Concrete and Brick cost

TSescargo75
post May 24 2011, 03:40 PM, updated 15y ago

630 posts

I am searching for contractor for renovation and one thing that I don't got it is almost all of them quoated the concrete and brick works as one big lump sum - no breakdown. Any LYN members know how this cost is being calculated - material and labour?
make87
post May 24 2011, 03:43 PM

684 posts

first of all, do you know how many actuall fix number bricks that used for your current house ?
orange_lobster
post May 24 2011, 04:28 PM

14 posts

clay brick RM0.35/pcs
sand brick RM0.23/pcs
cement RM17.00/50kg/pack (OPC)
granite RM26.00 (tonne) excluding delivery charges.
sand RM22.00 (tonne)
fine sand RM26.00 (tonne) for cement plastering purpose

ready mix concrete grade 20 RM190/m3

*Price may vary due to location and timing.
TSescargo75
post May 24 2011, 05:26 PM

630 posts

How actually is being calculated base on raw mat price? Is there formula like $$ per sqft? I was quoted 29k to entend backyard 11x9 wall concrete and roof 2 floors. Reasonable?

kelvintpy
post May 24 2011, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(escargo75 @ May 24 2011, 05:26 PM)
How actually is being calculated base on raw mat price? Is there formula like $$ per sqft? I was quoted 29k to entend backyard 11x9 wall concrete and roof 2 floors. Reasonable?
Of course there is a formula to calculate. but u need to give all the diamension.
cmk96
post May 24 2011, 06:15 PM

2,096 posts

why want to know cost of material? you never know their labour cost anyway... some will say they use chinese worker, therefore more expensive.........there are many factors involve in costing....

i think you never know their true cost. the best way is to find quote from a few contractor and compare. no need susah susah calculate their cost. if they insist to charge 29k... you can't do anything also.
JinXXX
post May 24 2011, 06:23 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(orange_lobster @ May 24 2011, 04:28 PM)
clay brick RM0.35/pcs
sand brick RM0.23/pcs
cement RM17.00/50kg/pack (OPC)
granite RM26.00 (tonne) excluding delivery charges.
sand RM22.00 (tonne)
fine sand RM26.00 (tonne) for cement plastering purpose

ready mix concrete grade 20 RM190/m3

*Price may vary due to location and timing.
u sure the price correct ?

cement is only 18bux for 50kg ???

orange_lobster
post May 24 2011, 07:58 PM

14 posts

U must include steel bar cost. There are steel bars inside beams and columns. Standard calculation existed for every part of construction item, sort of specialist knowledge, outside guy wont know unless time and energy are invested to learn...

Added on May 24, 2011, 8:04 pm
QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 24 2011, 06:23 PM)

These are klang valley prices.

This post has been edited by orange_lobster: May 24 2011, 08:04 PM
papaya2
post May 24 2011, 08:45 PM

387 posts

my house is double terrace, original is wire fencing, my contractor quote me rm3.2k to built up 2 walls (left and right, total about 32ft).

he say will do 5 piling per wall (use kayu bakau one), dig about 1 ft deep and then use steel bars to make base concrete foundation, and then put red brick until 5ft height.

price is rm100 per ft, is reasonable?
he say can cheaper, just put brick on top original cement base after take out the wire fencing.

any comment? TQ
ycs
post May 24 2011, 08:51 PM

4,233 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 24 2011, 06:23 PM)

yes, its about that price, in fact i got RM16 for a bag last month and still plenty left...
JinXXX
post May 24 2011, 09:20 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ May 24 2011, 08:51 PM)
yes, its about that price, in fact i got RM16 for a bag last month and still plenty left...
damn i gotta stop buying 5kilo pack from those apek aunty hardware shop...
mav_850
post May 24 2011, 11:12 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(papaya2 @ May 24 2011, 08:45 PM)
my house is double terrace, original is wire fencing, my contractor quote me rm3.2k to built up 2 walls (left and right, total about 32ft).

he say will do 5 piling per wall (use kayu bakau one), dig about 1 ft deep and then use steel bars to make base concrete foundation, and then put red brick until 5ft height.

price is rm100 per ft, is reasonable?
he say can cheaper, just put brick on top original cement base after take out the wire fencing.

