TSWholleymolley
post May 21 2011, 11:44 AM, updated 15y ago

19 posts

#1user posted image #2user posted image

#3user posted image

#4user posted image

#5user posted image

Constructive C & C welcome

Sorry about the small pictures, bigger ones can be found at the full length of my experimental work

Experimental Concept

My artwork is about combining all of the impressions from of all of the photos of the model. In every set I have more than 30 photos, all displayed in a specific format arranged to simulate the layout of a Triptych (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triptych) but modified to for website publish

Another example can be those of Egyptian wall art

Other words you must consider all of these photos plus the words in my article about the model for it to work. Its sort of like a macro scale kind of thing.

My experiment is about being able to accurately express a person using this means.

Approach

I capture my subjects exactly as they are despite what she says about herself and what she does in the pictures

I minimize my influence and bias in the subject by providing minimal direction and art guidance, hence minimizing influence contamination.

Everything in the photos, everything in each word and sentence belongs to the subject and none of mine.

All of this raw data is completely up to the audience to process and interpret to their heart’s content =D

Telling me your interpretation will definitely help me a lot ! So please do =)

As for the background and place i choose, this sort of captures an element of fate to my work. Its like it is fate that we have to shoot at this place at this particular moment ( i hope i am making sense )

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Due to constant misunderstanding and general incomprehensibility of my work, I have decided to release my point of view and criticism of my own work

On My Work

This is my point of view on the tech side of my shoot on Mitsuki

1 ) Would love to have better colors, the green looks horrible

2 ) This is the second time I have introduced DOF manipulation into my series, am quite amused by the results, look forward to do more of these manips

3 ) #4 is soft, have no idea why its soft. Have focused on eyes, have spot metered, shot at 1/80 f4.5 iso 200. Thinking perhaps its due to background light too strong seep into lens ? Just purchased lens hood for 50 mm to try and see if can get better results

4 ) Framing and composition is all good in my POV, I have achieved my objective of showing the subjects features according to each photo. Many people tell me to compose better but never tell me better how.

This is my analysis on the art side of my shoot on Mitsuki ( I seldom write out my interpretation because I feel that everyone should have their own, plus I do not wish to paint my version of my impression on Mitsuki to the public, I have absolutely no right nor position to, so I will just lightly write about it here )

I chose this 5 pictures as a sub-experiment to generate a mini-impression of my subject by combining 5 impressions

#1 ) Inviting hand extended. blurred facial features indicate an unknown or a length of time.

#2 ) Hands on self, chest, center. Perhaps can be interpreted a degree acting on behalf of self interest

#3 ) Curved hips, hands positioned ideally to accentuate roundness.

#4 ) Excellent features presented on subject's face. In this angle and light Mitsuki looks different from her usual self. Dimensions are good, hair positioned good. Love the details of a faint glint of light presented along the subject's brow to chin.

Mitsuki looks slightly older in this picture, looks a little bit contemplative. In my opinion, in this angle she is most attractive.

#5 ) Sunglasses hide our eyes, our eyes are the windows to our soul, through our eye we can see secrets.

Should you have the time, please feel free to comment on my point of view on my own work =) I would really appreciate it, thank you all !

This post has been edited by Wholleymolley: Jun 2 2011, 03:00 PM
TSWholleymolley
post May 21 2011, 11:53 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(angelic88 @ May 21 2011, 05:41 PM)
dun get much message from the picture seriously , try to do a collage if u wan to try your "concept" i guess

guess u need to work with better pose / composition to bring out the message
haha ok, I will work harder, thank you

hmmm ...

Dear Friends,

Rather than take each picture literally, each picture can be converted to a symbol which forms an impression.

Its just like how you are able to read a string of Chinese or Jap characters and form a sentence and convey a meaning

This post has been edited by Wholleymolley: May 21 2011, 11:54 PM
TSWholleymolley
post May 25 2011, 05:48 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ May 22 2011, 12:54 AM)
Sadly nothing comes in mind. Theres a few handful of people can make an ordinary picture into a brilliant 1. It takes only a moment to realize what you want and what you need to show. I knew few of people that is not trying so hard but really get a good result and they just using h/p camera. Yours however.... even with the description.... it means nothing. Sorry to say.
ok thank you for your pov

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 22 2011, 03:04 AM)
Doesn't do anything for me too.
=( erm ... ok I will work on it

QUOTE(psychohew @ May 23 2011, 11:45 AM)
did u edit your photos? they looks like straight from the camera..
try add more contrast, add some vignette to draw the viewers attention.
as for the black & white, it needs more contrast than the color ones.
got wor ... can you please edit my b & w for me and see how the contrast ? I can low tolerance to the contrast on the B & W on this wan liao =( i dont know how to do it right maybe
TSWholleymolley
post May 31 2011, 11:58 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(psychohew @ May 29 2011, 02:12 AM)
before

after

lol.. simply edit
haha not bad not bad

the hair i would prefer it to look soft soft though, but can easily be fix by soften brush

love your work on the glasses and face features =)

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 29 2011, 04:06 PM)
frankly, you've been taking model after model with no real improvement. time to change your approach cos your current one obviously isn't working. i'm not a model shooter so i dunno what to tell you but maybe you need to join other better shooters on outings and see how they pose the models, use lighting/props/etc etc.

we all here very give face already, i'm sure i no need to remind you what kind of replies you're getting in /k/
you are right, recently i just joined a group shoot ! =) It was fun !

