Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V10, The dark lord continues

celciuz
post Jun 15 2011, 07:36 AM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jun 14 2011, 10:55 PM)
Yeah!  I finally SOLVED my issue. After days of fiddling around, the culprit was a small windows update on my Samsung monitor driver (samsung 2233sw) by Micro$oft!
My windows update installed a driver update : "Samsung - Display SyncMaster 2233SB, SyncMaster Magic CX2233SB(Digital)"

After I roll back the driver for my monitor and simply use the default win7 monitor driver. Everything is back to normal! biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
Thanks CY, vearn, vincent for your tips ... *phew ...boy I'm glad now*  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
No problem smile.gif

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jun 14 2011, 11:12 PM)
I noticed there are several versions of Nikon 85mm f1.4? Which is the best and how much it costs? Could someone enlighten me? Thought of getting a 85mm f1.4 G.
The best so far, 85mm f/1.4G. Color, AF accuracy...

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jun 15 2011, 01:00 AM)
Yea, the price of the D is pretty close to G. By all means one shot go G.

No moolah buy D3x or S la. Probably will settle with a cheapo D700 first. How much a SB900 flashbang would cost?
SB900 goes for about 1550~1600.
celciuz
post Jun 15 2011, 11:00 AM

14,035 posts

f/1.2 primes with AF! < Something Nikon doesn't have yet...
celciuz
post Jun 15 2011, 03:10 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jun 15 2011, 02:53 PM)
Nothing to shout about. I would not pay so much for a f/1.2.

For a 58mm f/1.2 Noct, that's a different matter.  biggrin.gif
24mm is not that wide on FX. 35mm on FX is quite nice actually.

Street price? Pretty much everywhere I ask, these are the prices I get. RM 4.9k for the 35mm f/1.4 and RM 6.5k for the 24mm f/1.4.  icon_question.gif
Thanks for the feedback especially on the bit about no surcharge on CC. Perhaps you bought other extra stuff?

I've bought more expensive stuff before but some shops still insist on 2% surcharge.  mad.gif 

BTW, congrats on the new lens.
If I want to view pics only, I would be more concerned about the quality of the screen. Not how many apps can be supported.
I would insta grab the 50mm f/1.2 with AF if it is available >_< But price tag cannot be too jialat.. maybe about 5k since Canon's about that?
celciuz
post Jun 15 2011, 03:37 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 15 2011, 03:25 PM)
Is it ok to mount grey color lens on a black body? looks weird or not.

I've got a Nikkor 28-80mm f/3.3-5.6G kit lens from my old film slr..seems this lens got rave review by ken rockwell..

i remember i got 50mm f/1.8D AF for only RM3xx++ 10 years ago...now price shoot to 600 haha.
50mm f/1.8D is still about RM3xx. 600+ is the new 50mm f/1.8G.
celciuz
post Jun 15 2011, 08:49 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Jun 15 2011, 05:34 PM)
Anyone going to super gt this weekend?
I'll be there laugh.gif No media pass tho >(
celciuz
post Jun 15 2011, 09:44 PM

14,035 posts

Yeap, if you're a media from relevant segments you can apply for it.
celciuz
post Jun 15 2011, 10:25 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jun 15 2011, 10:16 PM)
Heard last time you can get the vest by paying RM700 or so laugh.gif
RM800 if not mistaken, not worth paying that much -.-
celciuz
post Jun 16 2011, 07:13 AM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jun 15 2011, 10:32 PM)
A friend of mine said you can get the all access pass for free if you're of one the race control marshals but the only downside is that you have to be at the track around 4am and can only go back around 10pm or so. Been offered by my friend before but dont think i can survive a weekend with that working hour laugh.gif
Nice... but that means you're stuck inside... no water later pengsan tongue.gif

QUOTE(gnome @ Jun 15 2011, 10:44 PM)
lol the all access pass also let you mingle around the paddock area with teams and those gt queens so its not that bad right brows.gif

My friend used to do it in the early days of japan gt but got bored after a while since less and lesser japanese gt queen comes here, teams using local models instead laugh.gif
Got teams using local RQ? I don't think so, all the RQ comes from Japan.. local ones belong to the booths...

QUOTE(scotty @ Jun 15 2011, 11:04 PM)
Bro pm me your contact
PM-ed you.

