Very confused beginner

TSStreetrat
post May 20 2011, 12:09 AM, updated 15y ago

206 posts

I'm a 175cm 64kg male with quite abit of stomach fat, otherwise quite skinny. Wanna ask all sifu here how to get rid of the fat and build muscle? What i'm confuse with is eat more to build muscle, but fat also will build, or eat less to cut fat, but not enough for muscle. So how and what should i eat? Any supplement for a beginner like me? Is there a cheaper way for nutrition?I hate bananas.

For food, Breakfast i eat bread + tuna, lunch nasi campur alot rice, dinner sometimes eat food stall rice also. I try to drink only plain water no coke or anything sweet.

For training, monday i train aikido, tuesday i train weight + skipping rope, wednesday aikido, thurdays weight + skipping rope, friday badminton, saturday weight + skipping rope, sunday rest.

What changes do i need to make?I want to build some lean muscle + cut the body fat for abs.

Please help me out.Thanks alot.

sol0710
post May 20 2011, 12:16 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ May 20 2011, 12:09 AM)
I'm a 175cm 64kg male with quite abit of stomach fat, otherwise quite skinny. Wanna ask all sifu here how to get rid of the fat and build muscle? What i'm confuse with is eat more to build muscle, but fat also will build, or eat less to cut fat, but not enough for muscle. So how and what should i eat? Any supplement for a beginner like me? Is there a cheaper way for nutrition?I hate bananas.

For food, Breakfast i eat bread + tuna, lunch nasi campur alot rice, dinner sometimes eat food stall rice also. I try to drink only plain water no coke or anything sweet.

For training, monday i train aikido, tuesday i train weight + skipping rope, wednesday aikido, thurdays weight + skipping rope, friday badminton, saturday weight + skipping rope, sunday rest.

What changes do i need to make?I want to build some lean muscle + cut the body fat for abs.

Please help me out.Thanks alot.
do abs execise everyday.....
reduce white rice intake n its ok to have alot of lauk
take supplement such as oxyelite pro...
mikehuan
post May 20 2011, 12:17 AM

6,160 posts

prioritize. do you wanna get bigger? or do you want to lose weight first? you dont do both and expect good results.

MelForC3
post May 20 2011, 12:19 AM

957 posts

losing fat and losing weight different story again biggrin.gif
mikehuan
post May 20 2011, 12:23 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(MelForC3 @ May 20 2011, 12:19 AM)
losing fat and losing weight different story again biggrin.gif
aha, of course i dont mean starving yourself la. dont poke fun at me! flex.gif
TSStreetrat
post May 20 2011, 12:27 AM

206 posts

which should i do first?please don't do sarcasm or jokes, later if i believe then paikaliao, i'm just a beginner that knows nothings. Thanks.
mikehuan
post May 20 2011, 12:35 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ May 20 2011, 12:27 AM)
which should i do first?please don't do sarcasm or jokes, later if i believe then paikaliao, i'm just a beginner that knows nothings. Thanks.
thats really up to you isnt it? im neither being sarcastic nor am i joking.
TSStreetrat
post May 20 2011, 12:38 AM

206 posts

if i want to cut fat first, what should i be doing?what should i be doing or what supplyment to take?Thanks all for the fast reply
mikehuan
post May 20 2011, 12:42 AM

6,160 posts

then u prioritize cardio over weightlifting.

edit: i just saw your workout schedule. i guess you're on the right track then. just try to eat clean and get quality rest.

This post has been edited by mikehuan: May 20 2011, 12:44 AM
SticH
post May 20 2011, 12:42 AM

964 posts

www.bodybuilding.com

try reading through the articles smile.gif
TSStreetrat
post May 20 2011, 12:48 AM

206 posts

Do i really need supplements?

Mr mike, what you mean when u say eat clean?no oil?more vege?half rice?

For cardio, i skip rope using hiit i read from bodybuilding.com. Skip 1 min rest 30 sec, then 1 min rest 30 sec again till around 15 minutes. Is this hiit alone enough as a cardio to cut my body fat?
mikehuan
post May 20 2011, 12:56 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ May 20 2011, 12:48 AM)
Do i really need supplements?

Mr mike, what you mean when u say eat clean?no oil?more vege?half rice?

For cardio, i skip rope using hiit i read from bodybuilding.com. Skip 1 min rest 30 sec, then 1 min rest 30 sec again till around 15 minutes. Is this hiit alone enough as a cardio to cut my body fat?
eating clean is eating like an adult. just remember that. that means no junk food, sweets, anything that is not natural. eat more solid foods. avoid fried foods etc.

whichever cardio exercise you do, if you're doing HIIT you gotta be pushing yourself everytime. keep trying to increase your high intensity periods and lower your rest time. if you can finish a HIIT session without gasping for breath and sitting down sweating your butt off you aint doing it right.
mofonyx
post May 20 2011, 07:38 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

It's difficult to bulk up and cut fat at the same time. I would say recomping can only be achieved by a seasoned/pro lifter. The average gym rat wouldn't be able to bulk up/cut simultaneously (look at ken86's amazing progression - bulk first then cut).

If you're insistent on achieving both at the same time, a strict ketogenic diet can help you achieve that. I know someone who tried it but he was very strong to begin with.

There's a forum here http://forum.bodybuilding.com/forumdisplay.php?f=61

This post has been edited by mofonyx: May 20 2011, 07:40 AM
TSStreetrat
post May 20 2011, 11:39 AM

206 posts

I read some of the keto articles, damn complicated and the food cost will burn a hole in my pocket. Better if i start 1 by 1, Is Hiit effective enough for cutting fat? And for building muscles, beside weight training, what else should 1 do to bulk up? Should i take protein shakes?

Don't want to sound rude, but thanks for all the answers.
pedro
post May 20 2011, 11:41 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ May 20 2011, 11:39 AM)
I read some of the keto articles, damn complicated and the food cost will burn a hole in my pocket. Better if i start 1 by 1, Is Hiit effective enough for cutting fat? And for building muscles, beside weight training, what else should 1 do to bulk up? Should i take protein shakes?

Don't want to sound rude, but thanks for all the answers.
Keep it simple,just pick 1!

What you wanna do now?

Slim down or bulk up?
jamis
post May 20 2011, 11:42 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

From his workout, probably losing weight is the best choice.
pedro
post May 20 2011, 11:45 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ May 20 2011, 11:42 AM)
From his workout, probably losing weight is the best choice.
I concur!

There's simply too much cardio to bulk for now.

darklight79
post May 20 2011, 05:07 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(sol0710 @ May 20 2011, 12:16 AM)
do abs execise everyday.....
reduce white rice intake n its ok to have alot of lauk
take supplement such as oxyelite pro...
Please.... go away. Far far away.
Ojil
post May 20 2011, 07:07 PM

176 posts

Well mate, i have a same prob as you...but my height is 168cm and 58kg on weight....
and i also have fat around my waist and belly but other part is skinny...

Should i lose fat first or bulking since i'm 18 years old who still study so i don't have much money to buy supplement...even to lose weight i need to buy protein supplement to minimise muscle lose...i confuse what should i do first.... icon_question.gif

i would like to have body like this...

i hope there is a master that can help us... smile.gif
and we can share a tips to achieve our goal...
mikehuan
post May 20 2011, 07:14 PM

6,160 posts

i give up. do you want us to repeat what have already posted above?

0.0171sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:05 PM