53 PM)
I need help on itinerary on 14 days trip.
17 April arrived Taiwan Airport
busy till
21 April Night

22 April
Morning no plan yet
3pm Wu Fen Pu
Night no plan yet

23 April
Check out taipei
Morning Yeh Lui Geopark
Noon Transit at KeeLong to JuiFen
Check in Windsor at 2-3pm
Noon Gold Ecology park
Night KeeLong Night Market

24 April
JingTong
PingXi
Shi Fen
JuiFen old town shop till close shop

25 April (Relax Day) @Yilan
12 Noon checkout Winsir
2pm LouDong Rothenburg Lodge
3pm LouDong Water park
6pm LouDong Night Market

26 April
11pm Checkout Rothenburg Lodge
12pm Go back Taipei.

Should I go taichong for sun moon lake  and Hualien ?
Also how to go to Hualien ? I see stimix go by bullet train but i dont see hualien station.
Any bus from Yilan to Tai Chung without passing taipei?

Till
30 April 2pm flight.
hualien is go by taroko express not the orange colour bullet train
ryan18
post Apr 14 2012, 08:26 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(evanyi @ Apr 13 2012, 04:32 PM)
Excited... I'm going to taiwan next Thursday!!! cant wait!
whats the weather ya? I see weather forecast, looks like raining and cloudy weather.. anyone there atm?

Also, how much if i were to buy the prepaid card from TaiwanMobile (da ge da) cos need it to surf internet and call back.

Thanks!
NTD$450 or 500 for 7days unlimited internet + call credit few hundred
buy at airport is the most convenience one
ryan18
post Apr 16 2012, 06:21 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(evanyi @ Apr 16 2012, 05:45 PM)
Thanks! That's which telco ya?

Anyone here interested to sell their micro sim?
I heard the queue to buy the sim card is really long cos they need passport n ic for registration.

Anyone? Thanks!!
taiwan mobile or ta ge da!
ryan18
post Apr 16 2012, 08:21 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(evanyi @ Apr 16 2012, 06:50 PM)
thanks for your reply!

Sorry but i am abit confused, i saw a forumer (fogot its LYN or tripadvisorr), we have to buy the prepaid simcard for 650$NT and from the 650$ deduct the 5day plan of 350$NT.. Issit?

Or can buy 350NT$ sim card for 5day?

bit confusing.. ;(
http://english.taiwanmobile.com/english/pr.../broadRate.html
yes have to buy the prepaid simcard for 650 then from there deduct the 5day plan 350
ryan18
post Apr 16 2012, 08:25 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(Dark Master @ Apr 16 2012, 08:22 PM)
I going to taiwan next month. I curious about this issue too. 7 day unlimited internet, how is the coverage over there ?  tongue.gif
hm from what i researched around here n there haha, coverage is good.even in places like alishan up in the mountain also got coverage.so if you are only in around large cities like taipei,kaohshiung,taichung,etc its covered well
and the speed is a lot faster than what we get in msia too haha
ryan18
post Jul 24 2012, 10:16 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 24 2012, 06:16 PM)
Well it's about 11km away from City Hall station. The nearest one would be the zoo mrt but i didnt try that one. I took the cab a few times and it costed me about 210/230 etc. NTD so I rounded it up to RM25 la. This area is considered remote actually.

erm should be 300-400NTD for my room but its all covered under my symposium.
did you made a typo?holiday inn cant be that cheap 3000-4000NTD maybe
update:I did a price check on Holiday Inn website cheapest from NTD2688

BTW if anyone is a night owl or feels like reading a book in the middle of the night or 3am there is a 24 hour Eslite at Dunhua south Road.
kinda sad I didnt manage to visit this huge 24 hour bookstore when i was in taiwan

This post has been edited by ryan18: Jul 24 2012, 10:28 PM

0.2259sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:18 AM