any comment? TQ
xpayah la murah2.. mmg dah ok la kalau dia nak pile, letak puting..
kalau murah.. letak atas simen.. pastu 2tahun/ 6bulan.. roboh.. mampus la...
nak murah mmg la boleh murah.. tapi xproper la kerja tu...

amacam? ada berani? whistling.gif
cwhong
post May 25 2011, 12:55 AM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,342 posts

brick walls will starts from RM11/sqf only brick walls (windows, doors areas will not deducted infact have to add the costs of the doors and windows) pillars is consider anothers quote which i cannot remember, concrete slab is normally around 5k for 11x9 for each. wiring lighting points, plug points 50-80/each (the installation of fittings like fans, lights, downlights, exhaust fans was not included yet. Painting is emulsion paints was included normally but have to buy urself if want more quality one they will lumpsums in the totals quotes as usual ...... rubbish also they will charge u like rm150/trip. portable rubbish bins should cost more. tilings is another hefy price too includes in the kitchen too....... normally the plumbing jobs is included as a package if only for kitchen areas......

i think the price is reasonable provided it's a all in price as i mentions above ..... hmm.gif

TSescargo75
post May 25 2011, 10:05 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(cmk96 @ May 24 2011, 07:15 PM)
why want to know cost of material? you never know their labour cost anyway... some will say they use chinese worker, therefore more expensive.........there are many factors involve in costing....

i think you never know their true cost. the best way is to find quote from a few contractor and compare. no need susah susah calculate their cost. if they insist to charge 29k... you can't do anything also.
Actually not I want to know their true cost but just find it strange that all the contractors who quoted me provide zero breakdown on this portion but they can provide breakdown for labour+material for floor tile, break the wall cost, move the door cost..etc. So I suspect this portion they make the most profit as no breakdown mean that is the area they don't want u to know...

Added on May 25, 2011, 10:07 am
QUOTE(orange_lobster @ May 24 2011, 08:58 PM)
U must include steel bar cost. There are steel bars inside beams and columns. Standard calculation existed for every part of construction item, sort of specialist knowledge, outside guy wont know unless time and energy are invested to learn...

Added on May 24, 2011, 8:04 pm
These are klang valley prices.
Yeah you are right, there are cost for steel bars beam for the foundation. There is one contractor quoted steel Y12. Is there any steel they can use beside this one? Y12 is the best for steel beam?

This post has been edited by escargo75: May 25 2011, 10:07 AM
cwhong
post May 25 2011, 10:53 AM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,342 posts

QUOTE(escargo75 @ May 25 2011, 10:05 AM)
Actually not I want to know their true cost but just find it strange that all the contractors who quoted me provide zero breakdown on this portion but they can provide breakdown for labour+material for floor tile, break the wall cost, move the door cost..etc. So I suspect this portion they make the most profit as no breakdown mean that is the area they don't want u to know...

Yeah you are right, there are cost for steel bars beam for the foundation. There is one contractor quoted steel Y12. Is there any steel they can use beside this one? Y12 is the best for steel beam?
Y12 is the thickness of the steel, y is the code for the steel and 12 is size which is 12mm thick. the thicker the better but cost more brows.gif
lizziewong
post May 25 2011, 07:54 PM

185 posts

I think steel bars got diferent grade.. even same number (cannot remmber we use Y16 or what). Insist on using the rough type (the cheaper type of steel bar smooth smooth one - not so strong). I also wonder, whether he really use pukau, bcz my cousion says, very difficult to find nowadays. For simple extension, no need to go use pukau he says, he shld know becz he is a QS lah. A fotting is cukp, dip about 4 feet hole, put in the steel bars, etc. My contractor than use a super long steel bar to place along the paramete, then pour the cement, and it is done!!

If u paying for the mangrove pling, make sure u see that this is really used.

Added on May 25, 2011, 7:58 pm

[

Just google and u can find out how much material is needed. As for workmanship, u can estimate RM80 per workman per day. What I observed is, putting up bricks is very fast job... usually, contractors quote big big sum for hacking, but if u get in a worker, he can finish the jobb in 3 days. Even if u get 2 guys to come in, it still cost u max RM500 workers pay, then alam flora bins maybe a few hundred, so it means to hack n clear alot of stuff only cost u RM1k. But the contractor will quote 5k or more. Actually my reno quote of 200k, 20k waas for hacking.

