HTC DESIRE HD OFFICIAL THREAD V18, LONGEST THREAD IN ANDROID SECTION

eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 08:35 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Shit... Yesterday night (10 a.m.) i've charged it for 2hours before i slept (Full bar). This morning 7 a.m., the phone is already in 'Off' condition. I have been using this phone for 10 days, any idea why? can i request for 1 to 1 exchange?

Added on June 13, 2011, 8:51 amNo idea why the battery can drain out so fast, from full to zero within 7 hours while i were sleeping, I off wireless connection and signoff my skype before i went to sleep...

This post has been edited by eugenecctan: Jun 13 2011, 08:51 AM
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 09:47 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(snoopy5 @ Jun 13 2011, 09:36 AM)
tis is abnormal bro,u should send it bec to the shop u bought. shocking.gif
SIS set?i think they will replace other new unit for u.last time i accidentally torn my battery cover which i bought for 3 days oni,then i go to ask for a replace from senheng,they replace it wif brand new unit,brand new IMEI  set!!  rclxms.gif
Yes SIS set from DIGI, can i bring back to them? but mine already 10 days... not sure if they allow me to change for a new 1...
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 10:23 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Jun 13 2011, 10:13 AM)
Why u wait so long oni ask about battery life? Overnight from full bar drop to empty is abnormal for any phone ler...

Did you open up your battery usage and see if there's any background app eating away the power?
It is only happening yesterday night... Because I am very sure i already off the wireless and skype app before i went to sleep, but even though if i din do so, not possible possible the battery drain off so fast right? from Full to Zero in 7 hours without using it.

Added on June 13, 2011, 10:30 amInitially i tot something went wrong with the phone... not able to on.. but then I am able to on it back after charging for 30 mins, now it is 70% after 2 and a half hour charging using USB cable. I have checked the battery usage, cell standby 23%, phone idle 21%, Dialer 18%, Android system 18%, Skype 18% and Display 4%(i have set the brightness to less than30%), is that normal? Btw, where should i bring my phone for service? after 10 days usage, do you think they are willing to replace a new phone for me? Actually, yesterday was the first day I am really using this phone for more than 3 hours (intensive usage). Very disappointed with HTC phone now...

Added on June 13, 2011, 10:36 amTo add on, usually when i charged it to 100% before i slept, even with mobile network connected, the next day morning it will still have full bar..
The only difference for yesterday is i'd installed 2 new applications, Skype and ES File Explorer. But I am very very sure i signoff the application before i went to sleep...
:.(

This post has been edited by eugenecctan: Jun 13 2011, 10:36 AM
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 11:02 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Ya.. i suspect that also, i 've installed an application called stop skype. Not sure is it useful. But then, i feel that no matter how power eater the Skype application, still the battery shouldnt drain off in 1 night...
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 11:04 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jun 13 2011, 10:53 AM)
u signed off skype, but did u close it?  it seems skype is using a lot of your battery.  and u should restart your phone and see how the battery is used with a clean start
Btw, i signoff then press on the back button to go into main menu = close right? else how to close it? i did so for all the application, and hate most on gmail because there is no way to close it..
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 11:23 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jun 13 2011, 11:18 AM)
pressing back button doesn't close it unless it ask u whether you want to close the app, some apps have this option, some doesn't.  those that doesn't u need to manually close it (force close) in Manage Applications settings in android menu.  Because skype needs to run in the background (for ppl to receive calls or messages etc) it doesn't have the option to close it.  usually if u didn't close an app, it doesn't have any effect on the battery because android froyo and above manages these apps quite good.  but in some cases, the app itself needs to constantly search and run stuff in the background, like skype, it will search wifi or data connection because it needs these to function, if u don't have internet, it will keep searching.  This is just an example, i'm not suggesting this is what happened to your phone.  BTW i'm using skype also, and when i don't have internet it won't drain the battery so much also.  try restarting the phone and monitor the battery.
hmm, thanks for the suggestion, I'd disable the auto signin immediately after i install the skype application.. shouldnt be this problem.
Anyhow, I will monitor this issue.. So you think i should monitor for maybe another day before bring my phone back to HTC service center, and do you think they are willing to replace for me?
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 02:57 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jun 13 2011, 11:18 AM)
pressing back button doesn't close it unless it ask u whether you want to close the app, some apps have this option, some doesn't.  those that doesn't u need to manually close it (force close) in Manage Applications settings in android menu.  Because skype needs to run in the background (for ppl to receive calls or messages etc) it doesn't have the option to close it.  usually if u didn't close an app, it doesn't have any effect on the battery because android froyo and above manages these apps quite good.  but in some cases, the app itself needs to constantly search and run stuff in the background, like skype, it will search wifi or data connection because it needs these to function, if u don't have internet, it will keep searching.  This is just an example, i'm not suggesting this is what happened to your phone.  BTW i'm using skype also, and when i don't have internet it won't drain the battery so much also.  try restarting the phone and monitor the battery.

and FYI, FRING IS MUCH MUCH BETTER THAN SKYPE..........it has video call, i tried and tested it, and it WORKS!
Hmm, btw, HTC desire HD dun have front camera right? how you do video call? I will try that out, thanks for your information.

Added on June 13, 2011, 2:58 pmAny useful app that can schedule background data, auto sync, wifi and mobile network daily?

This post has been edited by eugenecctan: Jun 13 2011, 02:58 PM
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 03:09 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(TwoJay @ Jun 13 2011, 03:07 PM)
You mean you want to video call? 3g does NOT equal video calling.

