Door wrapper, Wrap current door to another wood

TSvincentwee
post May 23 2011, 12:22 PM, updated 15y ago

126 posts

I notice my future neighbor wrap existing developer door into high class wood door. because i do not have her number, i hope i can find at here how to do this thing or any supplier does it.

she told me instead change entire door, she ask those contractor to wrap with new skin/ wood. it totally look like another door but in fact its same door from developer.
it really look magic. she has changed the rest of his other room door as well.

anyone know such thing or where i can get this kind of things?
ghuzzy
post May 23 2011, 12:34 PM

miaw miaw miaw^^
658 posts

polyutherene laminate if im not mistaken
can be bought at hardware shop^^
TSvincentwee
post May 23 2011, 12:50 PM

126 posts

hmm.. when it was wrap, it doesn't look like kena wrap..look like new expensive wood door

r u sure it can easily bought in hardware shop? i doubt...

SkyGig
post Jun 8 2011, 09:39 AM

127 posts

Interesting...I want to wrap my toilet door too.Can PM if got contact..Thanks.
sl2007
post Jun 8 2011, 09:56 AM

285 posts

Friend I guess what u mentioned is timber veneer wrapping.. Maybe some photo is a good guidance..
fuzagi
post Jun 9 2011, 10:41 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

thats veneer. or laminate for lower cost.
TSvincentwee
post Jun 9 2011, 10:55 AM

126 posts

fuzagi do u provide that solution? if yes, a normal door will cost how much?
fuzagi
post Jun 9 2011, 11:10 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

normal door costs from rm900 onwards for veneer.
weikee
post Jun 9 2011, 11:15 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(fuzagi @ Jun 9 2011, 11:10 AM)
normal door costs from rm900 onwards for veneer.
Much more expensive than a solid door.
TSvincentwee
post Jun 9 2011, 11:27 AM

126 posts

but my neighbour did it..she said is cheaper than buy new door..

sl2007
post Jun 9 2011, 12:50 PM

285 posts

Hi Vincent,

ID works always come with a cost.. smile.gif
fuzagi
post Jun 9 2011, 09:21 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

possible to get a solid door for less than 900?
weikee
post Jun 9 2011, 11:37 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(fuzagi @ Jun 9 2011, 09:21 PM)
possible to get a solid door for less than 900?
Yes, why not? I assume your "normal door" is 3'x7' right?

sl2007
post Jun 10 2011, 09:49 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 9 2011, 11:37 PM)
Yes, why not?  I assume your "normal door" is 3'x7' right?
Yes, 3' x 7' is standard size.. I also agreed that you can get Solid Door at RM900 or even lesser.. Anyhow those Solid Door are standard Panel Door design with thinner thickness as well as low grade timber...

Actually veneer can be applied to both solid or hollow door...
weikee
post Jun 10 2011, 10:17 AM

12,019 posts

RM 900, can get the door + installation + paint for some standard design.

If you need the design of door of "look / feel" like one piece door without small drain "longkang" it maybe about 800 - 1.2k depend on quality. Another cheaper version will be getting the hollow type using ply wood, and filled the inner hollow portion with small wood. This is cheaper and feels like solid too.

I am doing lots of this research and asking around for my house.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jun 10 2011, 10:18 AM
atih007
post Jun 10 2011, 10:44 AM

1,612 posts

some reference..

http://www.timbertop.com.my/skin.html

http://www.stanford-dor.com/
sl2007
post Jun 10 2011, 11:28 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 10 2011, 10:17 AM)
RM 900, can get the door + installation + paint for some standard design.

If you need the design of door of "look / feel" like one piece door without small drain "longkang" it maybe about 800 - 1.2k depend on quality.  Another cheaper version will be getting the hollow type using ply wood, and filled the inner hollow portion with small wood. This is cheaper and feels like solid too.

I am doing lots of this research and asking around for my house.
Did you check the Timber Species... Or maybe mine to share your quotation... smile.gif
weikee
post Jun 10 2011, 12:52 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jun 10 2011, 11:28 AM)
Did you check the Timber Species... Or maybe mine to share your quotation... smile.gif
Really depend on design for price. I was given a basic simple door design "conventional 8 box door" for the price of 600+- for nyatoh wood. It can go cheaper depend what you want to do with the door, to use lacquer or paint. If paint you can use grade 2 door which is around 300 - 400+-

Installation is about 150 to 200+-, if use bigger lock installation may need to add extra 100.

I don't any door quote, not decide what to buy yet. My last visit, i brought only 5 door frame. This cost me about RM 1.6k, I got 4 frames of 3' x 7, and 1 frame of 60" x 96". All the frame are single piece nyatok no joining on length. The wood "flower" on this frame is nice.

For Standard door Resak Frame (you need to paint, can't be lacquer) is cheap only RM 160+-

sl2007
post Jun 10 2011, 01:14 PM

285 posts

Thanks for your detail info... Cheers

0.0200sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:41 AM