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jun 16 2011, 12:10 AM)
Thanks for the info mate. Target locked on 85mm f1.4 G.
I used to have 3 systems, then discarded everything and left Canon. Now butt itchy wanna get back Nikon.
FishEye 8-16mm, Tilt Shift lenses, f1.0 and f1.2 wicked lenses, plenty more. smile.gif
Yesh
Buy buy buy! LoLz
Plenty of Nikonians would buy 50mm f1.2 anytime if it's available compared to jumping and getting a 58mm f1.2 biggrin.gif
Yea, Canon's is somewhere around there. The 85mm f1.2 is crazy.
Anticipating for the 50mm f/1.2 AF version from Nikon, the old 50mm f/1.2 AiS (MF) beats the crap out of the newer 50mm f/1.4D and even 50mm f/1.4G :S.
celciuz
post Jun 16 2011, 09:01 AM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jun 16 2011, 08:56 AM)
Dear all sifus,

So, I bought the 50mm 1.8g and try to shoot with it.

1) I’m sure my subject was in focus, why some pic being sharp and some being blur? Is it because I shake and cost blur? It seems no such blur when I use the kitlens, is it because the way I hold the camera? The new lens no VR?

2) What is the dial in the middle of the lens, that’s an infinity sign, then some numbers, and when I focus, the numbers will move, what is it?

Appreciate your input.
1) Show some samples? What shutter speed were you shooting at?

2) That is the distance information, it will show the distance between your focus and your lens.
celciuz
post Jun 16 2011, 06:51 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jun 16 2011, 06:08 PM)
IIRC D300 and up only can meter a non cpu lens, tried my friend samyang 85mm F1.4 non AE version last time and there's no metering on my D90 laugh.gif
Yeap, only for D300 and above. D7000 might have it tho, not quite sure.
celciuz
post Jun 17 2011, 07:54 AM

14,035 posts

Crumpler Singapore Sling by CY Pixels, on Flickr

Yes! Finally obtained this strap which I have been aiming for ages! Special thanks to forumer Kiki-Lala biggrin.gif Will do a review after the Super GT weekend hehehe.
celciuz
post Jun 17 2011, 11:00 AM

14,035 posts

The best is not SU800, its those RP or PW tongue.gif. Radio + TTL -> Win!

IR + TTL --> some misfire at times depending on location.
celciuz
post Jun 17 2011, 02:32 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jun 17 2011, 02:29 PM)
Haha..
Nice pattern there.  thumbup.gif
10.5mm need VR for what?  doh.gif
never seen any fish eye lens with VR, IS, VC, OS, or anything like that.
Not yet, it might come. Remember 16-35 range doesn't have VR up to now, but the Nikkor has it.

celciuz
post Jun 17 2011, 04:47 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jun 17 2011, 03:39 PM)
ani suggestion for wireless trigger...?
plan to play some CLS with my flash...
If you talk about Nikon CLS, your choices are a commander unit, a SU800, or a radio based TTL such as Radiopopper or Pocketwizard.
celciuz
post Jun 17 2011, 07:29 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jun 17 2011, 05:39 PM)
erm...
wireless trigger like phottix or yangnuo ok anot...?
Just to trigger, they work fine. They do not have TTL capability.
celciuz
post Jun 20 2011, 12:07 PM

14,035 posts

Make me itchy wanna post pics jor xD... still organizing my album -.-
celciuz
post Jun 20 2011, 01:36 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jun 20 2011, 12:25 PM)
Damnn regret didn't grab the Pit pass this year!! Arrghh....

Gogogo!! Shot with telecon? Saw u at Super GT but paiseh coz u got bunch of frens following u, lol..... saw u carrying the S.Sling! nice one....
I tried, but I would lost more of the mid body of the car, emm seh dak crop  tongue.gif
LOL, why didn't go in? But this year seems easier to shoot than last year in the pitwalk.. o_O

Ahh? I met up with Ken-ji actually lol. And also met with Scotty.
celciuz
post Jun 20 2011, 02:03 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jun 20 2011, 01:52 PM)
Easier to shoot in terms of wat? Less ppl or security not so tight? U can walk around the track to shoot when they do final tuning n preparation before the race starts rite?
Nope, that's the gridwalk. Pit is only pit.. at designated time only..

QUOTE(andyz @ Jun 20 2011, 01:53 PM)
Super GT Spam  tongue.gif

Grid walk pass? Or media?

I'm sure many photog got this shot since this IS350 was spitting flame at almost all corners before retiring due to engine failure.

SG CHANGI IS350 by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Jun 20 2011, 02:50 PM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jun 20 2011, 02:46 PM)
How u get the grid walk pass??  drool.gif

Sepammmm

Buy smile.gif It was on sale for a while, then other than that you need the GT Club ticket.

Super GT fever, spam too biggrin.gif.

ENEOS SUSTINA SC430 by CY Pixels, on Flickr

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jun 20 2011, 02:50 PM
celciuz
post Jun 20 2011, 06:07 PM

14,035 posts

D7000's color definitely better than D90... its closer to FF than D90 is.

Motortrader by CY Pixels, on Flickr

Hmm, this girl always work for motortrader... any idea who she is?

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0573sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:33 PM