As mentioned above, try Fring?
How to make video call using HTC desire HD??? Without front camera..
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 03:17 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(TwoJay @ Jun 13 2011, 03:15 PM)
Can't video call as normal. But I'm guessing Fring can use the back camera since someone mentioned it above? Although yes, it'd be pretty weird to video call considering you can't actually see the screen while looking into the camera..
Haih, so disappointed, i should choosed HTC incredible S rather than this phone. I even paid extra fror this phone. (DIGI plan), the salegirl told me these 2 phones are the same, except 1 with bigger screen.. :S
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 04:04 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Jun 13 2011, 03:34 PM)
for me, i would still go for the larger screen. not that the camera makes much difference....  tongue.gif

and if i'm not mistaken, incredible s doesnt come with 8gb card? but some rumours say incredible has lesser battery life...
Check this ->
http://www.digi.com.my/postpaid/dgfamilypackages.do

Same, both also 8G memory card, anyhow, i changed mine to Class 6. all my application now install in this micro sd card, i think will boost up some performance.. Btw, I tot, incredible S have better battery life than htc desire hd?
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 04:07 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(syuki @ Jun 13 2011, 03:35 PM)
LOL. If video call is your main purpose / priority, why choose DHD..??  rclxub.gif You should double check bro when buying this phone.  rclxub.gif No one force you to buy this phone, it's you.  brows.gif
The digi staff told me both are the same except bigger screen for htc desire HD, i prefer bigger screen, that is why i bought desire hd. smile.gif
Too bad now my gf is at oversea, i wanna do video call with her also cannot.. :..(
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 04:24 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Jun 13 2011, 04:09 PM)
@eugene

wanna sell??  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Serious? :S
I just want to videocall my gf, now no more, both of us are busy now. Ask me again 2molo when i were to call her, most likely i will change my mind.
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 04:27 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(syuki @ Jun 13 2011, 04:14 PM)

Added on June 13, 2011, 4:15 pm@eugenecctan
Oh, I see...~  smile.gif Then what to do, use mirror la to video chat with gf.  laugh.gif
Ok, i will try to enhance my case tonight, with mirror..
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 04:28 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jun 13 2011, 04:26 PM)
@eugene,
Instead of getting Incredible, why not getting the Sensation
Oh, for digi family package RM198, only 2 HTC phones available, HTC incredible S (RM599) and HTC desire HD (RM679)

eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 04:59 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Sifus, Any app that can schedule backgroud data, auto sync, wifi, mobile data, daily?
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 05:14 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jun 13 2011, 05:05 PM)
@eugene,
For auto sync you can set it via Setting --> Account --> then tap on each account and choose your updates interval. For some certain apps, you can set it via individual app's setting

What do you mean by wifi / 3g? If you mean schedule of enabling or disabling wifi / 3g, you could use juice defender or tasker
Yesyes, thanks for the suggestion, i will try out tonight, because usually i only need wifi when i back home. And 3G when i go to work, so i am thinking to schedule them daily. How about Back groud data? possible to schedule also? because I want to off everything, including auto syn while i were sleeping.

Added on June 13, 2011, 5:16 pm
QUOTE(syuki @ Jun 13 2011, 05:04 PM)
3G Watchdog..? ZDbox..?
smile.gif you were asking me or suggest to me? I wan to off everything during night time. E.g. goto airplane mode everynight from 01.00am to 7.00am morning.

This post has been edited by eugenecctan: Jun 13 2011, 05:16 PM
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 05:36 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(TwoJay @ Jun 13 2011, 05:32 PM)
Fixed ph34r.gif
:S, i dun want to change the world. hahaha, thanks for the suggestion. smile.gif
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 09:01 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(syuki @ Jun 13 2011, 05:27 PM)
Suggest..  laugh.gif  I'm sorry.  notworthy.gif

And I really suggest you to try Tasker. Because with this, you can change the whole world phone settings.
Wah, tasker will cost me 6.5 dollars... Any free app?
eugenecctan
post Jun 13 2011, 10:03 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Sien, Google disabled for Mobile network scheduling....

Added on June 13, 2011, 10:18 pmhmmm, just found out, this phone has the worst speaker phone among all the phones i have used b4, is that normal? only me have this problem?

This post has been edited by eugenecctan: Jun 13 2011, 10:18 PM
eugenecctan
post Jun 14 2011, 08:38 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jun 13 2011, 11:05 PM)
u mean u use the loudspeaker and its the worst ? or listening to mp3 ?
Yup, use loudspeaker, not loud at all...

Added on June 14, 2011, 8:41 amI have disable the location service, at the same time, it will disable the local weather at my main window... Why? Can i fixed a location for the weather info?

Added on June 14, 2011, 9:35 amSifus, I have 164 memory available out of 621 MB, 57 apps running, is that normal?
Many apps that I am not using now, e.g. Music , People Mail, touch input , google services framework, gmail, com.htc.provoder.settings, my uploads, DRM protected content storage, setting, HTC sense, android booster, htc report agent, market feedback agent, htc message uploader, facebook, maps, message, internet, market, htc weather wallpaer, news, my downloads providerrosie utility, power schedule, java, locations, sound set, message cdcom.htc.demoflopackageinstaller, skin picker, pico TTS, google partner setup, package access helper,com.htc,gallery, location launcher are all using memory up to 16.7MB -> touch input...
Is this normal? any of these safe to force shutdown? for Facebook, even i have closed it, it will appear to use memory again in some time... i already disable the refresh function in facebook...

This post has been edited by eugenecctan: Jun 14 2011, 09:36 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0185sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:31 AM