Request for feedback, got an idea..., Used console game shop

TSFaidzal
post May 23 2011, 12:17 PM, updated 15y ago

240 posts

Hello fellow console gamers.

I had an idea, what if there was a shop where you could sell back your used or older (previous generation) consoles and get cash.

It would be like cash converters or BuySellTrade, except that it will only buy back your good condition and working consoles/accessories/games/etc. for a fair price.

This shop will also not put those ugly stickers like what cash converters did (there was a PS2 slim I saw once, the top lid is defaced by their price sticker and some excess sticker glue...).

The shop will probably buy back current generation and some older generation consoles and stuff but there will obviously a "we have a right to refuse to buy from you" and also you will be required to provide personal details in case of stolen items cases....

Let me know what you guys think....
gundamalpha
post May 23 2011, 12:23 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

From a business point of view it is not feasible. Look at the trade frequency of older games in the trade zone, it happened once in a long while. If you are doing it as a side from current games trade then it is ok, not as a stand alone business.

Oh and prepared to get comments like"sell me cheap lah since the game is old, no one wants to buy liao" or "I offer you peanut for this since I can get it for free elsewhere" laugh.gif
Kyoyagami
post May 23 2011, 12:25 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ May 23 2011, 12:23 PM)
From a business point of view it is not feasible. Look at the trade frequency of older games in the trade zone, it happened once in a long while. If you are doing it as a side from current games trade then it is ok, not as a stand alone business.

Oh and prepared to get comments like"sell me cheap lah since the game is old, no one wants to buy liao" or "I offer you peanut for this since I can get it for free elsewhere" laugh.gif
WOW. Bolded really happens? The values of entertainment are truly crap then.
gundamalpha
post May 23 2011, 12:27 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ May 23 2011, 12:25 PM)
Haven't you heard "any game other than PS3's is pirated"? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: May 23 2011, 12:28 PM
Kyoyagami
post May 23 2011, 12:30 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Well, either way, a guy used to do this online, but he found out that he could not cope with the demands of constantly looking for used games, and also the fact that he got lowballed all the time.

Was also badmouthed for charging a higher price from original seller. Pity him.
TSFaidzal
post May 23 2011, 12:30 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ May 23 2011, 12:23 PM)

thank you gundam for honest comments.

yes, this will be a side business. shop will sell new games/consoles as well.

I guess we will have to set some kind of pricing mechanism.

The shop will buy back current generation consoles at certain price range, previous generation consoles at another price range etc.

Also, shop will probably not buy back used games that much, particularly since the market for used games consist only of PS3 games (other consoles can get jack sparrow's version).

Shop will probably use garage sales tereds as pricing gauge....

Added on May 23, 2011, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ May 23 2011, 12:25 PM)
as explained, only PS3 games have any used value, since others can get from uncle jack sparrow.

shop will probably concentrate on buying consoles and accessories.

Also probably the collector's items, the tered on that rite now very lively....

This post has been edited by Faidzal: May 23 2011, 12:32 PM
blinky_w
post May 23 2011, 03:02 PM

if there a demand it sure work.

blue6228
post May 25 2011, 07:19 AM

49 posts

But I can hardly find any ppl aside from us that is into retro console. Some of my friends (budak kipas PS3) told me to focus only PS3 only not some "lousy" console game. Then I started "educate" them about games. So, not much malaysian is into retros from wat I've experience......
neogeocdz
post May 25 2011, 09:26 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ May 23 2011, 12:17 PM)
Hello fellow console gamers.

I had an idea, what if there was a shop where you could sell back your used or older (previous generation) consoles and get cash.

It would be like cash converters or BuySellTrade, except that it will only buy back your good condition and working consoles/accessories/games/etc. for a fair price.

This shop will also not put those ugly stickers like what cash converters did (there was a PS2 slim I saw once, the top lid is defaced by their price sticker and some excess sticker glue...).

The shop will probably buy back current generation and some older generation consoles and stuff but there will obviously a "we have a right to refuse to buy from you" and also you will be required to provide personal details in case of stolen items cases....

Let me know what you guys think....
Open one, and u can get my business thumbup.gif
Make sure u stock Neo Geo, 3DO, Saturn, SNES, Sega MD....

TSFaidzal
post May 26 2011, 12:05 AM

240 posts

ok, tq for the feedback.

keep it comig, i will soon put up an FAQ on what the shop might intend to do....
cute_boboi
post May 26 2011, 10:59 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Why not set it up on consignment basis ? e.g. Sellers who wish to sell their consoles, put it in your shop (you may charge space rental, e.g. rm10 per month). Price is up to sellers to put RRP, and max discount/lowest price in your internal books.

When buyer buy, he can nego with you, and you can goto lowest price based on the limit given by seller. Then you take commission on the selling price, e.g. 5%.

If cannot sell, seller take back, since the price he puts maybe too high or there is no demand for it.

This concept already in use for other merchandise.

TSFaidzal
post May 28 2011, 10:55 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ May 26 2011, 10:59 AM)
Why not set it up on consignment basis ? e.g. Sellers who wish to sell their consoles, put it in your shop (you may charge space rental, e.g. rm10 per month). Price is up to sellers to put RRP, and max discount/lowest price in your internal books.

When buyer buy, he can nego with you, and you can goto lowest price based on the limit given by seller. Then you take commission on the selling price, e.g. 5%.

If cannot sell, seller take back, since the price he puts maybe too high or there is no demand for it.

This concept already in use for other merchandise.
consignment is harder to do, especially with personal sellers.

but i was thinking of the 5% profit margin.

sorry for the late replies, i am still trying to find time to write down my full proposal....

Added on May 28, 2011, 10:56 am
QUOTE(neogeocdz @ May 25 2011, 09:26 PM)
Open one, and u can get my business  thumbup.gif
Make sure u stock Neo Geo, 3DO, Saturn, SNES, Sega MD....
you serious?

but you want the english versions or the japanese ones?

I can easily get the japanese consoles and games....

This post has been edited by Faidzal: May 28 2011, 10:56 AM
blue6228
post May 28 2011, 11:40 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ May 28 2011, 10:55 AM)

you serious?

but you want the english versions or the japanese ones?

I can easily get the japanese consoles and games....
Seriously? Can u get Sega Game Gear?
TSFaidzal
post May 29 2011, 01:40 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(blue6228 @ May 28 2011, 11:40 PM)
Seriously? Can u get Sega Game Gear?
maybe i can find a japanese one from ebay.

but it's bloody expensive in the 1st place, shipping will also cost minimum USD15 for EMS....
blue6228
post May 29 2011, 08:00 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ May 29 2011, 01:40 AM)
maybe i can find a japanese one from ebay.

but it's bloody expensive in the 1st place, shipping will also cost minimum USD15 for EMS....
Ic, do pm me the price including shipment then I'll see whether I have cash to get it this month or not happy.gif

0.0501sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:10 AM