Marimo, Japanese Moss Ball ♥♥♥, Share your ♥ towards this cute algae

lastlovesong
post May 25 2011, 03:20 PM

130 posts

wanna ask. whats the size in cm for giant and nano? wanna buy it as a gift.

scared big one, too big to put inside bottle. small one, too pityful to keep in very small quantity.

and anyone cut the ball into half b4? wanna know whats inside look like.
lastlovesong
post May 25 2011, 03:53 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Mevoxede @ May 25 2011, 03:24 PM)
nano 8-10mm
giant 30-40mm
*direct quote from our seller leeyung.

the ball inside out all the same lol.
8-10mm=0.8-1cm
30-40mm=3-4cm
so freaking small even for giant. from all those posted pic, i thought nano=3-4cm and giant=10-20cm... very deceiving. no wonder everybody keep saying they very cute.

anyway,if i were to use it in a bottle as keychain. will it break/hancur/out of shape?

another question, if i keep 1 "giant" and 2 nano side by side in a bottle(same diameter as 1 litre mineral water, and water height of 10cm). do they get enough water,space to survive or at least float?

sorry for all the stupid questions.

edit:spelling typo.

This post has been edited by lastlovesong: May 25 2011, 03:57 PM
lastlovesong
post May 25 2011, 04:35 PM

130 posts

haha... im not going to use mineral water bottle. wanna use it as example to know roughly what minimum space they need. planning to use rock glass with external colour lightings around the glass.

which bring to another question - can plants like marimo get do their photosynthesis and sh1t out oxygen when given only colour light source?
lastlovesong
post May 25 2011, 05:09 PM

130 posts

wanna ask... the one which we buy from leeyung is it come from akan lake japan or from different area? cos from what i read in the link given in the first page. only marimo from akan lake will grow into nice sphere shape. marimo from other place wont grow into this shape. is it true?
lastlovesong
post May 25 2011, 08:43 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ May 25 2011, 07:25 PM)
Marimo in size of 3CM considered very large already, btw why deceiving ler? I got put rulers + other object for size comparison ler  rolleyes.gif

for the keychain thingy, if you regularly change the water then reshape them when washing, then no problem d.

The water volume you mentioned fine enough for them to survive but hard to see them float smile.gif
QUOTE(leeyung @ May 25 2011, 07:27 PM)
Yes, it is from that origin, the statement claimed that regarding the grow of nice sphere shape is somehow correct, the temperature condition over there catalyst the growth of marimo and therefore they have a better shape but this doesnt mean if you have your marimo over here, it will not grow into a nice shape. You have to pay more effort on them,like regular water change and massage them to roll them in a nice shape, put them into fridge once a month smile.gif
Most the the question asked in some post in fact already answered in this post, recommended to all read through the thread before post any question smile.gif thumbup.gif
haha i agree. from your picture with rules, can see how small are they. but from other pictures by other forumer,they look big eventhough it really small. its deceiving when others zoom when taking picture and got no comparison, make it look like tennis ball size.

i so want to keep them but too bad now dun have nano...

thanks leeyung for infos.

0.0509sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:32 PM