12,573 posts

Somebody got new toys whistling.gif
-kytz-
post Jun 4 2011, 08:11 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 4 2011, 05:47 PM)
Friend just got one last 2 weekends at Rm3.8k for kit package.
D7000 body only at RM3k is really yummy drool.gif
-kytz-
post Jun 5 2011, 01:40 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jun 5 2011, 01:33 PM)
Gaodem your morning session already? biggrin.gif

I had used automatic ISO setting. Lowest SS at 1/80 and highest ISO at 1600. Flash set to i-TTL and flash sync 1/250. Flash aimed straight up and sometime one step towards the front. I tried shooting at aperture 5.6 and 8 also getting the background (further part) of the ballroom darkened as if there's no light sad.gif
What's this flash sync at 1/250?
-kytz-
post Jun 5 2011, 09:37 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jun 5 2011, 06:33 PM)
When it state "weather sealed", what's the definition of it? The body of it will be able to withstand moisture, rain, snow, etc.?

CY, how do you shoot wedding in a ballroom? Example when the bridegroom moving from one table to another table for yum seng? When I fire them with bounce flash (ceiling since it's not high) or using diffuser (the DFD), the back of the image will be darkened as if there's no light. What can I do to bring them up?
This is where understand and practical experience on exposure comes into play. Learning how to mix existing exposure with foreground flash from your flashgun is crucial to get the best lighting.

My advice, always always always take a test shot before hand. Check your picture to ascertain whether ambient exposure is enough. If not, crank up that Exposure Compensation(EC) up to +1 or +2. Once that's done, it's time to check your flash settings. Play around with the Flash Exposure Compensation(FEC) to get the optimum output. Take a test shot with a friend or something and try TTL @ let's say 8 feet away. Adjust the power accordingly. Then ask your friend to move back a bit to let's say 14 feet. Try increasing the power until you get the correct power.

So when it's time for a group shot, you probably can know how much power to use.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jun 5 2011, 06:57 PM)
I'm afraid if I used big aperture, some of the details may be blurred out. Still did not have much idea which f value to use when shooting. Right now, I use f/8 for big group shot. Small group will be like f/4~5.6.

SS lowest I set to 1/60.
You gotta understand DOF more bro.

What focal length were you using? At 18mm the DOF is large enough, so even at it's widest aperture of f/3.5(assuming you're using a kit lens) can get everyone into focus. If you're using a UWA at let's say 11mm, even at f/2.8 you still can get everyone in focus since DOF big as well smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jun 6 2011, 01:06 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(speedbird90 @ Jun 6 2011, 12:50 AM)
Hi guys, I'm looking to buy my first semi-pro camera. I've narrowed it down to the Nikon p300.

Was very impressed by it's features and most importantly it's price RM1198 at Sunway Pyramid, the guy was willing to sell it to me for rm1150.

Any feedback on this model before I buy it?
Semi Pro camera?

I'd rather you get a proper DSLR to be honest, if you're really serious into getting really good picture quality biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Jun 6 2011, 01:25 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jun 6 2011, 01:15 AM)
Yeah this pic poison me too

Cacing nak jadi Naga laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Jun 25 2011, 04:55 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(scorpio94 @ Jun 25 2011, 04:54 PM)
Enough smile.gif
Having more MP and Tilty Swively screen doesn't make it "better" than an older semi pro body laaa laugh.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jun 25 2011, 04:56 PM
-kytz-
post Jul 8 2011, 10:56 PM

12,573 posts

Seriously though, the lousy AF performance of the VC version on my 550D sucks so badly that I immediately SOLD it the next day of purchase.

Freaking slow to focus, much worse than kit lens, in fact probably 2x slower and not to mention the noisy VC motor. To top it off, more expensive, heavier, bigger lens filter thread= means more $$$, and a VC motor which had a history of having failures, etc.

I'd definitely NOT recommend it for Action Photography sweat.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 8 2011, 11:06 PM

12,573 posts

Pro shooters like HeartPatrick shoots with a Tamron 17-50 non VC what? So who are we to complain so much? smile.gif smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 8 2011, 11:47 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(david9 @ Jul 8 2011, 11:14 PM)
Thanks for telling me the different of official set and grey set . Nikon user here gonna use third party lens because nikkor 17-55 f2.8 is too expensive !!!
The difference between official and grey set is just about the same as the difference between original and AP sets for our Mobile Phones smile.gif

One more reason not to consider the Nikkor 17-55 is because it lacks VR smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 8 2011, 11:53 PM

12,573 posts

And there's also this Futoromic festival of some sort, where you can buy Tamron lenses and get 2+2 years warranty thumbup.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 9 2011, 12:01 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(david9 @ Jul 8 2011, 11:58 PM)
How about buying it through shashinki online ?
One of the more expensive places to get lenses.

http://shashinki.com/shop/tamron-1750mm-as...tor-p-1191.html

Fancy a RM1550 lens with only 1 year warranty from Shashinki?

Street price is only RM1150 with 2 years Futuromic warranty mind you smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 9 2011, 12:30 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 9 2011, 12:03 AM)
Where to get RM1150? What I know is, most shop selling lowest is around RM1250; RM100 is a lot of difference.

EDIT: Aiks, one of the model/girl you shot is the same one as aldo, and if not wrong, wearing the same outfit?
One shop near the entrance of Digital Mall on the left side, just after Foto Flash smile.gif

There's also a forummer in LYN selling it at RM1200 Futuromic Set smile.gif

QUOTE(david9 @ Jul 9 2011, 12:03 AM)
sweet !

Added on July 9, 2011, 12:04 am

serious where is it ? I dun mind driving from seremban to kl if it's in kl area and saves me RM300++
See my reply above smile.gif

Or if you don't mind 1 year warranty by shop, you can get it around RM1100 from Foto Shangrila, or from our LYN forumer here: mitmivec smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 9 2011, 12:41 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 9 2011, 12:38 AM)
That shop, the last I check was RM1250 (same as J-One); probably need to "bargain".

Anyway, thanks~
He straight away gave me that price haha tongue.gif Was also asking prices for other lenses so I hope he don't get mixed up sweat.gif

And btw, yeah me and Aldo went for the same photoshoot smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 9 2011, 01:47 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 9 2011, 01:25 AM)
You check Canon version? I suppose should be same price right? Maybe I look like "water fish", or noob  cry.gif  tongue.gif
I think the price drop already since the last time you checked la biggrin.gif

Currently negotiating to get a 2nd hand 17-50 non VC @RM850 with 1 year warranty left tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 9 2011, 08:07 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 9 2011, 02:11 PM)
You get what you pay for. In terms of focusing speed, Tamron has always been known to be slow. Sigma is faster amongst 3rd party brands. But in terms of quality, Tamron makes quite good glasses.
That was the VC version.

But the non VC version which has a faster AF, sharper, less noisy, less weight/size is cheaper? Not really a case of " You get what you pay for" because the cheaper alternative is better! With the exception of VC smile.gif

Subject and composition matters. Besides he does not shoot fast action. More landscape and models that have the time to pose for him.

I hope you do know HeartPatrick shoots Weddings+ AD as well right? smile.gif

http://www.heartpatrick.com/wedjoclare.html
http://www.heartpatrick.com/wedrobinwinnie.html
http://www.heartpatrick.com/wedelsa.html
http://www.heartpatrick.com/wededmondshiaolie.html

To name a few.. smile.gif

Sorry but while your other postings are spot one, this one I think that's the most silly reason.  doh.gif

Perhaps I should have rephrased it into "One of the cons of the Nikkor 17-55 is that it doesn't have VR" smile.gif

0.0505sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:29 PM