7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

PhD vs. Experience, Which come first? Help me to choose one.

TSShrugsLova
post May 26 2011, 03:41 AM, updated 14y ago

zach of all trade
568 posts

Debatable.

Both PhD and Exp has its pros and cons. Some asked me to go for PhD and some telling me experience always has an upper hand than PhD. I googled this but none of them give me a direct answer. I even speak to a few PhD holders as well as some seniors whom already out working, both has different opinion on how PhD job career landed. Hence below are the pros and cons which I can think of (mostly thru advises from seniors and lecturers).

PhD PRO & CON:
PROS
- more secured job
- 5k salary
- less competition in M'sia
- able to join education line (which I'm not interested)
- knowledge seeking
- Doc. title

CONS
- minimum 3 years of devotion
- not getting any salary for 3 years MIN; no car no house no wife
- lack of work experience; you're treated as fresh grad when you enter the job industry

I'm currently a first class engineering student who being offered to further my studies in one of the local university. There is grant provided so I won't have to get any sponsor for the materials, plus an allowance of RM 1.5k per months.
Also, there are few MNC company offering me a position in their company, of course I still haven't reply them.

I have no interest in being a lecturer or joining the education line whatsoever. The lecturers told me that getting a PhD in 3 years will secure you a job as an Senior Engineer when you join some MNC company with at least 5k salary. They added it's impossible to reach 5k salary in 3 years time even when you work double hard without a PhD. Frankly speaking, the salary is what attract me the most; aside from the title.

So my question is which one is more important: PhD vs Exp?

HELP PLEASE.

This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: May 26 2011, 03:45 AM
Irzani
post May 26 2011, 03:52 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

If you did PhD in IPTA and choosen IPTS, you may apply for Mybrain and the chances is very very high ... and it's RM 2300 per month .
TSShrugsLova
post May 26 2011, 04:38 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ May 26 2011, 03:52 AM)
If you did PhD in IPTA and choosen IPTS, you may apply for Mybrain and the chances is very very high ... and it's RM 2300 per month .
Ya, thanks. I read about it and it's good, sadly I have to cancel the allowance before getting this MyPhd scholarship thing. Wouldn't it be great if I can take both the allowance and scholarship at the same time. *greed*

After reading some article about PhD. Most of them do it because of knowledge seeking rather than money. *Sigh* There is more to think.

This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: May 26 2011, 04:39 AM
mgjg
post May 26 2011, 10:30 AM

734 posts

If you're really not interested in educational/theoretical field, then go for experience and a professional certificate: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regulation_an..._in_engineering or other well known certifications like MCSE or CCNA for example, other factors against going for postgraduate studies is probably uncertainty -you're not assured of actually finishing your theses in X years, there are tons of journals to be read and published, field works and studies, nutty supervisors, assisting your professors in classes and marking their papers etc. :\

This post has been edited by mgjg: May 26 2011, 10:31 AM
amy_jacinth
post May 26 2011, 06:18 PM

110 posts

i'm just a master student waiting for results
but if you were to ask me
i would say go for your phd
since you don't have to worry about the tuition fees
why bother entering the job market now
you have decades to earn the experience needed
most of the time is really about how fast you learn
unless you really have no interest in continuing with the research, i would say no harm taking up phd
happy.gif
well, anyway just my opinion
TSShrugsLova
post May 26 2011, 06:29 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(mgjg @ May 26 2011, 10:30 AM)
If you're really not interested in educational/theoretical field, then go for experience and a professional certificate: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regulation_an..._in_engineering or other well known certifications like MCSE or CCNA for example, other factors against going for postgraduate studies is probably uncertainty -you're not assured of actually finishing your theses in X years, there are tons of journals to be read and published, field works and studies, nutty supervisors, assisting your professors in classes and marking their papers etc. :\
You mean BEM and IEM? Those IR title?
Can I take those professional certificate together with phD (MIN 3 years research experience)? Or it require real work experience to get IR title?
As I recalled, it need 2 years experience but the question is do phD consider working experience as well?

QUOTE(amy_jacinth @ May 26 2011, 06:18 PM)
i'm just a master student waiting for results
but if you were to ask me
i would say go for your phd
since you don't have to worry about the tuition fees
why bother entering the job market now
you have decades to earn the experience needed
most of the time is really about how fast you learn
unless you really have no interest in continuing with the research, i would say no harm taking up phd
happy.gif
well, anyway just my opinion
Thanks for your advise, well the real question is: is phD valued in most of MNC company?
Most of the forum I followed, say phD is overqualified in M'sia sad.gif
mgjg
post May 26 2011, 06:52 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ May 26 2011, 06:29 PM)
You mean BEM and IEM? Those IR title?
Can I take those professional certificate together with phD (MIN 3 years research experience)? Or it require real work experience to get IR title?
I'm writing as an outsider here, with a layman's view. Like I wrote in my original post, it's really up to you whether you can give at least 5 years (IMHO a more prudent ballpark) pursuing postgrad studies in Malaysia. The choice too depends on whether you can stomach working as a junior engineer for some years, get the necessary qualifications and get a better paying job.
Another thing, have you tried contacting IEM?: http://www.myiem.org.my/default.aspx?redirect=oldsite
dkk
post May 26 2011, 06:53 PM

11,400 posts

Opportunity knocks. Go grab the phd now. Experience will always come later when you start working.
amy_jacinth
post May 26 2011, 07:00 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ May 26 2011, 06:53 PM)
Opportunity knocks. Go grab the phd now. Experience will always come later when you start working.
thumbup.gif
that's what i have in mind too

TSShrugsLova
post May 27 2011, 01:44 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(mgjg @ May 26 2011, 06:52 PM)
I'm writing as an outsider here, with a layman's view. Like I wrote in my original post, it's really up to you whether you can give at least 5 years (IMHO a more prudent ballpark) pursuing postgrad studies in Malaysia. The choice too depends on whether you can stomach working as a junior engineer for some years, get the necessary qualifications and get a better paying job.
Another thing, have you tried contacting IEM?: http://www.myiem.org.my/default.aspx?redirect=oldsite
Oh thanks, i will take a look at it.