I never knew that being in the company of other people who share the same passion as I can be so rewarding ! =) Not only i learn much, i also get to socialize and talk about gears =)

thank you, I shall look on ways to refine my approach further

QUOTE(heinlein @ May 30 2011, 11:00 AM)
Join with a group of other photographers - that the fast way to learn from other ppl.
yes ! hehehe recently been doing that already !

Added on June 2, 2011, 2:59 pmDue to constant misunderstanding of my work, I have decided to release my point of view and criticism of my own work

On My Work

This is my point of view on the tech side of my shoot on Mitsuki

1 ) Would love to have better colors, the green looks horrible

2 ) This is the second time I have introduced DOF manipulation into my series, am quite amused by the results, look forward to do more of these manips

3 ) #4 is soft, have no idea why its soft. Have focused on eyes, have spot metered, shot at 1/80 f4.5 iso 200. Thinking perhaps its due to background light too strong seep into lens ? Just purchased lens hood for 50 mm to try and see if can get better results

4 ) Framing and composition is all good in my POV, I have achieved my objective of showing the subjects features according to each photo. Many people tell me to compose better but never tell me better how.

This is my analysis on the art side of my shoot on Mitsuki ( I seldom write out my interpretation because I feel that everyone should have their own, plus I do not wish to paint my version of my impression on Mitsuki to the public, I have absolutely no right nor position to, so I will just lightly write about it here )

I chose this 5 pictures as a sub-experiment to generate a mini-impression of my subject by combining 5 impressions

#1 ) Inviting hand extended. blurred facial features indicate an unknown or a length of time.

#2 ) Hands on self, chest, center. Perhaps can be interpreted a degree acting on behalf of self interest

#3 ) Curved hips, hands positioned ideally to accentuate roundness.

#4 ) Excellent features presented on subject's face. In this angle and light Mitsuki looks different from her usual self. Dimensions are good, hair positioned good. Love the details of a faint glint of light presented along the subject's brow to chin.

Mitsuki looks slightly older in this picture, looks a little bit contemplative. In my opinion, in this angle she is most attractive.

#5 ) Sunglasses hide our eyes, our eyes are the windows to our soul, through our eye we can see secrets.

Should you have the time, please feel free to comment on my point of view on my own work =) I would really appreciate it, thank you all !

This post has been edited by Wholleymolley: Jun 2 2011, 02:59 PM
TSWholleymolley
post Jun 10 2011, 03:06 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ReasonsofThanatos @ Jun 2 2011, 09:22 PM)
Great self reflection on your own work. Well at least it show that every shot's been put in a lot of thoughts and implicitness instead of just wild point and shoot.

On the tech side, I do agree that the colours could use a little more punch, but careful not to overdo it otherwise your model would appear seriously tanned. As you mentioned, pic #4 is indeed soft, because it's OOF-ed. You may have nailed the focus on the eyes, but maybe some movement just before you release the shutter introduced the softness...And about the composition...Im not gonna ask you to try "improve" your composition anymore, cause words alone gets you nowhere. But you really should follow certain forumer's advice to apply the "Rule of Third" when you compose a shot.

On the interpretation of the pictures and the subject...Frankly, it requires certain artistic sense to be able to see eye to eye with you. I mean in terms of "getting" you on what you meant to convey with your photographs. Thus people would like to see pictures that speaks for themselves. Pictures with such significant impact they strike words into the minds of their viewers, instead of having you lay down captions to convey your original thoughts while taking the photograph.

I'd recommend more close up shots, but not too close that it hides away other features of the subject that made up the connections. And the expression of the subject MATTERS. Most of the time if you're capturing people's natural behaviour or expression, the pictures couldnt get worst. A subject who smiles naturally, from the bottom of their heart is really, really photogenic, when you ask them to pose that's another story, they tensed up and struggle to make themselves look good while in reality that would not give them the look. Try interact a lot with your subject, make them feel comfortable with you and crack some jokes occasionally to make them smile as they really wanted it.

Full body portraits arent appealing most of the time, unless you're taking it from a dynamic angle, including some other subject of interests or backgrounds of equal weight. Also, more contrast would be good, as I notice that's the reason why most of your shots are plain. Especially when you're doing B&W.

Sorry for the bad quality, downloaded from my facebook's album as I was too lazy to look for the original.

Well all that's just my humble opinion. Like I said if you're already satisfied with what you're doing currently, then just let it be, continue doing what you like. Remember, you're shooting for yourself. Cheers! rclxms.gif
On the plus side, i just got a lens hood ! =) I think having a hood can make some difference

Yes, indeed, I hope I can eventually achieve taking pictures which are more easily digestible eventually

hahaha yeah, the best photographers are the ones who are excellent at interacting with their subject, I try to be more funny next time =P

Thank you very much for your pointers, I will work hard on my direction and technique ! =)

0.0153sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:57 PM