This post has been edited by lizziewong: May 25 2011, 07:58 PM
orange_lobster
post May 25 2011, 09:44 PM

14 posts

Y12 means high tensile deformed bar with 12mm diameter. Steel bar spec is quite standard..
TSescargo75
post May 26 2011, 10:03 AM

630 posts

Thanks all for the feedback. Anyone got experience getting quote for the concrete and bricks breakdown? Share share please..
weikee
post May 26 2011, 10:15 AM

12,019 posts

Nope, i have like 10 quote from difference contractor all do not do this. They charge by Square feet per of renovation site. They place some buffer inside.

If you require them to break down in this detail you required, think they will ask you buy material and they charge you labor, cause material cost are not stable now.

Yamma
post Sep 12 2012, 01:46 PM

736 posts

anyone know, what is the current price for brick? plan to do renovation on my house soon.
chuansze
post Sep 13 2012, 05:06 PM

24 posts

Dear Orange lobster,

Your fine sand cost is really cheap. is RM 26/ton inclusive of delivery? Today i just went to a hardware shop
to ask for the fine sand pricing. They tell me 1 scope (3ft HX 3ft W X 3ftL) is RM 90.

where do you get your fine sand from ? if you dont mind can you pls PM me because RM 26 and RM 90 is really
bit difference.

TQ in advance
chooyang
post Sep 13 2012, 07:55 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 26 2011, 10:15 AM)
Nope, i have like 10 quote from difference contractor all do not do this. They charge by Square feet per of renovation site. They place some buffer inside.

If you require them to  break down in this detail you required, think they will ask you buy material and they charge you labor, cause material cost are not stable now.
erm ...if ask them charge for labor cost only,
some of them work really not so nice ..
because earn less and they will not so willing to do the service for next time.
and they will ask cheap worker come to work as well..

for majority of worker, if you ask for breakdown,
majority of them will not entertain you anymore ....
they rather find other customer ... rclxms.gif

Added on September 13, 2012, 7:56 pm
QUOTE(Yamma @ Sep 12 2012, 01:46 PM)
anyone know, what is the current price for brick? plan to do renovation on my house soon.
sand brick around 20sen +- ...
depend on quantity ...
but even you know the price for brick wall is also useles .... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by chooyang: Sep 13 2012, 07:56 PM
weikee
post Sep 15 2012, 12:12 AM

12,019 posts

Always remember, they are running a business, if we need salary, they too need salary, and profit to run the company and expenses.
Eng_Tat
post Sep 15 2012, 08:15 AM

2,215 posts

just to share small quantity red brick now cost around 45-48cents around masai area constrution shops.
chooyang
post Sep 15 2012, 08:18 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 15 2012, 12:12 AM)
Always remember, they are running a business, if we need salary, they too need salary, and profit to run the company and expenses.
no profit, bad workmanship work, chin chai will do ....

have profit, good workmanship work rclxms.gif
I always give NETT quote, I do not quote high then let customer to discount,
so IF customer is steady and let me do my work,
of course I will do nicely for them ...
and I also will use better material for them ...
minor addition also no extra charges.

But if customer is tooooo kira-kira,
then we also kira-kira with them la ....
many people don't want to let other people earn them one ...
they feel unhappy ....

for forumer, can check out my FB link below and check out those "BAD WORKMANSHIP" ..... rclxm9.gif

jchong
post Sep 15 2012, 08:34 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(chuansze @ Sep 13 2012, 05:06 PM)
Dear Orange lobster,

Your fine sand cost is really cheap. is RM 26/ton inclusive of delivery? Today i just went to a hardware shop
to ask for the fine sand pricing. They tell me 1 scope (3ft HX 3ft W X 3ftL) is RM 90.

where do you get your fine sand from ? if you dont mind can you pls PM me because  RM 26 and RM 90 is really
bit difference.

TQ in advance

First you have to get your units right. The other guy's quote is per ton. Your quote from the shop is per cubic yard.
weikee
post Sep 15 2012, 10:23 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(chooyang @ Sep 15 2012, 08:18 AM)
no profit, bad workmanship work, chin chai will do ....

have profit, good workmanship work  rclxms.gif
I always give NETT quote, I do not quote high then let customer to discount,
so IF customer is steady and let me do my work,
of course I will do nicely for them ...
and I also will use better material for them ...
minor addition also no extra charges.