QUOTE(dkk @ May 26 2011, 06:53 PM)
That's what I think too, but there is this 'over qualified' case which I'm worry at.

Anyhoo, thanks alot for your advise.
[PF] T.J.
post May 27 2011, 10:44 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ May 26 2011, 03:41 AM)
Debatable.

So my question is which one is more important: PhD vs Exp?

HELP PLEASE.
You'll more or less gain experiences while you pursue your phD? hmm.gif
If you're good enough, you won't be treated as fresh grads when you enter the job industry. Conversely, companies may even fight to hire you laugh.gif
Since you're a 1st class student, why not opt for better scholarships?
I'm studying phD as well, a Brightspark scholarship holder, income is RM4.7k per month (no intention of boasting, just want to share with you that there are good scholarships out there that'll make your phD studies more worthwhile) nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 27 2011, 10:44 AM
TSShrugsLova
post May 27 2011, 03:19 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 27 2011, 10:44 AM)
You'll more or less gain experiences while you pursue your phD?  hmm.gif
If you're good enough, you won't be treated as fresh grads when you enter the job industry. Conversely, companies may even fight to hire you  laugh.gif
Since you're a 1st class student, why not opt for better scholarships?
I'm studying phD as well, a Brightspark scholarship holder, income is RM4.7k per month (no intention of boasting, just want to share with you that there are good scholarships out there that'll make your phD studies more worthwhile)  nod.gif
4.7k per months is a killer.
PF T.J may I know where you doing your PhD? Singapore? you skip master as well?

But since my University is not a major public Uni (universiti of perlis). I have to do a year of master in most university i.e USM.
I don't know about Singapore.

I'm actually planning to go Nottingham University Malaysia this weekend to ask them about this.
amy_jacinth
post May 27 2011, 04:06 PM

110 posts

universities usually give exemption to first class graduate
so you should be able to skip master and do your phd straight right?

TSShrugsLova
post May 27 2011, 04:26 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(amy_jacinth @ May 27 2011, 04:06 PM)
universities usually give exemption to first class graduate
so you should be able to skip master and do your phd straight right?
Not all, USM require me to do master first.

One more thing, it sound a bit naive to me but I'm curious: doing my phD in University of Nottingham, Malaysia Campus = University of Nottingham.
The word 'M'sia Campus' will affect alot? I mean the world ranking for University of Nottingham is 21st, do the same apply for M'sia Campus?

Naive hor? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: May 27 2011, 05:42 PM
mgjg
post May 27 2011, 05:11 PM

734 posts

@amy From what I've heard, it's not 'exemption', it's promoting your Masters thesis to PhD because your research is superior or reached a higher level than originally proposed. So, it's like the first few years of your Masters work becomes the preliminary work for your PhD, and you'll save a few years.

@TS It depends, if a company wants a graduate from a ranked uni. they'll offer him the job; if the company finds a candidate they like, is qualified and fits into the team they'll still hire him/her even if he/she comes from a lower ranked/less glamorous uni.
Another advantage of being a graduate of 'named' uni's is probably the old boys and their network :s
amy_jacinth
post May 27 2011, 06:01 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ May 27 2011, 04:26 PM)
Not all, USM require me to do master first.

One more thing, it sound a bit naive to me but I'm curious: doing my phD in University of Nottingham, Malaysia Campus = University of Nottingham.
The word 'M'sia Campus' will affect alot? I mean the world ranking for University of Nottingham is 21st, do the same apply for M'sia Campus?

Naive hor? sweat.gif
no, is not naive at all
is good to find out and be sure about it
i did my master in Notts UK
but i'm thinking if can, i might consider phd in Malaysia Campus
anyway, is not going to happen anytime soon
i'll find out later laugh.gif
TSShrugsLova
post May 27 2011, 10:59 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(amy_jacinth @ May 27 2011, 06:01 PM)
no, is not naive at all
is good to find out and be sure about it
i did my master in Notts UK
but i'm thinking if can, i might consider phd in Malaysia Campus
anyway, is not going to happen anytime soon
i'll find out later  laugh.gif
so it's the same whether to do it in Notts UK or M'sia?
whoa! thank you.
peace230
post May 28 2011, 10:31 AM

475 posts

Experince create PHD....

study PHD like learning ppl experince to shorten the time of self explore. Like Shortcut to point.

If u can afford, then go for it.

PHD = study
experince = Exploration.

Just my opinion.
matt85
post May 28 2011, 08:12 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(mgjg @ May 27 2011, 06:11 PM)
@amy From what I've heard, it's not 'exemption', it's promoting your Masters thesis to PhD because your research is superior or reached a higher level than originally proposed. So, it's like the first few years of your Masters work becomes the preliminary work for your PhD, and you'll save a few years.

Beware, some universities won't promote your Master thesis to a PhD one even though the external examiners suggested so.

Speaking from my point of view, i would prefer students to work for 1-2 years before taking up postgraduate studies. The experience from working world is priceless and it will help you think more maturely during studies. Also, the working world is a whole lot different playing field compared to the academic one; yes, companies may fight to hire you as a Senior Staff, but once the honeymoon's over, you'll be kicked around to deliver and culture shock sets in.
malayantiger
post May 29 2011, 10:48 PM

320 posts

Since you are getting or will get scholarship, by all means go for PhD straight away.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:43 PM