New Xbox 360 Slim has no RROD, well...maybe

TSLittleR0ck
post May 25 2011, 02:26 PM, updated 15y ago

66 posts

The new feature by Microsoft has save our money a lot.Microsoft's new, slim Xbox 360 not only ditches the Red Ring of Death, the console monitors itself to determine if it's starting to overheat.

According to an Engadget post, which posted pictures of a "red dot of death" on its site, the new Xbox 360 constantly evaluates itself for overheating issues. If the console doesn't get as much ventilation as it needs to operate properly, a red light is displayed in the middle of the power ring, and the console shuts down by itself. Upon doing so, a message is displayed on the users' television, alerting them to the overheating issue.

"The Xbox 360 is shutting down to protect the console from insufficient ventilation," an alleged screenshot of an overheating Xbox 360 error message says. "You can turn the console back on after the power light stops flashing."

Microsoft confirmed the existence of the monitoring function in an e-mail. The Microsoft representative said "the new console has safety mechanisms in place to shut down, if needed, including an advanced warning that the console will shut down."

Although the warning isn't something that Xbox 360 owners want to see, it's nice to know that Microsoft is doing more to protect its console. Previous versions of the Xbox 360 were rife with troubles that caused the infamous Red Ring of Death. Upon getting it, Xbox 360 owners were forced to send their consoles back to Microsoft for fixing.

gundamalpha
post May 25 2011, 02:28 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

When is 360 Slim launching? yawn.gif
TSLittleR0ck
post May 25 2011, 02:31 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ May 25 2011, 02:28 PM)
When is 360 Slim launching? yawn.gif
Here in Terengganu already arrived like months ago,im planning to buy one for rm1300
iguana_dude_619
post May 25 2011, 02:37 PM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

QUOTE(LittleR0ck @ May 25 2011, 02:31 PM)
Here in Terengganu already arrived like months ago,im planning to buy one for rm1300
he meant officially launch in Malaysia
gundamalpha
post May 25 2011, 02:39 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ May 25 2011, 02:37 PM)
he meant officially launch in Malaysia
Actually I meant when did it come out tongue.gif

And it was many months ago, and these have been discussed before, not news anymore, no need for another thread to discuss this anymore, no need for another thread to inform others anymore.
elasticote
post May 25 2011, 02:40 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(LittleR0ck @ May 25 2011, 03:31 PM)
i believe i bought this console like 3 month ago??
how come terengganu stock arrive late??
samsk
post May 25 2011, 03:17 PM

68 posts

lol... Last year news,bro...
I am already using it... Very good product.
RAMChYLD
post May 25 2011, 04:05 PM

1,715 posts

I had mine since end of March. Been playing SSFIV on it, but offline since I dun have XBL gold.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 25 2011, 04:08 PM
qudeenz360
post May 25 2011, 04:13 PM

5,761 posts

LOL...
samsk
post May 25 2011, 04:35 PM

68 posts

Ya.. I been using it since 2nd or 3rd month of the unit launch... I always trust the slim console.... The most stable console is the slim type.. Sames goes to PS2 slim and PS3 slim..
trustmeiamlegit
post May 25 2011, 05:12 PM

295 posts

Y U so slow !!
samsk
post May 25 2011, 05:15 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(trustmeiamlegit @ May 25 2011, 06:12 PM)
Y U so slow !!
Lolz... Still streamyx... doh.gif
TSLittleR0ck
post May 25 2011, 05:18 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ May 25 2011, 02:39 PM)
Actually I meant when did it come out tongue.gif

And it was many months ago, and these have been discussed before, not news anymore, no need for another thread to discuss this anymore, no need for another thread to inform others anymore.
Recently,people who having RROD thinks they need to send the console to microsoft back but actually u just need to open the HDD and replace it back cause of overheating<<<<By Microsoft
samsk
post May 25 2011, 05:24 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(LittleR0ck @ May 25 2011, 06:18 PM)
Recently,people who having RROD thinks they need to send the console to microsoft back but actually u just need to open the HDD and replace it back cause of overheating<<<<By Microsoft
Thanks for the info.. rclxm9.gif So far only update time i get this 4RROD... vmad.gif need to turn off the power and turn on again.. brows.gif Voila.. New firmware and dashboard.. icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif
Edison83
post May 25 2011, 05:37 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

about the replace HDD thing that cause RROD, it wasnt cause by overheat

As i watch the microsoft video explain, they said, when during shipping all those bumping may cause the HDD to loose their connection, thats the cause of slim RROD.
TSLittleR0ck
post May 25 2011, 06:35 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ May 25 2011, 05:37 PM)
about the replace HDD thing that cause RROD, it wasnt cause by overheat

As i watch the microsoft video explain, they said, when during shipping all those bumping may cause the HDD to loose their connection, thats the cause of slim RROD.
Thnx for correcting my statement rclxms.gif
cannavaro
post May 25 2011, 11:44 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

What the... how did I get into this time machine?
*leaves slowly*
heavy rain
post May 26 2011, 06:56 AM

351 posts

edit

This post has been edited by heavy rain: May 26 2011, 02:17 PM
Liquid Snake
post May 26 2011, 06:59 AM

219 posts

Just a reminder kot. tongue.gif