But if customer is tooooo kira-kira,
then we also kira-kira with them la ....
many people don't want to let other people earn them one ...
they feel unhappy ....

for forumer, can check out my FB link below and check out those "BAD WORKMANSHIP" .....  rclxm9.gif
i deal with projects (mostly non construction related). From experience customer want to pay one, and get more than one things to be done, but not willing to pay extra or act don't know. My job is to make sure what they request are in line of what they pay, sometime we do give free here and there to make them happy but not overdoing it. If they need something and don't want to pay who going to pay my resources? who going to pay my company operation cost?

Always remember, There Are No Free Lunch In This World!, only parent will give free lunch.

chooyang
post Sep 15 2012, 12:08 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 15 2012, 10:23 AM)
i deal with projects (mostly non construction related). From experience customer want to pay one, and get more than one things to be done, but not willing to pay extra or act don't know. My job is to make sure what they request are in line of what they pay, sometime we do give free here and there to make them happy but not overdoing it. If they need something and don't want to pay who going to pay my resources? who going to pay my company operation cost?

Always remember, There Are No Free Lunch In This World!, only parent will give free lunch.
agree with u .... thumbup.gif

bro weikee, wat kind of field you are in???

skng03
post Sep 15 2012, 06:55 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(chuansze @ Sep 13 2012, 05:06 PM)
Dear Orange lobster,

where do you get your fine sand from ? if you dont mind can you pls PM me because  RM 26 and RM 90 is really
bit difference.

TQ in advance
3/4" aggregate rm26 +- per ton and sand rm22/ton is KL average price, he stated NOT include delivery.
if u use big quantities may b u can consider order 1 load of 10 wheels lorry, cost +-rm800, about 8m3/ 17 tons nod.gif

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 15 2012, 08:34 AM)
First you have to get your units right. The other guy's quote is per ton. Your quote from the shop is per cubic yard.
the so call 1 scope from hardware shop is much lesser than 1 cu. yard, may be 0.5m3 tongue.gif

weikee
post Sep 15 2012, 07:20 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(chooyang @ Sep 15 2012, 12:08 PM)
agree with u ....  thumbup.gif

bro weikee, wat kind of field you are in???
I was from IT, now change to document services. Mainly doing project management.

This post has been edited by weikee: Sep 15 2012, 07:20 PM
chuansze
post Sep 25 2012, 09:08 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Sep 15 2012, 06:55 PM)
3/4" aggregate rm26 +-  per ton and sand rm22/ton is KL average price, he stated NOT include delivery.
if u use big quantities may b u can consider order 1 load of 10 wheels lorry, cost +-rm800, about 8m3/ 17 tons nod.gif
the so call 1 scope from hardware shop is much lesser than 1 cu. yard, may be 0.5m3 tongue.gif
Manage to get one 10 wheel lorry for rough sand in kuchai Lama. Cost around RM 760. which is 760/17 tons = RM44/tons.
skng03
post Sep 26 2012, 07:22 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(chuansze @ Sep 25 2012, 09:08 PM)
Manage to get one 10 wheel lorry for rough sand in kuchai Lama. Cost around RM 760. which is 760/17 tons = RM44/tons.
reasonable... pasir kasar is about that price, just make sure is full load before unload tongue.gif
mashimoro85
post Apr 7 2015, 07:48 AM

134 posts

Anyone know what is the market price per square feet for brick wall after GST?

I am looking for contractor to build brick wall in my car porch.
springfall
post Jul 16 2020, 05:44 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(mashimoro85 @ Apr 7 2015, 09:48 AM)
Anyone know what is the market price per square feet for brick wall after GST?

I am looking for contractor to build brick wall in my car porch.
i'll just leave some estimations to keep things updated for other people

Fixed variable include
3 men workforce (mostly sufficient)
self call in materials on site
basic cement render of bricks
*not inclusive of top coat/primer/wall paint

Take imperial length of wall multiply height of wall to get 'sf multiply unit

Half brick wall (like wall between neighbor house for cat lompat over)
cement brick RM5.5psf
clay brick RM6.2psf

One brick wall (perimeter wall around house)
cement brick RM8psf
clay brick RM10psf
nexona88
post Jul 16 2020, 10:52 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,529 posts

thanks for the updates...
now I can know the current pricing,,,
good information.. so we won't get cheated by cunning contractors ph34r.gif