PhD vs. Experience, Which come first? Help me to choose one.

[PF] T.J.
post May 27 2011, 10:44 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ May 26 2011, 03:41 AM)
Debatable.

So my question is which one is more important: PhD vs Exp?

HELP PLEASE.
You'll more or less gain experiences while you pursue your phD? hmm.gif
If you're good enough, you won't be treated as fresh grads when you enter the job industry. Conversely, companies may even fight to hire you laugh.gif
Since you're a 1st class student, why not opt for better scholarships?
I'm studying phD as well, a Brightspark scholarship holder, income is RM4.7k per month (no intention of boasting, just want to share with you that there are good scholarships out there that'll make your phD studies more worthwhile) nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 27 2011, 10:44 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 19 2011, 08:49 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ Jul 19 2011, 12:31 AM)
Finally, I made my decision, I will go for fast track PhD in one of our local University. 3-4 years of devotion.

I shall start with proposal writing. Thank you guys for your comments, and point of view.
Grats grats~
Where where? laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 22 2011, 10:38 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(BoonieTan @ Aug 22 2011, 12:40 PM)
Hi and good day all,

I'm studying Biotechnology degree in one of the public University currently, just completed my 1st year, going to enter my 2nd year this september. I plan to further studies after completing my degree. What I have in mind is something to do related with what I am studying now. My problem is that I don't know much about the options I have. I can't seem to find any sites or forums that cater specifically to my needs to search for such informations.

Anyone of you has any sites to share here? Preferably that gives information about renowned institutions that offer such courses.

Lastly, any biotechnology graduates that have been undergoing postgraduate studies now or Biotechnology related PhD holders are welcomed to share your views on your experiences. If you have already entered the job market, do share about the career prospects for Biotechnology graduates or postgraduates as well, locally or oversea.

Many thanks in advance. smile.gif
Hihi, welcome welcome laugh.gif
Which Biotechnological field are you interested in?
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 25 2011, 11:02 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Aug 24 2011, 01:16 PM)
Hi, I'm gonna start my PhD in UM soon, as I know BrightSpark offer up to 3.5K allowance per month, may I know how to reach 4.7K? Is it we allow to take part time as tutor or other job?
Wow, welcome welcome haha, which field are you in? laugh.gif
You'll need to have very good (closet to 4.0 results) to get RM4.7k allowance. You're required to help out in tutoring classes as part of the KPI laugh.gif. Cannot take part time jobs.
Err... unless if you're very good and confident, I think its not very advisable to get Brightspark; I'm abit regretting to be honest. Its only worth it if you're 100% sure you could hit the KPI lol.... if not, you'll lose everything... so why not just go for those normal scholarships without that high a requirements? Even if you don't hit those requirements, you can still keep the money nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2011, 04:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Aug 25 2011, 11:11 AM)
wafak rm4.6k??!! thats crazy

What u mean by lose everything? They dun give u your monthly allowance and cancel your scholarship? THen how u doing now?
Lose everything as in you need to pay back all the money they gave you should you fail brows.gif
So its not exactly worth it... its more like a do or die path laugh.gif

Added on August 26, 2011, 4:21 pm
QUOTE(bashlyner @ Aug 25 2011, 01:47 PM)
My result is 3.8, that's why they allow me to skip master and straight for PhD, but I didn't know it can give more than 4K hmm.gif

I'm in IT field but also related to education, my supervisor help me apply for the 3.5k allowance but didn't state that I have to be tutor, he said I cannot take part time job OFFICIALLY, mean unofficially can la  brows.gif But I think I wont have time for that anyway.

The KPI still reasonable la, finish within 3 years is my target anyway, and the publication KPI is crazy but its a motivation if you able to produce more than 10 Q1 and Q2 papers your reputation would be good, may take time la. What I concern is the BrightSpark unit might force me to join some weird/unnecessary course, have you been to any program under 'command' by BrightSpark so far?

I think the amount of other scholarship is quite low as I have to pay for car loan, send money bek home, plus live in KL isn't cheap. I could use some extra money and motivation to push me  tongue.gif

Anyway if I fail my KPI they will cancel my scholarship but won't ask me pay bek rite? By the time only go find other sponsor lo  laugh.gif
Since the KPI is the same regardless of whether you get RM3k or RM4.7k... so unless you can get the latter amount of allowance, its not exactly worth it at all sad.gif
Yeah, need to join some courses like scientific writing, journal ranking researching etc. (I'm Bio student, not sure whether they'll have different courses for students from other fields hmm.gif)

Need to pay back all the money if fail, that's why I say its not worth it laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 26 2011, 04:21 PM
[PF] T.J.
post May 1 2012, 12:03 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tester @ Apr 28 2012, 03:29 PM)
I don't understand why people still equate doing a PhD with no work experience (unless you are doing some highly theoretical stuff where the skills involved couldn't possibly be transferred to other aspect of your life).

PhD in many ways is not just a work experience, it is in itself a lifestyle.

It is not merely a 9-5 job where you can isolate it from other aspects of your life. It will transform the way you live, or force you to adapt if you want to survive your PhD.

It's a swim or sink situation, that's why there are people, and by this I mean very smart and talented people, who quit their PhD because they couldn't stand it. You will spend far more time than you will ever imagine before enrolling doing your work, and along the course sacrifice your social life, your physical and mental health, your finance/income and you probably won't get much of a vacation/time to rest, if you ever do, in these few arduous years.

I'd say working life is relatively easier when you compare to the amount of burden that a PhD candidate has to bear for 3-4 years.
hmm.gif
I feel that its not that bad la haha tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post May 2 2012, 10:18 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Sandy90 @ May 1 2012, 09:47 AM)
I think that not everyone is cut out to do the PhD. In the Malaysian system, especially in public universities, every lecturer is expected to the PhD. This is just not right. One should only embark on attaining the PhD if one loves academia, scholarship, research plus one has the necessary set of skills and 'grey cells'. For the 3-5 years, one lives and breathes the research quest. A PhD does not necessarily translate into a better job or better earnings!
Well, usually experience will come as one pursues his/her phD anyway laugh.gif
But you are right, not everyone is cut out to do phD nod.gif

Personally I think its good to set the minimal requirements for lecturers to at least have a phD title.. After all, we need the best if we are going to be competitive (although I do admit that some phD holding lecturers do not deserve the title) hmm.gif

Hmmm, a phD title does offer better job opportunities, and thus better pay wub.gif

0.0235sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:56 AM